DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on September 5, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
In the September 5, 2024 submission, claims 1-15 were presented for consideration, and are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because activity blocks in the drawings do not provide descriptive language to note the different processes - outside of the specification - making the diagrams and charts difficult to follow and understand the flow of activity. Short descriptive titles/activity descriptions will provide clarity in the flow of activity and offer an understanding of the intended process/method as presented in the claims. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims make explicit/direct reference to elements in the drawings within the claim language (e.g., “ …a step (2) of extraction…”, “…a step (8) of calculating…”, etc.) Inclusion of the references obscures interpretation of the limitations as presented. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps and relationships, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps and relationships supporting system activity and methods used in capturing and aggregating a plurality of referenced data, and making the determination and resolving “…if energy consumption can be reduced…” or “the efficiency of the industrial plant can be improved…”, as noted. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Regarding the collection and aggregation of data, determining equations for curves and calculating consumption values, the specification notes the following:
[0027) As a result of this comparison, if the energy consumption of the industrial plant can be reduced (step 10) or if, the energy consumption being the same, the efficiency of the industrial plant can be improved, then a step 11 is carried out of generation of an alert and of a report comprising the suggested changes to the industrial appliance used in the industrial plant.
[0028) The step 3 of determination of the characteristic equations of the curves C defined in the specific Cartesian space of each graph is further detailed again in FIG. 1.
[0029) Specifically, the aforementioned step 3 of determination of the characteristic equations comprises a step 4 of identification of the images of the curves C representative of the technical characteristics of the industrial appliances starting from the image files of the graphs G.
[0030) Next, the step 3 of determination of the characteristic equations comprises a step 5 of extraction and rearrangement of the spatial coordinates of the pixels of the images of the representative curves C to determine the spatial coordinates of each of the curves C.
[0031) In addition, the step 3 of determination of the characteristic equations comprises a step 6 of extraction of the equations relating to the curves C by means of interpolation of the spatial coordinates of each of the curves C.
[0032) Next, the step 3 of determination of the characteristic equations comprises a step 7 of extraction of the scale of values representing the x-axis and y-axis starting from the image files of the graphs G.
[0033) Finally, the step 3 of determination of the characteristic equations comprises a step of combining the equations extracted by interpolation of the spatial coordinates of each of the curves C with the scale of values representing the x-axis and y-axis to obtain the characteristic equations of the curves C defined in the specific Cartesian space of each graph G.
Paragraphs 38-46 of the specification further discusses the use of neural networks in capturing and aggregating data respective of technical characteristics associated with industrial appliances.
In reviewing the specification, it appears that the use of neural networks are employed in capturing and recognizing a plurality of technical characteristic data related to industrial appliances, wherein the deterministic resultants are used in comparing real-time characteristics of a subject appliance(s), whereby interpolated data is subsequently used in establishing operational status of the subject appliance. As a result of performing a numerical analysis on the offset(s) or difference(s) in determined results, the system determines if energy consumption of the plant can be reduced or if the plant can improve operational efficiency. The specification notes the use of capturing data from multiple sources and aggregating data via neural networks to determine curve characteristic equations; evaluating establishing control results and interpolative consumption outcomes based on field and real-time data; and further defining and establishing results that constitute reduced consumption or implementing operational improvements (e.g., using a different appliance if comparables fall outside a given result). However, claim 1 is unclear of the aforementioned functionality, and does not provide support for the process of aggregating the plurality of data used as a basis for comparison, determining equations for curves and calculating consumption values, and establishing what constitutes reduction in consumption or improved efficiency.
Examiner notes that during the examination process, claim language is considered in broad terms, whereby careful consideration is taken to view claim language in light of the specification, and not read details of the specification into the submitted claim language (see MPEP 2111).
Claims 2-6 provide further support for the interpolative process used in evaluating graphical characteristics of the curves, while claim 7 offer support for capturing and aggregating appliance data, but do not fully cure the reporting and [actionable] resultant steps of the system. Dependent claims 8-15, focus on methods of analyzing graphical data subject to techniques known in the art, which provide support to the computer implemented method used in analyzing and comparing characteristics of graphs as noted in independent claims 1, but do not cure the aforementioned omissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelberg et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0021961 (published January 2023, hereinafter ENGELBERG) in view of Losinno et al., US Patent No. 10,802,059 (patented October 2020, hereinafter LOSINNO).
As per claim 1, ENGELBERG teaches of a computer-implemented method for energy efficiency management of an industrial plant (see figs. 1-3 and par. 3, and 17-19: method for optimizing energy consumption in various environments using process aware energy consumption (PAEC) digital twin analytics), characterized by the fact that it comprises at least the following steps:
starting from a plurality of files relating to data sheets of industrial appliances, a step
of extraction of the image files of graphs containing curves describing the technical characteristics of the industrial appliances (see par. 18 and 25: system captures data of physical entities and generate knowledge graphs reflective of the components, whereby providing PAEC digital twin supporting details for analytical operations);
a step of calculating the energy consumption of each industrial appliance by means of said determined characteristic equations (see fig. 2 and par. 24-27: energy consumption prediction function determines component characteristics via operational and specific comparable data);
a step of comparing the calculated energy consumption of each of the industrial
appliances with the energy consumption of at least one industrial appliance in an existing
industrial plant (see fig. 3 and par. 27-29 and 43-45: system compares aggregate data and resultants with operational characteristics and components with PAEC digital twin reflective of real-time physical entities and environmental operations); and
if the energy consumption of the industrial plant can be reduced, or if, the energy consumption being the same, the efficiency of the industrial plant can be improved, then a step is carried out of generation of an alert and of a report comprising the suggested changes to the industrial appliance used in the industrial plant (see fig. 6 and par. 4-5, 18, and 56: based on comparable analysis in concert with PAEC digital twin results and environmental input, the system performs recommendations for improving energy consumption and instantiates change within an operational environment).
While ENGELBERG focuses on a method for capturing, comparing and performing analytical operations on operational and component data, the art fails to explicitly teach of a step of determination of the characteristic equations of said curves, defined in the specific Cartesian space of each graph, starting from said image files of graphs.
Like ENGELBERG, LOSINNO is directed to a method for analyzing component characteristics to further determine consumption and operational parameters. However, the art further teaches a method wherein analyzing sensor data respective of a cartesian plane is used in analyzing reference (y-axis) and sensor (x-axis) relationships (see fig. 17-18 and col. 26, lines 12-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to employ the use of LOSINNO's computer implemented method of using a cartesian space, with ENGELBER's computer implanted method of analyzing component data, to compare and contrast relational characteristics in aggregated data collection and comparative analysis in determining operational derivatives for the instant system.
As per claim 2, the combination of ENGELBER and LOSINNO teaches all of the limitations noted in the base claim(s) as outlined above, wherein ENGELBER further teaches of the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, characterized by the fact that said step of determination of the characteristic equations comprises a step of identification of images of the curves representative of the technical characteristics of said industrial appliances starting from said image files of the graphs (see par. 48, 51: system employs the use of factory, component and production line data in establishing knowledge graphs).
Allowable Subject Matter
The combination of claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
while the cited art teaches of evaluating and comparing resident field data with real-time instant operational parameters for optimizing system characteristics, in line with many of the limitations presented in the instant application, the references either singularly or in combination, fail to explicitly teach or suggest of a system and method consistent with the proposed claims 3-6, used in establishing parameters used by the system to reduce energy consumption or initiate and/or recommend efficiency improvements for an industrial plant.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The combination of Cella et al. [US-2019/0339688, US-2021/0157312 and US-2022/0108262], and Zaloom [US-2014/0052503], focuses on systems and methods which capture a plurality of component and operational data and use digital twin functionality to determine sample/predetermined system/operational characteristics, while subsequently using the determinants to further evaluate and determined operational environments for optimizing operations and/or energy specifics.
Conclusion
The applicant is strongly encouraged to contact the examiner if further clarifications are needed with respect to interpretation of currently presented claims and/or cited prior art.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/Kelvin Booker/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119