DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US 2018/0067704).
(1) regarding claims 1, 6, and 11:
Kobayashi ‘704 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an application program causing an information processing apparatus to perform a control method (paragraph [0246]), the application program supporting a function of printing software, the control method comprising:
obtaining capability information from a printer (paragraph [0057], where the capability information of all printers is obtained and stored);
storing print function information including information corresponding to the obtained capability information (paragraph [0057], where print functionality is stored); and
deleting at least one of a plurality of setting values indicated by the print function information based on restriction information about a print setting (paragraphs [0162], [0169]-[0172], where the system tries to establish a print setting screen using the restrictions and capabilities of the printer that will be used).
(2) regarding claims 2, and 7:
Kobayashi ‘704 further discloses wherein the control method further comprises displaying a print setting screen based on the print function information (paragraph [0169] and Fig. 14A and 14B).
(3) regarding claims 3, and 8:
Kobayashi ‘704 further discloses wherein the restriction information includes information about an initial value to be displayed on the print setting screen (paragraphs [0162], [0169]-[0172], where the system tries to establish a print setting screen using the restrictions and capabilities of the printer that will be used, using the initial values of the to-be-used printer).
(4) regarding claims 4, and 9:
Kobayashi ‘704 further discloses wherein the print function information includes information indicating an initial value of a setting item settable via the print setting screen (paragraphs [0162], [0169]-[0172], where the initial values are stored in memory in accordance with each printer model, and through the display UI will be selectable), and
wherein the control method further comprises updating the initial value of the setting item included in the print function information (paragraph [0147], where the configuration could be upgraded).
(5) regarding claims 5, and 10:
Kobayashi ‘704 further discloses wherein the restriction information includes information indicating a setting value restricted from being set via the print setting screen (paragraphs [0162], [0169]-[0172], where an example of a color printer versus a monochrome printer will use the fact that is capable of printing color or not as a restriction).
Conclusion
/LENNIN R RODRIGUEZGONZALEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683