DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because figures 5-7, for example, are not legible. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the multiple “unit configured to” in claims 1, 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0103332; hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 1 Jung discloses a communication apparatus compliant with Wi-Fi Aware (figure 3, paragraph 0072), the communication apparatus comprising:
a communication unit configured to communicate a frame compliant with Wi-Fi Aware (paragraphs 0077, 0079, 0084; the NAN device may perform communication of frames including NAN availability attributes for supporting a NAN data path, ranging, and/or a non-NAN operation between discovery windows. The NAN availability attributes may be included in management frames such as a beacon frame, a service discovery frame, or a NAN action frame transmitted in a discovery window); and
a notification unit configured to provide a notification of information on, of channels for communication with a frequency bandwidth exceeding 160 MHz, Primary Channel compliant with Wi-Fi Aware by transmitting the frame with the communication unit (paragraphs 0088-0092; band/channel entry list, at least, is used to provide information on channels for communication with frequency exceeding 160 MHz).
Regarding claim 2 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein, in a case where the communication apparatus is capable of communication in a 6 GHz frequency band, the notification unit provides a notification of the information on Primary Channel (paragraph 0092; if the 6 GHz frequency band is used, one of 6 to 255, which are reserved areas, may be used).
Regarding claim 3 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the notification unit provides a notification of a channel for use in quickly discovering a device defined at intervals of 80 MHz as the information on Primary Channel (paragraphs 0128, 0130; at least one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, or 160 MHz may be used as a channel bandwidth).
Regarding claim 4 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the information on Primary Channel is included in Schedule Attribute of the frame (paragraphs 0088, 0105-0112; Operation and Unaligned Scheduled Attribute).
Regarding claim 5 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the information on Primary Channel is included in NAN Availability Attribute of the frame (paragraphs 0084-0087; NAN availability attributes may be used for indicating further available windows).
Regarding claim 6 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the information on Primary Channel is included in NAN Information Elements of the frame (paragraphs 0080, 0084; elements/fields in the frames).
Regarding claim 7 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the information on Primary Channel is information on a channel for communicating a management frame compliant with IEEE802.11 standard series (paragraphs 0045, 0130).
Regarding claim 8 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the frame is NAN Action Frame compliant with Wi-Fi Aware (paragraphs 0079, 0084, 0105; NAN action frame).
Regarding claim 9 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the frame is Service Discovery Frame (SDF) frame compliant with Wi-Fi Aware (paragraph 0077; service discovery frame (SDF)).
Regarding claim 10 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the frame is NAN Synchronization Beacon compliant with Wi-Fi Aware (paragraphs 0077, 0079; NAN synchronization beacon).
Regarding claim 11 Jung discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the frame is NAN Discovery Beacon compliant with Wi-Fi Aware (paragraphs 0077, 0079; discovery beacon frame).
Regarding claim 12 Jung discloses a method of communication of a communication apparatus compliant with Wi-Fi Aware, the method comprising:
communicating a frame compliant with Wi-Fi Aware (paragraphs 0077, 0079, 0084; the NAN device may perform communication of frames including NAN availability attributes for supporting a NAN data path, ranging, and/or a non-NAN operation between discovery windows. The NAN availability attributes may be included in management frames such as a beacon frame, a service discovery frame, or a NAN action frame transmitted in a discovery window); and
providing a notification of information on, of channels for communication with a frequency bandwidth exceeding 160 MHz, Primary Channel compliant with Wi-Fi Aware by transmitting the frame in the communicating (paragraphs 0088-0092; band/channel entry list, at least, is used to provide information on channels for communication with frequency exceeding 160 MHz).
Regarding claim 13 Jung discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as the individual units of the communication apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraph 0257; embodiments as set forth herein may be implemented as software (e.g., the program) including one or more instructions that are stored in a storage medium (e.g., internal memory or external memory) that is readable by a machine (e.g., a master device or a task performing device)).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2024/0365222 to Jang et al. – which discloses receiving a management frame transmitted by an external device, obtaining, as target information, at least one of a country code and available channel information, based on the management frame, and setting one or more available channels for the electronic device, based on the obtained target information.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466