DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites "in relation to said another multifiber ferrule" and “between the multifiber ferrule of the fiber optic connector and said another multifiber ferrule”, each of which lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of this Office action, “said another multifiber ferrule” is treated as “another multifiber ferrule”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the cutout", which lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of this Office action, Claim 7 is treated as a dependent claim of Claim 4, which previously establishes “a cutout”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. PGPub 2019/0235174 A1 by Ott.
Regarding Claim 1, Ott discloses a fiber optic connector (abstract) comprising: a multifiber ferrule having a fiber alignment axis and first and second guide pin openings spaced apart along the fiber alignment axis (¶ [0079]: Referring now to FIGS. 3-10, a fiber optic connector assembly 1100, similar to the fiber optic connector assembly 100, is illustrated. The fiber optic connector assembly 1100 includes the fiber optic adapter 130; ¶ [0074]: the pin 1300 to have a tighter fit (e.g., a press fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the male ferrule 1220M and a looser fit (e.g., a slip fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the female ferrule 1220F; See Figs. 9-10 where pins 1300 are held within guide openings spaced apart along a vertical axis); a front body for holding the multifiber ferrule, the front body having height extending parallel to the fiber alignment axis and first and second side walls extending heightwise on opposite sides of the multifiber ferrule (¶ [0074]: the pin 1300 to have a tighter fit (e.g., a press fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the male ferrule 1220M and a looser fit (e.g., a slip fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the female ferrule 1220F; See Figs. 3-10 for front body of male ferrule 1220 extending parallel to fiber's longitudinal axis, and its sidewalls extending heightwise on opposite sides of the ferrule, and wherein pins 1300 are held within guide openings spaced apart along a vertical axis parallel to a height of ferrule 1220), the front body comprising a prealignment formation on at least the first side wall (¶ [0079]: Referring now to Figs. 3-10, a fiber optic connector assembly 1100, similar to the fiber optic connector assembly 100, is illustrated. The fiber optic connector assembly 1100 includes the fiber optic adapter 130, a male fiber optic connector 1200 M, and a female fiber optic connector 1200 F; ¶ [0080]: As illustrated at FIGS. 3 and 4, the fiber optic connector assembly 1100, includes a perfect or near perfect example of the male ferrule 1220 M and a perfect or near perfect example of the female ferrule 1220 F that are mated at the mating plane P; See Figs. 3-10 wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing [Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips lock into prealignment formations on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3]); and an outer housing surrounding the front body, the outer housing comprising first and second side walls extending heightwise on opposite sides of the front body, at least the first side wall of the outer housing defining a cutout exposing the prealignment formation on the first side wall of the front body (¶ [0079]: a male fiber optic connector 1200 M, and a female fiber optic connector 1200 F; ¶ [0084]: the ferrules 1220 M and 1220 F; See Figs. 3-10 wherein connectors 1200 surround ferrules 1220, and further wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing [Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips lock into prealignment formations on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3] with openings being defined by the connectors 1200 to receive the adapter 130 clips [Figs. 3, 10]); wherein the fiber optic connector is configured to be inserted into a mating receptacle and wherein the prealignment formation on at least the first side wall of the front body is configured to slidably engage a prealignment feature on a wall of the mating receptacle as the fiber optic connector is inserted into the mating receptacle to prealign the multifiber ferrule of the fiber optic connector along the fiber optic alignment axis in relation to another multifiber ferrule for making a multifiber optical connection between the multifiber ferrule of the fiber optic connector and said another multifiber ferrule (¶ [0080]:As illustrated at FIGS. 3 and 4, the fiber optic connector assembly 1100, includes a perfect or near perfect example of the male ferrule 1220 M and a perfect or near perfect example of the female ferrule 1220 F that are mated at the mating plane Unlike FIGS. 3 and 4, FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate the male ferrule 1220 M as the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the female ferrule 1220 F as the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F. When the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F are joined together, the pins 1300 of the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M are inserted into the pin holes 1302 of the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F; See Figs. 3-10 wherein connectors 1200 surround ferrules 1220, and further wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing [Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips lock into prealignment formations on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3] with openings being defined by the connectors 1200 to receive the adapter 130 clips [Figs. 3, 10]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ott discloses the fiber optic connector of claim 1, in combination with said another multifiber ferrule, wherein the multifiber ferrule is a male multifiber ferrule comprising guide pins retained in the first and second guide pin openings and wherein said another multifiber ferrule is a female multifiber ferrule having empty guide pin openings (¶ [0067]: To accurately align the respective optical fibers 210 when the respective mating faces 260 are mated, a pair of pins 300, 1300 can be inserted into a pair of pin holes 302, 1302 with the pair of the pins 300, 1300 extending across the mating plane P. The pins 300, 1300 and the pin holes 302 [male holes], 1302 [female holes] are part of the mating geometry. For example, as illustrated at FIG. 4, a pair of the pins 1300 is inserted into a pair of the pin holes 1302 across the mating plane P; ¶ [0070]: Upon the mating force (e.g., the spring forces F1 and/ or F2) urging the male ferrule 220'M, 1220'M, 220 M, 1220 M together with the female ferrule 220'F, 1220'F, 220 F, 1220 F; Figs. 3-10), the prealignment formation on at least the first side wall of the front body configured to slidably engage the prealignment feature on the wall of the mating receptacle as the fiber optic connector is inserted into the mating receptacle to prealign the male multifiber ferrule with the female multifiber ferrule such that the guide pins mate with the empty guide pin openings without stubbing an end face of the female multifiber ferrule (¶ [0067]: To accurately align the respective optical fibers 210 when the respective mating faces 260 are mated, a pair of pins 300, 1300 can be inserted into a pair of pin holes 302, 1302 with the pair of the pins 300, 1300 extending across the mating plane P. The pins 300, 1300 and the pin holes 302 [male holes], 1302 [female holes] are part of the mating geometry. For example, as illustrated at FIG. 4, a pair of the pins 1300 is inserted into a pair of the pin holes 1302 across the mating plane P; ¶ [0070]: Upon the mating force (e.g., the spring forces F1 and/or F2) urging the male ferrule 220'M, 1220'M, 220 M, 1220 M together with the female ferrule 220'F, 1220'F, 220 F, 1220 F; ¶ [0079]: Referring now to FIGS. 3-10, a fiber optic connector assembly 1100, similar to the fiber optic connector assembly 100, is illustrated. The fiber optic connector assembly 1100 includes the fiber optic adapter 130, a male fiber optic connector 1200 M, and a female fiber optic connector 1200 F; See Figs. 3-10 wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing [Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips lock into prealignment formations on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3], and wherein pins 300/1300 are inserted into holes 302/1302 without hitting the backstop of said holes shown throughout Figs. 3-10).
Regarding Claim 3, Ott discloses the fiber optic connector of claim 1, in combination with said another multifiber ferrule, wherein the multifiber ferrule is a female multifiber ferrule comprising empty guide pin openings and an end face and wherein said another multifiber ferrule is a male multifiber ferrule having guide pins, the prealignment formation on at least the first side wall of the front body configured to slidably engage the prealignment feature on the wall of the mating receptacle as the fiber optic connector is inserted into the mating receptacle to prealign the female multifiber ferrule with the male multifiber ferrule such that the empty guide pin openings mate with the guide pins without the guide pins stubbing the end face of the female multifiber ferrule (¶ [0080]: As illustrated at FIGS. 3 and 4, the fiber optic connector assembly 1100, includes a perfect or near perfect example of the male ferrule 1220 M and a perfect or near perfect example of the female ferrule 1220 F that are mated at the mating plane P. Unlike FIGS. 3 and 4, FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate the male ferrule 1220 M as the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the female ferrule 1220 F as the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F. When the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F are joined together, the pins 1300 of the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M are inserted into the pin holes 1302 of the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F; See Figs. 3-10 wherein connectors 1200 surround ferrules 1220, and further wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing [Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips lock into prealignment formations on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3] with openings being defined by the connectors 1200 to receive the adapter 130 clips [Figs. 3, 10], and wherein pins 300/1300 are inserted into holes 302/1302 without hitting the backstop of said holes shown throughout Figs. 3-10).
Regarding Claim 4, Ott discloses the fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein the front body further comprises a prealignment formation on the second side wall and wherein the second side wall of the outer housing defines a cutout exposing the prealignment formation on the second side wall of the outer housing (¶ [0080]: As illustrated at FIGS. 3 and 4, the fiber optic connector assembly 1100, includes a perfect or near perfect example of the male ferrule 1220 M and a perfect or near perfect example of the female ferrule 1220 F that are mated at the mating plane P. Unlike FIGS. 3 and 4, FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate the male ferrule 1220 M as the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the female ferrule 1220 F as the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F. When the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F are joined together, the pins 1300 of the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M are inserted into the pin holes 1302 of the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F; See Figs. 3-10 wherein connectors 1200 surround ferrules 1220, and further wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing [Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips lock into prealignment formations on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3] with openings being defined on both sidewalls of the connectors 1200 to receive the adapter 130 clips [Figs. 3, 10]).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2022/212934 A1 by Higley et al.
Regarding Claim 9, Higley discloses a fiber optic adapter (abstract) comprising: an adapter housing (¶ 0084: Fig. 32 shows the next step as the combination of the fiber optic ferrule 102 and the fiber optic ferrule holder 106 moves farther into the adapter 100) having a first end portion, a second end portion, a top wall, a bottom wall, a first side wall, a second side wall, a length extending from the first end portion to the second end portion, a height extending from the top wall to the bottom wall, and a width extending from the first side wall to the second side wall (¶ 0078: See Fig. 18; see also Figs. 1 and 2. Again, there could be more or fewer connector side openings 306 - should be the same number on both sides of the adapter 100; ¶ 0081: The trigger legs 338,340 are inserted into the trigger receptacle openings 322 in columns 360 [first ends, see Figs. 21, 21A, 22], which are on each side of the ferrule-side openings 302. See Figs. 21 A and 22. The columns preferably extend from the top to the bottom of the adapter 100. Preferably, there is a partition 362 that is associated with each of the columns 360; See Fig. 18 for adapter 100 top, bottom, and side walls defining a width and height of the adapter 100), the adapter housing defining a first receptacle adjacent the first end and a second receptacle adjacent to the second end portion, the first and second receptacles meeting at an optical reference plane spaced apart lengthwise between the first end portion and the second end portion (¶ 0078: Turning to the adapter 100 illustrated in Figs. 16 - 23, the adapter 100 has a main body 300 with at least one ferrule-side opening 302 on a ferrule side 304 [first receptacle] to receive a plurality of fiber optic ferrules 102. See Fig. 17. The adapter 100 as shown is a unitary molded or is a single-piece adapter. However, a two-piece adapter may be molded and the two pieces may be joined together to assemble the adapter 100. While there are a number of ferrule-side openings 302 illustrated in the figures, there may be more or fewer. The main body 300 also has a plurality of connector side openings 306 on a connector side 308 [second receptacle] to receive fiber optic connectors 104); at least one partition wall in the first receptacle, the at least one partition wall subdividing the first receptacle into a plurality of individual connector ports, the individual connector ports being spaced apart widthwise along the first receptacle, the first side wall, the second side wall, and the at least one partition wall defining first and second interior sides of each of the individual connector ports (¶ [0078]: Turning to the adapter 100 illustrated in Figs. 16 23, the adapter 100 has a main body 300 with at least one ferrule-side opening 302 on a ferrule side 304 to receive a plurality of fiber optic ferrules 102. See Fig. 17. The adapter 100 as shown is a unitary molded or is a single-piece adapter. However, a two-piece adapter may be molded and the two pieces may be joined together to assemble the adapter 100. While there are a number of ferrule-side openings 302 illustrated in the figures, there may be more or fewer. The main body 300 also has a plurality of connector side openings 306 [connector ports divided by partition walls, sec Figs. 2, 18] on a connector side 308 to receive fiber optic connectors 104. See Fig. 18; see also Figs. 1 and 2. Again, there could be more or fewer connector side openings 306); and a prealignment feature formed on at least the first interior side of each of the connector ports, each prealignment feature configured to slidably engage a prealignment formation on a first side of a fiber optic connector as the fiber optic connector is inserted into the individual connector port to prealign a multifiber ferrule of the fiber optic connector in the adapter (¶ [0059]: an adapter 100 that allows for mating bare multi fiber optic ferrules 102 to respective fiber optic connectors 104; ¶ [0084]: Fig. 32 shows the next step as the combination of the fiber optic ferrule 102 and the fiber optic ferrule holder 106 moves farther into the adapter 100. The head portion 230 of the holder extension 222 is moving into the holder extension groove 366 [prealignment formation] (on both sides of the fiber optic ferrule 102); ¶ [0083]: On each of the columns 360 and on either side of the holder extension grooves 366 are ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 [prealignment features, see Fig. 18]. See Figs. 17 - 23. The ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are configured to fit within the cut-outs 150,175 and the fiber optic ferrule 102. Additionally, the ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are shaped to engage the surfaces 152,154 of the top cut-out 150 and surfaces 172 of the bottom cut-out 170 of the fiber optic ferrule 102).
Regarding Claim 10, Higley discloses the fiber optic adapter as set forth in claim 9, wherein each prealignment feature comprises a tongue configured to be slidably received in a guide groove formed in the first side of the fiber optic connector (¶ [0083]: On each of the columns 360 and on either side of the holder extension grooves 366 are ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 [prealignment features; tongues, see Fig. 18]. See Figs. 17 - 23. The ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are configured to fit within the cut-outs 150,175 and the fiber optic ferrule 102. Additionally, the ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are shaped to engage the surfaces 152,154 of the top cut-out 150 and surfaces 172 of the bottom cut-out 170 of the fiber optic ferrule 102).
Regarding Claim 12, Higley discloses the fiber optic adapter as set forth in claim 9, further comprising a prealignment feature formed on the second side of each of the individual connector ports (¶ 0083: On each of the columns 360 and on either side of the holder extension grooves 366 are ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 [prealignment features arranged on both sides of connector ports, see Fig. 18]. See Figs. 17 - 23. The ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are configured to fit within the cut-outs 150,175 and the fiber optic ferrule 102. Additionally, the ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are shaped to engage the surfaces 152,154 of the top cut-out 150 and surfaces 172 of the bottom cut-out 170 of the fiber optic ferrule 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott.
Regarding Claim 16, Ott discloses a fiber optic connector (abstract) comprising: a connector housing assembly having a top portion, a bottom portion, a first side wall, a second side wall, a height extending from the bottom portion to the top portion, and a width extending from the first side wall to the second side wall (¶ 0074: the pin 1300 to have a tighter fit (e.g., a press fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the male ferrule 1220M and a looser fit (e.g., a slip fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the female ferrule 1220F; See Figs. 3-10 for front body of male ferrule 1220 a top, bottom, and side walls); a multifiber ferrule having a fiber alignment axis and first and second guide pin openings spaced apart along the fiber alignment axis, the multifiber ferrule received in the connector housing assembly such that the fiber alignment axis extends heightwise (¶ [0079]: Referring now to FIGS. 3-10, a fiber optic connector assembly 1100, similar to the fiber optic connector assembly 100, is illustrated. The fiber optic connector assembly 1100 includes the fiber optic adapter 130; ¶ 0074: the pin 1300 to have a tighter fit (e.g., a press fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the male ferrule 1220M and a looser fit (e.g., a slip fit) with the pin hole 1302 of the ferrule body 1250 of the female ferrule 1220F; See Figs. 9-10 where pins 1300 are held within guide openings spaced apart along a vertical axis); and a prealignment groove formed in the first side wall and the second side wall of the connector housing assembly, each prealignment groove having an open front end into which a prealignment projection on an interior side of a mating adapter is passable as the fiber optic connector is plugged into the mating adapter, whereby the side wall of the connector housing assembly engages with the prealignment projection to prealign the multifiber ferrule with the mating adapter for making an optical connection to another multifiber ferrule in the mating adapter without guide pin stubbing (¶ 0080: As illustrated at FIGS. 3 and 4, the fiber optic connector assembly 1100, includes a perfect or near perfect example of the male ferrule 1220 M and a perfect or near perfect example of the female ferrule 1220 F that are mated at the mating plane Unlike FIGS. 3 and 4, FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate the male ferrule 1220 M as the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the female ferrule 1220 F as the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F. When the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M and the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F are joined together, the pins 1300 of the imperfect male ferrule 1220'M are inserted into the pin holes 1302 of the imperfect female ferrule 1220'F; See Figs. 3-10 wherein connectors 1200 surround ferrules 1220, and further wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing [Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips [prealignment projections] lock into prealignment formations on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3] with openings [grooves] being defined by the connectors 1200 to receive the adapter 130 clips [Figs. 3, 10]). Ott fails to explicitly teach the height being at least double the width. However, Ott does teach the height being a value in relation to the width (¶ 0080: As illustrated at FIGS. 3 and 4, the fiber optic connector assembly 1100, includes a perfect or near perfect example of the male ferrule 1220 M and a perfect or near perfect example of the female ferrule 1220 F that are mated at the mating plane P; See Figs. 3-10 for height and width of ferrule body 1220). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform routine experimentations to determine a relationship between the height and the width, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a structured connector that improves light transmission between multiple fibers (Ott, ¶ 0066). In re Aller (220 F.2d 454, 1955)
Claim(s) 5-7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott as applied to claims 1, 16 above, respectively and further in view of U.S. PGPub 2016/0131851 A1 by Theuerkorn.
Regarding Claim 5, Ott teaches the fiber optic connectors as stated above but does not specify that each of the prealignment formation on the first side wall and the prealignment formation on the second side wall comprises first and second projections spaced apart heightwise to define a prealignment groove therebetween. Theuerkorn is an analogous prior art also in the field of fiber optic connectors (abstract) and teaches each of the prealignment formation on the first side wall and the prealignment formation on the second side wall comprises first and second projections spaced apart heightwise to define a prealignment groove therebetween (¶ [0024]: For example, FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a rear portion of the housing 20 having cut-outs or slots 36 on opposite sides so as to define a split shroud. The retention body 24 has tabs 38 configured to be snapped into the slots 36 [grooves] and retained therein due to the geometries of the components; See Figs. 1-2 for protrusions on sidewalls of housing 20 defining grooves 36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include prealignment formations as taught by Theuerkorn for the purpose of providing a fiber optic connection that is less likely to be affected by the transfer of forces from a housing to a ferrule assembly (Theuerkorn, ¶ 0034).
Regarding Claim 6, Ott teaches the fiber optic connector as stated above but does not specify that the prealignment formation on the first side wall comprises first and second projections spaced apart heightwise to define a prealignment groove therebetween. Theuerkorn teaches the prealignment formation on the first side wall comprises first and second projections spaced apart heightwise to define a prealignment groove therebetween (¶ [0024]: For example, FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a rear portion of the housing 20 having cut-outs or slots 36 on opposite sides so as to define a split shroud. The retention body 24 has tabs 38 configured to be snapped into the slots 36 [grooves] and retained therein due to the geometries of the components; See Figs. 1-2 for protrusions on sidewalls of housing 20 defining grooves 36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include prealignment formations as taught by Theuerkorn for the purpose of providing a fiber optic connection that is less likely to be affected by the transfer of forces from a housing to a ferrule assembly (Theuerkorn, ¶ [0034]).
Regarding Claim 7, Ott teach the fiber optic connector as stated above but does not specify that the cutout has a front segment containing the prealignment formation and a rear segment rearward of the prealignment formation, the front segment having a first height and the rear segment having a second height less than the first height. Theuerkorn teaches the cutout has a front segment containing the prealignment formation and a rear segment rearward of the prealignment formation, the front segment having a first height and the rear segment having a second height less than the first height (¶ [0024]: FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a rear portion of the housing 20 having cut-outs or slots 36 on opposite sides so as to define a split shroud. The retention body 24 has tabs 38 configured to be snapped into the slots 36 and retained therein due to the geometries of the components; Figs. 1-2: slots 36 have front segments in which tabs are snapped into and retained by a rear portion 36 defining the slot for the protrusion to be retained, and wherein the front segments are raised compared to the slots 36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include cutouts as taught by Theuerkorn for the purpose of providing a fiber optic connection that is less likely to be affected by the transfer of forces from a housing to a ferrule assembly (Theuerkorn, ¶ [0034]).
Regarding Claim 17, Ott teaches the fiber optic connector as stated above but does not specify that the connector housing assembly comprises a front body and an outer housing surrounding the front body, the front body having first and second side walls forming portions of the first and second side walls of the connector housing assembly, respectively, the outer housing having first and second side walls forming portions of the first and second side walls of the connector housing assembly, respectively, the front body comprising first and second projections on the first side wall thereof and first and second projections on the second side wall thereof, the first and second projections on the first and second side walls respectively defining front portions of the prealignment grooves, the first and second side walls of the outer housing defining cutouts (¶ [0079]: a male fiber optic connector 1200 M, and a female fiber optic connector 1200 F [outer housings]; ¶ [0084]: the ferrules 1220 M and 1220 F [front bodies]; See Figs. 3-10 wherein connectors 1200 surround ferrules 1220, and further wherein adapter 130 has clips within its housing |Fig. 10], and when the ferrules 1220 are inserted into the adapter 130 the clips lock into prealignment formations [grooves] on each of the ferrules 1220 front bodies [Fig. 3] with openings being defined by the connectors 1200 to receive the adapter 130 clips [i.e. via projections defining a groove, see Figs. 3, 10]). Ott further fails to explicitly disclose cutouts having front segments for receiving the respective first and second projections and rear segments defining rear portions of the prealignment grooves. Theuerkorn teaches cutouts having front segments for receiving the respective first and second projections and rear segments defining rear portions of the prealignment grooves (¶ [0024]: FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a rear portion of the housing 20 having cut-outs or slots 36 on opposite sides so as to define a split shroud. The retention body 24 has tabs 38 configured to be snapped into the slots 36 and retained therein due to the geometries of the components; Figs. 1-2: slots 36 have front segments in which tabs are snapped into and retained by a rear portion 36 defining the slot for the protrusion to be retained). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include cutouts as taught by Theuerkorn for the purpose of providing a fiber optic connection that is less likely to be affected by the transfer of forces from a housing to a ferrule assembly (Theuerkorn, ¶ [0034]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of WO 2022/259345 patent publication (the ‘345 publication).
Regarding Claim 8, Ott teaches the fiber optic connector as stated above but does not specify that the outer housing is displaceable in relation to the front body for unlatching the fiber optic connector from
the mating receptacle. The ‘345 publication is an analogous prior art also in the field of optical connectors (abstract) and teaches the outer housing is displaceable in relation to the front body for unlatching the fiber optic connector from the mating receptacle (¶ [0039]-[0040]: As illustrated in Fig. 2, when the male plug 10 and the female plug 20 are mated, the male plug 10 together with the male housing 11 is inserted into the mating space S2 of the adapter 22 constituting the female plug 20 along the mating axis A When releasing the mating between the male plug 10 and the female plug 20, the lever part 112 of the male plug 10 may be pressed down by the operating part 114 [displaceable outer housing] with the fingers or the like, and the male plug 10 may be retracted and pulled out from the mating space S2 of the female plug 20 in a state where the engagement between the female-side locking piece 223 and the male-side locking piece 113 is released). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include a housing as taught by The ‘345 publication for the purpose of providing an easily removable assembly for fiber optic connectors (The ‘345 publication, ¶ [0039]-[0040]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higley et al. as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of U.S. PGPub 2022/0252810 A1 by Filer et al.
Regarding Claim 11, Higley discloses the fiber optic adapter as set forth in claim 10, wherein the tongue has a leading end portion (¶ [0083]: On each of the columns 360 and on either side of the holder extension grooves 366 are ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 [prealignment features; tongues, see Fig. 18]. See Figs. 17 - 23. The ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are configured to fit within the cut-outs 150,175 and the fiber optic ferrule 102. Additionally, the ferrule stop pedestals 370,372 are shaped to engage the surfaces 152, 154 of the top cut-out 150 and surfaces 172 of the bottom cut-out 170 of the fiber optic ferrule 102). Higley does not specify that the leading end portion is spaced apart lengthwise from the first end portion of the adapter housing toward the optical reference plane. Filer is an analogous prior art also in the field of fiber optic cable adapters (abstract) and teaches the leading end portion is spaced apart lengthwise from the first end portion of the adapter housing toward the optical reference plane (¶ [0054]: each of slots 210A-210D [defined by protrusions with leading ends] are configured to receive a respective fiber optic cable assembly 100 with a horizontal orientation; ¶ [0056]: As shown in FIGS. 2C and 2E, fiber optic adapter housing 200 further comprises a mounting plate 222 [first end portion; reference plane] having a first face 214, a second face 216 that opposes first face 214, and an aperture 228; Fig. 3A: protrusions defining slots have a leading end that is spaced lengthwise away from first end/ reference plane 222). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Higley to include a leading end portion as taught by Filer for the purpose of providing alignment features which, in a relative sense, extend further through a connector, thereby providing an improved alignment assembly for optical fibers (Filer, Fig. 3A).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of U.S. PGPub 2020/0310041 by Chang et al.
Regarding Claim 18, Ott suggests the fiber optic connector but does not specify that the connector is a behind-the-wall connector and the connector assembly is a one-piece connector housing assembly. Chang is an analogous prior art also in the field of behind-the-wall optical connectors (abstract) and teaches the connector is a behind-the-wall connector and the connector assembly is a one-piece connector housing assembly (¶ [0055]: FIG. 4 illustrates another embodiment of behind-the wall connector (10a). This is a one-piece design after assembly). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include a behind-the-wall optical connector as taught by Chang for the purpose of providing a lower-cost connector that improves on connector density within a data center (Chang, ¶ [0004]-[0013]).
Regarding Claim 19, Ott suggests the fiber optic connector but does not specify the connector housing assembly further comprises a latch detent recess formed in the top portion and a second latch detent recess formed in the bottom portion, the first and second latch detent recesses configured to receive opposing adapter latch hooks of the mating adapter. Chang teaches the connector housing assembly further comprises a latch detent recess formed in the top portion and a second latch detent recess formed in the bottom portion, the first and second latch detent recesses configured to receive opposing adapter latch hooks of the mating adapter (¶ [0055]: FIG. 4 illustrates another embodiment of behind-the-wall connector (10a). This is a one-piece design after assembly. Connector (10a) deploys an integrated inner body (18a). Inner body (18a) comprises a pair of opposing latch recess (44c, 44d) at a proximal end (P) of the assembled connector (10a) that are received within a port the adapter. A pair of latch recess (44c, 44d) are configured to receive a data center connector (12.1) in optical communication with the BTW connector; ¶ [0056]: FIGS. 5-7 are exploded views that illustrate an outer housing (19b-19d) with an external release latch (191) that is received within a latch recess (40e.1-40e.4) formed at one end of an adapter. FIG. 5 illustrates behind-the-wall connector (10b). The external latch allows a user to depress the latch and remove the behind-the-wall connector (10b-10d) from its corresponding adapter latch recess (40e.1-40e.4). For connector (10b), protrusions (18b.1, 18b.2) are formed as part of inner body (18b) and are received in a corresponding opening (19o) formed on one-side of outer housing (19b), which is about 15 mm in length, along latch line (L1) to assemble connector (10b) along arrow (A), FIG. 5 alignment sleeve holder openings are similarly configured as described in FIG. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include a behind-the-wall optical connector as taught by Chang for the purpose of providing a lower-cost connector that improves on connector density within a data center (Chang, ¶ [0004]-[0013]).
Regarding Claim 20, Ott suggest the fiber optic connector but does not specify the connector housing assembly further comprises a depressible adapter latch on the top portion, the adapter latch configured to latch with a latch keeper recess of the mating adapter to releasably retain the fiber optic connector in the mating adapter. Chang teaches the connector housing assembly further comprises a depressible adapter latch on the top portion, the adapter latch configured to latch with a latch keeper recess of the mating adapter to releasably retain the fiber optic connector in the mating adapter (¶ [0055]: FIG. 4 illustrates another embodiment of behind-the-wall connector (10a). This is a one-piece design after assembly. Connector (10a) deploys an integrated inner body (18a). Inner body (18a) comprises a pair of opposing latch recess (44c, 44d) at a proximal end (P) of the assembled connector (10a) that are received within a port the adapter. A pair of latch recess (44c, 44d) are configured to receive a data center connector (12.1) in optical communication with the BTW connector; ¶ [0056]: FIGS. 5-7 are exploded views that illustrate an outer housing (19b-19d) with an external release latch (191) that is received within a latch recess (40e.1-40e.4) formed at one end of an adapter. FIG. 5 illustrates behind-the-wall connector (10b). The external latch allows a user to depress the latch and remove the behind-the-wall connector (10b-10d) from its corresponding adapter latch recess (40e.1-40e.4). For connector (10b), protrusions (18b.1, 18b.2) are formed as part of inner body (18b) and are received in a corresponding opening (190) formed on one-side of outer housing (19b), which is about 15 mm in length, along latch line (L1) to assemble connector (10b) along arrow (A), FIG. 5 alignment sleeve holder openings are similarly configured as described in FIG. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fiber optic connector of Ott to include a behind-the-wall optical connector as taught by Chang for the purpose of providing a lower-cost connector that improves on connector density within a data center (Chang, ¶ [0004]-[0013]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest fairly suggest the additional features of at least one partition wall in the second receptacle, the at least one partition wall in the second receptacle subdividing the second receptacle into a plurality of individual connector ports, the individual connector ports of the second receptacle being spaced apart widthwise, the first side wall, the second side wall, and the at least one partition wall of the second receptacle defining first and second interior sides of each of the individual connector ports of the second receptacle; and a prealignment feature formed on at least the first interior side of each of the connector ports of the second receptacle, each prealignment feature of the second receptacle configured to slidably engage a prealignment formation on a first side of a fiber optic connector as the fiber optic connector is inserted into the individual connector port of the second receptacle to prealign a multifiber ferrule of the fiber optic connector in the adapter, when considered in view of the rest of the limitations of the independent claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20020126960 discloses using keys and ribs for prealignment.
/CHARLIE Y PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874