DETAILED ACTION
Prior art cited in this office action:
Wu et al. (US 20240031540 A1, hereinafter “Wu”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20240031540 A1, hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15:
Wu teaches a method, comprising:
determining a number of downsampling phases between pixels of an image (Wu [0102], [0105], where Wu discloses determining a plurality of vertical and horizontal phases for pixels in an image);
configuring, based on the number of downsampling phases, a data structure that associates
one or more interpolation coefficients with a downsampling filter type image (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], where Wu look up tables (LUTs) are used to relate the downsampling phases with the interpolation coefficient);
determining a downsampling factor for downsampling pixel values in a region of the image (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], where Wu downsampling factor is determined for pixel values in a region or area);
determining, based on the downsampling factor, a downsampling filter type from the data
structure (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], where Wu teaches selecting a corresponding filter from the look up tables (LUTs); and
downsampling pixel values in the region of the image based on the one or more interpolation coefficients associated with the determined downsampling filter type (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], fig. 6 where Wu teaching performing downsampling using the selected downsampling filter type (each filter type has corresponding coefficients).
Wu fails to teach explicitly teach a data structure.
However, Wu teaches Vertical phase LUT 622 identifies first interpolation coefficients 626 that are associated with first offset values 618 for a specific color channel and provides first interpolation coefficients 626 to vertical foveated down sampling and correction circuit 630. Similarly, horizontal phase LUT 624 identifies second interpolation coefficients 628 that are associated with second offset values 620 for the specific color channel and provides second interpolation coefficients 628 to horizontal correction circuit 634.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a data structure form the association or call it a data structure since associating one or more interpolation coefficients with a downsampling filter type, in order to increase the efficiency and/or performance of the system.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16:
Wu teaches wherein downsampling the pixel values comprises:
determining a downsampled pixel location for at least one of the pixel values based on the downsampling factor;
determining a downsampling phase based on the downsampled pixel location;
determining the one or more interpolation coefficients associated with the determined
downsampling filter type based on the determined downsampling phase and the data structure; and
generating an interpolated pixel value based on the one or more interpolation coefficients, the interpolated pixel value being based on an interpolation of a first pixel value and a second pixel value, wherein the first pixel value is associated with a first pixel adjacent to the downsampled pixel location, and wherein the second pixel value is associated with a second pixel adjacent to the downsampled pixel location (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], figs. 6, 8 and 9).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17:
Wu teaches wherein each interpolation coefficient in the one or more interpolation coefficients is associated with a weight value, and wherein a level of contribution of each of the first pixel value and the second pixel value to the interpolated pixel value is based on the weight value associated with each interpolation coefficient in the one or more interpolation coefficients (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], figs. 6, 8 and 9).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18:
Wu teaches further comprising:
bypassing downsampling of another region of the image based on a determination that no
downsampling is to occur for the other region of the image (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], figs. 6, 8 and 9).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19:
Wu teaches wherein bypassing downsampling the other region of the image comprises:
determining that a downsampling factor for the other region of the image is a 1:1
downsampling factor (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0081]-[0082], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], figs. 6, 8 and 9).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20:
Wu teaches wherein bypassing downsampling of the other region of the image comprises:
applying an identity filter to pixel values of the other region (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0081]-[0082], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], figs. 6, 8 and 9).
Regarding claims 7 and 14:
Wu teaches wherein each of the downsampling factor, the downsampling filter type, and the one or more interpolation coefficients is associated with a first downsampling direction or a second downsampling direction that is orthogonal to the first downsampling direction (Wu [0005]-[0006], [0081]-[0082], [0099], [0102], [0104]-[0105], [0116], figs. 6, 8 and 9).
Conclusion
/WEDNEL CADEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 July 16, 2026