DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 09/05/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed on 09/05/2024 are acknowledged.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-8 and 17-20 are rejected. Claims 9-16, are Objected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Peterson (US 2020/0298948), Herrin (US 6,360,673), Domis (US 6,669,214), and Malka (US 2026/0008486) are the closest prior arts of record. Neither of the prior arts teach a plurality of holes on the guide wheel support itself, a sleeve connected to the support, a yoke with a wheel pin slidingly received by the sleeve, and spring between the yoke and sleeve to bias the guide wheel outward against track.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Peterson (US 2020/0298948) in view of Herrin (US 6,360,673).
Regarding claim 1, Peterson discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
A dock caddie that is translatable along a dock having a first dock rail including a first top surface and a first side surface and a second dock rail including a second top surface and a second side surface, the dock caddie comprising: a frame including a first frame member having a first end and a second end defining a first frame axis, a second frame member including a first end portion and a second end portion defining a second frame axis parallel to the first frame axis, a third frame member extending between and connecting the first end with the first end portion, and a fourth frame member extending between and connecting the second end and the second end portion; a first wheel configured to ride on the first top surface, the first wheel being arranged on the first frame member and being rotatable about a first axis; a second wheel configured to ride along the second top surface, the second wheel being arranged on the first frame member and being rotatable about the first axis of rotation, the first wheel and the second wheel being selectively adjustably positionable between the first end and the second end of the first frame member; a first guide wheel assembly configured to ride along the first side surface, the first guide wheel assembly being arranged on the first frame member and being rotatable about a second axis of rotation that is perpendicular relative to the first axis of rotation; and a second guide wheel assembly configured to ride along the second side surface, the second guide wheel assembly being arranged on the first frame member and being rotatable about the second axis of rotation, the first guide wheel assembly and the second guide wheel assembly being selectively adjustably positionable between the first end and the second end of the first frame member.
Peterson, Paras. [0006], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0079], [0101], and Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 14, 23A-26B, teaches an automated boat trolley system for moving a boat from a boat garage and a dock. The system comprises a track including a pair of rails disposed beside a dock channel on the deck, and includes a boat trolley having a set of wheels that movably couple the trolley to the pair of rails of the track. The trolley travels along the track that extends between the boat garage and the dock channel. And further teaches a trolley 10 that includes a frame 14 extending between the pair of rails 11 and defines a channel 18 along a longitudinal axis of the trolley. And further teaches that the trolley includes a lower frame 11B having support beams 11B1, 11B2 (corresponding to the first and second parallel frame members). The lower frame 11B has cross beams 11B5 (corresponding to the third and fourth connecting frame members) that extend between the wheel assemblies 12B in a diagonal manner and couple to the support beams 11B1, 11B2. Also teaches that the trolley 10 have a pair of side rails 11, each are coupled to plurality of wheels 12 (Delrin wheels) that rides on the track 20. And shows a wheel assembly embodiment (mule 50) that is movably coupled to the rail with rollers or wheels 52 being able to rotate over an upper surface 27a of a head 29 of the rail 20B. and further teaches perpendicular guide wheels to resist lateral movement. The mule 50 incorporates wheels 54 that engage an underside 27b, to control upward torque and resist lateral forces providing increased stability. And further teaches that support pads 16 are adjustable (in height, in angular orientation) to allow them to be adjusted to fit varying hull profile (i.e., selectively adjustably positionable).
Peterson does not explicitly disclose:
a first guide wheel assembly configured to ride along the first side surface, and a second guide wheel assembly configured to ride along the second side surface,
the first wheel and the second wheel being selectively adjustably positionable between the first end and the second end of the first frame member;
the first guide wheel assembly and the second guide wheel assembly being selectively adjustably positionable between the first end and the second end of the first frame member.
However, Herrin, Col. 2, ll. 40-67, Col. 3, ll. 1-40, Col. 4, ll. 40-67, Col. 5, ll. 1-36, 60-67, Col. 6, ll. 1-12, and Figs. 1-6, teaches separating the load-bearing function from the lateral guiding function using distinct sets of wheels. Herrin teaches a chassis featuring load-bearing wheels 104 that rotate along the upper bearing surface 114 of the rail (top wheels). And further teaches mounting distinct guide wheels 106 on opposite arms 124 to contact the side guide surfaces 116 of the track (side wheels) where they maintain the alignment of the chassis with the rail. The guide wheels 106 are inwardly inclined at approximately a 45 degree angle to match those slanted sides. Please not that: adjusting the mounting angle of guide wheels to match the profile of a track is a routine engineering practice, and would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the angel of guide wheels to match a rail with flat, vertical side surfaces which requires them to rotate on a vertical axis, which is perpendicular to the horizontal axis of the top-bearing wheels.
While Herrin teaches the arrangement of distinct top riding and side riding guide wheels, neither Peterson nor Herrin disclose the first/second wheels and the fir/second guide wheels being selectively adjustably positionable between the first end and the second end of the first frame member.
However, Peterson teaches the principle of making components selectively adjustably positionable along the longitudinal axis of the trolley’s frame members to accommodate varying dimensions, and teaches that the boat support pads 16 are adjustable to fit varying hull profiles, utilizing bracket assemblies 16B2 that couple to the support beams via one or more bolt holes located at various locations along the length of the support beams.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the trolley of Peterson, incorporating the distinct top-riding and side-riding wheel assemblies as taught by Herrin, by making the wheel assemblies selectively adjustably positionable along the length of the frame members using the same adjustable bracket and bolt-hole mounting mechanism explicitly taught by Peterson for the support pads, in order to improve adjusting the track width of the wheel assemblies along the frame to accommodate dock rail systems of varying widths, and improve the installation tolerance in the track.
Regarding claim 2, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claim1. Peterson and Herrin disclose:
The dock caddie according to claim 1, further comprising: a tray removeably supported in the frame. Herrin, Col. 6, ll. 59-67, Col. 7, ll. 1-12, and Figs. 1-6, teaches that the unique geometry of truck 164, with centrally mounted load bearing wheels 104, provides for a “low-profile chassis upon which to mount a tray”. And teaches that a “tray mounting assembly 146 … for attachment of a conveying tray”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Peterson and Herrin discloses:
The dock caddie according to claim 2, further comprising a tray cover detachably connected to the tray. Peterson and Herrin, as discussed in claim 2, teaches a dock caddie having a tray mounting assembly for the attachment of a conveying tray.
It is well known in the art of storage containers, and utility carts to provide a detachable lid or cover for a storage tray.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the tray of the dock caddie taught by Peterson to include a detachable tray cover as a matter of routine design choice, to protect the stored contents from environmental effects, such as rain, sun, or splashing water, in order to secure the items, and prevent them from falling out.
Regarding claim 5, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claim1. Peterson and Herrin disclose:
The dock caddie according to claim 1, further comprising a first adjustable support member extending from the first frame member, the first adjustable support member supporting the first wheel and the first guide wheel assembly, and a second adjustable support member extending from the first frame member spaced from the first adjustable support member along the first frame axis, the second adjustable support member supporting the second wheel and the second guide wheel assembly.
Herrin, Col. 6, ll. 1-67, and Figs. 1-6, teaches the “support member” structure. a support plate 134 and a yoke 120 assembly that extend from the frame and collectively support both the top load bearing wheel 104 and the side guide wheels 106.
Peterson, Paras. [0006], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0079], [0101], and Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 14, 23A-26B, teaches making such support members, adjustable. As argued for claim 1, Peterson teaches utilizing bracket assemblies 16B2 with bolt holes at various locations to make structural supports selectively adjustably positionable along the frame beams.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claim1. Peterson and Herrin discloses:
The dock caddie according to claim 5, wherein the first adjustable support member includes a mounting plate configured to connect with the first frame member, the mounting plate including a first wheel support and a second wheel support, the first wheel being supported between the first wheel support and the second wheel support. Herrin, Col. 6, ll. 1-67, and Figs. 1-6, teaches a “support plate 134” positioned on top of the chassis member 154, extending from this support plate. And teaches “support flanges 142” (corresponding to the first and second wheel supports). And further teaches that the top load-bearing wheel 104 is centrally located and supported between these support flanges 142 for rotation around axis 145. Therefore, integrating the specific mounting plate and flange structure and wheel assembly of Herrin would be combined with Peterson’s frame.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claim1. Peterson and Herrin disclose:
The dock caddie according to claim 6, wherein the first wheel includes a first wheel element and a second wheel element mounted to a first axle, the first axle being rotatably supported between the first wheel support and the second wheel support.
Herrin shows a single load bearing wheel 104 on its axle 145. Utilizing dual wheel elements on a single axle is a well-known mechanical equivalent in the art of load bearing carts.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the single load bearing wheel of Herrin into a dual-wheel element design (first and second wheel elements on the same axle). The predictable result of this design choice is to distribute the weight of the dock caddie over a wider surface of the rail, in order to reduce wear on the wheel and increase stability.
Regarding claim 8, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claim1. Peterson and Herrin disclose:
The dock caddie according to claim 6, further comprising a guide wheel support extending from the mounting plate, the first guide wheel assembly being selectively connected to the guide wheel support. Herrin teaches that the “mounting plate” corresponds to support plate 134, and shows that support flanges 142 extending from the plate, and the yoke 120 (guide wheel assembly) is selectively connected to it via fasteners 138.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claim1. Peterson and Herrin disclose:
The dock caddie according to claim 1, further comprising: a third wheel configured to ride on the first top surface, the third wheel being arranged on the second frame member and being rotatable about the first axis; a fourth wheel configured to ride along the second top surface, the fourth wheel being arranged on the second frame member and being rotatable about the first axis of rotation, the third wheel and the fourth wheel being selectively adjustably positionable between the first end portion and the second end portion; a third guide wheel assembly configured to ride along the first side surface, the third guide wheel assembly being arranged on the second frame member and being rotatable about a second axis of rotation that is perpendicular relative to the first axis of rotation; and a fourth guide wheel assembly configured to ride along the second side surface, the fourth guide wheel assembly being arranged on the second frame member and being rotatable about the second axis of rotation, the third guide wheel assembly and the fourth guide wheel assembly being selectively adjustably positionable between the first end portion and the second end portion.
Peterson, Paras. [0006], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0079], [0101], and Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 14, 23A-26B, teaches a trolley that has a plurality of wheels to support it on the track. And further teaches that side rails 11, “each of which is coupled to or supports these sets of wheels 12”, inherently distributing wheels along the front and rear positions of the trolley frame for stability.
Herrin, Col. 6, ll. 1-67, and Figs. 1-6, teaches placing the top-riding load bearing wheels 104 and side-riding guide wheels 106 at both ends of the vehicle. And further teaches that the yokes 120 and support plates 134 carrying these wheels are positions “adjacent to opposing ends 110 of the chassis 100”. Therefore, the combined prior arts explicitly teaches mounting the same top and side guide wheels assemblies on the second (rear) frame member to fully support the trolley.
Neither Peterson, nor Herrin explicitly teach that the rear wheel assemblies (the third and fourth wheels/guide assemblies) are selectively adjustably positionable along the second frame member. However, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Peterson teaches the principle of making components selectively adjustably positionable along the longitudinal axis of frame, using brackets and bolt holes.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention that if the front wheels (first and second) are made selectively adjustably positionable to accommodate dock tracks of varying widths, then the rear wheel assemblies (third and fourth) must also be made adjustable in the exact same manner. Modifying the trolley to make all four wheel adjustably positionable using Peterson’s bolt holes mechanism is a routine design choice required for the trolley to function on different tracks, in order to provide an adaptable four point trolley.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Peterson (US 2020/0298948) in view of Herrin (US 6,360,673), and further in view of Domis (US 6,669,214).
Regarding claim 3, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Domis discloses:
The dock caddie according to claim 2, wherein the tray includes a plurality of trays, each of the plurality of trays including at least one compartment. Herrin, teaches as discussed in claim 2, providing a low-profile chassis and a tray mounting assembly for the attachment of a conveying tray.
Domis, Col. 4, ll. 12-62, and Figs. 1-3, teaches a wheeled utility cart featuring a plurality of trays, and discloses a multi-level construction including a lowermost tray 27, a second tray 35. And further teaches that each of the plurality of trays includes at least one compartment. For example, the second tray assembly 29 is formed by two side compartments 30L and 31R and a rear interconnecting compartment 32, while the removable tray 35 is subdivided into a first large compartment 36 and two smaller compartments 37 and 38.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the tray configuration of the dock caddie taught by Peterson and Herrin to include a plurality of compartmented trays, in order to improve organizing parts of the system.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Peterson (US 2020/0298948) in view of Herrin (US 6,360,673), and further in view of Malka (US 2026/0008486).
Regarding claim 18, Peterson and Herrin disclose the limitations of claim 17. Malka discloses:
The dock caddie according to claim 17, further comprising a motor mounted to the second frame member, the motor being operatively connected to one of the third wheel and the fourth wheel. As set forth in the rejection of Claim 17, the combination of Peterson and Herrin teaches a track guided caddie having a frame with front and rear members, supported by a plurality of top riding wheels and side riding guide wheels. Peterson, Paras. [0006], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0079], [0101], and Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 14, 23A-26B, teaches an automated trolley, but relies on a stationary, off-board motor (motor M located in the garage) that drives the trolley via a chain system extending along the track.
Herrin, Col. 1, 20-67, Col. 4, ll. 12-31, Col. 6, ll. 1-67, and Figs. 1-6, teaches a “power tug”, but does not explicitly teach structural details of a motor mounted directly to the frame member to drive a specific wheel.
However, Malka, Paras. [0007]-[0010], [0026]-[0027], [0036], and Figs. 1-2, teaches a motorized railway cart comprising a chassis 110 adapted with rail-guided carriage 112. And further teaches an onboard driving unit 120, a motor 121 that is connected with the wheels 113 through a transmission 201 to directly transfer the rotation of the motor 121 to the wheels 113.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the track trolley system of Peterson and Herrin, by replacing Peterson’s off-board system with an onboard frame mounted motor driving wheels, as taught by Malka to allow the track guided caddie to independently propel itself along the dock, in order to increase the operational range of the caddie, and improve the system.
Regarding claim 19, Peterson, Herrin and Malka disclose the limitations of claim 18. Malka discloses:
The dock caddie according to claim 18, further comprising a motor controller operatively connected to the motor, the motor controller being selectively activated to drive the dock caddie along the first dock rail and the second dock rail. As set forth in the rejection of Claim 18, Malka teaches adding an onboard motor to drive the wheels of the rail cart.
Malka, Abstract, and Paras. [0007]-[0012], [0026]-[0027], [0036], and Figs. 1-2, teaches a “control module” provided for controlling the operation of the motorized cart. And further teaches that the control module is configured for advances operational control, and is capable of running operational scripts to drive the cart to designated locations, which shows that the control module is connected to the driving unit/motor, to selectively activate it and drive the cart along the rails.
Peterson, Paras. [0008], [0073]-[0079], [0083]-[0084], teaches a “controller EM” to automatically control the operation of the drive assembly to move the boat trolley along the track.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the onboard control module of Malka into the modified motorized trolley of Peterson and Herrin, in order to provide a functional self-propelled rail vehicle, and improve the system.
Regarding claim 20, Peterson, Herrin and Malka disclose the limitations of claim 18-19. Malka discloses:
The dock caddie according to claim 19, wherein the motor controller includes an antenna, the motor controller being configured to receive wireless signals directing the dock caddie along the first dock rail and the second dock rail. As set forth in the rejection of Claim 18, the combination teaches an onboard motor controller.
Malka, Abstract, and Paras. [0007]-[0012], [0026]-[0027], [0036], and Figs. 1-2, teaches that the motorized cart includes a “communication module”. And further teaches that the system can be operated by “one or more remote control devices”, and that communication between the control devices and the carts occurs through “a wireless radio communication network”. A communication module is configured to receive wireless radio signals, inherently requires an antenna.
Peterson, Paras. [0102], also teaches an electronic module including “one or more antennas A” to communicate wirelessly with a controller.
Herrin, Col. 3, ll. 25-30, teaches that its motorized tugs are equipped with an “RF frequency receiver/transmitter” to receive control signals wirelessly.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 19 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Miller (US 4,392,665) describes a boat dolly for supporting the stern of a boat. The bow of the boat rests on a pair of longitudinally disposed and transversely spaced-apart ropes that are tied to the frame of the boat dolly.
Hey (US 10,293,889) describes a watercraft lift with hydraulically actuated arms which self-installs a fitted three-dimensional watercraft cover on a powerboat.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615