DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS: Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 10-18 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, second paragraph
Claims 11-14 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is indefinite for reciting “inhibiting infection”. It is unclear if the infection includes all types of infections (e.g., bacterial, viral). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, first paragraph
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 11-14 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 directed to a method of inhibiting infection or replication of a virus. In light of this, it can be asserted that in spite of the vast expenditure of human and capital resources in recent years, no one drug has been found which is effective in inhibiting infection or replication of a virus. In re Hokum, 226 USPQ 353 (ComrPats 1985).
The determination that “undue experimentation” would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue”. These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The breadth of the claims
The breadth of the instant claims is seen to encompass methods for inhibiting infection or replication of a virus by administering to a patient in need of such treatment a therapeutically effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1. Applicant failed to exactly define what types of infections are inhibited and what type (e.g., RNA, DNA) of viral replications are being inhibited . Thus, the claims are extremely broad.
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention is the treatment of these disorders through the use of the claimed compositions and derivatives of claim 1. Currently, there are no known agents that inhibit infection or replication of a virus all inclusively.
The level of predictability in the art
The treatment of these disorders is highly unpredictable. It is well established that “the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved,” and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor.
The applicant has not demonstrated sufficient guidance provided in the form of administration profiles, combination ratios of the active agents or reference to the same in the prior art to provide a skilled artisan with sufficient guidance to practice the instant treatment of disorders claimed. Further, the applicant discloses that an effective amount of the compound will be administered without providing any direction other than that the compounds/compositions of the invention have a high therapeutic index and follows this with a definition readily found in a basic pharmacology textbook. It should be noted that the therapeutic index of a drug in humans is almost never known and is only determined through clinical experience.
The existence of working examples.
There is not seen in the disclosure, sufficient evidence to support Applicant’s claims of treating of these disorders. A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 27 USPQ2d 1510 (CAFC). The disclosure does not demonstrate sufficient evidence to support the applicant's claim to the treatment. There are not sufficient working examples or data from references of the prior art to provide a nexus between those examples and a method of treating the disorders with the claimed compound.
The level of one of ordinary skill.
The level of skill is that of one with a doctoral understanding of proliferative disorders’ therapeutics. Applicant’s data is not convincing as to make the production and use of pharmaceutical compositions comprising the recited compounds feasible without undue, un-predictable experimentation.
The quantity of experimentation.
A great deal of experimentation is required for the method of treating proliferative disorders. Furthermore, direction, in the form of examples, must be shown to determine what an effective dose may be. The references submitted do not demonstrate this. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would require a significant amount of experimentation in order to determine the effective dosage to treat the multitudes of different types of diseases with the claimed compound individually or in combination with other therapeutic agents.
Thus, it can be safely concluded that the instant case fails to provide an enabling disclosure for inhibiting infection or replication of a virus.
Claims 15-16 (including claims dependent thereon) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contains subject matter, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention without undue experimentation.
Claim 15 is directed to a method of treating cancer. The term cancer is interpreted to include any and all forms of cancer. In light of this, it can be asserted that in spite of the vast expenditure of human and capital resources in recent years, no one drug has been found which is effective in treating all types of cancer because it is not a simple disease, nor is it even a single disease, but a complex of a multitude of different entities, each behaving in a different way. In re Hozumi, 226 USPQ 353 (ComrPats 1985).
The determination that “undue experimentation” would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue”. These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The breadth of the claims
The breadth of the instant claims is seen to encompass methods for treating various cancer by administering to a patient in need of such treatment a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula I. Thus, the claims are extremely broad.
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention is the treatment of cancer through the use of the claimed compound and derivatives thereof. Currently, there are no known agents that treat cancers all inclusively. (See Pinedo et al. pages 1-2).
The level of predictability in the art
The treatment of cancer is highly unpredictable due to the differing forms of cancerous cells, their location, their potential for metastases, the fact that cancer therapeutics is palliative rather than curative and that cancer treatment readily harms normal tissues. (See McMahon, page 5, col. 2).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor.
The applicant has not demonstrated sufficient guidance provided in the form of administration profiles, combination ratios of the active agents or reference to the same in the prior art to provide a skilled artisan with sufficient guidance to practice the instant treatment of cancer claimed. Further, the applicant discloses that an effective amount of the compound will be administered without providing any direction other than that the compounds of the invention have a high therapeutic index and follows this with a definition readily found in a basic pharmacology textbook. It should be noted that the therapeutic index of a drug in humans is almost never known and is only determined through clinical experience.
The existence of working examples.
There is not seen in the disclosure, sufficient evidence to support Applicant’s claims of treating cancer. A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 27 USPQ2d 1510 (CAFC). The disclosure does not demonstrate sufficient evidence to support the applicant's claim to the treatment of cancer. There are not sufficient working examples or data from references of the prior art to provide a nexus between those examples and a method of treating cancer with the claimed compound.
The level of one of ordinary skill.
The level of skill is that of one with a doctoral understanding of cancer therapeutics.
The quantity of experimentation.
A great deal of experimentation is required. In order for there to be a method of treating cancer generally, as claimed by the applicant, it would be necessary to show that a vast range of different types of cancers can be treated that have differing cell types, locations and potentials for metastases. Furthermore, direction, in the form of examples, must be shown to determine what an effective dose may be. The references submitted do not demonstrate this. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would require a significant amount of experimentation in order to determine the effective dosage to treat the multitudes of different types of cancer with the claimed compound individually or in combination with other therapeutic agents.
Thus, it can be safely concluded that the instant case fails to provide an enabling disclosure for the treatment of the various cancers listed in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10, 15-16 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN09364027.
Applicant claims methods for treating cancer and inhibiting viral replication with the following pharmaceutical composition:
Additionally, in dependent claims, Applicant claims that the composition comprises a pharmaceutically carrier and said carrier comprises a liposome.
This reference discloses Applicant’s composition comprising a liposome for treating cancer on pages 1-2 (of 8). (See also Abstract, Example 1 and entire document). These compositions and methods read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compositions and methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10, 15-16 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diaz et al., (Int. J. Pharm.’2006).
This reference discloses Applicant’s composition comprising a liposome for treating tumor and cancer cell lines on pages 108 and 110-111. (See also Abstract, Figures 1-4 and entire document). These compositions and methods read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compositions and methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herget et al., WO2005/120479
This reference discloses Applicant’s composition comprising a liposome for treating viral infections and preventing viral replication on pages 30-33 and 42-46. (See also Abstract, Examples 5-7 and entire document). These compositions and methods read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact compositions and methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 10-18 are pending. Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 10-18 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622