DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US Publication Number 2010/0153591) in view of Reuss (US Publication Number 2010/0042781) further in view of Takahashi (US Publication Number 2009/0268682).
5. As per claim 1, Cho teaches an electronic device (device 100, which can be interpreted to be in an enclosure such as a mobile phone 100, figures 3 and 5), comprising: a wireless communication module (wireless USB interface 140a/b, figures 3 and 5, paragraph 21 states these are wUSB), wherein the wireless communication module is configured to: establish a wireless connection channel with an external wireless communication device (notebook computer 160a/b, figures 3/5 which utilizes the wireless connection channel, wherein the wireless channel is the channel seen between 140 and 160 figure 3), the wireless connection channel being configured to transmit signals for a signal line of the electronic device and a signal line of the external wireless communication device (s40 figure 4 in light of figures 3 and 5, transmits signals via the wireless interface to an external wireless device, paragraphs 36 – 43); establish a USB transmission channel upon successful establishment of the wireless connection channel (USB transmission channel 125 seen between controller and 140a, figure 3 established when user initiates the WUSB connection to transmit data allowing for steps seen in figure 4); and transmit USB data via the USB transmission channel (when the wireless USB data connection is established between 100 and 160, figures 3 and 5, the data over the wireless USB interface which is considered to be USB data is transmitted to 100 via the data connection, paragraphs 36 – 45).
Cho does not appear to explicitly disclose the wireless communication module being provided within the housing, and the housing being provided with no data transmission interface.
However, Reuss discloses the wireless communication module being provided within the housing, and the housing being provided with no data transmission interface (figure 2 shows a housing and paragraph 27 shows that instead of USB interface a wireless USB interface can be utilized therein leaving no data interface and just charging interface).
Cho and Reuss are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of wireless USB handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cho and Reuss before him or her, to modify the structure of Cho to include the closed mechanism of Reuss because it would allow for additional physical configurations.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance user interfacing connectivity (paragraph 27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Reuss with Cho to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
Although Cho/Reuss utilizes a well-known standard of wireless USB the combination does not explicitly disclose establishing a USB channel between the electronic device and the external wireless communication device upon successful establishment of the wireless connection channel.
However, Takahashi discloses establishing a USB channel between the electronic device and the external wireless communication device upon successful establishment of the wireless connection channel (paragraphs 11 – 17 show step by step how a wUSB connection is established and then linked to a USB channel through which USB print data is transmitted).
Cho/Reuss and Takahashi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of wireless USB handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cho/Reuss and Takahashi before him or her, to modify the structure of Cho/Reuss to include the step by step configuration of Takahashi because it would allow for completeness in the connection.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance wireless user connectivity (paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Takahashi with Cho/Reuss to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
6. As per claims 11, Cho teaches a wireless communication device (device 100, which can be interpreted to be in an enclosure such as a mobile phone 100, figures 3 and 5), comprising: a wireless communication module (wireless USB interface 140a, figures 3 and 5); and a USB communication interface (USB interface 140b, figure 3) and electrically connected to the wireless communication module (electrically connected via 125, figure 3), the USB communication interface being configured to be electrically connected to a third device (PC 160b, figure 3), the third device being a personal computer (PC) device or an On-The-Go (OTG) device (160b is a PC, figure 3, paragraphs 35 – 37), wherein the wireless communication module is configured to: establish a wireless connection channel with an electronic device (notebook computer 160a/b, figures 3/5 which utilizes the wireless connection channel), the wireless connection channel being configured to transmit and receive signals for a signal line of the wireless communication device and a signal line of the electronic device (s40 figure 4 in light of figures 3 and 5, transmits signals via the wireless interface to an external wireless device, paragraphs 36 – 43); establish a USB transmission channel upon successful establishment of the wireless connection channel (user initiates the WUSB connection to transmit data allowing for steps seen in figure 4); and transmit USB data for the third device or the electronic device via the USB transmission channel (figure 3, two options first to the PC via USB wired connection or to the notebook via wireless USB when the wireless USB data connection is established between 100 and 160, figures 3 and 5, the data over the wireless USB interface which is considered to be USB data is transmitted to 100 via the data connection, paragraphs 36 – 45).
Cho does not appear to explicitly disclose a housing and a USB communication interface provided on the housing.
However, Reuss discloses a housing and a USB communication interface provided on the housing (figure 2 shows a housing and paragraph 27, USB interface).
Cho and Reuss are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of USB handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cho and Reuss before him or her, to modify the structure of Cho to include the mechanism of Reuss because it would allow for additional physical configurations.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance user interfacing connectivity (paragraph 27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Reuss with Cho to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
Although Cho/Reuss utilizes a well-known standard of wireless USB the combination does not explicitly disclose establishing a USB channel between the electronic device and the external wireless communication device upon successful establishment of the wireless connection channel.
However, Takahashi discloses establishing a USB channel between the electronic device and the external wireless communication device upon successful establishment of the wireless connection channel (paragraphs 11 – 17 show step by step how a wUSB connection is established and then linked to a USB channel through which USB print data is transmitted).
Cho/Reuss and Takahashi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of wireless USB handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cho/Reuss and Takahashi before him or her, to modify the structure of Cho/Reuss to include the step by step configuration of Takahashi because it would allow for completeness in the connection.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance wireless user connectivity (paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Takahashi with Cho/Reuss to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
7. Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Reuss in view of Takahashi further in view of Kam et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0212384, “Kam”).
8. As per claims 2 and 12, Cho/Reuss/Takahashi does not appear to explicitly disclose the internal function of the wireless communication module.
However, Cho/Kam discloses a device, wherein the wireless communication module comprises a wireless data transmission unit, a first differential signal line, and a second differential signal line (Kam: first and second differential signal lines, paragraph 44), the wireless data transmission unit being electrically connected to the first differential signal line and the second differential signal line (Kam: figure 6, lines 306 to 308 for connectivity), wherein the wireless data transmission unit is configured to transmit a detection signal for detecting a peer transmission unit at a distance (Kam: wireless USB signal distance, paragraph 5) from the wireless data transmission unit less than or equal to a preset distance threshold (Kam: threshold is the limit of wireless USB function, paragraph 5); and the wireless data transmission unit is further configured to establish the wireless connection channel with the peer transmission unit in response to receiving a response signal returned by the peer transmission unit (received signals and response signals of peer transmission unit seen in figure 4 of Cho), the wireless connection channel being configured to transmit and receive signals for the first differential signal line of the wireless communication module and a first differential signal line of the peer transmission unit (the transmission portion is seen by Cho figures 3 – 5, with the teachings that the signals are on differential lines seen in figure 6 and paragraph 44 of Kam), and to transmit and receive signals for the second differential signal line of the wireless communication module and a second differential signal line of the peer transmission unit (Cho: when the wireless USB data connection is established between 100 and 160, figures 3 and 5, the data over the wireless USB interface which is considered to be USB data is transmitted to 100 via the data connection, paragraphs 36 – 45 in light of differential teachings of Kam, paragraph 44).
Cho/Reuss/Takahashi and Kam are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of wireless USB handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cho/Reuss/Takahashi and Kam before him or her, to modify the internal signaling of Cho/Reuss to include the signaling configuration of Kam because it elaborates on the wireless USB mechanism used in the standard.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance wireless USB functionality (paragraph 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kam with Cho/Reuss/Takahashi to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
9. Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Reuss in view of Takahashi further in view of Kam further in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Number 7,824,227, hereinafter “Lee”).
10. As per claims 3 and 13, Cho/Reuss/Takahashi/Kam does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the wireless data transmission unit comprises a wireless data transmission chip, wherein the wireless data transmission chip has a first data pin electrically connected to the first differential signal line of the wireless communication module, and a second data pin electrically connected to the second differential signal line of the wireless communication module.
However, Lee discloses a device, wherein the wireless data transmission unit comprises a wireless data transmission chip, wherein the wireless data transmission chip has a first data pin electrically connected to the first differential signal line of the wireless communication module, and a second data pin electrically connected to the second differential signal line of the wireless communication module (figure 7 shows a USB to wireless USB device with IC 72 connected to wired USB D+/D- and the IC transforming the data for the wireless interface 76).
Cho/Reuss/Takahashi/Kam and Lee are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of USB handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cho/Reuss/Takahashi/Kam and Lee before him or her, to modify the internal signaling of Cho/Reuss/Takahashi/Kam to include the physical configuration of Lee because it elaborates on the USB mechanism used in the standard.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance USB functionality (column 1, lines 11 - 33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Cho/Reuss/Takahashi/Kam to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 4 – 10 and 14 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the same elements were cited for the wireless channel and the USB channel and Reuss does not teach a housing with no data transmission interface.
As per Applicant’s argument regarding mapping two claim limitations to the same element from the prior art the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the previous rejection the USB channel was mapped to the channel 125 and the wireless connection channel was seen to be part of the communication module 140 and Examiner stated that the module communicates with the external device 160 along the wireless connection channel. To better clarify the Examiner has explicitly stated that the channel is seen as the wireless connection between 140 and 160 which was germane to the initially cited prior art and does not constitute a new grounds of rejection. With respect to wireless USB configuration arguments and how the USB channel interacts therein can be seen in the wUSB standard however the Examiner has cited an additional prior art reference to better enhance compact prosecution in light of the amended limitations. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art not teaching a housing with no data transmission interface the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that wireless data transmission interfaces are considered to be data transmission interfaces. Assuming arguendo, in light of the specification the Examiner recognized the intended functionality and for completeness provided a prior art that does not have a “physical” data transmission interface as can been seen in figure 2 and 7 which shows a housing with a USB connector however paragraph 27 states that the USB connector can be replaced with wUSB which would leave no physical data transmission interface on the housing as required by the claim limitations. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a housing with no physical ports or connectors capable of data transmission) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung/Gupta/Chung/Yun/Bailey have teachings of a wireless USB channel and USB channel along with devices that do not have physical data transmission interfaces and utilize wUSB.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AH
/STEVEN G SNYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184