DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 39-40, 44, 48, 51-52, 57, 60, 64, 66-67, 69-72, 78-82 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 29, 2026.
Double Patenting
The following claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,098,227.
Current Application Claims
Patent Claims
2
1 and 2
20
3 and 9
5
5
6
6
23
11
32
13
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the patent does not contain the limitations of the ratio of the first polymerizable component and the second component in each of the phases. However, claim 2 of the patent adds this limitation.
Further, It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 2 are to be found in patent claim 1 (as the application claim 2 fully encompasses patent claim 1). The difference between the application claim 2 and the patent claim 1 lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 2. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 2 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the patent.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears that the “(i)” is in the wrong place, it is believed that it is meant to be after the word “comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 32, the claim states that the filler includes “ATH A1(OH)3” and “MDH Mg(OH)2”. It is unclear what these terms are meant to include, thereby, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 5, 6, 20, 21, 23, 32, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cole (WO 2019/006409).
With regards to claim 2, Cole teaches a resin composition (abstract) that contains a first polymerizable component, a second polymerizable component, and an initiator (0005) wherein the composition has a first region having a first ratio of the first and second polymerizable components and a second region having a second ratio that is different from the first ratio (0005).
With regards to claim 5, Cole is silent on the shore hardness of the different regions. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the hardness of the different regions are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claim 6, Cole teaches the first polymerizable component to include a methacrylate monomer (0013) and the second polymerizable component to be an acrylate monomer (0013).
With regards to claims 20, 21, 23, and 32, Cole teaches the addition of a polymer compound (0106) that includes polyolefin, a polyester, polycarbonates, polyurethanes, or polypropylenes (0106).
With regards to claim 37, Cole teaches the composition to include a plurality of first exposure areas and a plurality of second exposure areas (0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 6, 20, 21, 23, 32, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (US 2007/0049656).
With regards to claim 2, Jia teaches a curable composition (abstract) that includes a curable mono(meth)acrylate resin (0020) and a multifunctional resins (0034) and for the resin to have a base paste and a catalyst paste (0077) wherein the amount of the mono(meth)acrylate to be greater than the second polymerizable compound in the catalyst paste and for the second polymerizable compound to be more than the first in the base paste (0077).
With regards to claim 5, Jia teaches the shore hardness of the A material to be 85-90 (0079) and for the B material to be above the A level of the shore hardness scale (0079).
With regards to claim 6, Jia teaches the polymerizable compounds to include methacrylates and acrylates (0031).
With regards to claims 20, 21, and 23, Jia teaches the addition of a filler (0050) or a plasticizer that includes polyethylene (0032).
With regards to claim 32, Jia teaches the filler to include a silica or glass fibers (0049).
With regards to claim 37, Jia teaches the composition to have several phases having differing hardness (0079).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference also teaches the composition as claimed in claim 1: Liska et al (WO 2019/213585).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763