Drawings
Drawings have been reviewed and accepted.
Specification
The specification filed on 09/05/24 has been entered. Specification has been reviewed and accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed on 09/05/24 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ba et al. (US20190165605, herein Ba), in view of King et al. (US20130123997, herein King).
Regarding claim 1, Ba teaches A system comprising: an electrical meter comprising one or more computers, the one or more computers comprising one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable media ([0012] computing environment 100 includes energy consuming device 120, integrated smart meter (ISM) 130, and client device 140, interconnected via network 110. In example embodiments, computing environment 100 may include other computing devices (not shown in FIG. 1) such as smart watches, cell phones, smartphones, wearable technology, phablets, tablet computers, laptop computers, desktop computers, other computer servers or any other computer system known in the art, interconnected to energy consuming device 120, ISM 130, and client device 140, over network 110), the one or more non-transitory computer readable media including program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to ([0039] Program instructions and data used to practice embodiments of the present invention may be stored in persistent storage 305 and in memory 302 for execution by one or more of the respective processors 301 via cache 303): receive, by the one or more processors, an anomaly detection AI model, the anomaly detection AI model trained to identify electrical anomalies within an electrical network coupled to the electrical meter ([0022] integrated smart meters, such as ISM 130, to analyze the collected data to determine anomalies in the energy usage data, and to predict energy usage of energy consuming devices. A program is a sequence of instructions written by a programmer to perform a specific task. In an embodiment, meter program 146 uses the energy usage (i.e., consumption) data from a plurality of integrated smart meters (e.g., ISM 130 to monitor the energy used by one or more energy consuming devices (e.g., energy consuming device 120). In the embodiment, meter program 146 can determine if an anomalous energy usage data point exists and can predict a new data point based on past data points, [0032] meter program 146 predicts energy usage (step 218). In other words, meter program 146 uses online machine learning, which is a method of machine learning in which data becomes available in a sequential order and is used to update a best predictor for future data, to predict future energy usage); store, by the one or more processors, the anomaly detection AI model in the one or more non-transitory computer readable media as at least part of a local AI; execute, by the one or more processors, the anomaly detection AI model locally on the electrical meter ([0021] meter program 146 and any other programs and applications (not shown in FIG. 1) operating on client device 140 may store, read, modify, or write data to information repository 144, [0022] meter program 146 may be found on ISM 130 or on other computing devices (not shown in FIG. 1) in computing environment 100, which are interconnected to client device 140 via network 110.); detect, by the anomaly detection AI model, one or more electrical anomalies associated with one or more load devices being supplied electricity by the electrical meter in the electrical network (Fig. 1, [0023] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of workflow 200 depicting an approach for collecting energy usage data from integrated smart meters, such as ISM 130, analyzing the collected data to determine anomalies in the energy usage data, and predicting energy usage when an anomaly is detected. In one embodiment, the method of workflow 200 is performed by meter program 146);
Ba does not teach and send, by the one or more processors, one or more control commands configured to control the one or more load devices associated with the one or more electrical anomalies to mitigate effects of the one or more electrical anomalies.
King teaches and send, by the one or more processors, one or more control commands configured to control the one or more load devices associated with the one or more electrical anomalies to mitigate effects of the one or more electrical anomalies (Fig. 1, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ba’s teaching of smart meters for monitoring energy loads using machine learning with King’s teaching of initiating control commands based on information about the electricity meter and load devices. The combined teaching provides an expected result of smart meters monitoring energy loads using machine learning and initiating control commands. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve energy usage, support is found in King [0004]-[0005] many utilities have begun installing smart electricity meters that have the ability to communicate bi-directionally between the meter and a utility data center…remote connection and disconnections offer advantages.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 1,
King further teaches wherein the electrical meter comprises a panel connection configured to enable utility power to be delivered to an electrical panel supplying the one or more load devices ([0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 2,
King further teaches wherein the electrical meter comprises one or more power source connections configured to enable electrical power to be delivered to the electrical panel ([0027] referring to FIG. 1, an electrical power system 100 is shown. The electrical power system 100 includes an electricity meter 102 connected by electrical input terminals to electrical power lines 104 (e.g., electrical power utility lines) on one side of the electricity meter 102 and by electrical output terminals to an electrical load 106 on the other side of the electricity meter 102. The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 1,
King further teaches wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes automatically sending the one or more control commands from the electrical meter directly to the one or more load devices ([0035] the invention, the electricity meter 102 is operable to automatically disconnect the electrical load 106 after sensing a distribution grid outage and automatically reconnect after subsequent restoration thereof. The service disconnect switch 116 may be first actuated upon sensing a lack of power in the power lines 104 due to a power outage, [0034] electricity meter 102 and that have been received from the communications network 118 in order to reconnect the electrical load 106 to the power lines 104 according to a predetermined scheme. The service disconnect switch 116 may be a solenoid or other suitably actuated electrical contact device having at least one moveable electrical contact that is operable to automatically reconnect the electrical load 106 to the electrical power lines 104, as commanded by signals from the processor 108).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 4, wherein the one or more … commands are created by the local AI (Ba, [0032] meter program 146 predicts energy usage (step 218). In other words, meter program 146 uses online machine learning, which is a method of machine learning in which data becomes available in a sequential order and is used to update a best predictor for future data, to predict future energy usage. In an embodiment, meter program 146 retrieves energy usage data for energy consuming device 120 from information repository 144 and applies online machine learning to predict a future energy usage data point for energy consuming device 120).
King further teaches control commands (Fig. 1, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state.)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 1, …automatically sending a message to a central control platform remote from the electrical meter (Ba, [0034] meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert (step 222). In other words, responsive to determining that the residual energy usage value for an energy consumer or a group of energy consumers has exceeded a threshold value, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert. In an embodiment, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert to a user).
King further teaches wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes ([0031] Configuration and controls server 122 may be a computer able to carry out communication with the communications network, such as a communications server that typically includes communications network management, messaging controls, and other elements of the communications protocol utilized to conduct and verify communications between the Controls and Configuration server 122 and the electricity meter 102).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 6,
King further teaches wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes the central control platform automatically controlling at least one of the one or more load devices (Fig. 1, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 7, central AI platform (Ba, Fig. 1, [0023] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of workflow 200 depicting an approach for collecting energy usage data from integrated smart meters, such as ISM 130, analyzing the collected data to determine anomalies in the energy usage data, and predicting energy usage when an anomaly is detected. In one embodiment, the method of workflow 200 is performed by meter program 146);
King further teaches wherein the central control platform automatically controlling the one or more load devices includes a … platform creating at least one of the one or more control commands ([0035] the invention, the electricity meter 102 is operable to automatically disconnect the electrical load 106 after sensing a distribution grid outage and automatically reconnect after subsequent restoration thereof. The service disconnect switch 116 may be first actuated upon sensing a lack of power in the power lines 104 due to a power outage, [0034] electricity meter 102 and that have been received from the communications network 118 in order to reconnect the electrical load 106 to the power lines 104 according to a predetermined scheme. The service disconnect switch 116 may be a solenoid or other suitably actuated electrical contact device having at least one moveable electrical contact that is operable to automatically reconnect the electrical load 106 to the electrical power lines 104, as commanded by signals from the processor 108).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 8, wherein automatically sending the message includes sending the message to the central control platform using a first network (Ba, [0034] meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert (step 222). In other words, responsive to determining that the residual energy usage value for an energy consumer or a group of energy consumers has exceeded a threshold value, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert. In an embodiment, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert to a user)
King further teaches and wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes sending at least one of the one or more control commands to the one or more load devices on a second network ([0031] Configuration and controls server 122 may be a computer able to carry out communication with the communications network, such as a communications server that typically includes communications network management, messaging controls, and other elements of the communications protocol utilized to conduct and verify communications between the Controls and Configuration server 122 and the electricity meter 102, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state).
Regarding claim 10, Ba teaches A system comprising: an electrical meter comprising one or more computers, the one or more computers comprising one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable media ([0012] computing environment 100 includes energy consuming device 120, integrated smart meter (ISM) 130, and client device 140, interconnected via network 110. In example embodiments, computing environment 100 may include other computing devices (not shown in FIG. 1) such as smart watches, cell phones, smartphones, wearable technology, phablets, tablet computers, laptop computers, desktop computers, other computer servers or any other computer system known in the art, interconnected to energy consuming device 120, ISM 130, and client device 140, over network 110), the one or more non-transitory computer readable media including program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to ([0039] Program instructions and data used to practice embodiments of the present invention may be stored in persistent storage 305 and in memory 302 for execution by one or more of the respective processors 301 via cache 303): receive, by the one or more processors, an energy optimization AI model, the energy optimization AI model trained to analyze electrical energy usage of one or more load devices within an electrical network coupled to the electrical meter ([0022] integrated smart meters, such as ISM 130, to analyze the collected data to determine anomalies in the energy usage data, and to predict energy usage of energy consuming devices. A program is a sequence of instructions written by a programmer to perform a specific task. In an embodiment, meter program 146 uses the energy usage (i.e., consumption) data from a plurality of integrated smart meters (e.g., ISM 130 to monitor the energy used by one or more energy consuming devices (e.g., energy consuming device 120). In the embodiment, meter program 146 can determine if an anomalous energy usage data point exists and can predict a new data point based on past data points, [0032] meter program 146 predicts energy usage (step 218). In other words, meter program 146 uses online machine learning, which is a method of machine learning in which data becomes available in a sequential order and is used to update a best predictor for future data, to predict future energy usage); store, by the one or more processors, the energy optimization AI model in the one or more non-transitory computer readable media as at least part of a local AI; execute, by the one or more processors, the energy optimization AI model locally on the electrical meter ([0021] meter program 146 and any other programs and applications (not shown in FIG. 1) operating on client device 140 may store, read, modify, or write data to information repository 144, [0022] meter program 146 may be found on ISM 130 or on other computing devices (not shown in FIG. 1) in computing environment 100, which are interconnected to client device 140 via network 110.); receive, by the one or more processors, load device data associated with the one or more load devices being supplied electricity by the electrical meter; determine, by the energy optimization AI model (Fig. 1, [0023] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of workflow 200 depicting an approach for collecting energy usage data from integrated smart meters, such as ISM 130, analyzing the collected data to determine anomalies in the energy usage data, and predicting energy usage when an anomaly is detected. In one embodiment, the method of workflow 200 is performed by meter program 146);
Ba does not teach one or more control commands for the one or more load devices; and controlling the one or more load devices associated with the load device data to decrease electrical usage during a peak electrical time period.
King teaches one or more control commands for the one or more load devices; and controlling the one or more load devices associated with the load device data to decrease electrical usage during a peak electrical time period (Fig. 1, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state, [0030] The scheme operates to reconnect various electrical meters (like electricity meter 102) to the grid at different times, such that electrical loads 106 coupled to the utility grid are reconnected over a period of time rather than all at once).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 10,
King further teaches wherein the electrical meter comprises a panel connection configured to enable utility power to be delivered to an electrical panel supplying the one or more load devices ([0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 11,
King further teaches wherein the electrical meter comprises one or more power source connections configured to enable electrical power to be delivered to the electrical panel through the panel connection ([0027] referring to FIG. 1, an electrical power system 100 is shown. The electrical power system 100 includes an electricity meter 102 connected by electrical input terminals to electrical power lines 104 (e.g., electrical power utility lines) on one side of the electricity meter 102 and by electrical output terminals to an electrical load 106 on the other side of the electricity meter 102. The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 10,
King further teaches wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes automatically sending the one or more control commands from the electrical meter directly to the one or more load devices ([0035] the invention, the electricity meter 102 is operable to automatically disconnect the electrical load 106 after sensing a distribution grid outage and automatically reconnect after subsequent restoration thereof. The service disconnect switch 116 may be first actuated upon sensing a lack of power in the power lines 104 due to a power outage, [0034] electricity meter 102 and that have been received from the communications network 118 in order to reconnect the electrical load 106 to the power lines 104 according to a predetermined scheme. The service disconnect switch 116 may be a solenoid or other suitably actuated electrical contact device having at least one moveable electrical contact that is operable to automatically reconnect the electrical load 106 to the electrical power lines 104, as commanded by signals from the processor 108).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 13, wherein the one or more … are created by the local AI (Ba, [0032] meter program 146 predicts energy usage (step 218). In other words, meter program 146 uses online machine learning, which is a method of machine learning in which data becomes available in a sequential order and is used to update a best predictor for future data, to predict future energy usage. In an embodiment, meter program 146 retrieves energy usage data for energy consuming device 120 from information repository 144 and applies online machine learning to predict a future energy usage data point for energy consuming device 120).
King further teaches control commands (Fig. 1, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 10, wherein … automatically sending a message to a central control platform remote from the electrical meter (Ba, [0034] meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert (step 222). In other words, responsive to determining that the residual energy usage value for an energy consumer or a group of energy consumers has exceeded a threshold value, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert. In an embodiment, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert to a user).
King further teaches wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes ([0031] Configuration and controls server 122 may be a computer able to carry out communication with the communications network, such as a communications server that typically includes communications network management, messaging controls, and other elements of the communications protocol utilized to conduct and verify communications between the Controls and Configuration server 122 and the electricity meter 102).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 15,
King further teaches wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes the central control platform automatically controlling the one or more load devices (Fig. 1, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state.)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 16, …a central AI platform … (Ba, Fig. 1, [0023] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of workflow 200 depicting an approach for collecting energy usage data from integrated smart meters, such as ISM 130, analyzing the collected data to determine anomalies in the energy usage data, and predicting energy usage when an anomaly is detected. In one embodiment, the method of workflow 200 is performed by meter program 146);
King further teaches wherein the central control platform automatically controlling the one or more load devices includes a … platform creating at least one of the one or more control commands ([0035] the invention, the electricity meter 102 is operable to automatically disconnect the electrical load 106 after sensing a distribution grid outage and automatically reconnect after subsequent restoration thereof. The service disconnect switch 116 may be first actuated upon sensing a lack of power in the power lines 104 due to a power outage, [0034] electricity meter 102 and that have been received from the communications network 118 in order to reconnect the electrical load 106 to the power lines 104 according to a predetermined scheme. The service disconnect switch 116 may be a solenoid or other suitably actuated electrical contact device having at least one moveable electrical contact that is operable to automatically reconnect the electrical load 106 to the electrical power lines 104, as commanded by signals from the processor 108).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ba, and King teach The system of claim 17, wherein automatically sending the message includes sending the message to the central control platform using a first network (Ba, [0034] meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert (step 222). In other words, responsive to determining that the residual energy usage value for an energy consumer or a group of energy consumers has exceeded a threshold value, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert. In an embodiment, meter program 146 sends an anomaly alert to a user)
King further teaches and wherein controlling the one or more load devices includes sending at least one of the one or more control commands to the one or more load devices on a second network ([0031] Configuration and controls server 122 may be a computer able to carry out communication with the communications network, such as a communications server that typically includes communications network management, messaging controls, and other elements of the communications protocol utilized to conduct and verify communications between the Controls and Configuration server 122 and the electricity meter 102, [0029] The communication and control system 117 may also include a second computer acting as a configuration and controls server 122 for initiating control commands and other data and/or information to be sent to the electricity meter 102, [0027] The electrical load 106 may be connected through a panelboard or load center containing circuit breakers or other switching devices that are electrically connected to the load side electrical output terminals of the electricity meter 102, for example. Electrical load 106 may be provided by any electricity consuming article or appliance, such as lights, heating, refrigerator, stove, air conditioning, or other electricity consuming devices, [0042] The customer-site generation device 232 than adjusts its generation frequency automatically and confirms the adjustment and synchronization with electricity meter 202. Upon receipt of this confirmation by the electricity meter 202, the service disconnect switch 116 is actuated to change from the disconnected state to the connected state).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Golnari (US20200256910) discloses system and method for anomaly detection in an electrical network
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert, Fennema can be reached on (571) 272-2748 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YVONNE T FOLLANSBEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117