DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-25 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-25 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 09/05/2015 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-25 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11641957 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims 1-25 of instant application is encompassed by the scope of claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11641957 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Runge (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 9920783 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Runge teaches a repositionable frame system comprising:
a repositionable wall mount (Runge; 12) configured for being repositionably secured to a support surface [capable/intended use], the repositionable wall mount including a first magnetic element (Runge; Col. 8; lines 38-39); and
a frame (Runge; 14) having a rear face that includes a second magnetic element (Runge; Col. 8; line 40) that is magnetically attracted to the first magnetic element resulting in a magnetic coupling between the frame and the repositionable wall mount.
Regarding claim 6, Runge teaches the frame (Runge; 14) includes a perimeter molding portion (Runge; 144) that protrudes rearward relative to the rear face of the frame and is for placement against the support surface, while the rear face and the second magnetic element is offset from the support surface.
Regarding claim 7, Runge teaches an exposed surface of the perimeter molding portion includes a surface texture (Runge; texture at end of 144 see annotated partial figure below) for gripping the support surface.
Regarding claim 21, Runge teaches a repositionable frame system comprising:
a first part (Runge; 12) that is configured for being repositionably secured to a support surface [capable/intended use], the first part being flexible and including a first magnetic element (Runge; Col. 8; lines 38-39) defining a first face of the first part and a repositionable adhesive (Runge; 124) that is temporarily covered by a release layer (Runge; Col. 4; line 53) that defines a second face of the first part prior to mounting to the support surface; and
a second part (Runge; 14) that includes a frame having a rear face that includes a second magnetic element (Runge; Col. 8; line 40) that is magnetically attracted to the first magnetic element resulting in a magnetic coupling between the frame and the repositionable first part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-5, 8-16, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Runge (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 9920783 B2) in view of Jones (U.S. Pat. No. 3852935).
Regarding claim 2, Runge teaches the repositionable wall mount includes a carrier layer (Runge; 122); having a first face and an opposite second face, the first face being coated with a repositionable adhesive (Runge; 124) for contacting the support surface.
However, Runge is silent to disclose the second face being coated with a permanent adhesive that is permanently bonded to the first magnetic element.
Jones teaches a magnetically receptive rubber layer that is permanently bonded (Jones; Col. 2; lines 21-25).
Runge and Jones are analogous because they are from a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a magnetically charged structure for bonding. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Runge having a magnetically receptive rubber layer that is permanently bonded to the layer of foam. The motivation would have been to facilitate the use of the product and as well as to provide appropriate strength during the retention.
Regarding claim 3, Runge as modified teaches the first magnetic element (Runge; Col. 8; lines 38-39) comprises a layer of foam (Runge; 122) that is permanently bonded to the permanent adhesive of the second face and a magnetically receptive rubber layer that is permanently bonded to the layer of foam (Jones; Col. 2; lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 4, Runge as modified teaches the magnetically receptive rubber layer comprises a mixture of rubber with ferrous material (Jones; Col. 2; lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 5, Runge as modified teaches the ferrous material (Jones; barium ferrite is a well-known ferrous material) is extruded [product-by-process] into the rubber. Additionally, it is noted that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see e.g. MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 8, Runge as modified suggest the second magnetic element comprises a flexible magnet e.g., the ferrite magnets made of rubber are known to comprise the flexible properties. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Runge having the second magnetic element comprises a flexible magnet. The motivation would have been to facilitate the use of the product for various type of surfaces.
Regarding claim 9, Runge as modified teaches wherein the flexible magnet is produced by a ferrite magnet material mixed with a flexible rubber binder (Jones: barium ferrite is a well-known ferrous material) which is then extruded or calendared [product-by-process] to form the flexible magnet. Additionally, it is noted that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see e.g. MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 10, Runge as modified teaches the flexible magnet is attached to the rear face with a permanent adhesive (Jones; Col. 2; lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 11, Runge teaches the rear face has a recessed portion (Runge; 20 in which the flexible magnet is placed.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Runge teaches the perimeter of the molding portion. However, Runge is silent to disclose a thickness of the perimeter molding portion is greater than a thickness of the first magnetic element as recited in claim 12 or the thicknesses being about equal as recited in claim 13. The Examiner notes that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the thickness of the perimeter of the molding portion and the magnetic element being the same, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14. Runge teaches the first magnetic element comprises a permanent magnet and the second magnetic element comprises ferrous material (Jones; Col. 2; lines 21-25).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Runge teaches frame includes a rear backing plate (Runge; plate of 14 that contacts with 12) having a recess portion. However, Runge is silent to disclose the material. The Examiner takes the official notice that providing plates made of molded plastic and the plates formed of paper are old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Runge having the backing plate made of molded plastic or paper such that the first magnetic element sits in the recess of the backing plate. The motivation would have been to make the product cost effective.
Regarding claim 22, Runge as modified teaches the first part includes a carrier (Runge; 122) on which the repositionable adhesive is layered along a first surface, with a second surface thereof being bonded to a layer of foam to which the first magnetic element is bonded.
However, Runge is silent to disclose the bonding being permanent. Jones teaches a magnetically receptive rubber layer that is permanently bonded (Jones; Col. 2; lines 21-25). Bonding parts to one another permanent is old and well known in the art as evidenced by Jones. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Runge having a second surface thereof being permanently bonded to a layer of foam to which the first magnetic element is permanently bonded. The motivation would have been to facilitate the use of the product and as well as to provide appropriate strength during the retention.
Regarding claim 23, Runge as modified teaches the first magnetic element comprises a rubber layer with a ferrous material (Jones; Col. 2; lines 21-25) incorporated therein.
Regarding claim 24, Runge as modified suggests the second magnetic element comprises a flexible magnet e.g. the flexible magnet e.g., the ferrite magnets made of rubber are known to comprise the flexible properties.
Regarding claim 25, Runge teaches the carrier (Runge; 122) comprises a flexible plastic film (Runge; Col. 5; lines 7, and 11-12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631