DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 11, 12, and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to the amendments to the previous claim objections and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The claim objections and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-12, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections are not persuasive. The broadness of the amendments are taught by the prior art, as disclosed below.
With respect to the arguments, Pages 11-12, regarding the reference of Hoenselaar are not persuasive. Hoenselaar’s device, which is also capable of cleaning a cable, was used to demonstrate the “keyed” features are well known in the art. All the other claimed features are taught by Graf, as disclosed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graf (US 5360084 A).
Referring to claim 1: Graf discloses a cable cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1 and 5) for cleaning a cable (capable of being used to clean a cable), comprising:
a body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5) including an axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) extending along an axial length (axial length from first face shown in Fig. 1 to opposite face not shown) of the body, the axial cavity extending between a first end (first end face shown in Fig. 1) and a second end (second end face opposite to the first end face not shown in Fig. 1) opposite the first end, the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) shaped to surround the cable;
a cable slot (cable slot between 10 shown in Fig. 1) extending a length of the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3), the cable slot forming an opening between the axial cavity and an exterior of the body, allowing the cable to enter the axial cavity through the cable slot;
at least one brush (see top and side brushes 10 in Figs. 1 and 3) having a distal end configured to couple to the body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5) and a proximal end configured to extend into the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3); and
a fluid inlet port (15 Figs. 1 and 5; “lubricant-supply opening 15” Col. 6, line 31) configured to direct fluid into a channel (CH Fig. 1-A inserted below) running axially through the body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5), wherein a plurality of high-pressure tunnels (TU Fig. 1-A inserted below; “The lubricant feeder is preferably a gas-driven lubricant feeder of the type described in German Patent document DE-OS 38 11 469 in which, by electrolytic action, a gas is generated to pressurize the flowable lubricant medium to drive it out of the single outlet of this feeder” Col. 3, lines 13-17) extend between the channel (CH Fig. 1-A inserted below) and the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) to direct fluid from the channel into the axial cavity. the tunnels (TU Fig. 1-A inserted below) being separate from the at least one brush (10 in Figs. 1 and 3).
Referring to claim 4: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5) is a single, unitary piece (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Referring to claim 5: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one brush (10 Fig. 1) includes two or more brushes (see top and side brushes 10 in Figs. 1 and 3).
Referring to claim 7: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein each brush (see top and side brushes 10 in Figs. 1 and 3) is positioned within a retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2; “receiving grooves 5 for the insertion of the brush module 6” Col. 5, lines 30-31) extending axially along the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) the retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2)
forming a plane (plane of groove 5 which extends outwardly shown in Figs. 1 and 2) extending outwardly from the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) and terminating within the body (within the body of 1 shown in Figs. 1, 2, and 5) before reaching a perimeter (perimeter of 42 shown in Fig. 1) of the body, the retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2) constraining the at least one brush (10 Fig. 1) such that the proximal end of the at least one brush (10 Fig. 1) is held within the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) to engage the cable.
Referring to claim 10: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 7, wherein each retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2) is at an angle of between 90 and 180 degrees (see Fig. 3-A inserted below and their respective 90 degree angles) with respect to the cable slot (cable slot between 10 shown in Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 12: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the channel (CH Fig. 1-A inserted above) runs parallel to and is offset (Merriam-Webster: “offset”: 1a: “to place over against something”; shown parallel and offset in Fig. 1) from the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3).
Referring to claim 13: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fluid inlet port (15 Figs. 1 and 5; “lubricant-supply opening 15” Col. 6, line 31) is threaded (“threaded openings 15” Col. 6, line 10) to couple (capable of coupling to another source such as a nozzle of a hose) to a nozzle, the nozzle configured to couple to a hose and form a fluid connection between the hose and the fluid inlet port (15 Figs. 1 and 5; “lubricant-supply opening 15” Col. 6, line 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 3, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf (US 5360084 A) and Golden (US 5351359 A).
Referring to claim 2: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5) is made up of at least two concave elements (shown in Fig. 5) forming a cross section (cross section shown in Fig. 5) along the axial length (axial length from first face shown in Fig. 1 to opposite face not shown) of the body.
But is silent on wherein the body is made up specifically of at least two disks.
Golden, in an analogous cleaning apparatus teaches wherein the body is made up specifically of a at least two disks (35 and 36 Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf with the disk shape as taught by Golden for the purpose of having an alternate shape, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Referring to claim 3: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 2, wherein: a first end cap (1E Fig. 2-A inserted below) is attached on the first end (first end face shown in Fig. 1) of the body (center 1 shown in Fig. 2-A inserted below);
a second end cap (2E Fig. 2-A inserted below) is attached on the second end (second end face opposite to the first end face not shown in Fig. 1) of the body (center 1 shown in Fig. 2-A inserted below); and
a plurality of screws (60/61 Figs. 5 and 7; “The modules of the stack are held together by drawbolts 60 (FIG. 7), heads of which have been shown at 61 in FIG. 5” Col. 6, lines 44-46) run through respective holes in the first end cap (1E Fig. 2-A inserted below), the second end cap (2E Fig. 2-A inserted below), and the body (center 1 shown in Fig. 2-A inserted below) each to retain the body between the first end cap and the second end cap.
Referring to claim 11: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 2, wherein each disk (35 and 36 Fig. 2 of Golden; modified shape shown in Fig. 5 of Graf) has a concave exterior surface (concave exterior surface of 35 and 36 Fig. 2 of Golden; concave exterior surface shown in Fig. 5 of Graf) generally corresponding to a size of a human finger (the shapes taught by both Graf and Golden are meant to be portable and therefore corresponding to the size of a human finger).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf (US 5360084 A).
Referring to claim 6: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 1, teaches pressurized tunnels that appear to have a smaller cross-sectional but is silent on wherein the tunnels comprise specifically a total cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel, such that fluid through the channel is pressurized when passing through the tunnels.
Per MPEP 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: wherein the high-pressure tunnels comprise specifically a total cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel, a total cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the channel, or a total cross-sectional area equal to a cross-sectional area of the channel; further, the prior art teaches the wherein the high-pressure tunnels have a smaller cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel.
Therefore, modifying the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf to have the high-pressure tunnels to comprise specifically a total cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf by having the high-pressure tunnels to comprise specifically a total cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel for the purpose of having the a total cross sectional area for achieving the intended fluid velocity.
Claims 8, 9, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf (US 5360084 A) and Hoenselaar (US 5020637 A).
Referring to claim 8: Graf discloses the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 7, but is silent on wherein each retention slot includes a keyed end distal to the axial cavity, the keyed end defining an enlarged opening within the body; and the at least one brush includes an enlarged distal end, sized and shaped for retention within the keyed end, wherein when the enlarged distal end of the brush is positioned within the keyed end of the retention slot, the brush is unable to move in any direction other than along the axial length of the body.
Hoenselaar in an analogous cleaning apparatus (see Fig. 1) teaches wherein each similar configuration retention slot (slot holding 44 shown in Fig. 1) includes a keyed end (keyed end of 48 Fig. 1) distal to the similar configuration axial cavity (36 Fig. 1), the keyed end defining an enlarged opening within the similar configuration body (body of 34 Fig. 1); and the at least one similar configuration brush (40a, 40b, and 40c Fig. 1) includes an enlarged distal end (enlarged distal end of 44 shown in Fig. 1), sized and shaped for retention within the keyed end (keyed end of 48 Fig. 1), wherein when the enlarged distal end (enlarged distal end of 44 shown in Fig. 1) of the brush is positioned within the keyed end (keyed end of 48 Fig. 1) of the retention slot (slot holding 44 shown in Fig. 1), the similar configuration brush (40a, 40b, and 40c Fig. 1) is unable to move in any direction other than along the axial length of the similar configuration body (body of 34 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf with the keyed slot coupling members as taught by Hoenselaar for the purpose of having an alternate manner of coupling the brushes.
Referring to claim 9: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 8, wherein each brush (40a, 40b, and 40c Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar) includes bristles at a proximal end (proximal end of 44 shown in Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar) of the at least one brush, the bristles positioned within the axial cavity (36 Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar) to engage the cable when the cable is within the axial cavity (36 Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar).
Referring to claim 14: Graf teaches a cable cleaning apparatus (Figs. 1 and 5) for cleaning a cable (capable of being used to clean a cable), comprising:
a body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5) extending along an axial length (axial length from first face shown in Fig. 1 to opposite face not shown) centrally disposed between a first end (first end face shown in Fig. 5) and a second end (second end face opposite to the first end face not shown in Fig. 5) opposite the first end, wherein the body defines:
an axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) along the axial length (axial length from first face shown in Fig. 5 to opposite face not shown) of the body, the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) extending between the first and second ends of the body;
a cable slot (cable slot between 10 shown in Fig. 1) extending a length of the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3), the cable slot (cable slot between 10 shown in Fig. 1) forming an opening (opening shown in Fig. 1 between cavity 2 and 3 and exterior of 2 and 3) between the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) and an exterior of the body (exterior of the body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5), allowing the cable to enter the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) through the cable slot (cable slot between 10 shown in Fig. 1);
a retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2; “receiving grooves 5 for the insertion of the brush module 6” Col. 5, lines 30-31) extending axially along the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3), the retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2) forming a plane (plane of groove 5 which extends outwardly shown in Figs. 1 and 2) extending outwardly from the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) and terminating before reaching a perimeter of the body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5); and
a channel (CH Fig. 1-A inserted above) running parallel and offset (Merriam-Webster: “offset”: 1a: “to place over against something”; shown parallel and offset in Fig. 1) from to the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3) through the body (body of 1 Figs. 1, 2, and 5), at least one tunnel (TU Fig. 1-A inserted above; “The lubricant feeder is preferably a gas-driven lubricant feeder of the type described in German Patent document DE-OS 38 11 469 in which, by electrolytic action, a gas is generated to pressurize the flowable lubricant medium to drive it out of the single outlet of this feeder” Col. 3, lines 13-17) forming a fluid connection between the channel (CH Fig. 1-A inserted above) and the axial cavity (axial cavity between 2 and 3), the at least one tunnel (TU) being separate from the retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2).
Graf teaches pressurized tunnels (shown in Fig. 1) that appear wherein the at least one tunnel has a cross-sectional area that is less than a cross-sectional area of the channel, but is silent on wherein the at least one tunnel has a cross-sectional area is less than a cross-sectional area of the channel such that fluid flowing from the channel through the at least one tunnel is pressurized upon entering the axial cavity; and is also silent on wherein the retention slot includes a keyed end distal to the axial cavity, the keyed end defining an enlarged opening within the body.
Per MPEP 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: wherein the high-pressure tunnels comprise specifically a total cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel, a total cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the channel, or a total cross-sectional area equal to a cross-sectional area of the channel; further, the prior art teaches the wherein the high-pressure tunnels have a smaller cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel.
Therefore, modifying the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf to have the high-pressure tunnels to comprise specifically a total cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf by having the high-pressure tunnels to comprise specifically a total cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the channel for the purpose of having the a total cross sectional area for achieving the intended fluid velocity.
Hoenselaar in an analogous cleaning apparatus (see Fig. 1) teaches wherein the similar configuration retention slot (keyed end of plurality of 48 Fig. 1; 1S and 2S Fig. 4-A inserted below to accommodate brushes 40a, 40b, and 40c) includes a keyed end (keyed end of 48 Fig. 1) distal to the similar configuration axial cavity (axial cavity of 34 Fig. 1), the keyed end (keyed end of 48 Fig. 1) defining an enlarged opening within the body (body of 34 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf with the keyed slot coupling members as taught by Hoenselaar for the purpose of having an alternate manner of coupling the brushes.
Referring to claim 15: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 14, wherein the retention slot (keyed end of 48 Fig. 1; 1S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) is at an angle of between 90 and 180 degrees (see Fig. 4-A inserted above and respective 90 degree angles of Hoenselaar) with respect to the similar configuration cable slot (cable slot between brushes 40a, 40b, and 40c Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar).
Referring to claim 16: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 15, further comprising a second retention slot (keyed end of plurality of 48 Fig. 1; 2S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) extending axially along the axial cavity (axial cavity of 34 Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar), the second retention slot forming a plane extending outwardly from the axial cavity (axial cavity of 34 Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar) and terminating before reaching the perimeter of the body, wherein the second retention slot (2S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) includes a second keyed end (keyed end of plurality of 48 Fig. 1; 2S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) distal to the axial cavity (axial cavity of 34 Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar), the second keyed end defining a second enlarged opening within the body (body of 34 Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar), wherein the second retention slot is at an angle of between 90 degrees and 180 degrees (see Fig. 4-A inserted above and respective 90 degree angles of Hoenselaar) with respect to the cable slot (cable slot between brushes 40a, 40b, and 40c Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar).
Referring to claim 17: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first retention slot and the second retention slot (1S and 2S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) are each perpendicular to the cable slot (cable slot between brushes 40a, 40b, and 40c Fig. 1 of Hoenselaar).
Referring to claim 18: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 16, further comprising: a first brush (40b Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) coupled within the retention slot (1S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar), wherein the first brush includes a first enlarged distal end (enlarged distal end of 44 shown in Fig. 1) within the first keyed end (keyed end of plurality of 48 Fig. 1); and
a second brush (40c Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) coupled within the second retention slot (2S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar), wherein the second brush (40c Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) includes a second enlarged distal end (enlarged distal end of 44 shown in Fig. 1) within the second keyed end (keyed end of plurality of 48 Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 19: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 14, but is silent on wherein the retention slot extends through the first end of the body.
Hoenselaar in an analogous cleaning apparatus (see Fig. 1) teaches wherein the retention slot (1S and 2S Fig. 4-A inserted above of Hoenselaar) extends through the similar configuration first end (first end face of 34 shown in Figs. 1-3) of the body (body of 34 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable cleaning apparatus of Graf as modified with the orientation of the slot as taught by Hoenselaar for the purpose of having an alternate manner of securing the brushes.
Referring to claim 20: Graf as modified teaches the cable cleaning apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a first end cap (1E Fig. 2-A inserted above of Graf) configured to connect to the body (center 1 shown in Fig. 2-A inserted above of Graf) at the first end (first end face shown in Fig. 1 of Graf) to enclose the retention slot (5 Figs. 1 and 2 of Graf), the first end cap (1E Fig. 2-A inserted above of Graf) including a cap slot (slot between 10 of 1E shown in Fig. 2-A inserted above) therethrough, corresponding in shape and positioning to the cable slot (cable slot between 10 shown in Fig. 1) of the body (center 1 shown in Fig. 2-A inserted above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723