DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the Composite, Layer Including the Composite, and Module Including the Layer filed September 5, 2024.
Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/696,561 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in instant claims 1-3 are recited in claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/696,561.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/840,818 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in instant claims 1-3 are recited in claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/840,818.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first layer" on line 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is unclear if “the first layer” recited on line 4-5 of claim 8 is referring to “the layer” recited on line 1 of claim 8 or if “the first layer” recited on line 4-5 of claim 8 is referring to an entirely different first layer altogether.
Amending “the first layer” to “the layer” would overcome the rejection.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second main face" on line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uchida et al. (WO 2018143185 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Uchida et al. discloses a composite comprising:
carbon nanotubes; and a conductive polymer that is different from the carbon nanotubes (see [0027] teaching “conductive polymer compounds, conductive fibers, and composite materials thereof” and teaching the conductive fibers are preferably “carbon nanotubes”).
With regard to claim 4, Uchida et al. discloses wherein
the carbon nanotubes include a single-walled carbon nanotube (see [0027]).
With regard to claim 5, Uchida et al. discloses wherein
the carbon nanotubes and the conductive polymer aggregate (as disclosed in [0027], the cited carbon nanotubes and the cited conductive polymer are cited to read on the claimed “aggregate” because they form a “composite material” in a thermoelectric conversion element).
With regard to claim 6, Uchida et al. discloses a layer comprising
the composite according to claim 1 (recall rejection of claim 1 above, and see Fig. 1 depicting layer 2).
With regard to claim 8, Uchida et al. discloses a module including
the layer according to claim 6 (recall rejection of claim 6 above), the module comprising:
a substrate including a first main face on which the layer is located (as depicted in Fig. 1, a substrate 11 including a first main face/top surface on which the cited layer 2 is located);
a second layer on the first main face and in contact with the first layer (as depicted in Fig. 1, a second layer 1 on the cited first main face/top surface and in contact with a first layer/cited layer 2);
a first electrode on the first main face and electrically connected to the first layer (as depicted in Fig. 1, a first electrode 3 on the cited first main face/top surface and electrically connected to the cited first layer 2; see [0032] teaching junction 3 of metal material);
a second electrode on the first main face and electrically connected to the second layer (as depicted in Fig. 1, a second electrode 3 on the cited first main face/top surface and electrically connected to the cited second layer 1; see [0032] teaching junction 3 of metal material); and
a sheet member in contact with the second main face (as depicted in Fig. 1, a sheet member 4/6 in contact with a second main face/bottom surface of substrate 11).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kano (WO 2015/008727 A1).
With regard to claims 1-3, 6, and 7, Kano discloses a layer comprising a composite comprising:
carbon nanotubes; and a conductive polymer that is different from the carbon nanotubes (see Kano teaching “The thermoelectric conversion layer may contain…both of the carbon nanotubes and the conductive polymer”; see Kano teaching conductive polymer may be “poly-(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene)”), wherein
the layer has a porous structure (see Kano teaching inclusion of hollow particles provides for “a porous thermoelectric conversion layer is formed”), and wherein
the carbon nanotubes are bonded to each other via the conductive polymer (ass Kano teaching a thermoelectric conversion layer including “both of the carbon nanotubes and the conductive polymer” and hollow particles which is cited to read on the claimed “the carbon nanotubes are bonded to each other via the conductive polymer” because the cited carbon nanotubes are physically bonded to each other via the cited conductive polymer in the composite material of the thermoelectric conversion layer).
Conclusion
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 September 3, 2025