DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 05/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamimoto (US 2023/0144481).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kamimoto teaches an additive manufacturing composition comprising an Fe-Cr-Ni alloy and nitrogen incorporated into the Fe-Cr-Ni by nitrogen atomization (i.e. niobium-absorption element), wherein the Fe-Cr-Ni alloy powder has a niobium content of about 0.5% by weight, wherein the nitrogen forms a precipitate with niobium (Abstract; [0002]; [0055] to [0078]; Table 2, Ex. 20), which meets the limitations recited in claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kamimoto discloses that nitrogen is incorporated by nitrogen atomization ([0071]), which meets the limitation that nitrogen (i.e. niobium-absorption element) is initially separate from the iron, chromium, and nickel alloying elements as recited in claim 3 and that the niobium-absorption element is nitrogen gas as recited in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimoto (US 2023/0144481), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Denis (US 2012/0201712).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Kamimoto does not teach that the niobium-absorption element comprises solid carbon as recited in claim 5 and that the solid carbon of the niobium-absorption element is initially separate from the carbon of the powder as recited in claim 6.
Denis teaches a stainless-steel powder containing Fe, Cr and Ni that is analogous to the powder of Kamimoto (Abstract). Denis discloses that adding graphite powder to the stainless-steel powder strengthens the material and increases corrosion resistance ([0051]; [0052]). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add graphite powder to the stainless-steel powder as taught by Denis in the stainless- steel powder of Kamimoto in order to strengthen the material and increase corrosion resistance as disclosed by Denis. The powder mixture of stainless-steel alloy powder and graphite powder disclosed by Denis meets the limitation that the niobium-absorption element comprises solid carbon as recited in claim 5 and that the solid carbon of the niobium-absorption element is initially separate from the carbon of the powder as recited in claim 6.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733