DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first office action on the merits in response to the application filed on 09/05/2024 and claim amendment filed on 04/17/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12113644 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The Patented Claims and the pending claims are directed to the same general invention of a system that includes: a power‑over‑ethernet (POE) network switch (or POE network switch that provides energy/power), a controller that communicates or interfaces with the POE network switch, a rechargeable energy storage device (battery) that interfaces with or is directly connected to the POE network switch and is recharged by it, and a plurality of low‑duty‑cycle devices.
Claim comparison:
Patented Claim 1 recites: a POE network switch that provides energy; a controller that communicates with the POE network switch; a rechargeable battery directly connected to the POE network switch and recharged directly therefrom; and a plurality of low‑duty‑cycle devices configured to be separately charged via the controller, with controller logic to select between using energy from the rechargeable battery or from the POE switch based on whether the rechargeable battery’s power is sufficient to supply multiple of the low‑duty‑cycle devices simultaneously and based on power draw information.
Pending claims recite: a POE network switch that provides power; a controller that interfaces with the POE network switch; a rechargeable energy storage device that interfaces with at least one of the controller or the POE network switch; and a plurality of low‑duty‑cycle devices; wherein the controller uses power directly from the rechargeable energy storage device to the controller, then to multiple of the plurality of low‑duty‑cycle devices, in response to the power of the rechargeable energy storage device being sufficient to supply power to multiple of the plurality of low‑duty‑cycle devices.
As can be seen, the pending claims recite substantially the same elements and the same functional selection logic as the Patented Claim (i.e., the controller selectively uses energy from the rechargeable storage when the storage has sufficient power to supply multiple low‑duty‑cycle devices). The pending claims differ only in minor and/or obvious respects (e.g., wording variations such as “interfaces with” vs. “communicates with,” or “rechargeable energy storage device that interfaces with at least one of the controller or the POE network switch” vs. “rechargeable battery directly connected to the POE network switch”), which would have been obvious design choices to a person of ordinary skill in the art and do not patentably distinguish the pending claims from the Patented Claims.
Therefore, the pending claims are not patentably distinct from the Patented Claims and are rejected under the doctrine of non‑statutory double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the controller”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “the controller” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation “the controller switching”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim 1. It is unclear what “the controller switching” referring back.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feldstein (US 20170356243 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Feldstein teaches a system comprising:
a power-over-ethernet (POE) network switch that provides power; (Fig. 4, element 404; See also [0166] “Intelligent hub 404 provides electrical power to each node attached to it, either in the star network topology, or in the daisy chain network topology. The providing of electrical power by the Ethernet connections can be referred to as a power-over-Ethernet (POE) network.”; See also Fig. 7, element 710)
a controller that interfaces with the POE network switch; (Fig. 4, room controller 402, See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
a rechargeable energy storage device that interfaces with at least one of the controller or the POE network switch; a plurality of low duty cycle devices, (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
wherein the controller uses power directly from the rechargeable energy storage device to the controller, then to multiple of the plurality of low duty cycle devices, in response to the power of the rechargeable energy storage device being sufficient to supply power to multiple of the plurality of low duty cycle devices. (By disclosing, The rest of the EDUs 408b-d are thereafter attached in a daisy-chain fashion to first EDU 408a. According to an embodiment, intelligent hub 404 provides electrical power to each node attached to it, either in the star network topology, or in the daisy chain network topology. The providing of electrical power by the Ethernet connections can be referred to as a power-over-Ethernet (POE) network. For example, room controller 402 with integrated display 410 receives its electrical power from intelligent hub 404. According to an embodiment, when using POE network protocols, the supplied electrical power can be 48 VDC, 12.95 watts maximum. As those of skill in the art can appreciate, these voltage and power levels are but examples, and not meant to be taken in a limiting manner; other voltages and/or power levels can be used dependent upon the circumstances and applications. Those of ordinary skill in the art can appreciate that networks that supply electrical power to devices, such as a POE network providing power to motorized roller shades 106 are not typically configured in daisy-chain topology 206 but are instead configured in star topology 204.See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 2:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the controller switching is further based upon power draw information about the plurality of low duty cycle devices. See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178]), [0249])
Regarding Claim 3:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the power of the rechargeable energy storage device is sufficient to supply power simultaneously to multiple of the plurality of low duty cycle devices. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 4:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the rechargeable energy storage device is located at least one of inside at least one of the plurality of low duty cycle devices or external to at least one of the plurality of low duty cycle devices. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 5:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein, over a first interval, the plurality of low duty cycle devices draw a peak power during activating the plurality of low duty cycle devices. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 6:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein, over a second interval, the plurality of low duty cycle devices draw negligible power, compared with a peak power draw or no power draw. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 7:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein each of the plurality of low duty cycle devices are at least one of: separately charged via the controller; or separately and directly connected with the controller. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 8:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the plurality of low duty cycle devices comprise one or more non-continuous duty cycle devices. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 9:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the POE network switch is configured to at least one of: charge one or more of the plurality of low duty cycle devices; or recharge the rechargeable energy storage device. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 10:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the plurality of low duty cycle devices are charged by the rechargeable energy storage device during at least one of times when the plurality of low duty cycle devices are not operating or low usage of the plurality of low duty cycle devices. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 11:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein activation of the plurality of low duty cycle devices avoids a time period when the plurality of low duty cycle devices are charged by the rechargeable energy storage device. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 12:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches, wherein the plurality of low duty cycle devices include at least one of a motor, lock, light or HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning) device. See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 13:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the controller is configured to obtain at least one of current, voltage, power, and power consumption information about the plurality of low duty cycle devices. See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 14:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the controller is configured to power down the plurality of low duty cycle devices, in response to determining that the plurality of low duty cycle devices are not operating. See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 15:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein the rechargeable energy storage device is further configured to at least one of: increase a power delivery capability for the plurality of low duty cycle devices to support more devices per port;be recharged with the power directly from the POE network switch; or be replaced without replacing the plurality of low duty cycle devices. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 16:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein instantaneous power delivery to the plurality of low duty cycle devices from the rechargeable energy storage device exceeds a capacity of the POE network switch. See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 17:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein a first device of the plurality of low duty cycle devices receives a recharging current and relays the recharging current to a second device of the plurality of low duty cycle devices, in response to the first device having sufficient current. See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 18:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches further configured to recharge the rechargeable energy storage device during a predetermined time interval. (See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Regarding Claim 19:
Feldstein teaches limitations of claim 1. Feldstain further teaches wherein at least one of:a first device of the plurality of low duty cycle devices obtains priority to be charged by the rechargeableenergy storage device, in response to the first device having a lower charge; or a second device of the plurality of low duty cycle devices is restricted from charging, in response to a first device of the plurality of low duty cycle devices being charged by the rechargeable energy storage device.
Regarding Claim 20:
Feldstein teaches a controller configured to use power directly from a rechargeableenergy storage device to the controller, then to multiple of a plurality of low duty cycle devices, in response to power of the rechargeable energy storage device being sufficient to supply power to the multiple of the plurality of low duty cycle devices. (By disclosing, The rest of the EDUs 408b-d are thereafter attached in a daisy-chain fashion to first EDU 408a. According to an embodiment, intelligent hub 404 provides electrical power to each node attached to it, either in the star network topology, or in the daisy chain network topology. The providing of electrical power by the Ethernet connections can be referred to as a power-over-Ethernet (POE) network. For example, room controller 402 with integrated display 410 receives its electrical power from intelligent hub 404. According to an embodiment, when using POE network protocols, the supplied electrical power can be 48 VDC, 12.95 watts maximum. As those of skill in the art can appreciate, these voltage and power levels are but examples, and not meant to be taken in a limiting manner; other voltages and/or power levels can be used dependent upon the circumstances and applications. Those of ordinary skill in the art can appreciate that networks that supply electrical power to devices, such as a POE network providing power to motorized roller shades 106 are not typically configured in daisy-chain topology 206 but are instead configured in star topology 204.See at least paragraphs [0166]-[0178])
Conclusion
/NEHA PATEL/Art Unit 3699