DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “the respective distribution chamber” lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear if this is the same as the previously recited “distribution plenum[s]” or a different element.
Claims 2-16 are rejected for their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (KR2011089579A) in view of Kim (KR20180088139A).
Regarding claim 1, Jun teaches (see Fig. 1-6 & annotated Fig. 2 below, hereinafter Fig. A) an assembly for air movement within a vehicle, comprising: a housing (Fig. A), the housing establishes an air inlet (air inlet ¶[0004]) and one or more air outlets, the housing includes a fan (blower - ¶[0009]) disposed proximate to the air inlet wherein operation of the fan urges air to flow into the air inlet, the housing further comprises an evaporator (Fig. A) disposed such that air leaving the discharge of the fan flows through the evaporator, and a heater (Fig. A), the housing further comprises a mixing chamber (Fig. A) that is downstream of the evaporator and the heater, the housing defines a plurality of internal air flow plenums (Fig. A) downstream of the evaporator, comprising a first air flow plenum (Fig. A) that extends through and past the heater and into the mixing chamber, and a second air flow plenum (Fig. A) that bypasses the heater and flows into the mixing chamber; the mixing chamber receives air from the first and second air flow plenums, wherein air from the first and second flow plenums interacts therein; the housing further comprises a plurality of distribution plenums (Fig. A) that extend from the mixing chamber.
Fig. A – Annotated Fig. 2 of Jun
Jun does not teach wherein each of the plurality of distribution plenums includes a flow valve therein and proximate to an exit of the respective distribution chamber, wherein the flow valve for each of the plurality of distribution chambers is configured to allow or substantially prevent air flow to exit the respective distribution plenum, as the valves (6, 7, 8) of Jun are at the inlet of the plenums.
Kim teaches (see annotated Fig. 4, hereinafter Fig. B) wherein each of the plurality of distribution plenums (Fig. B) includes a flow valve (110, 120, 130) therein and proximate to an exit of the respective distribution chamber, wherein the flow valve for each of the plurality of distribution chambers is configured to allow or substantially prevent air flow to exit the respective distribution plenum (see also ¶[0039], “mounted adjacent to one end of the air flow path”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jun to include wherein the valves are arranged proximate to an exit of the respective distribution chambers as taught by Kim, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Kim teaches wherein placing the valves at the end of the distribution plenums provides an effective solution for delivering independent air flow for passenger comfort (¶[0004-0008]).
Fig. B – Annotated Fig. 4 of Kim
Regarding claim 2, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Jun further teaches wherein the housing is adapted to be installed within a vehicle, wherein when installed, the air inlet pulls air from within a passenger compartment of the vehicle, and the one or more air outlets direct air from the housing to respective one or more locations within the passenger compartment of the vehicle (¶[0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Jun further teaches the housing (Fig. A) does not include a baffle that interacts with air that leaves the heater via the first air flow plenum as the air flows toward the mixing chamber.
Regarding claim 4, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3, and Jun further teaches wherein air that travels through each of the first and second air flow plenums travels through the mixing chamber before flowing into each of the plurality of distribution plenums.
Regarding claim 5, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3, and Jun further teaches wherein there are no doors between the mixing chamber and the plurality of distribution plenums (see Fig. A & modification above, in which the valves are located at the end of the distribution plenums).
Regarding claim 6, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3, and Jun further teaches wherein the first air flow plenum comprises a first door (Fig. A) at an outlet thereof, wherein the first door is positionable to an open position allow air flow therepast and into the mixing chamber, and to a throttle position to throttle the amount of air flow therepast, and to a closed position to substantially prevent air flow therepast (it is noted Jun is capable of being operated in such a manner).
Regarding claim 7, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Jun further teaches wherein the second air flow plenum comprises a second door (Fig. A) at an outlet thereof, wherein the second door is positionable to an open position to allow air flow therepast and into the mixing chamber, and to a throttle position to throttle the amount of air flow therepast, and to a closed position to substantially prevent air flow therepast (it is noted Jun is capable of being operated in such a manner).
Regarding claim 8, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7, and Jun further teaches wherein the first and second doors (Fig. A) are arranged such that when the first door is in the open position, the second door is in the closed position, and when the first door is in the closed position, the second door is in the open position (it is noted Jun is capable of being operated in such a manner).
Regarding claim 9, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Jun further teaches the plurality of distribution plenums comprise a first plenum that directs air toward a driver side portion of a vehicle that includes the assembly for air movement, a second plenum that directs air toward a front row passenger side portion of the vehicle, and a third portion that directs air toward a rear portion of the vehicle (2b, 2c, 2d direct air, to some extent, to each of the driver side, front row, and rear of vehicle).
Regarding claim 11, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Jun further teaches the housing comprises a left housing assembly and a right housing assembly (left/right cases 21/22 divided by separation plate 1), wherein the first air flow plenum comprises a first left air flow plenum within the left housing assembly and a first right air flow plenum within the right housing assembly (Fig. A, which is mirrored in both 21 and 22), wherein the second air flow plenum comprises a second left air flow plenum within the left housing assembly and a second right air flow plenum within the left housing assembly, and wherein each of the left and right housing assemblies comprise their own mixing chamber (Fig. A), wherein a first of the plurality of distribution plenums extends from the mixing chamber in the left housing, and a second of the plurality of distribution plenums extends from the mixing chamber in the right housing (Fig. A).
Regarding claim 12, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11, and Jun further teaches a third of the plurality of distribution plenums receives air from one or both of the mixing chambers from the right and left housing assemblies (at least 2d may receive air from one or both, optionally, via removal of 30).
Regarding claim 13, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11, and Jun further teaches the left housing assembly (21) does not include a baffle that interacts with air that leaves the heater via the first left air flow plenum as air flows toward the mixing chamber within the left housing assembly, and the right housing assembly (22) does not include a baffle that interacts with air that leaves the heater via the first right air flow plenum and flows to toward the mixing chamber within the right housing assembly (as modified above).
Regarding claim 14, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Jun further teaches the housing comprises a left housing assembly (21) and a right housing assembly (22), wherein the first air flow plenum directs a portion of the air flowing therethrough into the left housing assembly and a remaining portion of the air flowing therethrough into the right housing assembly, and wherein the second air flow plenum directs a portion of the air flowing therethrough into the left housing assembly and a remaining portion of the air flowing therethrough into the right housing assembly; wherein each of the left and right housing assemblies comprise their own mixing chamber, wherein a first of the plurality of distribution plenums extends from the mixing chamber in the left housing, and a second of the plurality of distribution plenums extends from the mixing chamber in the right housing (Fig A, which is mirrored on each side of separation plate 1).
Regarding claim 15, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Jun further teaches a third of the plurality of distribution plenums receives air from one or both of the mixing chambers from the right and left housing assemblies (at least 2d may receive air from one or both, optionally, via removal of 30).
Regarding claim 16, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Jun further teaches the left housing assembly (21) does not include a baffle that interacts with air that leaves the heater via the first air flow plenum as the air enters into the left housing assembly and flows toward the mixing chamber within the left housing assembly, and the right housing assembly (22) does not include a baffle that interacts with air that leaves the heater via the first air flow plenum as the air enters into the right housing assembly and flows to toward the mixing chamber within the right housing assembly (as modified above).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (KR2011089579A) in view of Kim (KR20180088139A) and Patti (US20130137355A).
Regarding claim 10, Jun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Jun as modified does not teach the housing comprises a second air inlet that receives air that flows into the second air inlet from outside of a passenger compartment of the vehicle.
Patti teaches the housing comprises a second air inlet that receives air that flows into the second air inlet from outside of a passenger compartment of the vehicle (see fresh air section 32 and recirculation entry section 31; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jun to include the air inlet configuration of Patti, in order to selectively introduce recirculated or fresh air into the air handler (¶[0005-0006]).
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763