DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 20210172626 A1 in view of Pham et al. US 20190154287 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al. teaches an air purifying device represented by air cleaning module 100 (Fig. 1, [0036]). The air cleaning module 100 comprises of the following elements of the current invention:
A main body comprising at least one filter unit including a filter represented by filter assembly 10 wherein “the air cleaning module 100 may include a filter assembly 10” and “The filter assembly 10 includes the filtering passage 102, and filters outside air” (Fig. 2, [0040,0050]).
A blower unit including a blower configured to induce air flow to pass through the at least one filter unit represented by air blower 20 wherein “the air blower unit 20 generates an air flow” and “the air flow passage 108 may connect the filtering passage 102 and the cleaning connection passage 104”. (Fig. 2, [0051,0054]). The reference further clarifies “the filtered air, discharged from the air blower unit 20…” clearly indicating the air blower unit 20 induces an air flow passage through the filter assembly 10 [0049].
An output terminal configured to output power received from the power supply to outside represented by base connector 260 wherein “the air cleaning module 100 may include base body 110…the base body 110 may include an upper body 120 and a lower body 130” and “the air cleaning module 100 and the air humidification module 200 may be detachably assembled in the upper body 120, such that the base connector 260 for providing power to the air humidification module 200 may be disposed in the upper body 120” (Fig. 1-4, [0046,0083]). It is clear that the base connector 260 is an output terminal to which power received from the main power supply of the air cleaning module 100 can be output.
At least one function module detachably assembled onto the main body and comprising a function unit comprising circuitry configured to perform a function of assisting the main body or a function different from a function of the main body represented by air humidification module 200 wherein “the air humidification module 200 may be detachably located over the air cleaning module 100” and “the air humidification module 200 may be supplied with the filtered air, may humidify the filtered air to provide moisture, and may discharge the humidified air to the outside” (Fig. 1, [0037-0038]).
A connection terminal electrically connectable to the output terminal represented by top connector 270 wherein “top connector 270, detachably connected to the base connector 260, may be disposed in the air humidification module 200. The top connector 270 may be disposed in the top cover assembly 230” (Fig. 2, [0083]).
A second power supply configured to receive power separate from the power supplied to the power supply represented by “as the air humidification module 200 may be separated from the air cleaning module 100, a separate power supply structure may be provided in which power is provided separately to the air cleaning module 100 and the air humidification module 200” [0082].
Jung et al. fails to teach the following:
A main controller comprising circuitry configured to control operation of the blower unit
A power supply configured to supply power to the main controller
An auxiliary controller comprising circuitry configured to control operation of the function unit.
Pham et al. teaches the following:
A main controller comprising circuitry configured to control operation of the blower unit represented by control module 112 wherein “the circulator blower 108, also referred to as a fan, is controlled by a control module 112” (Fig. 1, [0117]). The control module 112 is beneficial to “select a speed of the circulator blower 108” and help regulate the desired function [0118].
A power supply configured to supply power to the main controller represented by transformer 212 wherein “a transformer 212 can be connected to an AC line in order to provide AC power to the control module 112 and the thermostat 208” (Fig. 2A, [0130]). The transformer is beneficial to supply power to the main controller as well as other components of the device so they may operate as intended.
An auxiliary controller comprising circuitry configured to control operation of the function unit represented by humidifier control module 1628 wherein “a humidifier control module 1628 controls operation of the humidifier 432 based on the average RH and the IAQ score [0252]. The humidifier control module is beneficial to turn the humidifier on and off based on the desired humidity level.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. to incorporate the teachings of Pham et al. to incorporate a main controller, a power supply, and an auxiliary controller to help supply power to the device and to help operate the components of the device to the desired degree.
Regarding claim 7, Jung et al. teaches the at least one function module comprising at least one of the following: a blower module including a blower configured to perform a blowing function, a humidifying module including a humidifier to perform a humidifying function, or a charging module including charging circuitry configured to perform a charging function represented by water dispensing unit 400, water tank 300, and humidification medium 50 wherein “the air humidification module 200 may include water tank 300 that stores water for humidification and detachably disposed on the air cleaning module 100; a water dispensing unit (dispenser) 400 disposed in the water tank 300 and spraying water in the water tank 300; a humidification medium 50 wetted with water sprayed from the water dispensing unit 400 and providing moisture to the flowing air” (Fig. 3, [0079]).
Regarding claim 8, Jung et al. teaches the main body and the at least one function module being assembled to overlap in an upward and downward direction as shown by Figure 1 and Figure 2 wherein the humidification module 200 and the air cleaning module 100 are shown to be vertically stacked.
The reference further teaches the connection terminal being arranged at an edge portion of the at least one function module facing the main body represented by Figure 4 wherein the top connector 270 is shown to be on the edge of the humidification module 200 and facing downward towards the air cleaning module 100. Furthermore, positioning the connection terminal in this manner is simply design choice. The courts have previously stated obvious matters of design choice, such as rearrangement of parts, are valid rejections in re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP 2144.04). Positioning the connection terminal in this manner would be beneficial for simplification of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Pham et al. teaches the power supply configured to receive alternating current power represented by transformer 212 wherein “transformer 212 can be connected to an AC line in order to provide AC power to the control module 112 and the thermostat 208” (Fig. 2A, [0130]).
The references are silent as to the second power supply receiving alternating current power, however that is a design choice that would not yield a new or unexpected result. The courts have previously stated obvious matters of design choice, such as duplication of parts, are valid rejections in re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 11, Jung et al. teaches the following elements of the current invention:
A function module comprising circuitry and configured to aid an air purifying device, the function module being detachably assembled onto a main body of the air purifying device represented by air humidification module 200 wherein “the air humidification module 200 may be detachably located over the air cleaning module 100” (Fig. 1, [0037]).
A function unit comprising circuitry configured to perform a function of assisting the main body or a function different from the function of the main body represented by water dispensing unit 400 (Fig. 3, [0079]).
A connection terminal electrically connectable to an output terminal configured to output power from the main body to the outside represented by top connector 270 and base connector 260 (Fig. 1-4, [0046, 0083]). The reference teaches “the air cleaning module 100 may include base body 110…the base body 110 may include an upper body 120 and a lower body 130” wherein “the air cleaning module 100 and the air humidification module 200 may be detachably assembled in the upper body 120, such that the base connector 260 for providing power to the air humidification module 200 may be disposed in the upper body 120” (Fig. 1-4, [0046,0083]). It is clear that the base connector 260 is an output terminal to which power received from the main power supply of the air cleaning module 100 can be output. Furthermore, the reference teaches: “top connector 270, detachably connected to the base connector 260, may be disposed in the air humidification module 200. The top connector 270 may be disposed in the top cover assembly 230” (Fig. 2, [0083]).
A second power supply configured to receive power separate from the power supplied to a power supply of the main body represented by “a power source may be connected to the air cleaning module 100’ and “as the air humidification module 200 may be separated from the air cleaning module 100, a separate power supply structure may be provided in which power is provided separately to the air cleaning module 100 and the air humidification module 200” [0082].
Regarding claim 13, Jung et al. teaches the function module comprising at least one of the following: a blower module including a blower configured to perform a blowing function, a humidifying module including a humidifier to perform a humidifying function, or a charging module including charging circuitry configured to perform a charging function represented by water tank 300 and humidification medium 50 wherein “the air humidification module 200 may include water tank 300 that stores water for humidification and detachably disposed on the air cleaning module 100; a water dispensing unit (dispenser) 400 disposed in the water tank 300 and spraying water in the water tank 300; a humidification medium 50 wetted with water sprayed from the water dispensing unit 400 and providing moisture to the flowing air” (Fig. 3, [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, Jung et al. teaches the main body and the function module being assembled to overlap in an upward and downward direction as shown by Figure 1 and Figure 2 wherein the humidification module 200 and the air cleaning module 100 are shown to be vertically stacked.
The reference further teaches the connection terminal being arranged at an edge portion of the function module facing the main body represented by Figure 4 wherein the top connector 270 is shown to be on the edge of the humidification module 200 and facing downward towards the air cleaning module 100. Furthermore, positioning the connection terminal in this manner is simply design choice. The courts have previously stated obvious matters of design choice, such as rearrangement of parts, are valid rejections in re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP 2144.04). Positioning the connection terminal in this manner would be beneficial for simplification of the device.
Regarding claim 15, Jung et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 11.
Jung et al. fails to teach the second power supply being configured to receive alternating current power.
Pham et al. teaches the second power supply being configured to receive alternating current power represented by power supply 336 wherein “power supply 336 may receive AC power from a standard wall outlet (or receptacle) 340 via a plug 344” [0136]. This is beneficial as AC power is well known in the art to be the standard for electricity delivery due to its efficiency and cost effectiveness.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. to incorporate the teachings of Pham et al. to the second power supply being configured to receive alternate current power as it is known to be efficient and cost effective.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 20210172626 A1 in view of Pham et al. US 20190154287 A1 and in further view of So et al. US 11223162 B2.
Regarding claim 2, Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. fails to teach a switch configured to selectively receive power from one of the connection terminal and the second power supply.
So et al. teaches a switch configured to selectively receive power from one of the connection terminal and the second power supply represented by switch 140 wherein “the air cleaners 10 and 20 are described as being configured such that the switch 140 connects the first input terminal 126 and the output part 113, or the switch 140 connects the second input terminal 127 and the power adapter 130 as the power adapter 130 is connected to or disconnected from the switch 140” (pg. 26). The switch is beneficial to “prevent double powering” of the at least one function module.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. to incorporate the teachings of So et al. to incorporate a switch configured to selectively receive power to prevent double powering of the at least one function module.
Regarding claim 12, Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 11.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. fails to teach a switch configured to selectively receive power from one of the connection terminal and the second power supply.
So et al. teaches a switch configured to selectively receive power from one of the connection terminal and the second power supply represented by switch 140 wherein “the air cleaners 10 and 20 are described as being configured such that the switch 140 connects the first input terminal 126 and the output part 113, or the switch 140 connects the second input terminal 127 and the power adapter 130 as the power adapter 130 is connected to or disconnected from the switch 140” (pg. 26). The switch is beneficial to “prevent double powering” of the function module.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. to incorporate the teachings of So et al. to incorporate a switch configured to selectively receive power to prevent double powering of the function module.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 20210172626 A1 in view of Pham et al. US 20190154287 A1 and in further view of So et al. US 11223162 B2 and in further view of Kim et al. US 20150213290 A1 and in further view of Kim et al. US 20190148968 A1 (Kim et al. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of So et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
So et al. teaches a power adapter removably arranged to supply power to the at least one function module and an input terminal electrically connectable to the power adapter represented by power adapter 130 and second input terminal 127 wherein “the power adapter 130 may be connected to the second air cleaner 20… via the second input terminal 127”(pg. 25). It is well known in the art that a power adapter is beneficial to ensure proper voltage and current is provided to a device.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of So et al. fail to teach the switch being configured to electrically connect the input terminal and the auxiliary controller to each other based on the power adapter being connected to the input terminal , and electrically connect the connection terminal and the auxiliary controller to each other based on the power adapter being separate from the input terminal.
Kim et al. teaches the switch may be configured to connect the auxiliary controller with the input terminal or the connection terminal represented by “a switch configured to electrically connect the main controller and the power supplier” (claim 3). In the current invention, the power supplier may be the input terminal or the connection terminal. The reference is silent as to the switch determining which power supply to connect the auxiliary controller to based on whether or not the power adapter is connected to the input terminal.
Kim et al 2 teaches the switch determining which power supply to connect the auxiliary controller to based on whether or not the power adapter is connected to the input terminal represented by “a controller configured to determine whether a wireless charging initialization event is detected, identify whether an external power supply is connected and control an on/off state of each of the first switch and the second switch based on whether the wireless charging initialization event is detected and whether the external power supply is connected” [0196]. In the current invention the first switch and the second switch of Kim et al. 2 are simply the two configurations of the switch (connecting the auxiliary controller with either the input terminal or the connection terminal). Therefore, incorporating the controller of Kim et al. 2 to configure the switch in this manner would not yield an unexpected result and would be beneficial as to not double power the auxiliary controller.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of So et al. to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. and Kim et al. 2 to incorporate the switch being configured to electrically connect the auxiliary controller with either the input terminal or the connection terminal based on the power adapter’s connection to the input terminal to prevent double power to the auxiliary controller.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 20210172626 A1 in view of Pham et al. US 20190154287 A1 and in further view of Park et al. US 20090236202 A1 and in further view of Hur et al. US 20210235144 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. fails to teach a module detection sensor configured to detect the at least one functional module.
Park et al. teaches a module detection sensor configured to detect the at least one functional module represented by module detection sensor 216 wherein “the module detection sensor 216 may be installed in the movable plate 202 and may detect the semiconductor module 1 gripped by the gripper 205” [0077]. It is well known in the art that a module detection sensor is beneficial to allow detection of components being connected or disconnected from a unit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. to incorporate the teachings of Park et al. to incorporate a module detection sensor configured to detect the at least one functional module to allow the unit to detect if components are connected or disconnected.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. fails the main controller being configured to operation the main body based on information detected by the module detection sensor.
Hur et al. teaches the main controller being configured to operation the main body based on information detected by the module detection sensor represented by “based on the output of the infrared sensor having a specific pattern, the controller is further configured to perform an operation corresponding to the infrared signal transmitted from the remote controller” [0013]. Although the reference teaches an infrared sensor, it is clear that controllers may be configured to operate based on information received from a receiver. Therefore, the main controller could inherently selectively supply power to the output terminal based on information detected by the module detection sensor. This would be beneficial to allow the operation of the main body to be based on all available data and resources.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. to incorporate the teachings of Hur et al. to incorporate the main controller being configured to operation the main body based on information detected by the module detection sensor to allow the operation of the main body to be based on all available data.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 20210172626 A1 in view of Pham et al. US 20190154287 A1 and in further view of Park et al. US 20090236202 A1 And in further view of Hur et al. US 20210235144 A1 and in further view of Choi et al. US 20210305844 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. and in further view of Hur et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 4.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. and in further view of Hur et al. fails to teach the main controller being configured to selectively supply power to the output terminal based on information detected by the module detection sensor
Choi et al. teaches the main controller being configured to selectively supply power to the output terminal based on information detected by the module detection sensor represented by “the controller 140 may supply the rectified power to the output terminal 150” [0055]. It is well known in the art that a controller being able to supply a terminal with power is beneficial to enable direct connection for other devices or systems.
The reference is silent as to the main controller sending the power to the output terminal based on information detected by the module detection sensor. However, Hur et al. teaches “based on the output of the infrared sensor having a specific pattern, the controller is further configured to perform an operation corresponding to the infrared signal transmitted from the remote controller” [0013]. Although the reference teaches an infrared sensor, it is clear that controllers may be configured to operate based on information received from a sensor. This would be beneficial to allow the controller to perform operations, such as selectively supplying power to the output terminal, be based on all available data and resources.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. and in further view of Hur et al. to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. to incorporate teaches the main controller being configured to selectively supply power to the output terminal based on information detected by the module detection sensor to allow direct connection for other devices or systems.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 20210172626 A1 in view of Pham et al. US 20190154287 A1 and in further view of Park et al. US 20090236202 A1 And in further view of Hur et al. US 20210235144 A1 and in further view of Scaringe et al. US 20170197679 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. and in further view of Hur et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 4.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. and in further view of Hur et al. fails the module detection sensor being configured to detect a type of the at least one function module assembled onto the main body.
Scaring et al. teaches the module detection sensor being configured to detect a type of the at least one function module assembled onto the main body represented by module sensor 224 wherein “the module sensor(s) 224 may detect the presence of a particular type of module 120, 230 or a unique module 120, 230 of a particular type that has a unique identification number distinguishing it from other modules of any type” [0023]. This is beneficial so the main body would be aware of what operations or functions the module attached to it has.
The reference is silent as to the main controller configured to operate the blower unit differently based on the detected type of the at least one functional module. However, Hur et al. teaches “based on the output of the infrared sensor having a specific pattern, the controller is further configured to perform an operation corresponding to the infrared signal transmitted from the remote controller” [0013]. Although the reference teaches an infrared sensor, it is clear that controllers may be configured to operate based on information received from a sensor. This would be beneficial to allow the controller to perform operations, such as operating the blower unit differently, based on all available data and resources.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. and in further view of Park et al. and in further view of Hur et al. to incorporate the teachings of Scaringe et al. of the module detection sensor being configured to detect a type of the at least one function module assembled onto the main body to allow the main body to operate with all available knowledge and data.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. US 20210172626 A1 in view of Pham et al. US 20190154287 A1 and in further view of So et al. US 11223162 B2 and in further view of Harvey et al. US 11229138 B1.
Regarding claim 9, Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. fails the following:
The main body comprising a first connection unit including a connector provided to face the at least one function module
The at least one function module comprising a second connection unit including a connector provided to face the first connection unit and be detachably fixed to the first connection unit
The first connection unit and the second connection unit are configured to be detachably fixed to each other using at least of a push latch type or a lever lock type.
So et al. teaches the following:
The main body comprising a first connection unit including a connector provided to face the at least one function module represented by “first connecting unit 110” wherein “the first connecting unit 110 may be disposed on top of the first air cleaner 10” (pg. 24).
The at least one function module comprising a second connection unit including a connector provided to face the first connection unit and be detachably fixed to the first connection unit represented by second connecting unit 120 wherein “the first connecting unit 110 may be detachably coupled to the second connecting unit 120” (pg. 24).
The first connection unit and second connection unit of So et al. are beneficial to connect the modules together, and because they are rotatable with respect to each other allowing the discharge of air in a different direction (pg. 24).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. to incorporate the teachings of So et al. to incorporate the first connection unit and the second connection unit to detachably couple the main module to the at least one function module in a rotatable manner.
So et al. does not teach the first connection unit and the second connection unit are configured to be detachably fixed to each other using at least of a push latch type or a lever lock type.
Harvey et al. teaches the first connection unit and the second connection unit are configured to be detachably fixed to each other using at least of a push latch type or a lever lock type represented by lever locks 530 wherein “resource connectors 525 may be built with lever locks 530” (pg. 16). It is well known in the art that lever locks are beneficial as they are tool free and provide reliable connections.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. in view of Pham et al. in further view of So et al. to incorporate the teachings of Harvey et al. to lever locks to provide tool free and secure connections.
Conclusion
/AMMAD W BUTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776