CTFR 18/825,511 CTFR 86052 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-16 remain for examination. Claims 1 and 9-10 have been amended. Claims 11-16 have been added. Applicant's arguments filed on 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendments. Accordingly, this action has been made final. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan US 11010432 B2, in view of Takahashi US 20160285811 A1; in further view of Barchi US 6507866 B1 . As to claim 1 , Krishnan discloses a control device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to (Krishnan Pa. [0005]) [an apparatus for searching and displaying using cognitive pattern recognition, the apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, the memory containing program code executable by the processor for performing the following]: generate display information in which a plurality of pieces of information regarding an electronic mail that has been transmitted to a management target company (Krishnan Claim 1) [searching the search text in the email string, wherein the email string comprises a plurality of emails and wherein at least one email of the plurality of emails comprises an email information, an email body and an email attachment; displaying the email string on a display screen in a progressive relationship, wherein the display screen comprises of a first column, a second column and a third column, and wherein the first column is adjacent to the second column and the second column is adjacent to the third column, such that the first column is side-by-side to the second column and the second column is side-by-side to the third column ; and wherein the first column displays the email information, the second column displays the email body and the third column displays the email attachment, wherein the email information, the email body and the email attachment all correspond to a single email; and wherein the search text is found in one or more of the email information, the email body or the email attachment.] and is [likely to be a fraudulent] e-mail are displayed side by side; and perform control to display the generated display information on a screen (Krishnan Col. 9 Lines 54-64 ) [a display (such as the first display, second display and/or third display) is a collection of one or more congruent controls used for the purpose of displaying data in a cognitive format. In one example, a display is a partial or complete display area supported by a device using the viewing application] It is noted that Krishnan does not appear explicitly disclose “a fraudulent] e-mail”. However, Takahashi paragraph [0042] discloses “The computation unit 12 takes countermeasures against the fraudulent email messages 13 b -1 to 13 b -3 in an appropriate order based on operation log data that the terminal devices 3 a to 3 c have recorded” Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the email system of Krishnan would have yield predictable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system that would provide a technique is proposed for preventing access to malicious sites. According to this technique, a received email message is checked to detect a link containing a destination address of a suspicious site ( Takahashi Pa. [0005] ) Furthermore, it is noted that the combination of Krishnan and Takahashi does not appear explicitly disclose in a unified dashboard interface that simultaneously displays both transition information of detection frequency and detailed individual email information for comprehensive fraudulent email management. However, Barchi discloses disclose in a unified dashboard interface that simultaneously displays both transition information of detection frequency (Barchi Col. 5 lines 58-68) [The embodiment is a computer program designed to analyze all incoming e-mail messages and detect high frequency e-mail either originating from a single user or destined to a single user . However, the embodiment can be modified to detect other types of undesired e-mail based on the pattern signature of such e-mail messages. The embodiment protects the receiving e-mail system not only against malicious user s, but also against such events as routing accidents.] and detailed individual email information for comprehensive fraudulent email management (Barchi Col. 4 lines 35-42) [messages may contain additional originator-supplied information, such as the type of information contained in the e-mail message. The recipient may then eliminate undesired e-mail by performing filtering on the originator-supplied information.] Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, that applying the known technique taught by Barchi to the email system of Krishnan and Takahashi would have yield predictable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system that would identify undesired e-mail messages by receiving e-mail messages, storing fields from the headers of the received e-mail messages and analyzing the stored fields for patterns indicative of undesired e-mail messages ( Barchi Abstract ) As to claims 2-3 , the combination of Krishnan and Takahashi discloses wherein the display information includes information indicating transition of a number of times of detection of a fraudulent e-mail ( Takahashi Pa. [0202]) [The mail deletion unit 150 may further produce a number of black lists 82, 83, . . . on the basis of other various conditions. For example, one black list 82 is produced for the condition that a keyword “urgent” is contained in the message subject line. Another black list 83 is produced for the condition that the execution time of a risky action is in a period of “09:00 to 10:00.” The latter black list 83 may be used to find risky users in the case where the received fraudulent email message has a reception timestamp that falls in the time range from 09:00 to 10:00] , and a list of information of electronic mails that are likely to be fraudulent e-mails ( Takahashi Pa. [0176-0177]) [The mail deletion unit 150 produces a list of destination users of the fraudulent email message. The produced list may include the users whose fraudulent email has already been deleted]; discloses wherein the display information includes a sender display name (Krishnan Col. 12 Lines 39-43) [column one C1 may include the name of the sender , the name(s) of the recipient(s)] and a transmission source address for each electronic mail [( Takahashi Pa. [0085]) [The source field contains an email address of the sender of the email message], which is likely to be a fraudulent e-mail, in a list of information of electronic mails that are likely to be fraudulent e-mails ( Takahashi Pa. [0176-0177]) [The mail deletion unit 150 produces a list of destination users of the fraudulent email message. The produced list may include the users whose fraudulent email has already been deleted] Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the email system of Krishnan would have yield predictable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system that would provide a technique is proposed for preventing access to malicious sites. According to this technique, a received email message is checked to detect a link containing a destination address of a suspicious site ( Takahashi Pa. [0005] ) As to claim 4 , the combination of Krishnan and Takahashi discloses wherein the display information includes a subject for each electronic mail Takahashi Pa. [0090]) [The keyword field contains a specific keyword found in the subject line of email messages concerned] , which is likely to be a fraudulent e-mail, in a list of information of electronic mails that are likely to be fraudulent e-mails ( Takahashi Pa. [0176-0177]) [The mail deletion unit 150 produces a list of destination users of the fraudulent email message. The produced list may include the users whose fraudulent email has already been deleted] Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the email system of Krishnan would have yield predictable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system that would provide a technique is proposed for preventing access to malicious sites. According to this technique, a received email message is checked to detect a link containing a destination address of a suspicious site ( Takahashi Pa. [0005] ) As to claims 5-6 , the combination of Krishnan and Takahashi discloses wherein the display information includes a list of report cases for each fraudulent e-mail in which a combination of at least two of a sender indication, a transmission source address, a subject, a screen dump, and a feature is included ( Takahashi Pa. [0040]) [The mail processing server 10 takes countermeasures against fraudulent email messages 13 b -1 to 13 b -3 in the mailboxes 13-1 to 13-3 of individual users. For example, the mail processing server 10 deletes these messages from the mailboxes. This countermeasure has to begin with the mailbox of a user who tends to do a certain action on an email message immediately after its reception. To deal with the fraudulent email messages 13 b -1 to 13 b -3 in an appropriate order,]; discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to acquire detection information including header information of an electronic mail transmitted to the management target company Takahashi Pa. [0098]) [The subject keyword field contains keywords found in the subject header field of the fraudulent email message] Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the email system of Krishnan would have yield predictable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system that would provide a technique is proposed for preventing access to malicious sites. According to this technique, a received email message is checked to detect a link containing a destination address of a suspicious site ( Takahashi Pa. [0005] ) As to claim 7 , the combination of Krishnan and Takahashi discloses wherein the fraudulent e-mail is an electronic mail in which an authorized address of a sender registered in a whitelist having listed authorized addresses of employees of the management target company does not match a transmission source address extracted from header information of an electronic mail transmitted to the management target company ( Takahashi Pa. [0160]) [The selected address is compared with each of these mailing list addresses, and if a match is found, the procedure advances to step S225. If no match is found, the procedure skips to step S226.] [0205-he mail deletion unit 150 searches the action management table 121 for action records that match with a combination of conditions representing similarities to a detected fraudulent email message 71a] Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the email system of Krishnan would have yield predictable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system that would provide a technique is proposed for preventing access to malicious sites. According to this technique, a received email message is checked to detect a link containing a destination address of a suspicious site ( Takahashi Pa. [0005] ) As to claim 8 , the combination of Krishnan and Takahashi discloses and a detection device that comprises a memory storing instructions; and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to acquire an e-mail log including header information of an electronic mail transmitted to an employee of a management target company ( Takahashi Pa. [0007]) [there is provided a mail processing server including a memory configured to store operation log data recording operations that a plurality of users performed on received email messages] , detect a fraudulent e-mail according to a mismatch between an authorized address of a sender included in the header information and a transmission source address included in the header information ( Takahashi Pa. [0160]) [The selected address is compared with each of these mailing list addresses, and if a match is found, the procedure advances to step S225. If no match is found, the procedure skips to step S226.] [0205-he mail deletion unit 150 searches the action management table 121 for action records that match with a combination of conditions representing similarities to a detected fraudulent email message 71a], generate detection information including information regarding the detected fraudulent e-mail, and output the generated detection information to the control device ( Takahashi Pa. [0055]) [which determines the priority of each email user on the basis of detected fraudulent email messages and deletes those messages from relevant mailboxes in descending order of the determined priorities. Note that the description uses the terms “electric mail,” “email,” and “mail” interchangeably.] Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the email system of Krishnan would have yield predictable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system that would provide a technique is proposed for preventing access to malicious sites. According to this technique, a received email message is checked to detect a link containing a destination address of a suspicious site ( Takahashi Pa. [0005] ) As to claims 9-10, claims 9-10 recite the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 1; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale. As to claim 16, claim 16 recites the claimed that contain similar limitations as claim 1; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Raisons for Allowable Subject Matter 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record do not teach, or suggest the claimed limitations of claim 11 (in combination with all other features in the claim), “wherein the information indicating transition of the number of times of detection of the fraudulent e- mail includes numerical values of the number of times of detection in a plurality of predetermined periods having different temporal lengths arranged in order of the temporal lengths. ”, as claimed in claim 11, in conjunction with remaining claims provisions. Claims 12-15 are allowable over the prior art made of record, because they are recited the claimed that contain similar limitations as claim 11 . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EVANS DESROSIERS whose telephone number is (571)270-5438. The examiner can normally be reached Monday -Friday 8:00 am - 5:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Korzuch can be reached at (571)272-7589. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EVANS DESROSIERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 2 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 3 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 4 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 5 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 6 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 7 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 8 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 9 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 10 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 11 Art Unit: 2491 Application/Control Number: 18/825,511 Page 12 Art Unit: 2491