DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al PG PUB 2026/0019901.
Re Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, KIM et al teaches in figure 32, a wireless device (a UE comprising a memory and processor) receiving from Serving DU (a base station comprising a transceiver and controller) a RRC reconfiguration includes a LTM configuration indicating a configuration of candidate target cell(s) for LTM (at least one candidate cell) [0531] wherein the configuration includes a target cell 1 (information) associated with UE-based TA measurement for a cell 1 (a candidate cell) [0538];
based on the configuration, the wireless device identifying that the UE-based TA measurement is configured for the target cell 1(the candidate cell) among the candidate target cells;
the wireless device receiving a 2nd L1/L2 signal (MAC CE) from the serving DU (the base station) indicating a cell switch (a first information…a LTM cell switch) to the candidate target cell identified by cell 1 (a configuration ID of the candidate cell) and TAC (a second information…TA command) [0548];
the wireless device identifying TA validation based on the TAC [0611] and in a case that the TA value is valid, applying the TA for the LTM cell switch to the cell 1 (the candidate cell).
Re Claims 2, 7, 12, 17 and 18, KIM et al teaches in figure 32, Early TA procedure for performing a TA measurement based on the configuration of candidate target cell for LTM (the identification…the UE-based TA measurement is configured for the candidate cell); the candidate DU obtaining a TA value based on the TA measurement; the wireless device determines whether the TA value is valid based on whether the TAT is running [0609] when the TA value is not valid, obtains a valid TA value based on the TAC to be applied for the LTM cell switch to the candidate DU (candidate cell).
Re Claims 3, 8, 13, KIM et al teaches in figure 32, starting a TAT in response to the TAC associated with the candidate DU (cell) [0609] wherein the TA measurement is performed before a reception of the 2nd L1/L2 signal (MAC CE) wherein the RRC reconfiguration (the information) includes the identity of the target candidate cell (an ID of a cell) for which the wireless device to perform the UE-based TA measurement.
Re Claims 4, 14, KIM et al teaches the wireless device can be configured to support RACH-less HO procedure for the LTM cell switch [0427]; wherein the LTM cell switch to the target cell is completed, in the case PUSCH (first uplink data) is transmitted to the candidate cell successfully.
Re Claims 9 and 19, KIM et al teaches in figure 32, a CU transmitting to Serving DU (at the late one candidate cell) a DL RRC message transfer (a first message) indicating configuration information for the LTM cell switch; wireless device receiving a RRC reconfiguration (a second message) in response to the DL RRC message transfer (the first message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al PG PUB 2026/0019901 in view of HE et al PG PUB 2026/0164474.
Re Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, KIM et al teaches the wireless device receiving from a serving CU (the base station) a UE capability enquiry message [0549] and based on the inquiry, the UE transmitting a UE capability information. KIM et al fails to explicitly teach “information indicating that the UE supports the UE-based TA measurement.”. However, HE et al teaches the UE capability information indicating a support the UE-based TA measurement [0042]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have determined the support for the UE-based TA measurement for interoperability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
/ANDREW LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475