DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1-16 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 200474330 (“KR ‘330”) in view of Epaud (US 2006/0267390). KR ‘330 teaches a vehicle seat comprising: a fixed frame disposed in a vehicle body (fig. 4a: 30); a rotating link (fig. 4a: 32) connected to the fixed frame through a rotation shaft (fig. 4a: 16), the rotating link being configured to rotate relative to the rotation shaft; a seat cushion frame (fig. 4a: 10) having one side of a rear end portion hinge-connected to the rotating link at a first connection point (fig. 4a: 15) to rotate the rotating link when the seat cushion frame rotates; and a seat back frame (fig. 4a: 20) being hinge-connected to the fixed frame at a second connection point (fig. 4a: 25) and another side of the lower end portion hinge-connected to another side of the rear end portion of the seat cushion frame at a third connection point (fig. 4a: 14) to rotate relative to the fixed frame when the seat cushion frame is rotated.
KR ’330 does not teach wherein the seat back frame is hinge-connected to the fixed frame at a “lower end” of the seat back frame. However, Epaud teaches a similar foldable vehicle seat having the seat back frame hinge-connected to the fixed frame at a lower end of the seat back frame (fig. 1: at connection 19/axis A). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the location of the rotation connection between the seat back and fixed frame to be lower or to modify the shape of the fixed frame itself to be vertically shorted in order to provide the desired amount of reclining of the seat back or to better fit within a vehicle, respectively.
As concerns claim 2, KR ‘330, as modified, teaches wherein the rotation shaft of the fixed frame is disposed at a front portion of the fixed frame, and an upper portion of the fixed frame is hinge-connected to the seat back frame (as discussed with the combination of Epaud with respect to claim 1).
As concerns claim 5, KR ‘330, as modified, teaches wherein the seat cushion frame has a lower portion of the rear end portion hinge-connected to the rotating link and an upper portion of the rear end portion hinge-connected to the seat back frame (as shown in fig. 4b).
As concerns claim 8, KR ‘330, as modified, teaches wherein an elastic mechanism (KR’ 330: fig. 3: 24; Epaud, fig. 1: recliner 19 includes a spring) is disposed between the fixed frame and the seat back frame, wherein the elastic mechanism is configured to apply a rotational force in a direction in which the seat back frame is erected upright.
As concerns claim 9, KR ‘330, as modified, teaches wherein the elastic mechanism connects a first point of the fixed frame and a second point of the seat back frame, the elastic mechanism being configured to apply an elastic force in a direction in which the first point and the second point are brought closer together (the springs are torsional springs connected to the fixed frame and seat back frame in order to provide a biasing force toward the upright position by moving a particular point on the seat back closer to a particular point on the fixed frame).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7 and 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art references of KR ‘330 and Epaud fail to teach:
wherein the rotation shaft of the fixed frame is disposed at a front portion of the fixed frame, and an upper portion of the fixed frame is hinge-connected to the seat back frame;
wherein an elastic mechanism is disposed between the fixed frame and the rotating link, wherein the elastic mechanism is configured to apply a rotational force to the rotating link in a direction in which the seat cushion frame is erected upright; or
wherein the seat back frame is configured to be upright to form a default position of the vehicle seat when the seat cushion frame is lowered forward, the seat back frame is configured to rotate to a diagonal position between rearward and upward directions to form a relax position when the seat cushion frame is rotated to another diagonal position between a forward direction and the upward direction, and the seat back frame is configured to be erected upright to form a stow position when the seat cushion frame is pulled upright.
Further, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636