DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The Examiner is unable to find “wherein the transducer is rotated axially relative to the scanning assembly” from the Originally filed Specs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 1, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of “wherein the transducer is rotated axially relative to the scanning assembly” are. How is axial direction defined? How is relative to scanning assembly being defined? In a 3D world, any axis can be axially relative to. Applicant has failed to limit the scope of axially relative with respect to a specific directional placement of the scanning assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michael Berman (US 2013/0267850, hereinafter Berman ‘850).
In re claim 2, Berman ‘850 teaches a method of imaging tissue, the method comprising: scanning, using a transducer enclosed in a scanning assembly coupled to a wearable housing that is configured to secure to a user's body (0124, fig. 2, 30), a first portion of tissue at a first position relative to the user (fig. 10a-d), wherein the transducer is configured to direct a beam at the user's skin (fig. 10a-d, 0077, 0085, 0139, 0235), wherein the transducer is rotated axially relative to the scanning assembly (fig. 10, para 0125-0128, 85 is axial rotation for transducer 50, note that transducer can be rotated in 85, 86, 87, which are x, y, z, direction and one of them could be the axial rotation, Applicant has failed to limit the scope of axial rotation); and moving the transducer within the scanning assembly to a second position along a scan path relative to the user and scanning at least one of the first portion of tissue and a second portion of tissue (fig. 10a-d, 50 can be moved; 0127, many path shown by arrows 85, 86, 87).
In re claim 3, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the second position is in a different plane relative to the first position (fig. 10, not that any new 86 position with a rotated 85 will be in a different plant than the first position).
In re claim 4, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the second position is based on identifying anatomical data or user-specific tissue characteristics (0123, note that this claim does not exclude that the first position is also based on user-specific tissue characteristic; hence, it is up to the user to decide what parameter to input for the patient’s tissue of interest from the start to finish).
In re claim 5, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the tissue is imaged by combining the scan of the first portion of tissue at the first position relative to the user and the scan of the second portion of tissue at the second position relative to the user (fig. 7, fig. 10, 0125, 0127, 0128, 0132-0134).
In re claim 6, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising adjusting one or more acquisition parameters of the scanning (0123).
In re claim 7, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the one or more acquisition parameters include at least one of a focal length, frequency, or beam steering angle in relation to the tissue (0123).
In re claim 8, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the adjustment of the one or more acquisition parameters is based on anatomical data, user-specific tissue characteristics or image quality (0123).
In re claim 9, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the transducer is configured to direct the beam at the user's skin at two or more angles through electrical or mechanical beam steering (fig. 10a-d, 0125, 0127).
In re claim 10, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the transducer is configured to scan the tissue along the scan path by rotating or translating the transducer along more than one axis (fig. 10a-d, 0125, 0127).
In re claim 11, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising recording a position of the transducer (0125-0128, note that the step motor is monitoring the position of the transducer).
In re claim 12, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising coordinating acquisition of scans based on the position of the transducer (0125-0128).
In re claim 13, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the wearable housing includes a set of markings relative to the user's skin configured to guide the moving the transducer to a predefined second position in relation to the tissue (0134, needle holes).
In re claim 14, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the wearable housing comprises a flexible material configured to conform to the user's anatomical curvature (0130).
In re claim 15, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising adjusting the wearable housing to enclose a variable depth of tissue (0130, the dome encloses a variable depth, fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman ‘850 in view of Sarvazyan; Armen Paruir (US 5,678,565, hereinafter Sarvazyan ‘565).
In re claim 16, Berman ‘850 fails to teach further comprising adjusting a pressure applied to the tissue to provide elastosonography data.
Sarvazyan ‘565 teaches further comprising adjusting a pressure applied to the tissue to provide elastosonography data (abstract, col. 3, lines 18-35; fig. 8, col. 7, lines 46-65; col. 8, lines 45-55).
Hence, it would also have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Berman ‘850 to include the features of Sarvazyassn ‘565 in order to provide early diagnostics of breast cancer..
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that:
Berman's scanning device includes a C-Arm-tomography-transducer (40) and a 2D-Array- transducer (50) which are positioned on top of a dome (20) (Berman [0116], FIGs. 3, 5, 1Oa-d) and are incapable of being rotated axially relative to the scanning assembly. The 2D-Array-5 transducer is mechanically coupled to a C-arm tomographic arc (passim, Berman [0099], [0107], FIG. 3), where the C-arm-tomography-transducer is moved along a circular-track (71) (Berman [0091], FIGs. 3, 5, 10a-d). Movement of Berman's 2D-Array-transducer is moved relative to the C-arm tomographic arc by step-motor-assembly (80) which "drives the two transducers 40 and 50 over the dome 20" (Berman [0124-0127]). See page 5-6
The Examiner disagrees. Berman clearly teaches transducer 50 rotates in all direction and one of which must be axial direction. See fig. 10, para 0125-0128, 85 is axial rotation for transducer 50, note that transducer can be rotated in 85, 86, 87, which are x, y, z, direction and one of them could be the axial rotation, Applicant has failed to limit the scope of axial rotation. Note that as stated above, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of “wherein the transducer is rotated axially relative to the scanning assembly” are. How is axial direction defined? How is relative to scanning assembly being defined? In a 3D world, any axis can be axially relative to. Applicant has failed to limit the scope of axially relative with respect to a specific directional placement of the scanning assembly. Applicant has not limited the scope of scanning assembly and any relative direction. Hence, when Berman’s transducer 50 can be rotated in all x, y, z rotations, it reads on at least rotated axially relative to the scanning assembly.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797