DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2024 and 03/26/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claims 7-9 limitations of “the mold comprises an upper part and a lower part, and the upper part comprises a protruding portion at a position corresponding to the concave region; wherein a protruding distance of the protruding portion is less than a sum of thicknesses of the part of the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth with the opening; and wherein the lower part is planar at a position corresponding to the concave region” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, The claim is ambiguous as there is uncertainty concerning how pressing a mold against a stacked structure of a plurality of pieces of fiber cloth forms a case. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner, a case is considered a single unitary structure. The currently presented claims do not provide for a means or method to produce a case as a single unitary structure. There is no matrix or unifying components such as a resin to “hold” the pieces of fiber cloth together. Applicant is asked to clarify the scope of the claimed invention without the introduction of new matter.
Claims 2-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon and because the fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 104859267 A), in view of at least one of Sasaki et al. (US 2017/0185108 A1), or Hass et al. (US 5,573,622).
Regarding claims 1, 10, Sun discloses a method of manufacturing a housing. The method to include fiber cloth for preparing the shell has two or more layers and where the shell material is a carbon fiber, see page 9 paragraph 5 and paragraph 8 – (construed as providing a plurality of pieces of fiber cloth; and the fiber cloth is carbon fiber cloth. Also, as the reference uses housing, casing and shell interchangeably all instances thereof will be construed as a case).
While Sun discloses the use of a hot pressing technique to form the casing; it does not explicitly disclose forming an opening in a part of the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth; stacking the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth to form a stacked structure, wherein the part of the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth with the openings is arranged on top to form a concave region on an upper surface of the stacked structure; and pressing a mold against the stacked structure, to form a case, wherein the case comprises a concave structure at a position corresponding to the concave region..
Sasaki discloses a laminate and integrally molded article suitable for use as a casing, see at least [0002]. And forms the molded article by layering sheets of carbon fiber cloths and bonding the stacked layers by press molding. The examiner notes, as depicted throughout the figures, the layers are stacked to include some layers having openings which form a concave region on a same side of the stacked layers, see at least [0066], FIG. 9, [0079] – (construed as stacking the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth to form a stacked structure, wherein the part of the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth with the openings is arranged on top to form a concave region on an upper surface of the stacked structure; and pressing a mold against the stacked structure, to form a case, wherein the case comprises a concave structure at a position corresponding to the concave region). One of ordinary skill would appreciate and envision using Sasaki’s process as the reference suggests doing so contributes to forming an integrally molded article having reduced thickness and high rigidity, see [0016].
Hass discloses a method of fabricating a plurality of multilayer structure having a recess. The method to include a stack of layered material 12, 14, 16, prior to lamination and assembled within a pressing unit 34, 36. A top portion of the stack has a recess and as depicted in FIGS. 2-6 the assembly is laminated by pressing to form a multilayered article having a recess on its top side, see FIG. 1 – (construed as providing a plurality of pieces of material; forming an opening in a part of the plurality of pieces of material; stacking the plurality of layers to form a stacked structure, wherein a portion of the plurality of layers has an opening arranged on top to form a concave region on an upper surface of the stacked structure; and pressing a mold against the stacked structure, to form an article, wherein the article comprises a concave structure at a position corresponding to the concave region). One of ordinary skill would appreciate and envision using Hass’s process as the reference suggests doing so allows for a one step pressing method for fabricating a plurality of multilayer structures which includes at least one recess defined by a nonplanar surface, see Col 2, lines 50-53.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun’s method of manufacturing a housing, to include the processing steps as claimed and taught by Sasaki or Hass to provide Sasaki’s method with the aforementioned benefits.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sun further discloses a nameplate is mountable on the “thin area”, that is the recessed area, see at least Sasaki [0049] – (construed as mounting a plate to the concave structure)
Regarding claims 5-9, modified Sun further discloses a step of stacking the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth to form the stacked structure comprises arranging the part of the fiber cloth with the opening on top of the stacked structure and aligning the openings with each other; and a quantity of the part of the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth with the opening is less than three, see at least Sasaki figures; and the mold comprises an upper part and a lower part, and the upper part comprises a protruding portion at a position corresponding to the concave region; a protruding distance of the protruding portion is less than a sum of thicknesses of the part of the plurality of pieces of fiber cloth with the opening; the lower part is planar at a position corresponding to the concave region, see at least Hass FIGS 2-6.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 104859267 A), in view of at least one of Sasaki et al. (US 2017/0185108 A1), or Hass et al. (US 5,573,622), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yin et al. (CN 201936236 U).
Regarding claims 3-4, while modified Sun does not explicitly disclose performing surface machining on a side wall of the recess with a milling cutter.
Yin discloses a method and equipment for forming a shell. The is formed of carbon fiber cloth, see page 13 last two paragraphs. Yin further discloses a finishing process of after forming of the shell the “waste edge” is removed by milling, see page 16 paragraph 8. One of ordinary skill would appreciate and envision using Yin’s milling cutting technique as the reference suggests doing so allows for removing of bad edges after forming of the shell.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Sun’s method to include a technique of performing surface machining on a side wall of the recess with a milling cutter as claimed and reasonably suggested by Yin to provide Sun’s method with a means for removing waste edges as taught by Yin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749