DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al (US 2024/0429967, “Qian”) in view of Chao et al (US 2022/0345159, “Chao”).
Re claim 14, Qian discloses a first wireless device configuring a narrowband (NB) radio to transmit a narrowband poll packet to the second wireless device (figure 8, step 201; paragraph [0223]); configuring an ultra-wideband (UWB) radio to transmit N fragments to a second wireless device after transmission of the narrowband poll packet, where N is a positive integer (figure 8, step 205; paragraph [0235]); and configuring the NB radio to transmit a data packet to the second wireless device after the N fragments are transmitted by the UWB radio and at least N milliseconds after transmission of the narrowband poll packet (figure 6, sending data frames 1 to M in narrowband signal), but fails to disclose the first wireless device comprising a wireless local area network (WLAN) radio configured to communicate according to a Wi-Fi RAT. However, Chao discloses a multi-radio device with a WLAN radio configured to communicate according to a Wi-Fi RAT (figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Qian with Chao for the benefit of serving WLAN by implementing WLAN chip in a multi-radio device.
Re claim 19, Qian discloses one of the N fragments has a transmission duration of the UWB radio of less than 100 microseconds; or an NB poll packet has a transmission duration of the NB radio of less than 1000 microseconds (figure 6).
Re claim 20, Qian discloses receiving a NB response packet from the second wireless device after the transmission of the NB poll packet (figure 6); or receive a data packet from the second wireless device after the transmission of the data packet from the NB radio (figure 8, step 203).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian in view of Chao and further in view of de Preez et al (US 2011/0153887, “Preez”).
Re claim 15, Qian discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose enabling real-time communication between the UWB radio, the WLAN radio, and the NB radio with a system power management interface (SPMI). However, Preez discloses using SPMI in multi radio device (figure 3, element 302). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Qian with Preez for the benefit of utilizing standardized interface to facilitate efficient communication between a master device and multiple slave devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement for reasons for allowance.
Claim 1 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fail to particularly teach or fairly suggest a first radio sending a request message, to a second radio, wherein the request message comprises a request to use one or more frequency ranges that the second radio is configured to communicate in; a lead time for the first radio to start the communication; a duration of time for the communication; and use of one or more antennas for the communication over the duration.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467