DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 16-35 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 09/05/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: undefined acronyms. The acronyms “NFC” and "RFID" have not been defined in the claim. The first instance of these acronyms should read “near field communication (NFC)” and "radio-frequency identification (RFID)". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al. US Pub 2018/0070220 (hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding claim 27
Kang discloses an RF communication system (“FIG. 1 shows an example of a near field communication (NFC) system;” [0010]), comprising:
an RF communication device (“first NFC device 110” [0028]; Fig. 1) according to claim 16; and
the at least one further RF communication device (“second NFC device 120” [0028]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28
Kang previously discloses the RF communication system according to claim 27,
Kang further discloses wherein the at least one further RF communication device is configured as a passive device (“Radio frequency identification (RFID) uses electromagnetic fields to automatically identify and track tags attached to objects. Passive tags collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves.” [0003]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 29
Kang previously discloses the RF communication system according to claim 27,
Kang further discloses wherein the at least one further RF communication device is configured as an active device (“As an NFC device is miniaturized, an antenna of the NFC device is also miniaturized. However, the miniaturization of the antenna makes it difficult for the NFC device to detect another NFC device. Accordingly, there is a need for a NFC device that recognizes another NFC device more accurately and rapidly even after being miniaturized.” [0004]).
Regarding claim 30
Kang previously discloses the RF communication system according to claim 29,
Kang further discloses wherein the at least one further RF communication device is configured as an active scanning device (“As an NFC device is miniaturized, an antenna of the NFC device is also miniaturized. However, the miniaturization of the antenna makes it difficult for the NFC device to detect another NFC device. Accordingly, there is a need for a NFC device that recognizes another NFC device more accurately and rapidly even after being miniaturized.” [0004]).
Regarding claim 31
Kang previously discloses the RF communication system according to claim 27,
Kang further discloses wherein the first RF signal is optimized to detect the active device (“As an NFC device is miniaturized, an antenna of the NFC device is also miniaturized. However, the miniaturization of the antenna makes it difficult for the NFC device to detect another NFC device. Accordingly, there is a need for a NFC device that recognizes another NFC device more accurately and rapidly even after being miniaturized.” [0004]); or wherein the second RF signal is optimized to detect the passive device (“Radio frequency identification (RFID) uses electromagnetic fields to automatically identify and track tags attached to objects. Passive tags collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves.” [0003]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 32
Kang previously discloses the RF communication system according to claim 27,
Kang further discloses wherein the further RF communication device is configured as an RFID device ([0039]), an NFC device [0004]), a tag ([0003]), a mobile phone ([0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-23, 26, and 33 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. US Pub 2018/0070220 (hereinafter “Kang”), and in view of Sacco et al. US Pub 2018/0203059 (hereinafter “Sacco”).
Regarding claim 16
Kang discloses a radio frequency (RF) communication device (“first NFC device 110” [0028]; Fig. 1) for detecting at least one further RF communication device (“second NFC device 120” [0028]; Fig. 1) being at least one of:
an active further RF communication device (“The first NFC device 110 operating in the reader mode transmits a first signal to the second NFC device 120 through electromagnetic induction between the first antenna 111 and the second antenna 121.” [0029]),
a passive further RF communication device (“Radio frequency identification (RFID) uses electromagnetic fields to automatically identify and track tags attached to objects. Passive tags collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves.” [0003]; [0039]),
the RF communication device (“first NFC device 110” [0028]; Fig. 1) comprising:
an RF transmission device (“a transceiver 112” in Fig. 2; [0032]), configured to transmit RF signals (“The transceiver 112 may transmit signals, which are wirelessly received through the antenna 111, to the first detection pulse generation block 113, the SOF detection block 115, and the polling block 116. For example, the transceiver 112 may receive a first response pulse RP1 (e.g., a first message) and a second response pulse RP2 (e.g., a second message) from an external device (e.g., the second device 120) through the antenna 111.” [0034]) to be received by the at least one further RF communication device (“second NFC device 120” [0028]; Fig. 1); and
an adaptive detection device (“the transceiver 112 is configured to wirelessly transmit signals, which are received from the first detection pulse generation block 113, the second detection pulse generation block 114, the SOF detection block 115, and the polling block 116, through the antenna 111.” [0033]), coupled to the RF transmission device, and configured to:
trigger a transmission of a first RF signal (“first detection pulse DP1” [0033]; Fig. 4),
trigger a transmission of a second RF signal (“second detection pulse DP2” [0033]; Fig. 4), and
detect the active further RF communication device (“RP1” in Fig. 3) based on the first RF signal (“DP1” in Fig. 4) or detect the passive further RF communication device (“RP2” in Fig. 3) based on the second RF signal (“DP2” in Fig. 4; (“the transceiver 112 may receive a first response pulse RP1 (e.g., a first message) and a second response pulse RP2 (e.g., a second message) from an external device (e.g., the second device 120) through the antenna 111. In an embodiment, the transceiver 112 transmits the first response pulse RP1 to the first detection pulse generation block 113 and transmits the second response pulse RP2 to the SOF detection block 115.” [0034]);
wherein one of the first RF signal (“DP1” in Fig. 4) and the second RF signal (“DP2” in Fig. 4) is transmitted subsequently to the other (“the transceiver 112 may wirelessly transmit a first detection pulse DP1 from the first detection pulse generation block 113 and a second detection pulse DP2 from the second detection pulse generation block 114 through the antenna 111.” [0033]; Fig. 4), and
Kang discloses comparing wherein a first energy level of the first RF signal to a second energy level of the second RF signal (“the amplitude of the second detection pulse DP2 is greater than that of the first detection pulse DP1. That is, a detection (or detectable) distance of the second detection pulse DP2 may be longer than that of the first detection pulse DP1” [0044]) but does not specifically teach wherein a first energy level of the first RF signal is at least 25% higher than a second energy level of the second RF signal.
In an analogous art, Sacco discloses wherein a first energy level of the first RF signal is at least 25% higher than a second energy level of the second RF signal (“In an embodiment, the second signal processor consumes less than 50% or less than 25% energy or power than the first signal processor.” [0024]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s near field communication device to include Sacco’s sensor system of comparing two radio signals, in order to determine dissipated power level (Sacco [0012]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Sacco’s sensor system of comparing two radio signals into Kang’s near field communication device since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 17
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 16,
Kang further discloses wherein the RF communication device is configured as a near field communication (NFC) device, and wherein the RF signals are configured as NFC signals (“Each of the first and second NFC devices 110 and 120 may operate in a reader mode or a card mode. For example, the first NFC device 110 may operate in the reader mode, and the second NFC device 120 may operate in the card mode. The first NFC device 110 operating in the reader mode transmits a first signal to the second NFC device 120 through electromagnetic induction between the first antenna 111 and the second antenna 121. The first signal may include a continuous wave for transmitting power and a first information signal added to the continuous wave for transmitting information.” [0029]).
Regarding claim 18
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 16,
Kang further discloses wherein the RF signals are configured as RF pulses (“In an embodiment, the first detection pulse generation block 113 generates the first detection pulse DP1 under control of the control block 117 and outputs the first detection pulse DP1 to the transceiver 112. The first detection pulse DP1 may be a detection pulse that is defined in the NFC standard.” [0035] and furthermore “In an embodiment, the second detection pulse generation block 114 generates the second detection pulse DP2 under control of the control block 117 and outputs the second detection pulse DP2 to the transceiver 112. The second detection pulse DP2 may have a different shape from the first detection pulse DP1.” [0036]).
Regarding claim 19
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 16, wherein the adaptive detection device is further configured to:
Kang further discloses in Fig. 4 trigger a transmission of a sequence of RF signals that includes the first RF signal and the second RF signal (“the transceiver 112 may wirelessly transmit a first detection pulse DP1 from the first detection pulse generation block 113 and a second detection pulse DP2 from the second detection pulse generation block 114 through the antenna 111.” [0033]; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 19,
Kang further discloses in Fig. 4 wherein a plurality of first RF signals and a plurality of second RF signals are transmitted alternatingly in the RF sequence (“In operation S140, the NFC device 110 transmits the second detection pulse DP2. An example in which the second detection pulse DP2 is transmitted is illustrated in a second detection interval of FIG. 4” [0044]).
Regarding claim 21
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 19,
Kang further discloses in Fig. 4 wherein one first RF signal and one second RF signal are transmitted alternatingly (“FIG. 4 shows an example in which the NFC device outputs a first detection pulse and a second detection pulse based on the operating method of FIG. 3;” [0013]).
Regarding claim 22
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 19,
Kang further discloses wherein two or more first RF signals and two or more RF signals are transmitted alternatingly (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 23
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 16,
Kang further discloses wherein the first RF signal and the second RF signal are transmitted as an extended pulse with different energy levels (“In an embodiment, the amplitude of the second detection pulse DP2 is greater than that of the first detection pulse DP1. That is, a detection (or detectable) distance of the second detection pulse DP2 may be longer than that of the first detection pulse DP1. In an embodiment, the amplitude of the first detection pulses DP1 transmitted during the first detection interval are the same as one another.” [0044]).
Regarding claim 26
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 16,
Sacco further discloses wherein the first energy level of the first RF signal is at least 50% higher than the second energy level of the second RF signal (“In an embodiment, the second signal processor consumes less than 50% or less than 25% energy or power than the first signal processor.” [0024]).
Regarding claim 33
A method for operating a radio frequency (RF) communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a first RF signal;
transmitting a second RF signal; and
detecting an active further RF communication device based on the first RF signal or detecting a passive further RF communication device based on the second RF signal;
wherein one of first RF signal and the second RF signal is transmitted subsequently to the other, and
wherein a first energy level of the first RF signal is at least 25% higher than a second energy level of the second RF signal.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 33 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 16. Therefore method claim 33 corresponds to apparatus claim 16 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 16 rejection above.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, in view of Sacco, and further in view of Johnston et al. US Pub 2022/0271567 (hereinafter “Johnston”).
Regarding claim 24
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 16, wherein the adaptive detection device is further configured to:
Kang and Sacco do not specifically teach perform a calibration with respect to the first energy level of the first RF signal and the second energy level of the second RF signal.
In an analogous art, Johnston discloses perform a calibration with respect to the first energy level of the first RF signal and the second energy level of the second RF signal (“the method includes establishing (904) one or more device detection thresholds during a calibration process for the near-field charging pad. In some instances, the calibration process is performed after manufacturing the near-field charging pad and includes placing devices of various types (e.g., smartphones, tablets, laptops, connected devices, etc.) on the near-field charging pad and then measuring a minimum amount of reflected power detected at an antenna zone while transmitting test power transmission signals to the devices of various types.” [0178]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s near field communication device, as modified by Sacco, to include Johnston’s near-field RF charging pad with adaptive loading, in order to determine appropriate power usage level (Johnston [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Johnston’s near-field RF charging pad with adaptive loading into Kang’s near field communication device since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 25
Kang, as modified by Sacco and Johnston, previously discloses the RF communication device according to claim 24,
Johnston further discloses wherein the adaptive detection device is further configured to derive at least one of a first reference value (refmax) for the first energy level and a second reference value (refmin) for the second energy level (“In some embodiments, the selected load is optimized by the adaptive load 106 (in conjunction with the processor 110, FIG. 3A) to tune Z.sub.effective in such a way that the energy transferred between terminal 123 and the receiver 104 reaches a maximum (e.g., 75% or more of energy transmitted by antenna elements of the pad 100 is received by the RF receiver 104, such as 98%), while energy transfer may also stay at a minimum from terminal 123 to terminal 121 (e.g., less than 25% of energy transmitted by antenna elements of the pad 100 is not received by the RF receiver 104 and ends up reaching terminal 121 or ends up being reflected back, including as little as 2%).” [0149]).
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, in view of Sacco, and further in view of Wild et al. US Patent 9367718 (hereinafter “Wild”).
Regarding claim 34
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the method according to claim 33, further comprising:
Kang and Sacco do not specifically teach receiving the first RF signal by the active RF communication device, and then starting a first wake-up operation.
In an analogous art, Wild discloses receiving the first RF signal by the active RF communication device, and then starting a first wake-up operation (“The access point ID for AP1 is ‘00’, the first and third sets of communication time slots reserved for RFID tag communication are actively assigned to RFID tags, and the first RFID tag is requested to wake up for communication.” Col. 5, rows 55-58; see Fig. 3).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s near field communication device, as modified by Sacco, to include Wild’s method for enabling low-powered RFID communication, in order to minimize power consumption (Wild, col. 2, rows 1-15). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Wild’s method for enabling low-powered RFID communication into Kang’s near field communication device since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 35
Kang, as modified by Sacco, previously discloses the method according to claim 33,
Kang and Sacco do not specifically teach receiving the second RF signal by the passive RF communication device and then starting a second wake-up operation.
In an analogous art, Wild discloses receiving the second RF signal by the passive RF communication device and then starting a second wake-up operation (“If the access point beacon signal includes a wakeup vector, the RFID tag preferably only listens to the beacon signal as long as is necessary to determine if the RFID tag needs to wake up. For example, if the wakeup vector is 1000 bits, but the RFID tag's bit in that vector is the first one; if that first bit is zero, the RFID tag can stop listening after hearing it.” Col. 8, rows 43-46).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s near field communication device, as modified by Sacco, to include Wild’s method for enabling low-powered RFID communication, in order to minimize power consumption (Wild, col. 2, rows 1-15). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Wild’s method for enabling low-powered RFID communication into Kang’s near field communication device since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411