DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 2-16 in the reply filed on October 10, 2025 is acknowledged.
Note that Applicant responded with “Claims 17-22 are now withdrawn without prejudice …” The Examiner view this as a typo. The correct withdrawn claims are claims 17-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michael Berman (US 2013/0267850, hereinafter Berman ‘850).
In re claim 2, Berman ‘850 teaches a method of imaging tissue, the method comprising: scanning, using a transducer enclosed in a scanning assembly coupled to a wearable housing that is configured to secure to a user's body (0124, fig. 2, 30), a first portion of tissue at a first position relative to the user (fig. 10a-d), wherein the transducer is configured to direct a beam at the user's skin (fig. 10a-d, 0077, 0085, 0139, 0235); and moving the transducer within the scanning assembly to a second position along a scan path relative to the user while scanning the tissue (fig. 10a-d, 50 can be moved; 0127, many path shown by arrows 85, 86, 87).
In re claim 3, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the second position is in a different plane relative to the first position (fig. 10, not that any new 86 position with a rotated 85 will be in a different plant than the first position).
In re claim 4, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the second position is based on identifying anatomical data or user-specific tissue characteristics (0123, note that this claim does not exclude that the first position is also based on user-specific tissue characteristic; hence, it is up to the user to decide what parameter to input for the patient’s tissue of interest from the start to finish).
In re claim 5, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the tissue is imaged by combining the scan of the first portion of tissue at the first position relative to the user and the scan of the second portion of tissue at the second position relative to the user (fig. 7, fig. 10, 0125, 0127, 0128, 0132-0134).
In re claim 6, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising adjusting one or more acquisition parameters of the scanning (0123).
In re claim 7, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the one or more acquisition parameters include at least one of a focal length, frequency, or beam steering angle in relation to the tissue (0123).
In re claim 8, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the adjustment of the one or more acquisition parameters is based on anatomical data, user-specific tissue characteristics or image quality (0123).
In re claim 9, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the transducer is configured to direct the beam at the user's skin at two or more angles through electrical or mechanical beam steering (fig. 10a-d, 0125, 0127).
In re claim 10, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the transducer is configured to scan the tissue along the scan path by rotating or translating the transducer along more than one axis (fig. 10a-d, 0125, 0127).
In re claim 11, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising recording a position of the transducer (0125-0128, note that the step motor is monitoring the position of the transducer).
In re claim 12, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising coordinating acquisition of scans based on the position of the transducer (0125-0128).
In re claim 13, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the wearable housing includes a set of markings relative to the user's skin configured to guide the moving the transducer to a predefined second position in relation to the tissue (0134, needle holes).
In re claim 14, Berman ‘850 teaches wherein the wearable housing comprises a flexible material configured to conform to the user's anatomical curvature (0130).
In re claim 15, Berman ‘850 teaches further comprising adjusting the wearable housing to enclose a variable depth of tissue (0130, the dome encloses a variable depth, fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman ‘850 alone, or in view of Hong, Hyundae (US 6,478,739, hereinafter Hong ‘739).
In re claim 16, it would have been obvious when using the device of Berman ‘850 that adjusting a pressure applied to the tissue by adjusting the wearable housing relative to the user is necessary and obvious to allow comfortable fitting to different patient with different size of tissue that’s being covered by the device of Berman ‘850.
Furthermore, Hong ‘739 teaches adjusting a pressure applied to the tissue by adjusting the wearable housing relative to the user (col. 5, line 29-col. 6, line 24).
Hence, it would also have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Berman ‘850 to include the features of Hong ‘739 in order to provide breast comfortableness and provide better quality of acoustic coupling.
Conclusion
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798