DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This is a U.S. Application that claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/538,042 filed on 09/12/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 and 03/03/2025 have been received. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner, and all references are considered except where they were lined through.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites the limitation "or the at least one second antigens" in line 6 of the claim. But the claim recites the presence of at least one second antigen in line 3 of the claim “a second solid support comprising at least one second antigen attached thereto”, and it does not recite multiple second antigens. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner interpreted the term “being” in claims 2, 6, 13 and 15-16 to indicate a fixed process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is for a process or a method that is directed to one judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite mere detection of an antibody in a biological sample from which the applicant or doctor will be able to associate the presence of the antibody with disease. Such an inference is not sufficient to transform the natural law of correlating the presence of antibody with disease into a patentable application.
The claims are ineligible because they recite one judicial exception, i.e., a law of nature (correlating the presence of antibody with disease). Moreover, the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor do they provide an inventive concept.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?)
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category per MPEP 2106.03.
Example 43 of 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG) is particularly enlightening because the fact pattern of claim 1 of example 43 is most similar to the instant application claims (Subject matter eligibility | USPTO)
Regarding claim 1 of example 43 of the PEG and per Step 1, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention as the claim recites “A treatment method comprising: (a) calculating a ratio of C11 to C13 levels measured in a blood sample from a patient diagnosed with Nephritic Autoimmune Syndrome Type 3 (NAS-3) to identify the patient as having a non-responder phenotype; (b) administering a treatment to the patient having a non-responder phenotype.” (Step 1: YES).
Similarly, claim 18 of the instant application is also directed to a statutory class of a method of contacting a biological sample from a subject with a complex and detecting the presence of an antibody in the biological sample bound to the complex to indicate a disease if the antibody is present (Step 1: YES).
(Step 2A, Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon?)
Claim 1 of example 43 of PEG recites judicial exceptions that are similar to claim 18 of the instant application. Specifically, and per Step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 of example 43 of PEG recites the judicial exception of “calculating a ratio of C11 to C13 levels measured in a blood sample from a patient diagnosed with Nephritic Autoimmune Syndrome Type 3 (NAS-3) to identify the patient as having a non-responder phenotype,” and according to broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), an arithmetic calculation of a division is required to obtain the ratio of C11 to C13 that can be used to identify whether the patient has the non-respondent phenotype (i.e., the patient has a calculated ratio of 3:1 or greater and thus is not responding, or will not respond, to glucocorticoids). This limitation therefore recites a mathematical calculation. And the grouping of “mathematical concepts” in PEG includes “mathematical calculations” as an exemplar of an abstract idea. PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. Thus, limitation (a) of claim 1 of PEG falls into the “mathematical concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Also, limitation (a) of claim 1 of PEG describes a naturally occurring relationship between the ratio of C11 to C13 and the non-responder phenotype, and thus may also be considered to recite a law of nature.
Similarly, claim 18 of the instant application also describes a naturally occurring relationship between the presence of antibody in a biological sample and disease, and thus is considered to recite a law of nature. Specifically, claim 18 recites “detecting a presence of an antibody in the biological sample bound to the complex, where the presence of the antibody bound to the complex is indicative of a disease”.
Accordingly, limitation (a) of claim 1 of PEG recites three judicial exceptions (an abstract idea that falls within the mathematical concept, a mental process groupings in PEG, and a law of nature); whereas claim 18 of the instant application only recites one judicial exception of a law of nature, and the analysis must therefore proceed to Step 2A Prong Two.
(Step 2A, Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?)
Per Step 2A, prong 2, claim 1 of example 43 of PEG and claim 18 of the instant application as a whole do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. Specifically, this evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. Besides the abstract idea, claim 1 of example 43 of PEG recites the additional element of “(b) administering a treatment to the patient having a non-responder phenotype”. Although this limitation indicates that a treatment is to be administered, it does not provide any information as to how the patient is to be treated, or what the treatment is, but instead covers any possible treatment that a doctor decides to administer to the patient. In fact, this limitation is recited at such a high level of generality that it does not even require a doctor to take the calculation step’s outcome (the patient’s phenotype) into account when deciding which treatment to administer, making the limitation’s inclusion in this claim at best nominal. Thus, limitation (b) of example 43 of PEG fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited calculation, and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Accordingly, limitation (b) of example 43 of PEG does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception.
Similar to claim 1 of example 43 of PEG, claim 18 of the instant application does not have additional elements that would integrate the judicial exception cited above into a practical application. The claim has steps of detecting the presence of an antibody in a biological sample to indicate a disease, and these steps do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they are data gathering steps to use in the detection, which do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. These steps do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they do not amount to more than the judicial exception itself, analogous to Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 80, 84, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1968-69, 1970 (2012). Furthermore, the claim does not act on or use the judicial exceptions in any further steps as required by MPEP 2106.04(d). In the instant case, the doctor is not required to perform any further action based on detecting the presence of an antibody in a biological sample. Therefore, claim 18 of the instant application does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
(Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?)
Per Step 2B, claim 1 of example 43 of PEG and claim 18 of the instant application do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, this part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. As explained with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, claim 1 of example 43 of PEG recites a single additional element in limitation (b), which does not require any particular application of the recited calculation and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept (Step 2B: NO). The claim is not eligible.
Similarly, claim 18 of the instant application simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, such as detecting the presence of an antibody with a commercially available assay such as with automated systems (Specification, page 19, lines 28-31 and page 20, lines 1-4). Furthermore, the claims themselves are recited at a high level of generality in which any assay can be used as the detection method for claim 18.
Thus, claim 18 is not eligible and is rejected under 35 USC 101.
Regarding claim 19, the claim further describes the detection of antibody which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 20, the claim further describes the complexes in the method for detecting which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Karl et al. (US 2011/0151581 A1).
Claim 1 recites:
“A complex comprising:
a solid support; and
at least two different types of antigens attached to the solid support”.
Regarding claim 1, Karl teaches a complex comprising a solid support and at least two different types of antigens attached to the solid support ([0296], “providing a solid phase which comprises a support and one or more test areas, the test area each containing an autoantigen”; page 21, “wherein said autoantibody indicative for connective tissue diseases recognizes ds-DNA, SS-A, SS-B, Sm, histone, Scl-70, Jo-I, centromere protein B, RNP and/or fodrin”).
Regarding claim 2, Karl teaches that the complex further comprises a carrier attached to the solid support ([0234], [0238]). Karl further teaches that at least one of the different types of antigens is attached to the carrier ([0234], [0238]). Karl also teaches that at least one of the different types of antigens is attached to the solid support through the carrier ([0234], [0238]).
Regarding claim 3, Karl teaches that the complex further comprises a linker to attach at least one of the different types of antigens to the carrier ([0234], [0238]).
Regarding claim 4, Karl teaches that the linker comprises a biotin ([0234], [0238]).
Regarding claim 5, Karl teaches that the carrier comprises streptavidin ([0234], [0238]).
Regarding claim 6, Karl teaches that the complex further comprises multiple carriers, and each of the carriers is attached to the solid support ([0278], “A black Polystyrene chip with a surface area of about 2.5x6 mm is coated completely with a streptavidin layer”). Karl further teaches that each of the different types of antigens is attached to a respective one of multiple carriers and that each of the different types of antigens is attached to the solid support through one of the carriers ([0278], “Onto this streptavidin surface we apply lines of identical reagent spots (about 20 spots per line and reagent) using ink-jet technology. Each spot is about 150 μm in diameter and contains biotinylated binding reagents capable of specifically binding with an analyte (e.g., antigens or antibodies) in a sample”).
Regarding claim 7, Karl teaches that the complex further comprises a carrier attached to the solid support ([0278], “A black Polystyrene chip with a surface area of about 2.5x6 mm is coated completely with a streptavidin layer”). Karl further teaches that each of the different types of antigens is attached to the carrier and that each of the different types of antigens is attached to the solid support through the carrier ([0278], “Onto this streptavidin surface we apply lines of identical reagent spots (about 20 spots per line and reagent) using ink-jet technology. Each spot is about 150 μm in diameter and contains biotinylated binding reagents capable of specifically binding with an analyte (e.g., antigens or antibodies) in a sample”).
Regarding claim 8, Karl teaches that at least two different types of antigens comprise a group of markers for a disease or condition of a subject [0194].
Regarding claim 9 Karl teaches that at least one of the different types of antigens is part of a cellular extract that is attached to the solid support ([0169]; [0178]).
Regarding claim 10, Karl teaches that the first one of the different types of antigens comprises a purified antigen and a second one of the different types of antigens is part of a cellular extract ([0178], [0252]).
Regarding claim 11, Karl teaches that at least two different types of antigens comprise at least two of the following: dsDNA, SS-A, SS-B, Sm, histone, Scl-70, Jo-I, centromere protein
B, RNP and/or fodrin ([0178], page 22, claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, Karl teaches that at least one of the different types of antigens binds to an antinuclear antibody (ANA) ([0178], page 22, claim 10).
Regarding claim 13, Karl teaches that the complex further comprises a label associated with the solid support [0250]. Karl teaches that the label is associated with a disease, condition, or analyte that is detectable using at least two different antigens [0251-0253], [0260-0263].
Claim 14 recites:
“A kit comprising:
a first solid support comprising first antigens attached thereto, the first antigens
comprising at least two different types of antigens; and
a second solid support comprising at least one second antigen attached thereto,
the at least one second antigen being different than each of the first antigens;
wherein one or more of the first antigens or the at least one second antigens
comprises a purified antigen or is part of a cellular extract”.
Regarding claim 14, Karl teaches a kit comprising a first solid support comprising first antigens attached [0260-0263]. Karl further teaches that the first antigens comprise at least two different types of antigens [0260-0263]. Karl also teaches a second solid support comprising at least one second antigen attached [0260-0263]. And Karl teaches that at least one second antigen being different than each of the first antigens [0260-0263]. Karl further teaches that one or more of the first antigens or at least one second antigens comprises a purified antigen or is part of a cellular extract ([0268-0269]; [0283-0284]).
Regarding claim 16, Karl teaches that the first antigens comprise markers for a first
disease or condition [0260-0261]. Karl further teaches that that the first label is associated with the first disease or condition by its association with the autoantigen ([0249]; [0261]). Karl also teaches that at least one second antigen comprises a marker for a second disease or condition [0262]. And Karl teaches that the second label is associated with the second disease or condition by its association with the autoantigen [0249], [0262].
Claim 18 recites:
“A method comprising:
contacting a biological sample from a subject with a complex comprising:
a solid support; and
at least two different types of antigens attached to the solid support; and
detecting a presence of an antibody in the biological sample bound to the
complex, where the presence of the antibody bound to the complex is indicative of a
disease”.
Regarding claim 18, Karl teaches a method of contacting a biological sample from a subject with a complex that comprises a solid support and at least two different types of antigens attached to the solid support ([0043-0044]; [0296], “providing a solid phase which comprises a support and one or more test areas, the test area each containing an autoantigen”; page 21, “wherein said autoantibody indicative for connective tissue diseases recognizes ds-DNA, SS-A, SS-B, Sm, histone, Scl-70, Jo-I, centromere protein B, RNP and/or fodrin”). Karl further teaches detecting a presence of an antibody in the biological sample bound to the complex, and that the presence of the bound antibody is indicative of a disease [0045].
Regarding claim 19, Karl teaches detecting the solid support based on a label on the solid support ([0249]; [0251]). Karl further teaches that the label is associated with the disease by its association with the autoantigen ([0249]; [0251]; [0260-0263]). Karl also teaches that detecting comprises detecting signals from labels on at least two different types of antigens ([0249]; [0251]; [0260-0263]).
Regarding claim 20, Karl teaches that the complex is one of multiple complexes that contacts the biological sample ([0249]; [0251]; [0268]). Karl further teaches that each of the multiple complexes have a different configuration associated with a different disease ([0260-0263]; [0268]). Karl also teaches that each of the multiple complexes comprise a respective solid support and one or more antigens attached to the respective solid support ([0249]; [0251]; [0268]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl et al. (US 2011/0151581 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Scholz et al. (Clin Chem Lab Med 2015; 53(12): 1991–2002).
Claim 15 recites:
“The kit of claim 14, wherein the first solid support comprises a first label and the second solid support comprises a second label, the first label being different from the second label”.
Regarding claim 15, Karl teaches that the first solid support comprises a first label and the second solid support comprises a second label [0249]; [0251]; [0256].
Regarding claim 17, Karl teaches that the first antigens comprise first labels that produce a signal in response to binding with corresponding antibodies [0249]; [0251]. Karl further teaches that the at least one second antigen comprises at least one second label that produces a signal in response to binding with at least one corresponding antibody ([0249]; [0251]). Karl teaches that the autoantigens are labeled ([0249]; [0251]; [0256]).
Regarding claim 15, Karl does not teach that the first label is different from the second label.
Regarding claim 17, Karl does not teach if the first labels and the at least one second label are of the same type or of a different type.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Scholz teaches that the first solid support comprises a first label and the second solid support comprises a second label and Scholz teaches that the first label is different from the second label (Page 1994, Figure 1, “Small red beads”, “large red beads”).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to combine the different labels of Scholz with the autoantigen kit of Karl to detect autoantibodies because Scholz provided a one-step autoantibody assay testing with autoantigen-coated fluorescent beads as respective targets that provide the same assay performance as classical two-steps autoantibody testing (Page 2000, left column, last paragraph). A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the methods of Scholz and Karl based on the methods being in the field of screening and testing for autoantibodies.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to use the autoantigen-coated fluorescent beads of Scholz with the solid platforms of Karl’s kit to provide a convenient one-step assay.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/OMAR RAMADAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678