DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed 01/13/2025 and 09/05/2024 has/have been considered by the Examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the same constitution” on lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted to read “a same constitution”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stearns et al (US 20210382019 A1; hereafter Stearns) in view of Moeller et al (US 20100024906 A1; hereafter Moeller).
Regarding claim 1, Stearns discloses a fluid delivery system (system 100, fig. 1a) for continuous fluid flow ([0048] Referring to FIG. 1A, an illustration is provided of a system 100, which provides continuous flow using two pumps, a pressure sensor associated with each pump, a single mobile phase reservoir, a controller and a valve.) comprising:
a first inlet (first pump port 114, fig. 1a, [0048] first pump 106 communicates with the valve 102 at a first pump port 114) in fluidic communication with a first pump (first pump 106, fig. 1a, [0048]);
a first pressure sensor (first pump pressure sensor 140, fig. 1a, [0048]) for detecting a first fluid pressure (pressure of the first mobile phase noted in [0054]) downstream from the first pump ([0054] The pressure of the first mobile phase is measured at the first pump pressure sensor 140, which may be external the first pump 106 and intermediate the first pump 106 and the valve 102.);
a second inlet (second pump port 116, fig. 1a, [0048] second pump 108 communicates with the valve 102 at a second pump port 116) in fluidic communication with a second pump (second pump 108, fig. 1a, [0048]);
a second pressure sensor (second pump pressure sensor 142, fig. 1a, [0048]) for detecting a second fluid pressure (pressure of the second mobile phase noted in [0059]) downstream from the second pump ([0059] The second pump pressure sensor 142 may be external the second pump 108 and intermediate the second pump 108 and the valve 102.);
an outlet (outlet 112, fig. 1a, [0048]);
a valve (valve 102, fig. 1a, [0048]) including a first position (first position 216, fig. 2, [0054]) and a second position (second position 302, fig. 3, [0055]), wherein the first position fluidically connects the first inlet (114) with the outlet (112) (see [0054] in a first position 216 wherein the output of the first pump 106 is being dispensed while a second pump 108 is filling from a single first mobile phase reservoir 104), and the second position fluidically connects the first inlet (114), the second inlet (116), and the outlet (see fig. 1a, outlet 112 is fluidically connected to both output port 120 and output port 118) ([0055] In the second position 302, the first rotor slot 212 provides communication with both the first stator orifice 204 and the second stator orifice 206, permitting the outflow from the second pump 108 at the second pump port 116 to the output port 120 while the second rotor slot 214 provides communication from the first pump port 114 to the output port 118 by connecting the fourth stator orifice 210 and the fifth stator orifice 202); and
a controller system (controller 144, fig. 1a, [0048]) including a processor (digital processor noted in [0048]; note also [0055] “The controller 144 may be a single processor”), wherein the controller system is communicatively coupled with the first pump, the second pump, the first pressure sensor, and the second pressure sensor ([0048] notes that system 100 includes all noted components; [0059] describes the both pressure sensor measurements are compared by controller 144 and second pump 108 is controlled by controller 144; [0063] both pumps 106 and 108 are controlled by controller 144),
wherein the controller system (144) receives signals indicative of the first fluid pressure from the first pressure sensor (140) and the second fluid pressure from the second pressure sensor (142) ([0059] “The pressure of the first mobile phase provided by the first pump 106 is measured at the first pump pressure sensor 140 while the pressure of the second mobile phase provided by the second pump 108 is measured by the second pump pressure sensor 142, and the two compared and operation of the second pump 108 altered by the controller 144.”),
wherein the valve moves from the first position to the second position in response to the first fluid pressure being about equal to the second fluid pressure ([0055] “Critically, the first pump 106 and the second pump 108 are dispensing at a common pressure” in the second position), and to substantially simultaneously cease fluid flow through the first inlet ([0057] “the valve 102 cycles sequentially from the first position (where the first pump 106 provides the 100% of the volume), to the second position (where the outflow from the first pump 106 is decreasing and the outflow from the second pump 108 is added to maintain 100% of volume), to the third position (where the second pump 108 provides 100% of the volume)”).
Stearns is silent to the controller system comprising memory, the controller system communicatively coupled to the valve, and wherein the processor is programmed to direct the valve to move from the first position to the second position in response to the first fluid pressure being about equal to the second fluid pressure.
Moeller, in the art of multiple pump fluid systems, teaches wherein the controller system (control means 13, fig. 1, [0061]) comprising memory ([0062] The control means is a central processing unit (CPU), embedded or stand-alone computer, and software and firmware for programming such control means in the recited manner.), the controller system (13, fig. 1) communicatively coupled to the valve (valve means 27, fig. 1, [0066]), and wherein the processor is programmed to direct the valve to move from the first position to the second position in response to the first fluid pressure being about equal to the second fluid pressure ([0066] “As depicted, the first pressure sensor 61 and a second pressure sensor 63, send signal indicative of the pressure in the accumulator pump 23 and primary pump 21. The control means 13 commands the valve means 27 to assume the second position, with the primary pump 21 in fluid communication with the accumulator pump 23, upon the first pressure signal corresponding to the second pressure signal. As used herein, the term "corresponding" refers to equal or approximately equal. Preferably, the control means 13 anticipates, based on the pressure signals, the time when the signals will correspond, to reduce pressure perturbations at the first outlet 61 caused by reaction times.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stearns such that the controller system explicitly comprises memory (control means 13 of Moeller is programmed with software as noted in [0062]) and to have the controller system processor (computer noted in Moeller [0062]) change the valve position based on the first fluid pressure being about equal to the second fluid pressure (Moeller [0066]) as taught by Moeller, since both references deal with fluid systems with multiple pumps, and, as noted in Stearns [0055] “Critically, the first pump 106 and the second pump 108 are dispensing at a common pressure” in the second position. One would have been motivated to make the modification because Stearns [0055] notes the importance of the two pumps dispensing at a common pressure in the second position, and Moeller’s processor switching the valve to the second position upon two pressure signals being about equal ensures that that when entering the second position, both pumps are acting at the same pressure. In order to accomplish this, the controller must comprise a memory which includes the programming to cause the processor to act accordingly when receiving the pressure signals, and thus one also would have been motivated to include the memory aspect with the controller as taught by Moeller.
Regarding claim 4, Stearns as modified discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein ceasing flow through the first inlet ([0057] the second position (where the outflow from the first pump 106 is decreasing)) includes operably controlling the first pump to cease ([0063] both pumps 106 and 108 are controlled by controller 144).
Regarding claim 5, Stearns as modified discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein the first pump (106, fig. 1a) and the second pump (108, fig. 1a) are upstream of the valve (102, fig. 1a) ([0055] describes the second position in which both pumps dispense fluid through the valve to the outlet 112).
Regarding claim 6, Stearns as modified discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein the first fluid ([0056] describes first pump 106 being filled from a single first mobile phase reservoir 104 in the third position) and the second fluid ([0054] describes second pump 108 is filling from a single first mobile phase reservoir 104 in the first position) are the same constitution (see 112b interpretation above) (since both the first pump and the second pump are filled from the same fluid reservoir, both the first fluid and the second fluid must be the same constitution.).
Regarding claim 7, Stearns discloses a method of delivering fluid in a continuous fluid delivery system ([0048] Referring to FIG. 1A, an illustration is provided of a system 100, which provides continuous flow using two pumps, a pressure sensor associated with each pump, a single mobile phase reservoir, a controller and a valve.), the method comprising:
receiving a first fluid (first mobile phase noted in [0054]) through a first inlet (first pump port 114, fig. 1a, [0048] first pump 106 communicates with the valve 102 at a first pump port 114) in fluidic communication with a first pump (first pump 106, fig. 1a, [0048]);
receiving one or more signals ([0059] controller 144 receives pressure sensor measurements) from a first pressure sensor (first pump pressure sensor 140, fig. 1a, [0048]) indicative of a first fluid pressure (pressure of the first mobile phase noted in [0054]) of the first fluid ([0054] The pressure of the first mobile phase is measured at the first pump pressure sensor 140, which may be external the first pump 106 and intermediate the first pump 106 and the valve 102.);
receiving one or more signals ([0059] controller 144 receives pressure sensor measurements) from a second pressure sensor (second pump pressure sensor 142, fig. 1a, [0048]) indicative of a second fluid pressure (pressure of the second mobile phase noted in [0059]) downstream from a second pump (second pump 108, fig. 1a, [0048]) ([0059] The second pump pressure sensor 142 may be external the second pump 108 and intermediate the second pump 108 and the valve 102.);
comparing the first fluid pressure to the second fluid pressure ([0059] “The pressure of the first mobile phase provided by the first pump 106 is measured at the first pump pressure sensor 140 while the pressure of the second mobile phase provided by the second pump 108 is measured by the second pump pressure sensor 142, and the two compared and operation of the second pump 108 altered by the controller 144.”); and
the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure ([0055] “Critically, the first pump 106 and the second pump 108 are dispensing at a common pressure” in the second position),
(i) a valve (valve 102, fig. 1a, [0048]) sufficient to switch the valve from a first position (first position 216, fig. 2, [0054]) to a second position (second position 302, fig. 3, [0055]), wherein the first position permits fluid flow of the first fluid (see [0054] in a first position 216 wherein the output of the first pump 106 is being dispensed while a second pump 108 is filling from a single first mobile phase reservoir 104) through a system outlet (outlet 112, fig. 1a, [0048]) and the second position fluidically connects the first pump (106), the second pump (108), and the system outlet (see fig. 1a, outlet 112 is fluidically connected to both output port 120 and output port 118) ([0055] In the second position 302… permitting the outflow from the second pump 108 at the second pump port 116 to the output port 120 … from the first pump port 114 to the output port 118); and
(ii) ceasing fluid flow through the first inlet substantially simultaneously with switching the valve from the first to the second position ([0057] “the valve 102 cycles sequentially from the first position (where the first pump 106 provides the 100% of the volume), to the second position (where the outflow from the first pump 106 is decreasing and the outflow from the second pump 108 is added to maintain 100% of volume), to the third position (where the second pump 108 provides 100% of the volume)”).
Stearns is silent to upon a determination that the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure, operably controlling the valve to switch from the first to second position.
Moeller, in the art of multiple pump fluid systems, teaches wherein upon a determination that the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure, operably controlling the valve to switch from the first to second position ([0066] “As depicted, the first pressure sensor 61 and a second pressure sensor 63, send signal indicative of the pressure in the accumulator pump 23 and primary pump 21. The control means 13 commands the valve means 27 to assume the second position, with the primary pump 21 in fluid communication with the accumulator pump 23, upon the first pressure signal corresponding to the second pressure signal. As used herein, the term "corresponding" refers to equal or approximately equal. Preferably, the control means 13 anticipates, based on the pressure signals, the time when the signals will correspond, to reduce pressure perturbations at the first outlet 61 caused by reaction times.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stearns such that the controller system processor (computer noted in Moeller [0062]) change the valve position based on the first fluid pressure being about equal to the second fluid pressure (Moeller [0066]) as taught by Moeller, since both references deal with fluid systems with multiple pumps, and, as noted in Stearns [0055] “Critically, the first pump 106 and the second pump 108 are dispensing at a common pressure” in the second position. One would have been motivated to make the modification because Stearns [0055] notes the importance of the two pumps dispensing at a common pressure in the second position, and Moeller’s processor switching the valve to the second position upon two pressure signals being about equal ensures that that when entering the second position, both pumps are acting at the same pressure.
Regarding claim 8, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 7, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein ceasing flow through the first inlet ([0057] the second position (where the outflow from the first pump 106 is decreasing)) includes operably controlling the first pump to cease ([0063] both pumps 106 and 108 are controlled by controller 144).
Regarding claim 10, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 7, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein the first pump (106, fig. 1a) and the second pump (108, fig. 1a) are upstream of the valve (102, fig. 1a) ([0055] describes the second position in which both pumps dispense fluid through the valve to the outlet 112).
Regarding claim 12, Stearns discloses a method of controlling a shear valve (valve 102, fig. 1a, [0048]) for fluid delivery comprising:
receiving one or more signals ([0059] controller 144 receives pressure sensor measurements) from a first pump pressure sensor (first pump pressure sensor 140, fig. 1a, [0048]) indicative of a first pressure (pressure of the first mobile phase noted in [0054]) generated by a first pump (first pump 106, fig. 1a, [0048]) ([0054] The pressure of the first mobile phase is measured at the first pump pressure sensor 140, which may be external the first pump 106 and intermediate the first pump 106 and the valve 102.);
receiving one or more signals ([0059] controller 144 receives pressure sensor measurements) from a second pump pressure sensor indicative of a second pressure (pressure of the second mobile phase noted in [0059]) generated by a second pump (second pump 108, fig. 1a, [0048]) ([0059] The second pump pressure sensor 142 may be external the second pump 108 and intermediate the second pump 108 and the valve 102.);
comparing the first pressure to the second pressure ([0059] “The pressure of the first mobile phase provided by the first pump 106 is measured at the first pump pressure sensor 140 while the pressure of the second mobile phase provided by the second pump 108 is measured by the second pump pressure sensor 142, and the two compared and operation of the second pump 108 altered by the controller 144.”);
the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure ([0055] “Critically, the first pump 106 and the second pump 108 are dispensing at a common pressure” in the second position),
the shear valve sufficient to rotate a rotor (rotor noted in [0048] “Within the valve 102, a rotor is rotatable with respect to a stator about the centerpoint as the rotor and stator have a common center axis 101”) from a first position (first position 216, fig. 2, [0054]) to a second position (second position 302, fig. 3, [0055]) fluidically connecting a first rotor slot (first rotor slot 212, fig. 3, [0054]), a first stator orifice (first stator orifice 204, fig. 3, [0054]), a second stator orifice (second stator orifice 206, fig. 3, [0054]), and an outlet (outlet 112, fig. 1a shows outlet 112 in communication with output port 120; [0048] A first mobile phase outlet port 118 and a second mobile phase outlet port 120 are provided on the valve 102, wherein the associated tubing is connected with the connecting tee 111 to provide the single mobile phase outlet 112) ([0055] the first rotor slot 212 provides communication with both the first stator orifice 204 and the second stator orifice 206, permitting the outflow from the second pump 108 at the second pump port 116 to the output port 120); and
substantially simultaneously with rotating the rotor to the second position, operably controlling ([0063] both pumps 106 and 108 are controlled by controller 144) the first pump to cease ([0057] “the valve 102 cycles sequentially from the first position (where the first pump 106 provides the 100% of the volume), to the second position (where the outflow from the first pump 106 is decreasing and the outflow from the second pump 108 is added to maintain 100% of volume), to the third position (where the second pump 108 provides 100% of the volume)”).
Stearns is silent to upon a determination that the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure, operably controlling the valve to switch from the first to second position.
Moeller, in the art of multiple pump fluid systems, teaches wherein upon a determination that the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure, operably controlling the valve to switch from the first to second position ([0066] “As depicted, the first pressure sensor 61 and a second pressure sensor 63, send signal indicative of the pressure in the accumulator pump 23 and primary pump 21. The control means 13 commands the valve means 27 to assume the second position, with the primary pump 21 in fluid communication with the accumulator pump 23, upon the first pressure signal corresponding to the second pressure signal. As used herein, the term "corresponding" refers to equal or approximately equal. Preferably, the control means 13 anticipates, based on the pressure signals, the time when the signals will correspond, to reduce pressure perturbations at the first outlet 61 caused by reaction times.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stearns such that the controller system processor (computer noted in Moeller [0062]) change the valve position based on the first fluid pressure being about equal to the second fluid pressure (Moeller [0066]) as taught by Moeller, since both references deal with fluid systems with multiple pumps, and, as noted in Stearns [0055] “Critically, the first pump 106 and the second pump 108 are dispensing at a common pressure” in the second position. One would have been motivated to make the modification because Stearns [0055] notes the importance of the two pumps dispensing at a common pressure in the second position, and Moeller’s processor switching the valve to the second position upon two pressure signals being about equal ensures that that when entering the second position, both pumps are acting at the same pressure.
Regarding claim 14, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 12, as described above, including wherein operably controlling the first pump (Stearns: [0063] both pumps 106 and 108 are controlled by controller 144) to cease causes fluid flow from the first pump to cease once the rotor has been rotated to the second position (Stearns: [0057] describes the ramping down of flow from the first pump in the second position).
Regarding claim 15, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 12, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein the shear valve further includes a third stator orifice (fifth stator orifice 202, fig. 2, [0054]).
Regarding claim 16, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 15, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein the third stator orifice (fifth stator orifice 202, fig. 2) is in fluid communication with a second rotor slot (second rotor slot 214, fig. 2, [0054]) in the second position (see second position in fig. 3, [0055] rotor slot 214 provides communication from the first pump port 114 to the output port 118 by connecting the fourth stator orifice 210 and the fifth stator orifice 202).
Regarding claim 17, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 15, as described above, including wherein the processor (see 112b interpretation above) (Stearns: digital processor noted in [0048], note also [0055] “The controller 144 may be a single processor”; Moeller: computer noted in [0062]) is capable of operably controlling (Moeller: [0102] The control means 13 is capable of commanding the valve means 27 to assume the third position; see 103 rejection of claim 12) the shear valve (Moeller: valve means 27, fig. 1; Stearns: valve 102, fig. 1a) sufficient to rotate the rotor to a third position (Stearns: third position 402, fig. 4, [0056]) fluidically connecting the second stator orifice (Stearns: 206, fig. 4) and the outlet (Stearns: [0056] In the third position 402, the first rotor slot 212 provides communication with both the first stator orifice 204 and the second stator orifice 206, permitting the outflow from the second pump 108 at the second pump port 116 to the output port 120).
Regarding claim 18, Stearns as modified by Moeller discloses the method of claim 12, as described above.
Stearns is silent to wherein the first pump and the second pump are selected from a reciprocating pump and a syringe pump.
Moeller further teaches wherein the first pump (primary pump 21, fig. 1, [0049] primary pump 21 has a primary housing 29 and a primary piston 35) and the second pump (accumulator pump 23, fig. 1, [0052] accumulator pump 23 has an accumulator housing 39 and an accumulator piston 45) are selected from a reciprocating pump (note that both pumps are piston pumps, a type of reciprocating pump. Reciprocating motion of the pistons 35 and 45 are described respectively in [0050] and [0052]) and a syringe pump.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stearns in view of Moeller to have the pumps of Stearns be reciprocating pumps, as taught by Moeller, since both references deal with alternating flow between two pumps while one pump delivers fluid and the other pump draws fluid in. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the reciprocating pump of Moeller is suited for a cyclical emptying/refilling as required by the method of Stearns, as the piston pump is able to both push fluid out and draw fluid in.
Regarding claim 19, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 12, as described above. Stearns further discloses wherein the first pump (106, fig. 1a) and the second pump (108, fig. 1a) are upstream of the shear valve (102, fig. 1a) ([0055] describes the second position in which both pumps dispense fluid through the valve to the outlet 112)
Claim(s) 2, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stearns modified by Moeller as applied to claims 1, 7, or 12 above, and further in view of Brodeur et al (US 20050182524 A1; hereafter Brodeur).
Regarding claim 2, Stearns as modified discloses the system of claim 1, including wherein the processor determines whether the first fluid pressure is about equal to the second fluid pressure (Moeller: [0066] The control means 13 commands the valve means 27 to assume the second position, with the primary pump 21 in fluid communication with the accumulator pump 23, upon the first pressure signal corresponding to the second pressure signal. As used herein, the term "corresponding" refers to equal or approximately equal.).
Stearns as modified is silent to wherein the processor determines whether the first fluid pressure is about equal to the second fluid pressure by comparing a difference between the first and second fluid pressures to a stored pressure differential value.
Brodeur, in the art of flow monitoring and control, teaches wherein the processor (processor 54, fig. 3, [0038]) determines whether the first fluid pressure is about equal to the second fluid pressure by comparing a difference between the first and second fluid pressures ([0037] Processor 54 (e.g., CPU, ASIC, or other processor known in the art) can receive digital values from A/D converter 52, representing the measured pressures, and calculate a differential.) to a stored pressure differential value (predefined level compared to differential, noted in [0038] “The control algorithm can automatically switch between the first mode and the second mode at a predefined point. For example, the control algorithm can switch from the first mode to the second mode when the differential drops below a predefined level.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor of Stearns modified by Moeller to use the method of determining whether a difference between the first and second pressure values are about equal by comparing the difference to a stored value, as taught by Brodeur, since all three references deal with changing valve positions and monitoring flow pressure. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Moeller, the flow pressures may only be “approximately equal”. The processor must have a defined value of what qualifies as “approximately equal” means in order to appropriately direct the valve to switch to the second position once the two pressures reach the point of being “approximately equal”. The method of Brodeur provides a stored value for such a determination.
Regarding claim 11, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 7, as described above, including determining whether the first fluid pressure is about equal to the second fluid pressure (Moeller: [0066] The control means 13 commands the valve means 27 to assume the second position, with the primary pump 21 in fluid communication with the accumulator pump 23, upon the first pressure signal corresponding to the second pressure signal. As used herein, the term "corresponding" refers to equal or approximately equal.).
Stearns as modified is silent to including determining whether the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure by comparing a difference between the first and second pressures to a stored pressure differential value.
Brodeur, in the art of flow monitoring and control, teaches wherein determining whether the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure by comparing a difference between the first and second fluid pressures ([0037] Processor 54 (e.g., CPU, ASIC, or other processor known in the art) can receive digital values from A/D converter 52, representing the measured pressures, and calculate a differential.) to a stored pressure differential value (predefined level compared to differential, noted in [0038] “The control algorithm can automatically switch between the first mode and the second mode at a predefined point. For example, the control algorithm can switch from the first mode to the second mode when the differential drops below a predefined level.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method Stearns modified by Moeller to use the method of determining whether a difference between the first and second pressure values are about equal by comparing the difference to a stored value, as taught by Brodeur, since all three references deal with changing valve positions and monitoring flow pressure. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Moeller, the flow pressures may only be “approximately equal”. The processor must have a defined value of what qualifies as “approximately equal” means in order to appropriately direct the valve to switch to the second position once the two pressures reach the point of being “approximately equal”. The method of Brodeur provides a stored value for such a determination.
Regarding claim 20, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 12, as described above, including determining whether the first fluid pressure is about equal to the second fluid pressure (Moeller: [0066] The control means 13 commands the valve means 27 to assume the second position, with the primary pump 21 in fluid communication with the accumulator pump 23, upon the first pressure signal corresponding to the second pressure signal. As used herein, the term "corresponding" refers to equal or approximately equal.).
Stearns as modified is silent to including determining whether the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure based on a stored pressure differential condition
Brodeur, in the art of flow monitoring and control, teaches wherein determining whether the first pressure is about equal to the second pressure ([0037] Processor 54 (e.g., CPU, ASIC, or other processor known in the art) can receive digital values from A/D converter 52, representing the measured pressures, and calculate a differential.) based on a stored pressure differential value (predefined level compared to differential, noted in [0038] “The control algorithm can automatically switch between the first mode and the second mode at a predefined point. For example, the control algorithm can switch from the first mode to the second mode when the differential drops below a predefined level.”) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stearns modified by Moeller to use the method of determining whether a difference between the first and second pressure values are about equal by comparing the difference to a stored value, as taught by Brodeur, since all three references deal with changing valve positions and monitoring flow pressure. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Moeller, the flow pressures may only be “approximately equal”. The processor must have a defined value of what qualifies as “approximately equal” means in order to appropriately direct the valve to switch to the second position once the two pressures reach the point of being “approximately equal”. The method of Brodeur provides a stored value for such a determination.
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stearns modified by Moeller as applied to claims 1, 7, or 12 above, and further in view of Radtke et al (US 20230287981 A1; hereafter Radtke).
Regarding claim 3, Stearns as modified discloses the system of claim 1, as described above.
Stearns as modified is silent to wherein the processor is capable of operably controlling the valve in response to a signal from a valve position sensor adapted to detect the valve position.
Radtke, in the art of directional valve control, teaches wherein the processor (processing noted in [0053], the processor device further described in [0059]) is capable of operably controlling the valve ([0053] describes controller determining whether the valve is at certain positions, and moving the valve according to the result) in response to a signal from a valve position sensor (ZMID sensor noted in [0053]) adapted to detect the valve position ([0053] processing determines whether valve is at the position A via the ZMID sensor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stearns modified by Moeller to include the processor capable of controlling the valve in response to a signal from a valve position sensor, as taught by Radtke, since all three references deal with rotatable valves with multiple positions. One would have been motivated to make the modification because by incorporating the valve position sensor of Radtke, the correct valve position of Stearns modified by Moeller can be ensured, and further corrected if necessary. Improper valving arrangements could result in damage to the device (increasing pressure to unsafe levels by pushing fluid against a closed valve) or the patient (accidental delivery of air or fluid at the incorrect flow rate due to partially open valve), so one would further have been motivated to include the sensor feedback system of Radtke to ensure proper positioning of the valve.
Regarding claim 9, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 7, as described above.
Stearns as modified is silent to including operably controlling the valve in response to a signal from a valve position sensor adapted to detect the valve position.
Radtke, in the art of directional valve control, teaches including operably controlling the valve ([0053] describes controller determining whether the valve is at certain positions, and moving the valve according to the result) in response to a signal from a valve position sensor (ZMID sensor noted in [0053]) adapted to detect the valve position ([0053] processing determines whether valve is at the position A via the ZMID sensor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stearns modified by Moeller to include the processor capable of controlling the valve in response to a signal from a valve position sensor, as taught by Radtke, since all three references deal with rotatable valves with multiple positions. One would have been motivated to make the modification because by incorporating the valve position sensor of Radtke, the correct valve position of Stearns modified by Moeller can be ensured, and further corrected if necessary. Improper valving arrangements could result in damage to the device (increasing pressure to unsafe levels by pushing fluid against a closed valve) or the patient (accidental delivery of air or fluid at the incorrect flow rate due to partially open valve), so one would further have been motivated to include the sensor feedback system of Radtke to ensure proper positioning of the valve.
Regarding claim 13, Stearns as modified discloses the method of claim 12, as described above.
Stearns as modified is silent to wherein the processor is capable of operably controlling the shear valve in response to a signal from a valve position sensor adapted to detect the rotor position.
Radtke, in the art of directional valve control, teaches wherein the processor (processing noted in [0053], the processor device further described in [0059]) is capable of operably controlling the shear valve ([0053] describes controller determining whether the valve is at certain positions, and moving the valve according to the result) in response to a signal from a valve position sensor (ZMID sensor noted in [0053]) adapted to detect the rotor position ([0053] processing determines whether valve is at the position A via the ZMID sensor; [0037] A ZMID Sensor and/or hall sensing can be used to control the rotor position. The ZMID sensor can require a sensor arm that is coupled to the rotor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stearns modified by Moeller to include the processor capable of controlling the valve in response to a signal from a valve position sensor, as taught by Radtke, since all three references deal with rotatable valves with multiple positions. One would have been motivated to make the modification because by incorporating the valve position sensor of Radtke, the correct valve position of Stearns modified by Moeller can be ensured, and further corrected if necessary. Improper valving arrangements could result in damage to the device (increasing pressure to unsafe levels by pushing fluid against a closed valve) or the patient (accidental delivery of air or fluid at the incorrect flow rate due to partially open valve), so one would further have been motivated to include the sensor feedback system of Radtke to ensure proper positioning of the valve.
Conclusion
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 08/06/2026