DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No.11,273,938 in view of Iino (US 2016/0346811) in view of Koselka et al. (US 2005/0126144).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the instant application can be arrived at from the claim limitations of cited US patent and US PGPUB. Claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No.11,273,938 discloses and/or suggests the product handling system with trays. US PGPUB 2016/0346811 discloses a robotic system that picks and sorts fruits and comprises an image detection device to sort standard and nonstandard fruits detected by the processor. US PGPUB 2005/0126144 discloses a mobile robot mechanical system with a variety of sensors, controllers, and machine-vision system for automating picking fresh fruits and vegetables. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No.11,273,938 with the mobile robotic system recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application because the use of automated robotic systems with machine vision capabilities improves the dispensing efficiency and accuracy of the dispensing system as a whole.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No.10,730,698 in view of Iino (US 2016/0346811) in view of Koselka et al. (US 2005/0126144).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the instant application can be arrived at from the claim limitations of cited US patent and US PGPUB. Claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No.10,730,698 discloses and/or suggests the product handling system with trays. US PGPUB 2016/0346811 discloses a robotic system that picks and sorts fruits and comprises an image detection device to sort standard and nonstandard fruits detected by the processor. US PGPUB 2005/0126144 discloses a mobile robot mechanical system with a variety of sensors, controllers, and machine-vision system for automating picking fresh fruits and vegetables. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No.10,730,698 with the mobile robotic system recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application because the use of automated robotic systems with machine vision capabilities improves the dispensing efficiency and accuracy of the dispensing system as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elazary et al. (US 9,120,622).
Claim 14, Elazary discloses a product handling system comprising a first tray (C5:L5-10; bins retrieved from shelves; figs.4-5), in a population of trays, comprising a first set of supports (510,540,530) defining a first lane (fig.5; lane depicted inside bin) configured to transiently store a first row of product units; a first tray storage rack (fig.1) defining a first set of storage slots (fig.1), each storage slot in the first set of storage slots configured to transiently store a tray (tray/bin depicted in fig.5 are stored in the storage rack shelves) in the population of trays; and a controller (the automated robotic system inherently has a controller) configured to: detect a first trigger (autonomous robots are triggered to pulling customer order items; see abstract) to transfer product units transiently stored in the first tray (C5:L5-10; bins retrieved from shelves; figs.4-5); and in response to detecting the first trigger: trigger a tray conveyor (210) to: retrieve the first tray from a first storage slot, in the first set of storage slots, transiently storing the first tray; and locate the first tray in a product transfer station (robot moves fulfilled order to location within the distribution site where the articles are packaged; fig.8; 895).
Conclusion
/AYODEJI H OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651