Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2025 and 02/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following minor informalities: in paragraph [0004] the sentence "In some embodiments, the system includes an apparatus." is repeated twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SULLIVAN (US 20180327196 A1) in view of BRANDMUELLER (WO 2013092915 A1) and GALANTE (US 20230098938 A1) .
Regarding Claim 1, Sullivan teaches a system comprising:
an apparatus comprising:
a support structure (310) comprising an interior area (see Fig. 3D);
a transport apparatus (310B; Fig. 3D) coupled to the support structure (Fig. 3D) and configured to move a unit through the interior area ([0043]), wherein the unit comprises an object (CU) and a pallet (LPAL) configured to support the object (Fig. 3);
Sullivan does not teach a plurality of sensors, wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a portion of the interior area, wherein a first sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to detect that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor however one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that the invention of Sullivan would have had some means for aligning the bottom edge of the object with the conveyor to perform the pick and place operation.
Sullivan does not teach one or more manipulators, wherein a first manipulator of the one or more manipulators is configured to perform a first pick and place operation when the bottom edge of the object is in line with the object conveyor however Sullivan teaches human operators that perform this function.
Brandmuller teaches a plurality of sensors ([0092]), wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a portion of the interior area (Fully capable), wherein a first sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to detect that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor (([0092]);
Galante teaches one or more manipulators (2), wherein a first manipulator of the one or more manipulators is configured to perform a first pick and place operation ([0032]) however Sullivan teaches human operators that perform this function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the human operators of Sullivan with the manipulators of Galante for the purpose of being able to perform the pick and place operation without human intervention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sullivan with the plurality of sensor of wherein a first sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to detect that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor so a pick and place operation can be performed when the bottom edge of the object is in line with the object conveyor for the purpose of detecting when the object is in place to perform the pick and place operation.
Regarding Claim 2, Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the object conveyor (600), wherein the object conveyor is configured to transport the object between the apparatus and one or more locations in proximity to the apparatus ([0055]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a unit conveyor comprising a first unit conveyor portion(Sullivan 305) and a second unit conveyor portion (Sullivan 386, 740).
Regarding Claim 4, Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the first unit conveyor portion (Sullivan 305) is configured to move the unit between a first zone (Sullivan start of 305 Fig. 7A) and the apparatus (Sullivan Fig. 7A).
Regarding Claim 5, Sullivan teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the second unit conveyor portion (Sullivan 386) is configured to move the pallet between the apparatus and a pallet collection unit (Sullivan end of 368) (Sullivan Fig 10B; [0029]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the second unit conveyor portion (Sullivan 740) is configured to move a rejected unit between the apparatus and a second zone (Sullivan [0049]).
Regarding Claim 7, Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a controller (Sullivan 199) comprising at least one processor (Sullivan 199C) and at least one non-transitory memory (Sullivan [0038]) comprising a computer program code (Sullivan [0038]), the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the controller to:
transmit an instruction to the first manipulator to perform the first pick and place operation when the bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 8, Sullivan as modified above teaches. the system of claim 1, wherein the support structure comprises a first side (Sullivan Fig. 3D side to the lift) having a first interior surface (Sullivan Fig 3D), a second side (Sullivan Fig. 3D side opposite to first) having a second interior surface, a third side having (Sullivan Fig. 3D Side covered by containers) a third interior surface (Sullivan Fig. 3D), and a fourth side (Sullivan Fig. 3D side opposite third) having a fourth interior surface (Sullivan Fig. 3D).
Regarding Claim 11 Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the apparatus further comprises one or more cameras (Sullivan 800) configured to identify a pick point on the object, wherein the one or more cameras are positioned above the object conveyor and disposed on the support structure (Sullivan see Fig. 7B; [0050]).
Regarding Claim 12 Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first pick and place operation comprises the first manipulator being configured to:
pick the object (Sullivan [0048]);
transport the object to the object conveyor (Sullivan [0053], [0055]); and
place the object on the object conveyor (Sullivan [0055]).
Regarding Claim 13, Sullivan as modified above teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to detect that a top edge of a second object is in line with an object conveyor (Sullivan [0092]) when detecting the separation plane the bottom of a first object is also the top of a second object).
Regarding Claim 14, The system of claim 13, wherein the first manipulator is configured to perform a second pick and place operation when the top edge of the second object is in line with the object conveyor (Sullivan fully capable).
Regarding Claim 15, The system of claim 14, wherein the second pick and place operation comprises the first manipulator being configured to: pick a third object from the object conveyor (Sullivan [0048]); transport the object to a second unit (Sullivan [0053], [0055]); and place the object on the second unit (Sullivan [0055]).
Regarding Claim 16 Sullivan teaches a method comprising:
causing a transport apparatus (310B) to move a unit through an interior area of a support structure of an apparatus ([0046]), wherein the unit comprises an object (CU) and a pallet (LPAL) configured to support the object (Fig 3);
Sullivan does not teach detecting, using a first sensor of a plurality of sensors, that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor, wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a portion of the interior area;
Sullivan does not teach causing a first manipulator of one or more manipulators to perform a first pick and place operation when the bottom edge of the object is in line with the object conveyor however Sullivan teaches human operators that perform this function.
Brandmueller teaches detecting, using a first sensor of a plurality of sensors, that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor ([0092]), wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a portion of the interior area (fully capable);
Galante teaches causing a first manipulator (2) of one or more manipulators to perform a first pick and place operation ([0032])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the step human operators of Sullivan performing a pick and place operation with the manipulators of Galante performing a pick and place operation for the purpose of being able to perform the pick and place operation without human intervention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sullivan with a step of using a first sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to detect that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor so a pick and place operation can be performed when the bottom edge of the object is in line with the object conveyor for the purpose of detecting when the object is in place to perform the pick and place operation.
Regarding Claim 17, Sullivan as modified above teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the support structure comprises a first side (Sullivan Fig. 3D side to the lift) having a first interior surface (Sullivan Fig 3D), a second side (Sullivan Fig. 3D side opposite to first) having a second interior surface, a third side having (Sullivan Fig. 3D Side covered by containers) a third interior surface (Fig. 3D), and a fourth side (Sullivan Fig. 3D side opposite third) having a fourth interior surface (Fig. 3D).
Regarding Claim 20, Sullivan teaches a method comprising:
causing a transport apparatus (310B) to move a unit through an interior area of a support structure of an apparatus ([0046]), wherein the unit comprises an object (CU) and a pallet LPAL) configured to support the object (Fig 3);
Sullivan does not teach detecting, using a first sensor of a plurality of sensors, that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor, wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a portion of the interior area;
Sullivan does not teach causing a first manipulator of one or more manipulators to perform a first pick and place operation when the top edge of the object is in line with the object conveyor however Sullivan teaches human operators that perform this function.
Brandmueller teaches detecting, using a first sensor of a plurality of sensors, that a top edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor ([0092]), wherein each of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a portion of the interior area (fully capable);
Galante teaches causing a first manipulator (2) of one or more manipulators to perform a first pick and place operation ([0032])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the step human operators of Sullivan performing a pick and place operation with the manipulators of Galante performing a pick and place operation for the purpose of being able to perform the pick and place operation without human intervention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sullivan with a step of using a first sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to detect that a bottom edge of the object is in line with an object conveyor so a pick and place operation can be performed when the bottom edge of the object is in line with the object conveyor for the purpose of detecting when the object is in place to perform the pick and place operation.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SULLIVAN (US 20180327196 A1) in view of BRANDMUELLER (WO 2013092915 A1) and GALANTE (US 20230098938 A1) as applied to claim 1-8, 11-17 and 20 above, and further in view of SIMON et al. (US 20210114826 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 8,
Sullivan as modified above does not teach wherein the first sensor is configured to monitor a first interior area portion proximate the first interior surface, the second sensor is configured to monitor a second interior area portion proximate the second interior surface, the third sensor is configured to monitor a third interior area portion proximate the third interior surface, and the fourth sensor is configured to monitor a fourth interior area portion proximate the fourth interior surface.
Simon et al. teaches wherein the first sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the first interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F), a second sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the second interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F), a third sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the third interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F), and a fourth sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the fourth interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor system of Sullivan with the sensor system of Simon et al. for the purpose of being able to monitor the entire edge of the pallet layer.
Regarding Claim 10, Sullivan as modified above teaches a first sensor (Simon et al. 310C1) is configured to monitor a first interior area portion proximate the first interior surface (Simon et al. [0057]), the second sensor (Simon et al. 310C2) is configured to monitor a second interior area portion proximate the second interior surface (Simon et al. [0057]), the third sensor(Simon et al. 310C3) is configured to monitor a third interior area portion proximate the third interior surface (Simon et al. [0057]), and the fourth sensor (Simon et al. 310C4) is configured to monitor a fourth interior area portion proximate the fourth interior surface (Simon et al. [0057]).
Regarding Claim 18, Sullivan as modified above teaches the system of claim 17,
Sullivan as modified above does not teach wherein the first sensor is configured to monitor a first interior area portion proximate the first interior surface, the second sensor is configured to monitor a second interior area portion proximate the second interior surface, the third sensor is configured to monitor a third interior area portion proximate the third interior surface, and the fourth sensor is configured to monitor a fourth interior area portion proximate the fourth interior surface.
Simon et al. teaches wherein the first sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the first interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F), a second sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the second interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F), a third sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the third interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F), and a fourth sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the fourth interior surface (Fig. 11A- 11F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor system of Sullivan with the sensor system of Simon et al. for the purpose of being able to monitor the entire edge of the pallet layer.
Regarding Claim 19 Sullivan as modified above teaches the method of claim 18,
Sullivan as modified above does not teach wherein the first sensor is configured to monitor a first interior area portion proximate the first interior surface, the second sensor is configured to monitor a second interior area portion proximate the second interior surface, the third sensor is configured to monitor a third interior area portion proximate the third interior surface, and the fourth sensor is configured to monitor a fourth interior area portion proximate the fourth interior surface.
Simon et al. teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to monitor a first interior area portion proximate the first interior surface ([0056]), the second sensor is configured to monitor a second interior area portion proximate the second interior surface ([0056]), the third sensor is configured to monitor a third interior area portion proximate the third interior surface ([0056]), and the fourth sensor is configured to monitor a fourth interior area portion proximate the fourth interior surface ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor system of Sullivan with the sensor system of Simon et al. for the purpose of being able to monitor the entire edge of the pallet layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Winski et al. (US 5716189 A) and Ito et al. (US 20230073191 A1) teach smiliar unstacking apparatuses.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3655