DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the amendment filed on 16 July 2026. Applicant's arguments and amendments to the claims have been fully considered but do not place the application in condition for allowance.
All rejections not reiterated herein are hereby withdrawn.
In particular, the previous rejection of claim 42 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been obviated by the cancellation of claim 42.
The rejection of claims 33 and 43 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) has been obviated by the cancellation of these claims.
The previous rejection of claims 21, 29, 32, and 34-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al has been obviated by the amendments to the claims to limit the fusion to one that comprises a breakpoint in an intronic region of a RAD51B gene and a chromosomal region other than the RAD51B gene.
The previous rejection of claims 21-22, 29, 32-3, 37-45, 47 49 and 51 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (JCO Precis Oncol. June 2022. 6:e2100404, p. 1-8), and of claim(s) 23, 26, 27, 48 and 52 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (JCO Precis Oncol. 2022. 6:e2100404, p. 1-8) in view of Harewood et al (Genome Biology. 2017. 18:125, p. 1-11; previously cited) have been obviated by the amendments to these claims so that the claims have priority to provisional application 63/322,748, filed 23 March 2022. Accordingly, Xie et al is not prior art to these claims.
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 16 July 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of the claims based on the 103 rejections over Yen et al and Xie et al as set forth in the last Office action for the reasons set forth below.
Claim Status
3. Claims 21-23, 26, 27, 29, 34-36, 38, 41, 44-45, 48, 50, and 53-55 are pending and have been examined herein.
New Claim Objections
4. Claims 54-55 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 54-55 are objected to because the claims recite “obtained from the subject performing” whereas the claims should recite “obtained from the subject by performing.” Appropriate correction is required.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) - Indefiniteness
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 48 is indefinite and confusing because the claim recites 3 different “i” limitations, including 2 which recite an analysis step and it is unclear as to which “i” is intended to be referred to in the recitation of “according to the analysis in i).”
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) - Enablement
Claims 21-23, 26, 27, 29, 34-36, 38, 41, 44-45, 48, 50, and 53-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the claimed methods wherein the RAD51B gene fusion results in the loss of activity of RAD51B and wherein the methods comprise administering a PARP inhibitor to the subject identified as having the RAD51B gene fusionr, does not reasonably provide enablement for the broadly claimed methods of treating a subject wherein the subject is identified as having any the fusion comprises a breakpoint that is in (i) an intronic region of a RAD51B gene and (ii) an intergenic region not associated with the RAD51B gene that has any effect on RAD51B activity and administering to the subject any oncogene modulators. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The following factors have been considered in formulating this rejection {In re Wands, 858F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988): the breadth of the claims, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, the predictability or unpredictability of the art, the amount of direction or guidance presented, the presence or absence of working examples of the invention and the quantity of experimentation necessary.
Herein, the claims are drawn to methods for f treating a subject that has, or is suspected of having, cancer comprising: a) identifying and/or selecting a subject comprising a genome with a fusion, wherein the fusion comprises a breakpoint that is in (i) an intronic region of a RAD51B homologous recombination repair gene and ii) a chromosomal region other than the RAD51B gene and b) treating the subject so identified and/or selected with any oncogene modulator.
The claims include methods wherein the fusion results in no change in the function of the RAD51B gene or in which there is a gain in function or a loss in function of the RAD51B gene.
The claims include methods wherein the subject is then treated with any agent that either increases or decreases the activity or expression of any oncogene.
As set forth in the Declaration filed on 16 July 2026, Applicant’s provisional application 63/322,745 discloses a RAD51B gene fusion which occurs between intron 3 in RAD51B and the LYN gene (“partner 1”) and which was detected in a uterine myxoid leiomyosarcoma (p. 190 of the ‘745 application; Table 8.6 of the present application).
The ‘745 application and the present application disclose 2 additional gene fusions involving RAD51B, each with the break within intron 1 of RAD51B and each having an intergenic breakpoint partner. One of the gene fusions (p. 193 of ‘745; and sample 32 in Table 8.7) was detected in a uterine myxoid leiomyosarcoma and the other gene fusion (p. 193 of ‘745; and sample 33 in Table 8.7) was detected in a chordoma.
The specification does not clearly state the functional effect of these RAD51B gene fusions.
The specification also does not exemplify methods of treating subjects having the three RAD51B gene fusions with any oncogene modulator. It is unclear from the teachings in the specification as to how increasing the activity or expression of any oncogene will ameliorate symptoms of cancer in a subject having a RAD51B fusion that results in a loss in function or gain in function of a RAD51B protein. It is also unclear from the teachings in the specification as to how decreasing the activity or expression of any oncogene will ameliorate / treat symptoms of cancer in a subject having a RAD51B fusion that results in a loss in function or gain in function of a RAD51B protein.
The Declaration of 16 July 2026 states “As of Mar. 23, 2022, the time of filing of the earliest priority document, it was known that an oncogene modulator could ameliorate the effects of RAD51B, as evidenced” three references which teach treating patients having alterations in the RAD51B gene with a particular PARP inhibitor.
However, the disclosure of a single type of oncogene modulator – i.e., an inhibitor of PARP – does not constitute a representative number of oncogene modulators which can be used to treat any cancer patient having any RAD51B fusion with a break in any intron of RAD51B and any partner gene.
In contrast to any oncogene modulator, the functional effect of the particular oncogene modulator of a PARP inhibitor, particularly as it relates to homologous recombination, was known in the prior art. For instance, the cited Principe reference cited in the Declaration (p. 2) teaches:
“There is a large body of evidence strongly supporting the use of selective PARP inhibitors such as olaparib or talazoparib in BRCA -mutated tumors. This approach has strong scientific rationale, as patients with BRCA mutations are thought to have homologous recombination deficiency (HRD), thereby limiting their ability to repair double stranded DNA breaks. The use of PARP inhibitors in these patients limits their ability to undergo single stranded break repair, leading to the accumulation of DNA damage and eventually cell death.”
The claims do not define the oncogene modulator in terms of any relevant structural properties. There are hundreds of currently known oncogenes. Also, the claims encompass oncogene modulators that are small molecules, cyclic peptides, enzymes, antibodies and other proteins, antisense RNAs, siRNAs, shRNAs, miRNAs, ribozymes, nucleic acids for gene therapy, and aptamers. However, the specification does not establish that a representative number of agents that increase or decrease the activity or expression of a representative number of oncogenes were known in the prior art and would be expected to be effective to treat any type of cancer harboring a fusion between an intron of RAD51B and any other gene or any intergenic region.
In the absence of specific guidance as to the identity of such therapies (e.g., their structure, biological activity and route of administration), in vivo therapies are highly unpredictable.
As stated in MPEP 2164.03:
“The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“Nascent technology, however, must be enabled with a ‘specific and useful teaching.’ The law requires an enabling disclosure for nascent technology because a person of ordinary skill in the art has little or no knowledge independent from the patentee’s instruction. Thus, the public’s end of the bargain struck by the patent system is a full enabling disclosure of the claimed technology.”
The teachings in the cited Tomasik reference support the unpredictability in the art. The reference (p. 1, col. 2 to p. 2, col. 1) teaches:
“The primary end point of the PROfound registration study was imaging-based progression-free survival (iPFS) evaluated in two groups of patients: cohort A (patients who had at least one alteration in BRCA1, BRCA2, or ATM) and the overall population (cohort A and a smaller cohort B combined, including patients with alterations in any of the other 12 prespecified genes involved in HRR, i.e., BRIP1, BARD1, CDK12, CHEK1, CHEK2, FANCL, PALB2, PPP2R2A, RAD51B, RAD51C, RAD51D, and RAD54L) but not cohort B alone (6). This approval, for the first time, extended the applications of PARPi beyond BRCA1/2-mutated cancers, beginning a new chapter in the history of these drugs.
However, this decision may be considered debatable. For instance, the median iPFS in the merged cohorts, cohorts A and B, was 5.8 months, compared to 7.4 months in cohort A alone, which causes doubt regarding any benefit from olaparib in cohort B. In fact, this presumption is supported by the data presented in the Supplementary Appendix of the PROfound study: no significant differences were found between both study arms in this subset (hazard ratio: 0.88, no data on the 95% confidence interval), with crossing survival curves. Thus, it may be inferred that the benefit of olaparib in cohorts A and B (“overall population”) resulted entirely from its effect in cohort A, partially diluted by the twice-smaller cohort B. One might even consider going further; that is, if cohort B had instead comprised an equinumerous group of unselected patients with prostate cancer, their negative result would not have completely undermined the claim of “benefit” in the merged population.”
The Principe reference also supports the unpredictability in the art:
However, we must note that an inherent limitation of our study is though we identified several mutations in HR associated genes, relatively few have been characterized, particularly with respect to either HRD or PARP inhibition. Additionally, as our data is largely dependent on sequencing from formalin fixed paraffin embedded tissues, these rates of mutation may be inflated due to technical artifacts. Hence, it is not clear how many patients identified in this study will in fact have HRD or would benefit from PARP inhibition. Additionally, clinical response to PARP inhibition is not solely driven by HRD, involving several other factors including replication, oxidative, and ER stress” (see p. 9).
Thus, Principe teaches the importance of determining the functional effect of a gene alteration prior to administering a PARP inhibitor.
As set forth in Rasmussonv. SmithKIine Beecham Co., 75 USPQ2d 1297, 1302 (CAFC 2005), enablement cannot be established unless one skilled in the art "would accept without question" an Applicant's statements regarding an invention, particularly in the absence of evidence regarding the effect of a claimed invention.
Specifically:
"As we have explained, we have required a greater measure of proof, and for good reason. If mere plausibility were the test for enablement under section 112, applicants could obtain patent rights to "inventions consisting of little more than respectable guesses as to the likelihood of their success. When one of the guesses later proved true, the "inventor" would be rewarded the spoils instead of the party who demonstrated that the method actually worked. That scenario is not consistent with the statutory requirement that the inventor enable an invention rather than merely proposing an unproved hypothesis."
Herein, although the level of skill in the art is high, given the lack of disclosure in the specification and in the prior art and the unpredictability of the art, it would require undue experimentation for one of skill in the art to make and use the invention as broadly claimed.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – New Matter
7. Claims 54 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
The disclosure as originally filed does not provide basis for new claims 54 and 55 and the embodiment encompassed by the claims of administering a PARP inhibitor to a subject determined to not have a RAD51B fusion that comprises a breakpoint that is in an intronic region of a RAD51B gene and an intergenic region not associated with the RAD51B gene. Note that claims 54 and 55 recite that the method comprises “(a) assaying a solid tumor sample obtained from the subject performing a nucleic acid analysis to determine whether a fusion is present; and (b) administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a polyadenosine diphosphate- ribose polymerase (PARP) enzyme inhibitor.” The claims do not require that the fusion is determined to be present since the claims recite “to determine whether” the fusion is present. Accordingly, the claims encompass methods wherein the fusion is not determined to be present, yet the subject is administered the PARP inhibitor.
The response states that “Support for claims 54 and 55 can be found at least at, but not limited to, claims originally-filed claims 1-20, Table 8, and line 11, page 36-line 29, page 37 of the originally-filed specification.”
However, the cited portions of the specification teach only administering a PARP inhibitor to subjects determined to have the RAD51B gene fusion. Applicant does not point to any specific teachings which provide support for the concept of administering a PARP inhibitor to subjects determined not to have the RAD51B gene fusion.
Priority
8. Claims 34-36, 38, 50, 54 and 55 are entitled to the filing date of International Application PCT/US23/063806, filed 06 March 2023.. It is noted that a claim as a whole is assigned an effective filing date rather than the subject matter within a claim being assigned individual effective filing dates.
The response of 16 July 2026 states that the claims are entitled to priority to at least provisional application 63/322,745, filed Mar. 23, 2022. The response states that the ‘745 application teaches in Table 2C on page 193 Variant A1(k), which includes a breakpoint in intron 1 of RAB51B “and has an intergenic breakpoint partner. This variant is presented as Variant ID 33/SAMPLE S24 in Table 8 in the current application. See also paragraph 6 of SCHMITT declaration dated 15 July 2026, submitted herewith.” The response further states “All other elements of the claims as currently presented have support in the earlier provisional 63/322,745 with a filing date of March 23, 2022, as such Applicants respectfully request the Examiner acknowledge the earlier priority.”
However, the response does not point to where each of the additional limitations in the dependent claims and new claims are taught in the ‘745 application. In particular, the ‘745 application does not appear to teach methods which detect the RAD51B gene fusion in each of the types of cancers listed in claim 34 (e.g., Castleman Disease), claim 35 (e.g. testicular cancer) and claim 36 (e.g., chordoma). Regarding claims 38, 50, 54 and 55, while the ‘745 application provides support for the concept of administering a PARP3 inhibitor (i.e., “a treatment comprises a PARP3 modulator treatment”; see, e.g., p. 31) to subjects having the genetic variation, the ‘745 application does not provide basis for the broader concept of administering any PARP inhibitor to subjects having the genetic variation.
If Applicant asserts that the present claims are entitled to priority to the provisional applications, Applicant should point to specific teachings (e.g., by page and line number) in the priority applications to establish priority for each of the recitations set forth in the claims.
See MPEP 2163 II at “(b) New Claims, Amended Claims, or Claims Asserting Entitlement to the Benefit of an Earlier Priority Date or Filing Date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 365, or 386” states “To comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, or to be entitled to an earlier priority date or filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 365, or 386, each claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure.”
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 29, 34-36, 38, 41, 44-45, 50, 53 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al (U.S. 20220025468, published 27 January 2022; cited in the IDS).
Yen et al teaches a method comprising detecting homologous recombination deficiency (HRD) in a subject that has cancer or is suspected of having cancer by assaying nucleic acid in a biological sample from the subject to detect one or more breakpoints associated with one or more rearrangements and based on the presence of the one or more breakpoints associated with the one or more rearrangements, classifying the subject as HRD positive (e.g., para [0009], [0071], [0091-0093], [0100], [0180] and [0257-0259] and Figure 2). The chromosomal rearrangements of Yen are considered to be fusions since the rearrangements result in the fusion of two (previously) separate chromosomal sequences. It is disclosed that the gene in which the one or more breakpoints occurs is a homologous recombination repair (HRR) gene, and particularly is the HRR gene of RAD51B gene (e.g., para [0096] and Table 2; para [0131], [0251], [0260], [0311] and Table 5 / para [0317]). Yen teaches that, after subjects are identified as having a HRD positive score, they are then treated by administering a PARP inhibitor (e.g., para [0011]) or a platin or cisplatin-based therapy (para [0319]). It is stated that “cells having a deficiency in a homologous recombination repair (HRR) pathway are vulnerable to increased DNA damage and have an increased sensitivity to DNA damage repair inhibitors (e.g., PARP inhibitors, etc.) and/or other therapies” (para [0015]).
Accordingly, Yen teaches a method of treating a subject that has or is suspected of having cancer, the method comprising: a) identifying a subject comprising a genome with a fusion, wherein the fusion comprises at least a portion of a homologous recombination repair (HRR) gene including RAD51B; and b) treating the subject so identified with a PARP inhibitor, which is an oncogene modulator.
Yen does not specifically state that the fusion comprises a breakpoint that is in an intronic region of a RAD51B gene and a chromosomal region other than RAD51B (claim 21 and 41) or an intergenic region not associated with the RAD51B gene (claims 44, 54 and 55)..
However, Yen does teach that the genomic location of regions to be assayed for breakpoints leading to rearrangements and translocations that involve the HRR genes include non-coding sequences, such as pseudogenes, repeat sequences, repetitive elements, transposons, viral elements, and telomeres, as well as non-coding RNA sequences (para [0130] and [0149]). Yen also teaches using probes that detect translocations, rearrangements and fusions that involve intron sequences (e.g., para [0149]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yen so as to have specifically detected translocations and rearrangements that comprise a breakpoint in a RAD51B intronic sequence in which the fusion partner to the RAD51B gene is any of the sequences disclosed by Yen or is specifically an intergenic region since Yen teaches that the methods disclosed therein for detecting HRD include detecting rearrangements or translocations between any sequences in an HRR gene (and thereby RAD51B), including intron sequences, and genomic sequences that are non-coding sequences, such as repetitive elements / repeat sequences, pseudogenes, transposons, and sequences that encode for non-coding RNAs, which are sequences in intergenic regions. One would have been motivated to have done so because breakpoints in the HRR gene which disrupt the full length gene, such as a breakpoint in an HRR intron sequence and which result in the fusion of only a portion of the HRR gene to sequences of pseudogenes, repeat sequences / repetitive elements or transposons or for sequences encoding for non-coding RNA (i.e. intergenic sequences) potentially constitute fusions that result in homologous recombination deficiency, and thereby would aid in identifying subjects having cancer who will be responsive to PARP inhibitor therapy or platinum / cisplatin-based therapy.
Regarding claims 22, 41, 44-45, and 50, Yen teaches that the sample can be a solid tumor sample (e.g., para [0100]) and that the patient may have a solid tumor (e.g., breast or pancreatic or lung cancer, etc.) or a blood tumor (see para [0044]). For instance, Yen (para [0100]) states:
“Samples can include body tissues, whole blood, platelets, serum, plasma, stool, red blood cells, white blood cells or leucocytes, endothelial cells, tissue biopsies (e.g., biopsies from known or suspected solid tumors).”
Further, Yen teaches analyzing the nucleic acids present in the sample from the subject for the fusion by performing a nucleic acid sequencing assay, including a targeted sequencing assay or a genome-wide / whole genome sequencing assay (e.g., para [0081], [0118-0120], [0129] and Figure 2).
Regarding claims 29, Yen teaches that the fusion / translocation involves a HRR gene, and particularly the HRR gene RAD51B, and another gene and that the fusion / translocation has a deleterious effect on the function of the HRR gene (e.g., para [0196], [0200], [0234], [0312], and [0318]).
Regarding claims 34-36, Yen teaches that the method is applicable to subjects having any type of cancer, including breast cancer or colorectal carcinoma (e.g., para [0044], and [0294]).
Regarding claims 38, 50, and 54, Yen teaches treating the cancer patients identified as having HRR deficiency with a PARP inhibitor that is olaparib, talazoparib, niraparib or rucaparib (e.g., para [0094], [0096] / Table 2 and [0272]), which PARP inhibitors have the property that they are effective in the treatment of cancer.
10. Claim(s) 23, 26, 27, 48 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al (U.S. 20220025468, published 27 January 2022; cited in the IDS) in view of Harewood et al (Genome Biology. 2017. 18:125, p. 1-11).
The teachings of Yen are presented above. As set forth above, Yen teaches that the rearrangements / translocations involving the fusion of HRR intron sequences to other chromosomal sequences, including intergenic sequences, can be detected by analyzing nucleic acids in the sample using any conventional method of sequencing, hybridization or amplification (e.g., para [0051]). Yen also teaches that the nucleic acids to be analyzed can be genomic DNA (e.g., para [0098]) and the samples may be cellular and/or tissue samples (para [0079] and [0100]). Yen further teaches that the sample is a solid tumor sample (e.g., para [0100]).
Yen does not teach analyzing the nucleic acids in the sample by performing a method that preserves spatial-proximal contiguity information, particularly wherein the method uses the proximity ligation technique of Hi-C.
However, Harewood teaches performing the proximity ligation method of Hi-C to detect chromosomal rearrangements, including translocations, in human tumor samples (e.g., p. 2 “Balanced and unbalanced translocation detection” and Figure 1). Harewood teaches that Hi-C can be used to detect both known and novel, balanced and unbalanced chromosomal rearrangements in tumor samples (p. 1, col. 2). It is further disclosed that Hi-C has the advantage that it can potentially defined chromosome breakpoints to bp resolution, rearrangements involving poorly mappable regions can be detected, and the method is less expensive than standard sequencing methods, such as deep whole genome sequencing (e.g., abstract and p. 8, col. 2).
In view of the teachings of Harewood, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yen so as to have analyzed cell or tissue samples from subjects having or suspected of having cancer using the Hi-C technique of Harewood to detect fusions / translocations that involve HRR genes. One would have been motivated to have done so in order to have achieved the advantages set forth by Harewood that the Hi-C method is less expensive than most deep sequencing methods and can be used to identify novel rearrangements / translocations, as well as the precise site of a breakpoint and rearrangements involving poorly mappable regions.
11.Claim(s) 34-35, 38, 50, and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (JCO Precis Oncol. 2022. 6:e2100404, p. 1-8).
Xie et al teaches a method for detecting a fusion involving RAD51B (i.e., an HRR gene) gene sequences in a subject having pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma, which fusion occurs as a result of a breakpoint in intron 10 of the RAD51B gene and a breakpoint at chr16:64133026, located at a distance of 844631 bp from the CDH11 gene (Figure 1 and Table 2). The sequence 844631 bp from the CDH11 gene is considered to be an intergenic region because it is not disclosed as being part of the CDH11 gene or another gene. It is disclosed that this fusion is potentially clinically significant (Table 1) and has a deleterious effect on homologous recombination (p. 4, col. 1 and Table 3).
Xie teaches that the RAD51B gene fusion was detected by a method comprising isolating genomic DNA from tumor tissue samples from a subject and performing both whole-exome sequencing and whole genome sequencing (e.g., p. 2 “DNA Extraction, Library Preparation, and Sequencing”).
Accordingly, Xie teaches a method comprising: identifying a subject suffering from cancer who has a genome comprising a fusion, wherein the fusion comprises an intronic region (i.e., intron 10) of a homologous recombination repair gene ( i.e., the RAD51B gene) and a second chromosomal sequence (i.e., the intergenic sequence that is located 844631 bp from the CDH11 gene), wherein the identifying comprises a nucleic acid analysis of tumor tissue DNA isolated from a sample from the subject.
Xie does not specifically exemplify a method wherein the subject identified as having the fusion between intron 10 of the RAD51B gene and an intergenic region is treated with a PARP inhibitor.
However, Xie (abstract) teaches that the methods disclosed therein are relevant because: “Including the RAD51B in germline test panel could allow more PDAC patients with HR-DDR pathway deficiency being identified, and these patients may benefit from HR-DDR pathway related therapies.” Xie also teaches that sensitivity to PARP inhibitors in cancer patients having different mutations is dependent on the homologous recombination deficiency (HRD) scores associated with the mutations (p. 6, col. 2). It is stated that “Breast and prostate cancers with BRCA1/2 mutations and ovarian
cancers in general demonstrated the response to polyADP ribose polymerase (PARP) inhibitor, which inhibits the alternative repair pathway and leads to the synthetic lethality in the tumor cells that have suffered a homologous recombination repair deficiency” (p. 1, col. 2). Further, treatment of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma with the PARP inhibitor Olaparib in a patient who had no progression after a minimum of 4-month first-line platinum-based chemotherapy, prolonged progression free survival (p. 1, col. 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yang so as to have specifically administered the PARP inhibitor, and particularly Olaparib, to the subject having pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma and identified as having the germline mutation in the RAD51B gene (i.e., the fusion between intron 10 of the RAD51B gene and the intergenic sequence). One would have been motivated to have done so because Xie teaches that such PARP inhibitors can be used to effectively treat cancer in subjects having mutations in HRR genes leading to homologous recombination deficiency.
Regarding claim 34, Xie teaches that the subject has pancreatic cancer (e.g., abstract, p. 2, col. 1 and Table 1 and Table 2).
Regarding claim 35, Xie does not specifically teach administering a PARP inhibitor to a subject having breast cancer or suspected of having breast cancer and having the RAD51B fusion.
However, Xie teaches that RAD51B mutations are associated with hereditary breast ovarian cancer (p. 6, col. 2). It is disclosed that testing for RAD51B fusions and other RAD51B mutations should be included in germline tests for HR-DDR pathway genes (p. 6, col. 2 and abstract). It is further stated that a 15 gene panel that includes the RAD51B gene has been chosen “ as a companion diagnostic HR-DDR gene panel for the US Food and Drug Administration–approved olaparib indication in prostate cancer” (p. 1 final para to p. 2 first para).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Xie as to have treated patients identified as having the RAD51B gene fusion and having or suspected of having breast cancer because Xie teaches that germline RAD51B mutations have been detected in breast cancer patients and that treatment with a PARP inhibitor therapy can be effective in other types of cancers, including breast cancer, when the subject has a pathogenic mutation in a HR-DDR gene, such as the RAD51B gene fusion mutation.
12. Claim 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (JCO Precis Oncol. 2022. 6:e2100404, p. 1-8) in view of Yen et al (U.S. 20220025468, published 27 January 2022; cited in the IDS).
The teachings of Xie are presented above.
Regarding claim 36, Xie does not teach assaying a tumor tissue sample in a patient having or suspected of having colon cancer to identify the RAD51B gene fusion and then treating the patient with a PARP inhibitor.
However, Yen et al teaches a method comprising detecting homologous recombination deficiency (HRD) in a subject that has cancer or is suspected of having cancer by assaying nucleic acid in a biological sample from the subject to detect one or more breakpoints associated with one or more rearrangements and based on the presence of the one or more breakpoints associated with the one or more rearrangements, classifying the subject as HRD positive (e.g., para [0004], [0009], [0071], [0091-0093], [0100], [0180] [0257-0259] and Figure 2), particularly wherein the fusion occurs in the RAD51B gene (e.g., Table 1 and 2 and para [0121]. Yen teaches that after subjects are identified as having a HRD positive score they are then treated by administering a PARP inhibitor (e.g., para [0011] and [0272]). It is stated that “cells having a deficiency in a homologous recombination repair (HRR) pathway are vulnerable to increased DNA damage and have an increased sensitivity to DNA damage repair inhibitors (e.g., PARP inhibitors, etc.) and/or other therapies” (para [0015]).
Yen teaches that the method is applicable to subjects having any type of cancer, including colorectal carcinoma (e.g., para [0294]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Xie so have assayed for and identified the RAD51B fusion comprising a fusion between intron 10 of RAD51B and an intergenic region in subjects having or suspected of having other types of cancer, including colorectal carcinoma. One would have been motivated to have done so because Yen teaches methods of detecting RAD51B gene mutations causing HR deficiency in other types of cancers, including colorectal carcinomas and Xie and Yen both teach that PARP inhibitor therapy can be effective in treating cancer in those subjects that are carriers of a deleterious mutation in a HRR gene, such as the RAD51B gene.
13. Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (JCO Precis Oncol. 2022. 6:e2100404, p. 1-8) in view of Harewood et al (Genome Biology. 2017. 18:125, p. 1-11; previously cited).
The teachings of Xie are presented above.
Xie teaches detecting the fusion comprising the RAD51B intron and intergenic sequences in tumor tissue samples from subjects having pancreatic cancer. Xie does not teach detecting the fusion by performing a method that preserves spatial-proximal contiguity information, particularly wherein the method uses the proximity ligation technique of Hi-C.
However, Harewood teaches performing the proximity ligation method of Hi-C to detect chromosomal rearrangements, including translocations, in human tumor samples (e.g., p. 2 “Balanced and unbalanced translocation detection” and Figure 1). Harewood teaches that Hi-C can be used to detect both known and novel, balanced and unbalanced chromosomal rearrangements in tumor samples (p. 1, col. 2). It is further disclosed that Hi-C has the advantage that it can potentially defined chromosome breakpoints to bp resolution, rearrangements involving poorly mappable regions can be detected, and the method is less expensive than standard sequencing methods, such as deep whole genome sequencing (e.g., abstract and p. 8, col. 2).
In view of the teachings of Harewood, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Xie so as to have analyzed tumor tissue samples from subjects having or suspected of having cancer using the Hi-C technique of Harewood to detect the fusion involving the RAD51B gene. One would have been motivated to have done so in order to have achieved the advantages set forth by Harewood that the Hi-C method is less expensive than most deep sequencing methods and can be used to identify novel rearrangements / translocations, as well as the precise site of a breakpoint and rearrangements involving poorly mappable regions.
Response to remarks regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103:
Regarding the prior rejections over Yen et al, the response states:
“Yen does not actually describe the existence of such a rearrangement, much less a rearrangement with a breakpoint in an intronic region of RAD51B. Assuming arguendo, the Examiner's assertion is true that Yen discloses probes designed to intronic regions, it could be thus implied that they wanted to find such a rearrangement by designing probes to intronic regions but were unsuccessful in finding a rearrangement with a breakpoint in an intron of an HRR gene.”
These arguments and the amendments to the claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive. First, there is no requirement for Yen to exemplify specific gene fusions between a breakpoint in an intron of the RAD51B gene and another gene or an intergenic region. The teachings of Yen disclose methods of assaying a nucleic acid sample from a subject to detect a gene fusion between the HRR gene of RAD51B and another gene or a non-coding sequence, including an intergenic region, wherein the breakpoint for the fusion may occur within any region of the RAD51B gene, including an intron sequence.
The response and declaration of 16 July 2026 argue that the present application at Table 8 discloses three RAD51B gene fusions that include a breakpoint in an intron in RAD51B and a partner genomic sequence, which is an intergenic sequence in two of the RAD51B gene fusions and a different gene in the third RAD51B gene fusion. It is asserted that the amended claims are not obvious over Yen.
However, the present claims are not limited to the specifically disclosed RAD51B gene fusions disclosed in Table 8. The present claims encompass assaying for any RAD51B gene fusion n which the breakpoint is at any intron sequence of RAD51B and any other genomic sequence (other than RAD51B) or any intergenic sequence. The teachings of Yen when considered as a whole do suggest assaying for such RAD51B gene fusions.
Regarding claims 44 and 53-55, the response states “Yen defines "fusion event" as "fusion between at least two separate genes at a particular location" [Yen para 0056, emphasis added)]. Claims must be given their "plain meaning," unless it is inconsistent with the specification (MPEP 2111.01). Yen has explicitly defined a fusion event as between two genes. Applicant's claims 44, 53 and 54 recite part of the fusion is to an intergenic region, thereby excluding it from Yen's definition of a fusion. Therefore, Examiner is improperly expanding the definition of fusion as defined by Yen.” It is argued that Yen teaches only “gene:gene” fusions.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Para [0056] of Yen indicates only that the fusion includes 2 separate / different genes. This disclosure does not indicate that additional genomic sequences cannot be present in the resulting fusion / translocation product. Yen goes on to teach that the panel of sequences to be assayed for a fusion include “other non-coding sequences, including pseudogenes, repeat sequences, transposons, viral elements, and telomeres” (para [0149]).
In particular, Yen teaches:
“[0128] i. Sequencing Panel
[0129] To improve the likelihood of detecting genomic regions of interest and optionally, tumor indicating mutations, the sections of DNA sequenced may comprise a panel of genes or genomic sections that comprise known genomic regions….
[0130] In some aspects, a panel that targets a plurality of different genes or genomic regions (e.g., transcriptional factor binding regions, distal regulatory elements (DREs), repetitive elements, intron-exon junctions, transcriptional start sites (TSSs), and/or the like) is selected such that a determined proportion of subjects having a cancer exhibits a genetic variant or tumor marker in one or more different genes in the panel….
[0131] HRR genes included in this panel may comprise one or more of… RAD51B…
[0149] The genomic locations in the panel can comprise coding and/or non-coding sequences….. In some cases, the regions in the panel can comprise other non-coding sequences, including pseudogenes, repeat sequences, transposons, viral elements, and telomeres. In some cases, the genomic locations in the panel can comprise sequences in non-coding RNA, e.g., ribosomal RNA, transfer RNA, Piwi-interacting RNA, and microRNA.
Accordingly, the teachings of Yen when considered as a whole, do suggest assaying for gene fusions / translocations / rearrangements that include a breakpoint at any sequence in RAD51B, including an intronic sequence, and a chromosomal region other than a region of RAD51B, including a pseudogene, repeat sequence, repetitive element, transposon, viral element, telomere, or non-coding RNA sequence – i.e., an intergenic sequence.
Regarding the rejections over Xie et al, the response states:
“Xie was published after the effective filing date of the amended claims, and, thus, is not prior art to the currently pending claims.”
However, for the reasons set forth above, claims 34, 35, 36, 38, 50, 54 and 55 have the effective filing date of 06 March 2023. Accordingly, Xie et al is prior art to these claims.
The declaration of 16 July 2026 states “7. None of the prior art references relied upon by the Examiner disclose a fusion involving RAD51B where the breakpoint is in an intron of RAD51B.”
However, as discussed above, Xie does teach a fusion that occurs at a breakpoint in intron 10 of the RAD51B gene and wherein the partner genomic sequence is an intergenic sequence – i.e., a breakpoint at chr16:64133026, located at a distance of 844631 bp from the CDH11 gene (Figure 1 and Table 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682