Election/Restrictions
Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR 2 784 669 (Bernard). A translation of Bernard was included with this action. Page and Line numbers below refer to this translation.
In Re claim 1 Bernard discloses a container filling system comprising: a beverage product reservoir (1); multiple beverage container filling valves (4) connected to the reservoir and configured to fill containers with beverage product from the reservoir; a product recirculation flow path (path connecting to fill valves through flow meter elements 17) connected to each of the filling valves and configured to maintain a flow of beverage product through each of the filling valves when each of the filling valves is closed; a flow meter (17) configured to output flow meter signals indicative of flow rates through the flow meter; and a controller configured to receive the flow meter signals and to generate, based on the received flow meter signals, control signals to maintain a flow rate through the product recirculation flow path value (Lines 117-156).
Bernard as applied to claim 1 above performs the method of claim 12 during ordinary use and operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernard.
In Re claim 5 Bernard discloses many limitations, but fails to disclose a flow rate equal to between 5% and 15% of a rate of a product flowing into the reservoir.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to manufacture the Bernard apparatus to have a recirculation flow rate equal to between 5% and 15% of a rate of product flowing into the reservoir. since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In Re claim 7 Bernard discloses many limitations, but fails to disclose a flow path having a width of about 0.625 inches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to manufacture the Bernard apparatus to have a flow path with a width of about 0.625 inches. since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernard in view of US PGPub 2012/0060965 (Poeschl).
In Re claim 13 Bernard discloses many limitations, but fails to disclose a second beverage component.
Poeschl discloses a beverage having multiple components (abtract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of using the Bernard apparatus by adding a step of filling the containers with a second component, in order to permit a user to bottle a beverage having multiple components.
In Re claims 14-17 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the Bernard apparatus and method, as modified by the teaching of Poeschl, bottle any desired substance including liquids with inclusions at various ratios.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, 8-11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON K NIESZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753