DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement dated 01/21/2026 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al., US 2023/0216711 hereafter Yao.
As for claim 1, Yao discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a receiver, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors Yao FIG. 3, [0202] The UE 106 may be configured to include a processor (or a set of processors) and a memory medium, where the memory medium stores program instructions, where the processor is configured to read and execute the program instructions from the memory medium) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
process signaling indicating at least one time-varying demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern (Yao, FIG. 14A, [0130], At block, 1404, the wireless device transmits/processes an indication that the wireless device supports bundling DMRS signals across multiple slots. For example, the UE may indicate support for cross slot channel estimation and/or dynamic DMRS configuration via a UE capability message. [0127], The UE may then receive/process an indication from the gNB to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling. In this example, the DMRS density may be reduce by half. When the DMRS density is reduced, the DMRS may be reduced based on a pattern. In this example, the DMRS is transmitted every other slot, thus DMRS is transmitted in slot 0 1202 and slot 2 1210 and omitted from slot 1 1204 and slot 3 1214. The Examiner interprets the varying density DMRS to correspond to one time-varying demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern for DMRS in light specification [0031] of the instant application) for DMRS combining (Yao, [0125], [0127], for channel estimation bundling [0130], the wireless device supports bundling DMRS signals across multiple slots);
receive, according to the at least one time-varying DMRS pattern (Yao, [0127], The UE may then receive an indication from the gNB to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling. In this example, the DMRS density may be reduce by half. When the DMRS density is reduced, the DMRS may be reduced based on a pattern. In this example, the DMRS is transmitted every other slot, thus DMRS is transmitted in slot 0 1202 and slot 2 1210 and omitted from slot 1 1204 and slot 3 1214.) at least a first DMRS in a first time interval and at least a second DMRS in at least a second time interval; (Yao, FIG. 14A, [0130], At block 1408, a set of DMRS signals within the channel estimation bundle window may be received based on the DMRS configuration, wherein a first DMRS signal of the set of DMRS signals is received in a first slot, and wherein a second DMRS signal of the set of DMRS signals is received in a second slot.)
perform channel estimation based on DMRS combining of the first DMRS and the second DMRS (Yao, FIG. 14A, [0130], At block 1410, a radio channel may be estimated based on the first DMRS signal and the second DMRS signal. For example, the UE may estimate a DL radio channel across multiple slots. [0127], A joint channel estimation 1208 may be performed for the first channel estimation bundle window across slot 0 1202 and slot 1 1204 based on the DMRS transmitted in slot 0 1202. Another joint channel estimation 1212 may be performed for the second channel estimation bundle window across slot 1 1204 and slot 2 1210 based on the DMRS transmitted in slot 2 1210. Another joint channel estimation 1216 may be performed for the third channel estimation bundle window across slot 2 1210 and slot 3 1214 also based on the DMRS transmitted in slot 2 1210), and
decode at least one data channel transmission based on the channel estimation (Yao, [0130], FIG. 14A, At block 1412, a transmission from a wireless node may be decoded based on the estimated radio channel. For example, the DMRS may be used to estimate a radio channel and used to decode a transmission received from the gNB over the radio channel.)
As for claim 2, Yao discloses wherein the at least one time-varying DMRS pattern indicates a first DMRS density for the first time interval and at least a second DMRS density for the at least the second time interval (FIG. 14A, [0127], The UE may then receive an indication from the gNB to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling. In this example, the DMRS density may be reduce by half. When the DMRS density is reduced, the DMRS may be reduced based on a pattern. In this example, the DMRS is transmitted every other slot, thus DMRS is transmitted in slot 0 1202 and slot 2 1210 and omitted from slot 1 1204 and slot 3 1214.)
As for claim 3, Yao discloses wherein the first time interval comprises a first slot and the at least the second time interval comprises at least a second slot (FIG. 14A, [0130], At block 1408, a set of DMRS signals within the channel estimation bundle window may be received based on the DMRS configuration, wherein a first DMRS signal of the set of DMRS signals is received in a first slot, and wherein a second DMRS signal of the set of DMRS signals is received in a second slot.)
As for claim 5, Yao discloses:
wherein the data channel transmission comprises at least one of: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (Yao [0106], A DMRS is generally embedded in PUCCH, PUSCH, and PDSCH transmissions.), or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. (Yao [0106], A DMRS is generally embedded in PUCCH, PUSCH, and PDSCH transmissions.)
As for claim 6, Yao discloses:
wherein the at least one time-varying DMRS pattern is indicated by at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or downlink control information (DCI). (Yao, [0112], the DMRS configuration information may be transmitted to the UE via RRC signaling. In certain cases, DMRS configuration information may be sent to the UE using a new field added in the downlink control information (DCI),)
As for claim 7, Yao discloses wherein the second time interval occurs temporally after the first time interval. (Yao, FIG. 9, [0102], With a fixed channel estimation bundle window, the channel estimation bundle window may be defined over a set number of slots, one after another. In this example, the UE may be configured, by the gNB, on the UL to transmit the PUSCH with repetition such that the same time domain and frequency domain resources are allocated for multiple, here four, consecutive slots, slots 902, 904, 906, and 908. This example illustrates a channel estimation bundle window defined across two slots, with slot 0 902 and slot 1 904 in a first channel estimation bundle window and slot 2 906 and slot 3 908 in a second channel estimation bundle window.)
As for claim 11, Yao discloses:
wherein the signaling comprises: first signaling defining a set of time varying DMRS patterns; (Yao, [0127], In this example, a UE may be initially configured via an RRC message by the gNB to transmit DMRS signals four times in a slot with a channel estimation bundle window two slots long with a sliding channel estimation bundle window. Here, slot 0 1202 and slot 1 1204 may be included within a first channel estimation bundle window, slot 1 1204 and slot 2 1210 may be included within a second channel estimation bundle window, and slot 2 1210 and slot 3 1214 may be included within a third channel estimation bundle window.) and second signaling indicating a time varying DMRS pattern, from the set of time varying DMRS patterns, for DMRS combining (Yao, FIG. 14A, [0127], The UE may then receive an indication from the gNB to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling. In this example, the DMRS density may be reduce by half. When the DMRS density is reduced, the DMRS may be reduced based on a pattern. In this example, the DMRS is transmitted every other slot, thus DMRS is transmitted in slot 0 1202 and slot 2 1210 and omitted from slot 1 1204 and slot 3 1214.)
As for claim 12, Yao discloses the first signaling comprises radio resource control (RRC) signaling; and the second signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI). (Yao, [0112], DMRS configuration information may be sent to the UE using a new field added in the downlink control information (DCI), or via a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).)
As for claim 14, Yao discloses the signaling indicates a quantity of DMRS symbols from one or more time intervals to be combined when performing the channel estimation (Yao, [0124]-[0126], The gNB may then determine that the DMRS for the UE has been over-configured and may be reduced. The gNB may then signal the UE, for example via DCI or MAC-CE to reduce the amount of DMRS signaling. In certain cases, the DMRS density may be reduced for each slot of the bundle window. In this example, the UE may have originally been configured to transmit the DMRS in symbols 2, 5, 8, and 11 of each slot and after the DMRS is reduced, the UE may transmit the DMRS in symbol 2 1006A and symbol 8 1006B of slot 0 1002 and symbol 2 1006C and symbol 8 1006D of slot 1 1004. The gNB may then perform joint channel estimation for slot 0 1002 and slot 1 1004 based on the received DMRS.)
As for claim 15, Yao discloses the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine the at least one time-varying DMRS pattern based on the indicated quantity (Yao, [0123], the PTRS density (e.g., a number of resource elements on which a PTRS signal is transmitted) may be associated with an indicated DMRS density, such that an indication to reduce the number of DMRS symbols may result in a reduced PTRS density,)
As for claim 16, Yao discloses the receiver comprises a user equipment (UE) (Yao FIG. 3, [0202] a device (e.g., a UE 106, a BS 102, a network element 600) may be configured to include a processor (or a set of processors) and a memory medium, where the memory medium stores program instructions, where the processor is configured to read and execute the program instructions from the memory medium); and the processing comprises receiving the signaling (Yao, [0127], The UE may then receive an indication from the gNB to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling.).
As for claim 17, Yao discloses the receiver comprises a network entity (Yao FIG. 4, FIG. 6, [0202], a device (e.g., a UE 106, a BS 102, a network element 600) may be configured to include a processor (or a set of processors) and a memory medium, where the memory medium stores program instructions, where the processor is configured to read and execute the program instructions from the memory medium).; and the processing comprises transmitting the signaling (Yao, [0127], The gNB may transmit an indication to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling.
As for claim 18, Yao discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitter, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (Yao FIG. 4, FIG. 6, [0202], a device (e.g., a UE 106, a BS 102, a network element 600) may be configured to include a processor (or a set of processors) and a memory medium, where the memory medium stores program instructions, where the processor is configured to read and execute the program instructions from the memory medium) and cause the apparatus to:
process signaling indicating at least one time-varying demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern (Yao, FIG. 16, [0136], At block 1604, the eNB receives/processes an indication that the wireless device supports bundling DMRS signals across multiple slots is received from the wireless device. For example, the wireless node may receive from the UE an indication of support for cross slot channel estimation and/or dynamic DMRS configuration via a UE capability message. [0127], The gNB transmits/processes indication to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling. In this example, the DMRS density may be reduce by half. When the DMRS density is reduced, the DMRS may be reduced based on a pattern.) for DMRS combining (Yao, [0125], [0127], for channel estimation bundling [0130], the wireless device supports bundling DMRS signals across multiple slots);
transmit, according to the at least one time-varying DMRS pattern (FIG. 16, [0127], The gNB transmits an indication to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling. In this example, the DMRS density may be reduce by half. When the DMRS density is reduced, the DMRS may be reduced based on a pattern. In this example, the DMRS is transmitted every other slot, thus DMRS is transmitted in slot 0 1202 and slot 2 1210 and omitted from slot 1 1204 and slot 3 1214), at least a first DMRS in a first time interval and at least a second DMRS in at least a second time interval (FIG. 16, FIG. 14A, [0130], At block 1408, transmit a set of DMRS signals within the channel estimation bundle window may be received based on the DMRS configuration, wherein a first DMRS signal of the set of DMRS signals is received in a first slot, and wherein a second DMRS signal of the set of DMRS signals is received in a second slot).
transmit at least one data channel transmission in at least one of the first time interval or the at least the second time interval (Yao, FIG. 16, [0130], FIG. 14A, At block 1410, a radio channel may be estimated based on the first DMRS signal and the second DMRS signal. For example, the UE may estimate a DL radio channel across multiple slots. At block 1412, a transmission from a wireless node may be decoded based on the estimated radio channel. For example, the DMRS may be used to estimate a radio channel and used to decode a transmission received from the gNB over the radio channel.).
As for claim 19, Yao discloses wherein the at least one time-varying DMRS pattern indicates a first DMRS density for the first time interval and at least a second DMRS density for the at least the second time interval (FIG. 14A, [0127], The UE may then receive an indication from the gNB to reduce the DMRS density, such as via DCI or MAC CE signaling. In this example, the DMRS density may be reduce by half. When the DMRS density is reduced, the DMRS may be reduced based on a pattern. In this example, the DMRS is transmitted every other slot, thus DMRS is transmitted in slot 0 1202 and slot 2 1210 and omitted from slot 1 1204 and slot 3 1214.)
As for claim 20, this claim is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 because the corresponding apparatus of claim 1 can be used to practice the method of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Bhattad et al., US 2021/0051052 hereafter Bhattad.
As for claim 4, Yao does not explicitly disclose the first-time interval is defined by a first Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV) and the second time interval is defined by a second SLIV.
However, Bhattad discloses the first-time interval is defined by a first Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV) and the second time interval is defined by a second SLIV (Bhattad, [0064] As described in more detail below, in some communications systems, such as NR, a time domain resource pattern may be defined for a DMRS. The time domain resource pattern may be identified using a start and length indicator vector (SLIV) that identifies a start symbol, S, and a length, L, for a sequence that includes at least one DMRS (e.g., L may be a length or duration of the sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao with the first-time interval is defined by a first Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV) and the second time interval is defined by a second SLIV as taught by Bhattad to provide improved utilization of processing resources (Bhattad, [0066]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 8-10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manolakos et al., US 2020/0389283 [0110] According to the first bundling category, when the one or more channel transmission parameters (e.g., port ID, PDSCH type, DMRS pattern, and DMRS type) are the same, UE 115-a may bundle the DMRS of resource block 215 and resource block 220 to improve channel estimation.
Nam et al., US 2018/0359069 [0095] where y is a received signal, where Ĥ is a channel estimate (e.g., DMRS-based), and where the average { } is taken only over the reference signal (RS) tones. Here, although the relatively low complexity of such approach is desirable, the DMRS time-domain density is typically not high enough to capture symbol-by-symbol interference fluctuations, nor does such DMRS-based approach necessarily measure the interference for data tones during demodulation.
Yunusov et al., US 2024/0267182 discloses receive, at least a first DMRS in a first time interval (FIG. 8, [0138], At 805, the UE 115-e receives, via a first time slot, a DMRS (e.g., a first DMRS) that may be precoded according to a first set of precoding parameters for the UE 115-e) and at least a second DMRS in at least a second time interval; (FIG. 8, [0139], At 810, the network entity 105-c may transmit, via the first time slot, an extended DMRS (e.g., a second DMRS) that may be precoded according to a second set of precoding parameters for the UE 115-e) perform channel estimation of the first DMRS and the second DMRS; (FIG. 8, 820, [0141] At 820, the UE 115-e may perform channel estimation using the DMRS at 805 and the extended DMRS at 810.) and decode at least one data channel transmission based on the channel estimation (FIG. 8, 845, [0148], At 845, receive one or more downlink messages based on the channel estimation information [0080], For example, each UE 115 may receive a DMRS 220, which may be used by each respective UE 115 to decode downlink data transmissions (e.g., physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions) from the network entity 105-a and as such, may be received by the UEs 115 in downlink slots that contain or are scheduled for data.)
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469