DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 9/5/2024 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 6/12/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0076594 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Ventilation Apparatus with Intersecting Bypass Passages”
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Total heat exchange element” in claim 1. The nonce term “element” is modified by the functional language of “total heat exchange” without reciting sufficient structure. The limitation will be interpreted as a cross flow air to air heat exchanger (as seen in applicants’ Figure 2), and equivalent structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR100640799, as cited in the IDS) in view of Lee (WO2023/090594A1, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 1. Choi teaches a ventilation apparatus (100), comprising:
a housing (101), including: an indoor air inlet (lower 103) and an outdoor air outlet (lower 102) which are formed to be spaced apart from each other on one side (Figures 1-3); and
an outdoor air inlet (upper 102) and an indoor air outlet (upper 103) which are formed to be spaced apart from each other on the other side corresponding to an opposite side of the one side, wherein the outdoor air inlet is formed at a position opposite to the indoor air inlet and the indoor air outlet is formed at a position opposite to the outdoor air outlet (Figures 1-3);
an intake fan (107) mounted inside the case and having an outlet connected to the outdoor air outlet (Figures 1-3);
an exhaust fan (108) mounted inside the case and having an outlet connected to the indoor air outlet (Figures 1-3); and
a total heat exchange element (106) mounted inside the case and placed at a point where a flow passage connecting the indoor air inlet and the indoor air outlet and a flow passage connecting the outdoor air inlet and the outdoor air outlet intersect (Figures 1-3; The heat exchange intersects the middle of the flow passages),
wherein an intake side bypass passage (opened by bypass damper (104a)) that guides outdoor air flowing into the outdoor air inlet to a space where the intake fan is located, and an exhaust side bypass passage (opened by bypass damper (105a)) that guides indoor air flowing into the indoor air inlet to a space where the exhaust fan is located, by bypassing the total heat exchange element, and wherein the intake side bypass passage and the exhaust side bypass passage are configured to intersect at a predetermined point between the indoor air outlet and the outdoor air outlet (Figure 3; The pathways intersect in the middle area, thereby satisfying the claim limitation).
Choi fails to specifically teach a case accommodated in the housing and that the intake fan, the exhaust fan, the total heat exchanger are arranged in the case and in that the bypass passages are formed on the case.
However, Lee teaches it is known to form a ventilation apparatus comprising a housing (400) accommodating a case (300) wherein an intake fan (109a), the exhaust fan (109b), the total heat exchanger (110) are arranged in the case (300) and a bypass passage (331) is formed on the case (300) (Figures 3-4). Lee teaches the internal case to be made of expanded polystyrene (EPS) to improve insulation (Paragraph 111 states “The housing 101 may include a first inner housing 310 and a second inner housing 320 . The second inner housing 320 may be coupled to the first inner housing 310 in the vertical direction (Z). The inner housings 310 and 320 may be made of an insulating material. For example, the inner housings 310 and 320 may be made of EPS insulation such as Styrofoam. However, it is not limited thereto, and the inner housings 310 and 320 may be formed of various insulating materials provided to maintain the temperature of the air flowing through the intake passage 102 and the exhaust passage 103 at a constant temperature.”). The skilled person does know, that EPS is a good insulating material but has a limited strength for attachment to a ceiling or connecting ducting. Therefore it is typically used as an inner case accommodated in a surrounding housing - as proposed in claim 1.
Therefore, in view of Lee's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the housing having an inner case in order to improve the insulation of the ventilation apparatus. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the bypass passage on the case in order to reduce the installation space of the entire assembly by integrating the bypass passages into the case as opposed to external ducts that take extra space.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 2, Choi as modified by Lee teach the case includes a bypass passage (Choi Figures 1-5, each port for 102 and 103 contains guide holes; Lee Figures 3-4) but fails to specifically teach an intake guide hole formed at an edge adjacent to the outdoor air outlet and communicating with the space where the intake fan is placed; an exhaust guide hole formed at an edge adjacent to the indoor air outlet and communicating with the space where the exhaust fan is placed, wherein an outlet of the intake side bypass passage communicates with the intake guide hole, and wherein an outlet of the exhaust side bypass passage communicates with the exhaust guide hole. There would be no motivation to further modify Choi without utilizing impermissible hindsight reasoning or without changing the principle of operation of Choi. Therefore, the prior art fails to neither anticipate nor render obvious the applicants' invention. Thus, the applicants' invention is novel and non-obvious in view of the prior art. The remaining claims are allowable based on their dependency from allowable claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763