DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1 and 20 have been amended to recite “wherein the nonwoven fabric is through-air bonded”. Applicant argues the Office Action fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness because neither Neely nor Isele, individually or in combination, teach or suggest a nonwoven fabric that is through-air bonded in the context of the present invention’s unique characteristics. Applicant further argues that Neely discloses nonwoven webs with differential basis weights and mentions through-air bonding as one of several generic bonding methods (Neely para. 0052). However, Neely does not teach or suggest the particular advantages of through-air bonding in the context of creating the specific three-dimensional features and intensive property differentials of the claimed invention, nor does it link through-air bonding to the unique softness and compression recovery benefits demonstrated in the present application. Applicant argues the discussion of through-air bonding in Neely is purely generic and does not provide any motivation to select it for the specific combination of properties recited in independent claims 1 and 20. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Neely does teach the specific combination of properties recited in independent claims 1 and 20. Neely also teaches a method of making the nonwoven that involves compression by thermal point bonded rollers or through-air bonded in the through-air bonder 36 (Neely para. 0052). While Neely does teach other methods for forming the web, Neely does in fact teach through-air bonders which is the method claimed in amended claims 1 and 20. The through-air bonded nonwoven of Neely would have the same characteristics of the present through-air bonded nonwoven, since the same components/materials are used and are made by the same process. Additionally, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the claim language. What is claimed is the structure of the absorbent article with first and second visually discernible zones having a difference in values for an intensive property including one or more of thickness, basis weight, and/or volumetric density. Neely has satisfied these criteria. Determination of patentability in a structural, apparatus claim is based on the product itself. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). MPEP 2113. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 stands.
Applicant amendments to claims 4, 6, and 8 have obviated the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 1-20 have been obviated by the filing of a terminal disclaimer on 09/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Neely et al. US Patent Application Publication 2007/0026753 in view of Isele et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0250662.
As to claim 1, Neely teaches a nonwoven fabric (paragraphs 0010, 0016, 0033, 0038) comprising:
a first surface and a second opposing surface and a first 52/62 and second 54/64 visually discernible zones on one of the first or second surfaces, wherein the first visually discernible zone 52/62 is free of overlap (Figure 2) with the second visually discernible zone 54/64 (Figures 2, 2A, and annotated Figure 3 below). The first zone 52/62 is positioned adjacent to the second zone 54/64 (Figures 2, 2A, and 3) and each of the first and second zones have a visually different pattern of three-dimensional features (Figures 2, 2A and 3, paragraph 0061).
In the web 60, each of the three-dimensional features defining a microzone comprising a first region 62a,64a and a second region 62b,64b, annotated Figure 3 below. The first and second regions having a difference in values for an intensive property where the intensive property is basis weight (paragraph 0033, 064, 0065), which is greater than zero.
Neely teaches the lower basis weight areas are incorporated for softness and low fluid retention and the higher basis weight areas are incorporated for strength and durability (paragraph 0097). Since the basis weight on the first surface 52/62 is lower and correlates to a softer zone than the higher basis weight second surface 54/64, it is obvious that the TS7 value, which correlates to softness is different in the first and second surfaces. Neely further teaches the nonwoven fabric is through-air bonded (para. 0052).
Neely teaches the nonwoven fabric is used in an absorbent article for a diaper liner material that is placed adjacent to the wearer’s body (paragraph 0071). Neely does not teach the diaper construction. Isele teaches an absorbent article 20 comprising:
a liquid permeable topsheet 24:
a liquid impermeable backsheet 25:
an absorbent core 28 comprising an absorbent material, wherein one or more channel 26, 26’ are defined in the absorbent material (Isele Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048, 0052); and
an outer cover material 23 in facing relationship with the backsheet (Isele paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the nonwoven fabric of Neely in the absorbent article of Isele. Doing so would provide a diaper liner having lower basis weight, higher permeability area in the ‘target areas’ of the diaper where the diaper is most likely to be contacted with liquids (Neely paragraph 0071).
As to claim 2, where the intensive property is basis weight, the zone 62 is a low basis weight zone and the zone 64 is a higher basis weight zone (paragraph 0064). Thus, the microzone 62a,62b of zone 62 would be a lower basis weight as compared to the microzone 64a,64b of zone 64 (paragraphs 0016, 0074-0075, 0094, 0130). Neely teaches the ratio of between the basis weight of the higher basis weight areas to lower basis weight area can be varied as desired. Neely teaches the higher basis weight areas can be from 1.5 to about 5 times greater than the basis weight of the lower basis weight areas (Neely paragraphs 0074-0075).
As to claim 3, wherein the intensive property is thickness, and wherein the thickness of every region is greater than zero – where Neely teaches a lower basis weight area 52 may represent a single layer of spunbond web and a higher basis weight area 54 may represent areas of three layers of spunbond web (Neely Figures 2A, 2; paragraphs 0091). The higher basis weight areas have a greater thickness due to the multiple layers.
As to claim 4, the examiner interprets the “difference in thickness in the first zone” as compared to the thickness in the second zone. Neely teaches a lower basis weight area 52 may represent a single layer of spunbond web and a higher basis weight area 54 may represent areas of three layers of spunbond web (Neely Figures 2A, 2; paragraphs 0091). The higher basis weight areas have a greater thickness due to the multiple layers. Neely does not specifically teach the difference in thickness is greater than about 25 microns. One having ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine through routine experimentation the difference in thickness needed for an intended design and use.
As to claim 5, wherein the intensive property is basis weight, and wherein the basis weight of every region is greater than zero (Neely paragraph 0094).
As to claim 6, the difference in basis weight in the first zone is greater than about 5 gsm - where the examiner interprets this limitation as the difference in basis weight in the first zone as compared to the basis weight in the second zone. Neely teaches the first zone 62 basis weight of 0.3 osy (10.17 gsm) (paragraph 0094) and the second zone 64 basis weight of 0.74 osy (25.9 gsm)(paragraph 0094). Thus, the difference in basis weight of the first zone 62 as compared to the second zone 62 is greater than about 5 gsm.
As to claim 7, Neely/Isele teach each region has a basis weight (paragraph 0094) and a thickness (Figure 2A), both greater than zero. Therefore, each region also has a volumetric density with a value greater than zero.
As to claim 8, Neely/Isele do not teach the difference in volumetric density in the first zone is greater than about 0.042 g/cc. Volumetric density is formulated by kg/m3, g/cm3, or lb/ft3. Since Neely teaches a difference in basis weight and thickness as discussed above in the rejections of claims 3-6. The differences in weight and thickness also provides a difference in density. While Neely does not specifically teach the claimed value for difference in volumetric density, one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed would be able to determine through routine experimentation the difference in density needed for an intended design and use.
As to claims 9-13, Neely/Isele do not teach the claimed TS7 values. However, Neely teaches the lower basis weight areas are incorporated for softness and low fluid retention and the higher basis weight areas are incorporated for strength and durability (paragraph 0097). Since the basis weight on the first surface 52/62 is lower and correlates to a softer zone than the higher basis weight second surface 54/64, it is obvious that the TS7 value, which correlates to softness, is different in the first and second surfaces. While Neely does not teach TS7 values, Neely does teach a spunbond nonwoven with differing intensive properties. Since the prior art has met the structural requirements of the claim, Neely obviously includes a nonwoven capable of achieving the claimed test results. Additionally, the spunbond nonwoven of Neely is used in the same environment as the present invention to solve the same problem of providing softness and strength to components of an absorbent article.
As to claim 14, Neely/Isele teach the absorbent article comprising barrier leg cuffs 34 (Isele Fig. 2; paragraph 0048) and an elastic waist feature (Isele paragraph 0103).
As to claim 16, Neely/Isele teach the nonwoven fabric is a spunbond nonwoven fabric (Neely paragraph 0016).
As to claim 17, Neely/Isele teach the nonwoven fabric is through air bonded (Neely paragraphs 0004, 0052).
As to claim 18, Neely/Isele teach the absorbent article comprises back ears 40 (Isele Fig. 4; paragraph 0102).
As to claim 19, Neely/Isele teach the two channels 26, 26’ are defined in the absorbent material (Fig. 4, paragraph 0052).
As to claim 20, Neely teaches a nonwoven fabric (paragraphs 0010, 0016, 0033, 0038) comprising:
a first surface and a second opposing surface and a first 52/62 and second 54/64 visually discernible zones on one of the first or second surfaces, wherein the first visually discernible zone 52/62 is free of overlap (Figure 2) with the second visually discernible zone 54/64 (Figures 2, 2A, and annotated Figure 3 below). The first zone 52/62 is positioned adjacent to the second zone 54/64 (Figures 2, 2A, and 3) and each of the first and second zones have a visually different pattern of three-dimensional features (Figures 2, 2A and 3, paragraph 0061).
In the web 60, each of the three-dimensional features defining a microzone comprising a first region 62a,64a and a second region 62b,64b, annotated Figure 3 above. The first and second regions having a difference in values for an intensive property where the intensive property is basis weight (paragraph 0033, 064, 0065), which is greater than zero.
Neely teaches the lower basis weight areas are incorporated for softness and low fluid retention and the higher basis weight areas are incorporated for strength and durability (paragraph 0097). Since the basis weight on the first surface 52/62 is lower and correlates to a softer zone than the higher basis weight second surface 54/64, it is obvious that the TS7 value, which correlates to softness is different in the first and second surfaces. Neely further teaches the nonwoven is through-air bonded (Neely para. 0052).
Neely teaches the nonwoven fabric is used in an absorbent article for a diaper liner material that is placed adjacent to the wearer’s body (paragraph 0071). Neely does not teach the diaper construction. Isele teaches an absorbent article 20 comprising:
a front waist region 5;
a back waist region 6;
a crotch region 7 between the front and back waist regions (Isele Fig. 1; paragraph 0050);
a liquid permeable topsheet 24:
a liquid impermeable backsheet 25:
an absorbent core 28 comprising an absorbent material, wherein one or more channel 26, 26’ are defined in the absorbent material (Isele Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048, 0052); and
an outer cover material 23 in facing relationship with the backsheet (Isele paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the nonwoven fabric of Neely in the absorbent article of Isele. Doing so would provide a diaper liner having lower basis weight, higher permeability area in the ‘target areas’ of the diaper where the diaper is most likely to be contacted with liquids (Neely paragraph 0071).
6. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neely in view of Isele as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Weisman et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0073513.
Neely/Isele teach the present invention substantially as claimed. Neely/Isele does not teach a package of absorbent articles comprising absorbent articles of claim 14, wherein the package has an in-bag stack height of between about 70 mm and about 100 mm, according to the In-Bag Stack Height Test herein. Weisman teaches an absorbent product that exhibits an In-Bag Stack height of about 80mm as measured according to an In-Bag Stack Height Test (abstract) for the benefit of providing a less bulky diaper that is more comfortable to use and more cost effective to ship (Weisman paragraph 0008). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the article of Neely/Isele with the claimed In- Bag Stack Height for the benefits taught in Weisman.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781