CTNF 18/825,999 CTNF 91075 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception. The claims will be analyzed with respect to the Subject Matter Eligibility Test at MPEP§2106. Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 1 (see MPEP§2106.03) The claims recite one of the four statutory categories of subject matter. Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2A Prong 1 (see MPEP§2106.04(a-c)) The claims recite abstract ideas in the following categories; Methods of organizing human activity such as fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk) see specifically ii. rules for conducting a wagering game, In re Smith , 815 F.3d 816, 818-19, 118 USPQ2d 1245, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2016); (MPEP§2106.04(a)(2)II) (hereinafter “MOHA”). Mental Process (MPEP§2106.04(a)(2)III) The abstract ideas have been noted in the claims below. Regarding claim 1, a method for configuring equipment for a simulated chess piece character performed by a computer device (game rules regarding game elements), the method comprising: displaying a battle chessboard, the battle chessboard comprising at least one simulated chess piece character controlled by a robot account (game rules regarding game elements and game progression); in response to a lineup configuration of the simulated chess piece character in this game, displaying recommended equipment corresponding to the simulated chess piece character, the lineup configuration comprising at least one of the simulated chess piece character displayed on the battle chessboard and a simulated chess piece character that the robot account has not obtained yet (game rules regarding game elements and game progression, mental process regarding evaluation and actions taken within a game environment); and in response to that the simulated chess piece character meets an equipping condition, assigning the recommended equipment to the robot account and displaying the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment (game rules regarding game elements and game progression, mental process regarding evaluation and actions taken within a game environment). Regarding claims 2-20, these claims recite abstract ideas similar to claims 1 as noted above. Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2A Prong 2 (see MPEP§2106.04(d)) The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are generic computer hardware; insignificant extra solution activity such as collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data; and the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer. These additional elements individually and in combination provide for limitations that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. These additional elements (1) add “insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g)” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) and (2) generally link “the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I). These additional elements individually and in combination are not limitations that provide for “improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) apply or use the “judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) implement the “judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) effect “a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) or apply or use “the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I). As such the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2B (see MPEP§2106.05) The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are well-understood, routine and conventional generic computer hardware and insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP§2106.05). The claimed additional elements with citations indicating their well-understood, routine and conventional nature are provided below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2019/0201789 by Yang . Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a method for configuring equipment for a simulated chess piece character performed by a computer device (para. 175-194 – see equipment and virtual characters, Examiner notes that within the context of the specification “simulated chess pieces” does not limit the claims to the game chess and is merely descriptive of any virtual characters), the method comprising: displaying a battle chessboard, the battle chessboard comprising at least one simulated chess piece character controlled by a robot account (fig. 1-2; para. 159, 177-182 – see system control/recommendation); in response to a lineup configuration of the simulated chess piece character in this game, displaying recommended equipment corresponding to the simulated chess piece character, the lineup configuration comprising at least one of the simulated chess piece character displayed on the battle chessboard and a simulated chess piece character that the robot account has not obtained yet (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the inventory and players when a new piece of equipment is obtained); and in response to that the simulated chess piece character meets an equipping condition, assigning the recommended equipment to the robot account and displaying the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters in the game and equipping recommended items that meet use qualifications). Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the assigning the recommended equipment to the robot account and displaying the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment comprises: obtaining, based on character attribute information of the simulated chess piece character in the lineup configuration and candidate equipment attribute information of candidate equipment in a candidate equipment set, the recommended equipment corresponding to the simulated chess piece character; wherein the lineup configuration refers to at least one of a name, a type, a number, and a character attribute configuration of the simulated chess piece character in this game, and the character attribute configuration comprises the character attribute information (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters that meets the character attributes, e.g. class, type, level, and the equipment and evaluation on that basis). Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the character attribute information comprises a character attribute value, and the candidate equipment attribute information comprises a candidate equipment attribute value; and the obtaining, based on character attribute information of the simulated chess piece character in the lineup configuration and candidate equipment attribute information of candidate equipment in a candidate equipment set, the recommended equipment corresponding to the simulated chess piece character comprises: traversing candidate equipment’s in the candidate equipment set, and when the candidate equipment is first selectable equipment of the simulated chess piece character, determining the candidate equipment as the recommended equipment corresponding to the simulated chess piece character; wherein the first selectable equipment is equipment whose score of matching with the simulated chess piece character in the current lineup configuration is greater than a first threshold; when the candidate equipment is not the first selectable equipment of the simulated chess piece character, and instead is second selectable equipment of the simulated chess piece character, determining the candidate equipment as the recommended equipment corresponding to the simulated chess piece character; the second selectable equipment is equipment whose score of matching with the simulated chess piece character in the current lineup configuration is greater than a second threshold; and when the candidate equipment is neither the first selectable equipment nor the second selectable equipment, calculating, based on the character attribute value and the candidate equipment attribute value, a score of matching between candidate equipment and the simulated chess piece character, and determining candidate equipment with the highest score of matching as the recommended equipment corresponding to the simulated chess piece character (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters and the selection of items on the basis of the level and qualifications of the characters with regard to that equipment). Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the character attribute information further comprises equipment selection priority information of the simulated chess piece character; and the method further comprises: sequentially selecting equipment from the candidate equipment set for the simulated chess piece character based on the equipment selection priority information of the simulated chess piece character (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters and the selection of items on the basis of the level and qualifications of the characters with regard to that equipment). Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the assigning the recommended equipment to the robot account and displaying the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment comprises: pre-allocating the recommended equipment to the simulated chess piece character based on the lineup configuration of the simulated chess piece character, to obtain a pre-allocation result of the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment; and equipping, when the simulated chess piece character meets the equipping condition, the simulated chess piece character with the recommended equipment based on the pre-allocation result (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters and the selection of items on the basis of the level and qualifications of the characters with regard to that equipment). Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the pre-allocating the recommended equipment to the simulated chess piece character based on the lineup configuration of the simulated chess piece character, to obtain a pre-allocation result of the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment comprises: traversing the simulated chess piece characters in the lineup configuration, and obtaining, based on the character attribute information of the simulated chess piece character and the recommended equipment attribute information of the recommended equipment, the pre-allocation result of the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters and the selection of items on the basis of the level and qualifications of the characters with regard to that equipment). Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the character attribute information comprises a character attribute value, and the recommended equipment attribute information comprises a recommended attribute value; and the obtaining, based on the character attribute information of the simulated chess piece character and the recommended equipment attribute information of the recommended equipment, the pre-allocation result of the simulated chess piece character equipped with the recommended equipment comprises: when the recommended equipment is the first selectable equipment of the simulated chess piece character, allocating the recommended equipment to the simulated chess piece character; when the recommended equipment is not the first selectable equipment of the simulated chess piece character, and instead is the second selectable equipment of the simulated chess piece character, allocating the recommended equipment to the simulated chess piece character; and when the recommended equipment is neither the first selectable equipment nor the second selectable equipment, calculating, based on the character attribute value and the recommended equipment attribute value, a score of allocating the recommended equipment to the simulated chess piece character, and allocating the recommended equipment to the simulated chess piece character with the highest score of allocating (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters and the selection of items on the basis of the level and qualifications of the characters with regard to that equipment). Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the equipping, when the simulated chess piece character meets the equipping condition, the simulated chess piece character with the recommended equipment based on the pre-allocation result comprises: when the simulated chess piece character is displayed on the battle chessboard, equipping the corresponding simulated chess piece character with the recommended equipment based on the pre-allocation result; and when the simulated chess piece character is not displayed on the battle chessboard, calculating, based on the character attribute value corresponding to the simulated chess piece character and the recommended equipment attribute value corresponding to the recommended equipment, a score of matching between the simulated chess piece character and the recommended equipment, and equipping, with the recommended equipment, the simulated chess piece character with the highest score of matching (fig. 1-2, 11-13, para. 159, 175-194 – see system control of the equipment and characters and the selection of items on the basis of the level and qualifications of the characters with regard to that equipment). Regarding claims 9-20, these claims are rejected as noted above regarding claims 1-8 above, mutatis mutandis . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER J IANNUZZI whose telephone number is (571)272-5793. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30AM-5:30PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kang Hu can be reached at 571-270-1344. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 2 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 3 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 4 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 5 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 6 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 7 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 8 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 9 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/825,999 Page 10 Art Unit: 3715