DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A, readable on claims 1-6, 10-16 in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 7-9 have been withdrawn as being directed towards non-elected Species B.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of “the heat sink comprises of the shaft wall” in Claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a common heat transfer element with a first contact surface and a second contact surface; and a heat sink positioned proximally to the distal portion of the shaft” in Lines 9-11, wherein the claim appears to indicate that the common heat transfer element and heat sink are separate structural components, however the specification states that the first and second contact surfaces (127,128) are part of the heat sink (Par. 46-47). Therefore, it’s not clear what structure is required for the common heat transfer element and the heat sink since they appear to be referring to the same component. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “wherein that the heat transfer element” in Line 1, wherein it’s not clear the meaning of the claim limitation “that the” and therefore the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the discharge region " in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “wherein the heat sink comprises of the shaft wall” in Lines 1-2, wherein Claim 1 previously defines “a shaft wall” and “a heat sink” as separate structural elements and Claim 15 is contradicting this by indicating they’re the same structural feature. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0142455).
In regard to claim 1, Chen discloses a medical imaging device (1, Fig. 1), comprising a shaft (10) comprising a distal tip, a proximal region, a longitudinal axis extending from the distal tip to the proximal region, an end face, and a shaft wall extending along the longitudinal axis and facing an environment (Figs. 1,4);
a light source (331) for illuminating a viewing area, wherein the light source is accommodated in the distal portion of the shaft (Fig. 4);
an image sensor (312) for recording image light captured from the viewing area, wherein the image sensor is accommodated in the distal portion of the shaft (Fig. 4);
a common heat transfer element (20) with a first contact surface and a second contact surface (via contact points between the LEDs and Image sensor either directly or indirectly, Fig. 4, Par. 27); and
a heat sink (40) positioned proximally to the distal portion of the shaft (Fig. 4);
wherein the light source and the image sensor are respectively thermally connected to the first and second contact surface of the common heat transfer element (Fig. 4, Par. 27), and an operating heat generated by the light source and/or by the image sensor is dissipated toward the proximal region to the heat sink by the common heat transfer element (Fig. 4, Par. 36).
In regard to claim 2, Chen teaches wherein the light source and the image sensor are arranged in a sealed common compartment (50) in the distal portion of the shaft (Figs. 3-4),and
wherein the heat transfer element is arranged at least partially in the common compartment (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 3, Chen teaches wherein the light source and the image sensor are arranged in a common plane (a common plane can be drawn between one of the LEDs and the image sensor).
In regard to claim 4, Chen teaches wherein a single cover glass is arranged in the end face for distally terminating the common compartment (via cover glass associated with opening (51), Figs. 2,4).
In regard to claim 5, Chen teaches wherein an imaging cover glass (via cover glass associated with opening (51)) and an illuminating cover glass (via cover glass associated with openings (52)) are arranged in the end face and distally terminate the common compartment (Figs. 2,4).
In regard to claim 10, Chen teaches wherein that the heat transfer element has a connection region (211) directed toward the operating heat and a discharge region (24) directed toward the heat sink, where the connection region is tapered relative to a shaft diameter (Fig. 2 shows the tapering of the connection region) and the discharge region (24) is widened relative to the connection region (Figs. 3-4).
In regard to claim 11, Chen teaches wherein the heat transfer element has a depression (24) at the discharge region, the depression extending along the longitudinal axis and receiving at least a portion of the heat sink (Figs. 3-4).
In regard to claim 12, Chen teaches wherein the heat transfer element has a depression at the discharge region (24), the depression extending along the longitudinal axis and receiving at least a portion of the heat sink (Figs. 3-4).
In regard to claim 13, Chen teaches wherein the depression comprises a shared heat transfer surface in thermal contact with the heat sink, and wherein said heat transfer surface includes a surface parallel to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 14, Chen teaches wherein the depression comprises a shared heat transfer surface in thermal contact with the heat sink, and wherein said heat transfer surface includes a surface parallel to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 16, Chen teaches wherein the heat sink comprises a heat pipe (40) arranged along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0142455) in view of Kohno (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0045620).
In regard to claim 6, Chen teaches wherein the first contact surface and the second contact surface are arranged substantially parallel to each other (Fig. 4), but does not expressly teach wherein the end face and the contact surfaces are arranged inclined from an end plane arranged orthogonal to the longitudinal axis.
Kohno teaches an analogous endoscope in which the tip of the endoscope is configured for oblique-viewing, such that the end face of the shaft is inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the shaft. Kohno teaches of the tip provided with an LED (63) and camera (43) and further provided with a heat transmission member (111) having a contact surface (107) that contacts the LED which is inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the shaft. Kohno teaches of the contact surface (107) being approximately parallel to an end face of the shaft (Par. 91).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the forward viewing tip of Chen to be an oblique viewing tip as taught by Kohno as a matter of design choice to alter the angle at which images are taken within a body cavity. There being no unexpected results in modifying the forward viewing tip of Chen to be an oblique viewing tip as taught by Kohno.
Although, Kohno only teaches of the contact surface for the LED being inclined with respect to the longitudinal axis of the shaft, Chen teaches that the contact surface for the LED and image sensor being parallel to each other and therefore the combined endoscope of Kohno and Chen would result in both contact surfaces being parallel to each other and inclined with respect to the longitudinal axis of the shaft.
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 July 11, 2026