DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on September 5, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Relevant Technical Information Submittal Requirement
Requirement — Overview
The applicant is required to submit copies of non-patent literature and relevant technical information as set forth below.
Basis for Requirement
35 U.S.C. § 131 provides:
The Director shall cause an examination to be made of the application and the alleged new invention; and if on such examination it appears that the applicant is entitled to a patent under the law, the Director shall issue a patent therefor.
37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a) provides:
In the course of examining or treating a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 or 371 (including a reissue application), in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding, the examiner or other Office employee may require the submission, from individuals identified under § 1.56(c), or any assignee, of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat the matter, for example:
….
(iii) Related information: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign), by any of the inventors, that relates to the claimed invention.
(iv) Information used to draft application: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used to draft the application.
(v) Information used in invention process: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used in the invention process, such as by designing around or providing a solution to accomplish an invention result.
…
(viii) Technical information known to applicant. Technical information known to applicant concerning the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or concerning the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Background
The applicant has stated in a publicly available European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI) record that the present application, Application No. 18/826,017 (“the Application”), identified as “US202418826017” and “US20260067877 A1,” which is the US publication No. of the Application, may be or may become ESSENTIAL in relation to at least the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the attached IPR Information Statement Annex.”1
Necessity for this Requirement.
This Requirement is issued pursuant to the Director’s duty and authority to examine patent applications. See 35 U.S.C. § 131; 37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a). The ETSI record indicates the applicant likely possesses information relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) that is necessary for a more complete understanding of the invention and its context. See MPEP § 704.11. Such information may include non-patent literature and technical materials (e.g., contribution papers or Tdocs) authored, generated, or submitted by the applicant or others that form the basis of, or resulted from, the claimed invention.
Applicant is Required to Submit:
Copies of any non-patent literature relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which satisfies any of the following criteria:
Authored by any of the inventors and related to the claimed invention,
Used to draft the present application, or
Used in the invention process (for example, used to design around prior art or to provide a solution that enabled the claimed invention); and
Any technical information known to the applicant relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which concerns the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Instructions to Applicant
A complete reply to this Requirement is a reply to each enumerated requirement for information giving either the information required or a statement that the information required to be submitted is unknown and/or is not readily available to the applicant. There is no requirement for the applicant to show that the required information was not, in fact, readily attainable, but the applicant is required to make a good faith attempt to obtain the information and to make a reasonable inquiry once the information is requested. See MPEP § 704.12(b).
This Requirement is subject to the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.134, 1.135 and 1.136 and is accorded the same period for reply as the action on the merits sent with this Requirement. See MPEP § 704.13 (third paragraph). EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136 (a).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 4, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The paragraphs [0148] and [0149] of the specification describe method steps that appear identical with each other. Appropriate correction consistent with the resolution of ambiguity relating to claim 19 as discussed below is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 15 depicts method steps 1504 and 1506 that appear identical to each other. Appropriate correction consistent with the resolution of ambiguity relating to claim 19 as discussed below is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for double inclusion of identical method steps. See MPEP §2173.05(o).
Claim 19 repeats the recited step of: “ transmitting a second configuration for a second UE to transmit a second multi-dimensional sparse codeword across the set of multiple time units over the single carrier frequency,” resulting in an ambiguity as to whether the “a second configuration,” “a second UE,” and “a second multi-dimensional sparse codeword” are the same or different elements in the recited identical steps.
Consulting the specification and the drawings provides no assistance in resolving the ambiguity. Fig. 15 of the instant application depicts steps 1504 and 1506 that are similarly identical. The paragraphs [0148] and [0149] of the specification similarly describe the identical steps.
Under this circumstances, there appears two alternative options are possible in attempt to interpret the recited identical steps, namely 1) treating the repeated elements to be the same; or 2) treating them as different elements. Of course, taking the option 2), the later repeated step may be construed to mean “transmitting a third configuration for a third UE to transmit a third multi-dimensional sparse codeword across the set of multiple time units over the single carrier frequency.” But, this option appears to require a substantial departure from the actual recitation, which may not be appropriate for the Examiner to take.
Therefore, in order to stay true to the literal meaning of what is actually recited, the Examiner opts for the option 1), despite the fact that the above identified ambiguity remains unresolved under this option, and recognizing that the Applicant is in the best position to make the appropriate corrections to resolve the ambiguity. Accordingly, for the purpose of examination, the second repeated step is identical to the earlier recited step, and would be disclosed/taught by the same reference disclosure/teaching for the earlier recited step. Further, the second repeated step thus constitutes a double inclusion, the above identified ambiguity thereof rendering the claim indefinite. See, MPEP §2173.05(o).
Claim 20 is also rejected for the same reason claim 19 is rejected since claim 20, being dependent from claim 19, includes the same deficiencies of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdoli et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2016/0330265) (hereinafter “Abdoli”).
Regarding claim 1, Abdoli discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See, Figs. 7 and 8, any of UEs 1-6; Fig. 14, #140; and ¶[0055], “The electronic device 140 may be generally any device capable of providing wireless communications such as a user equipment (UE)”), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 14, #144); and
at least one processor (Fig. 14, #142) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (See, ¶[0055], “an electronic device 140 for implementing the methods and components described above;” and ¶[0056], “The device 140 may include a processor 142, a memory 144”):
receive a configuration for the UE to transmit (See, ¶[0038], “along with the receipt of scheduling information, each user device may receive an indication of which SCMA codebook to use for encoding a transmission…. may be received from a network node such as a base station ….. scheduling information only regarding physical resources or parameters which should be used by that user device”.) a first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “sparse code multiple access (SCMA);” Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “In the first example in FIG. 7, SCMA codebooks are used …, a codeword length (L) of 4 is used”) across a set of multiple time units (Fig. 7 of Abdoli is an example of the codeword being spread over 4 time units (4T). See, ¶[0042], “The SCMA codewords for each UE are spread only in time based on the SCMA factor graph;” Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used with data from 6 UEs….. The left side of FIG. 7 provides a factor graph of communications from UEs or layers 1-6.” Compare, Fig. 4, showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 4 subcarriers (4fc), see, ¶[0039], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used along with four resource elements (M) or frequency subcarriers;” and Fig. 5B showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 2 subcarriers (2fc), see, ¶[0041], “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the number of resource elements (M) or subcarriers is 2, which is less than the codeword length (L) of 4. The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T).” That is, in the example of Fig. 4 (L=4, 4fc), a codeword is spread over 1T, and in the example of Fig. 5B (L=4, 2fc), a codeword is spread over two time units 2T. It follows that the example of Fig. 7 of single carrier (1fc), when L=4, a codeword is spread over 4T. See, Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left.) over a single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of a single-carrier SCMA transmitter 60 …. may be part of a device or machine configured to send and/or receive data to a wireless network. In an embodiment, all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape”); and
transmit (See, ¶[0008], “a pulse shaping module configured to perform pulse shaping on the sparse modulated data sequence to create a narrow-band signal and to transmit the narrow-band signal;” and Claim 2, “the sparse modulated data sequence is a codeword selected from a sparse code multiple access (SCMA) codebook.”) the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4”) across the set of multiple time units (See, Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4;” and ¶[0042], “The SCMA codewords for each UE are spread only in time”.) over the single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape.”).
Regarding claim 2/1, Abdoli discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the set of multiple time units (Fig. 7, the four (4) time units (4T) as discussed above) comprises a set of multiple symbols (See, e.g., Fig. 5B, #52; ¶[0041], “The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T) and frequency such that UEs with only one active element in each symbol time, as indicated at 52 in FIG. 5B;”¶[0045], “a symbol transformation of QAM or π/4-QAM;” and ¶[0046], “a symbol transformation of OQAM.”), a set of multiple time slots, a set of multiple subframes, a set of multiple frames, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 3/1, Abdoli discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword is determined from a first sparse codebook (See, ¶[0032], “FIG. 1 illustrates SCMA encoding for six user devices or user equipment (UE1-UE6) in a communications system. Codebooks may be assigned to the same user device or to different user devices. During data transmissions, such as uplink transmissions from a user device to a network node or network reception point, a codebook may be assigned to each user device, such as during the scheduling of data transmissions. For downlink transmissions, different codebooks may be used for each multiplexed layer of data;” ¶[0008], “a pulse shaping module configured to perform pulse shaping on the sparse modulated data sequence to create a narrow-band signal and to transmit the narrow-band signal;” and Claim 2, “the sparse modulated data sequence is a codeword selected from a sparse code multiple access (SCMA) codebook.”).
Regarding claim 4/1, Abdoli discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the set of multiple time units are contiguous (See, Fig. 5B, #52; ¶[0041], “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the number of resource elements (M) or subcarriers is 2, which is less than the codeword length (L) of 4. The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T) and frequency such that UEs with only one active element in each symbol time, as indicated at 52 in FIG. 5B”. That is, a codeword (L = 4, M(Fc) =2) for each of the 6 UEs is assigned two contiguous time units T and 2T).
Regarding claim 7, Abdoli discloses a base station for wireless communication (See, Fig. 14, #140; ¶[0055], “The electronic device 140 alternatively may comprise a base station (BS)”), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 14, #144); and
at least one processor (Fig. 14, #142) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to (See, ¶[0055], “an electronic device 140 for implementing the methods and components described above;” and ¶[0056], “The device 140 may include a processor 142, a memory 144”):
transmit a first configuration (See, ¶[0038], “along with the receipt of scheduling information, each user device may receive an indication of which SCMA codebook to use for encoding a transmission…. may be received from a network node such as a base station ….. scheduling information only regarding physical resources or parameters which should be used by that user device”.) for a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, e.g., “UE #1”) to transmit a first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “sparse code multiple access (SCMA);” Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “In the first example in FIG. 7, SCMA codebooks are used …, a codeword length (L) of 4 is used”. See, e.g., Fig. 7, a codeword transmission from UE #1 at the time duration “T”.) across a set of multiple time units (Fig. 7 of Abdoli is an example of the codeword being spread over 4 time units (4T). See, ¶[0042], “The SCMA codewords for each UE are spread only in time based on the SCMA factor graph;” Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used with data from 6 UEs….. The left side of FIG. 7 provides a factor graph of communications from UEs or layers 1-6.” Compare, Fig. 4, showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 4 subcarriers (4fc), see, ¶[0039], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used along with four resource elements (M) or frequency subcarriers;” and Fig. 5B showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 2 subcarriers (2fc), see, ¶[0041], “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the number of resource elements (M) or subcarriers is 2, which is less than the codeword length (L) of 4. The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T).” That is, in the example of Fig. 4 (L=4, 4fc), a codeword is spread over 1T, and in the example of Fig. 5B (L=4, 2fc), a codeword is spread over two time units 2T. It follows that the example of Fig. 7 of single carrier (1fc), when L=4, a codeword is spread over 4T. See, Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left.) over a single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of a single-carrier SCMA transmitter 60 …. may be part of a device or machine configured to send and/or receive data to a wireless network. In an embodiment, all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape”);
transmit a second configuration (See, ¶[0038], “along with the receipt of scheduling information, each user device may receive an indication of which SCMA codebook to use for encoding a transmission…. may be received from a network node such as a base station;” and ¶[0032], “FIG. 1 illustrates SCMA encoding for six user devices or user equipment (UE1-UE6) in a communications system. Codebooks may be assigned to the same user device or to different user devices. During data transmissions, such as uplink transmissions from a user device to a network node or network reception point, a codebook may be assigned to each user device, such as during the scheduling of data transmissions. For downlink transmissions, different codebooks may be used for each multiplexed layer of data;”.) for a second UE (Fig. 7, e.g., “UE #2”) to transmit a second multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “sparse code multiple access (SCMA);” Fig. 7 shows transmission from all 6 UEs; ¶[0045], “the use of narrow-band transmission with single-carrier SCMA encoding by multiple user devices or UEs….. SCMA codebooks are used …, a codeword length (L) of 4 is used…..The left side of FIG. 7 provides a factor graph of communications from UEs or layers 1-6.” See, e.g., Fig. 7, a codeword transmission from UE #2 at the time duration “T”.) across the set of multiple time units (See, above. Fig. 7 of Abdoli is an example of the codeword being spread over 4 time units (4T).) over the single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of a single-carrier SCMA transmitter 60 …. all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape”); [and]
receive (See, Fig. 6, #66; ¶[0044], “The signal x(t) … for transmission to a communications network;” ¶[0032], “During data transmissions, such as uplink transmissions from a user device to a network node;” and ¶[0040], “communications from up to six user devices (UEs 1-6) to a network node”), simultaneously (See, e.g., ¶[0042], “all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape;” and Fig. 7, the codewords from all 6 UEs are sent, e.g., during the time duration marked “T,” and are thus received simultaneously by the base station), the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., a codeword from UE #1 over 4T) and the second multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., a codeword from UE #2 over 4T) across the set of multiple time units (i.e., 4T, see above) over the single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of a single-carrier SCMA transmitter 60 …. all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape”).
Regarding claim 8/7, Abdoli discloses a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 7 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the set of multiple time units comprises a set of multiple symbols (See, e.g., Fig. 5B, #52; ¶[0041], “The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T) and frequency such that UEs with only one active element in each symbol time, as indicated at 52 in FIG. 5B;”¶[0045], “a symbol transformation of QAM or π/4-QAM;” and ¶[0046], “a symbol transformation of OQAM.”), a set of multiple time slots, a set of multiple subframes, a set of multiple frames, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 9/7, Abdoli discloses a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 7 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., a codeword from UE #1 at time T) is determined from a first sparse codebook (See, ¶[0008], “a pulse shaping module configured to perform pulse shaping on the sparse modulated data sequence to create a narrow-band signal and to transmit the narrow-band signal;” and Claim 2, “the sparse modulated data sequence is a codeword selected from a sparse code multiple access (SCMA) codebook.”), wherein the second multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., a codeword from UE #2 at time T) is determined from a second sparse codebook (See, Claim 2, “a codeword selected from a sparse code multiple access (SCMA) codebook.”), and wherein the first sparse codebook is different than the second sparse codebook (See, ¶[0032], “FIG. 1 illustrates SCMA encoding for six user devices or user equipment (UE1-UE6) in a communications system. Codebooks may be assigned to the same user device or to different user devices. …. a codebook may be assigned to each user device, … different codebooks may be used for each multiplexed layer of data;” and ¶[0046], “FIG. 8 provides a factor graph of communications from UEs or layers 1-6.” Note, when referring to the multiplexed signal, a layer corresponds from multiplexed data of a particular UE. Thus, a UE and a layer are used interchangeably.).
Regarding claim 10/7, Abdoli discloses a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 7 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the set of multiple time units allocated to the first UE are contiguous (See, Fig. 5B, #52; ¶[0041], “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the number of resource elements (M) or subcarriers is 2, which is less than the codeword length (L) of 4. The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T) and frequency such that UEs with only one active element in each symbol time, as indicated at 52 in FIG. 5B”. That is, a codeword (L = 4, M(Fc) =2) for each of the 6 UEs is assigned two contiguous time units T and 2T).
Regarding claim 16, Abdoli discloses a processor for wireless communication (Fig. 14, #140), comprising:
at least one controller (Fig. 14, #142, ¶[0055], “The electronic device 140 may be generally any device capable of providing wireless communications such as a user equipment (UE), … smartphone, cellular telephone”. See, e.g., Applicant’s specification as published at ¶[0117], “the controller 1106 may utilize an operating system such as iOS®, ANDROID®, WINDOWS®”) coupled with at least one memory (Fig. 14, #144) and configured to cause the processor to (See, ¶[0055], “an electronic device 140 for implementing the methods and components described above.”):
receive a configuration for the processor to transmit (See, ¶[0038], “along with the receipt of scheduling information, each user device may receive an indication of which SCMA codebook to use for encoding a transmission…. may be received from a network node such as a base station ….. scheduling information only regarding physical resources or parameters which should be used by that user device”.) a first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “sparse code multiple access (SCMA);” Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “In the first example in FIG. 7, SCMA codebooks are used …, a codeword length (L) of 4 is used”) across a set of multiple time units (Fig. 7 of Abdoli is an example of the codeword being spread over 4 time units (4T). See, ¶[0042], “The SCMA codewords for each UE are spread only in time based on the SCMA factor graph;” Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used with data from 6 UEs….. The left side of FIG. 7 provides a factor graph of communications from UEs or layers 1-6.” Compare, Fig. 4, showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 4 subcarriers (4fc), see, ¶[0039], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used along with four resource elements (M) or frequency subcarriers;” and Fig. 5B showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 2 subcarriers (2fc), see, ¶[0041], “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the number of resource elements (M) or subcarriers is 2, which is less than the codeword length (L) of 4. The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T).” That is, in the example of Fig. 4 (L=4, 4fc), a codeword is spread over 1T, and in the example of Fig. 5B (L=4, 2fc), a codeword is spread over two time units 2T. It follows that the example of Fig. 7 of single carrier (1fc), when L=4, a codeword is spread over 4T. See, Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left.) over a single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of a single-carrier SCMA transmitter 60 …. may be part of a device or machine configured to send and/or receive data to a wireless network. In an embodiment, all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape”); and
transmit (See, ¶[0008], “a pulse shaping module configured to perform pulse shaping on the sparse modulated data sequence to create a narrow-band signal and to transmit the narrow-band signal;” and Claim 2, “the sparse modulated data sequence is a codeword selected from a sparse code multiple access (SCMA) codebook.”) the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4”) across the set of multiple time units (See, Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4;” and ¶[0042], “The SCMA codewords for each UE are spread only in time”.) over the single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape.”).
Regarding claim 17/16, Abdoli discloses a processor comprising all elements recited in claim 16 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the set of multiple time units is available to at least one additional processor for transmission (See, Fig. 7, 6 UEs (UE #1 – UE #6) each transmitting a codeword over the time duration “T” and over the subsequent time durations.).
Regarding claim 18/16, Abdoli discloses a processor comprising all elements recited in claim 16 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword is determined from a first sparse codebook (See, ¶[0032], “FIG. 1 illustrates SCMA encoding for six user devices or user equipment (UE1-UE6) in a communications system. Codebooks may be assigned to the same user device or to different user devices. During data transmissions, such as uplink transmissions from a user device to a network node or network reception point, a codebook may be assigned to each user device, such as during the scheduling of data transmissions. For downlink transmissions, different codebooks may be used for each multiplexed layer of data;” ¶[0008], “a pulse shaping module configured to perform pulse shaping on the sparse modulated data sequence to create a narrow-band signal and to transmit the narrow-band signal;” and Claim 2, “the sparse modulated data sequence is a codeword selected from a sparse code multiple access (SCMA) codebook.”).
Regarding claim 19, Abdoli discloses a method (See, e.g., Fig. 7) performed by a base station (See, Fig. 14, #140; ¶[0055], “The electronic device 140 alternatively may comprise a base station (BS)”), the method comprising:
transmitting a first configuration (See, ¶[0038], “along with the receipt of scheduling information, each user device may receive an indication of which SCMA codebook to use for encoding a transmission…. may be received from a network node such as a base station ….. scheduling information only regarding physical resources or parameters which should be used by that user device”.) for a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, e.g., “UE #1”) to transmit a first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “sparse code multiple access (SCMA);” Fig. 7; ¶[0045], “In the first example in FIG. 7, SCMA codebooks are used …, a codeword length (L) of 4 is used”. See, e.g., Fig. 7, a codeword transmission from UE #1 at the time duration “T”.) across a set of multiple time units (Fig. 7 of Abdoli is an example of the codeword being spread over 4 time units (4T). See, ¶[0042], “The SCMA codewords for each UE are spread only in time based on the SCMA factor graph;” Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left; ¶[0045], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used with data from 6 UEs….. The left side of FIG. 7 provides a factor graph of communications from UEs or layers 1-6.” Compare, Fig. 4, showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 4 subcarriers (4fc), see, ¶[0039], “a codeword length (L) of 4 is used along with four resource elements (M) or frequency subcarriers;” and Fig. 5B showing an example of a codeword length of 4 with 2 subcarriers (2fc), see, ¶[0041], “In the example shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the number of resource elements (M) or subcarriers is 2, which is less than the codeword length (L) of 4. The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T).” That is, in the example of Fig. 4 (L=4, 4fc), a codeword is spread over 1T, and in the example of Fig. 5B (L=4, 2fc), a codeword is spread over two time units 2T. It follows that the example of Fig. 7 of single carrier (1fc), when L=4, a codeword is spread over 4T. See, Fig. 7, the factor graph shown on the left.) over a single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of a single-carrier SCMA transmitter 60 …. may be part of a device or machine configured to send and/or receive data to a wireless network. In an embodiment, all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape”);
transmitting a second configuration (See, ¶[0038], “along with the receipt of scheduling information, each user device may receive an indication of which SCMA codebook to use for encoding a transmission…. may be received from a network node such as a base station;” and ¶[0032], “FIG. 1 illustrates SCMA encoding for six user devices or user equipment (UE1-UE6) in a communications system. Codebooks may be assigned to the same user device or to different user devices. During data transmissions, such as uplink transmissions from a user device to a network node or network reception point, a codebook may be assigned to each user device, such as during the scheduling of data transmissions. For downlink transmissions, different codebooks may be used for each multiplexed layer of data;”.) for a second UE (Fig. 7, e.g., “UE #2”) to transmit a second multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “sparse code multiple access (SCMA);” Fig. 7 shows transmission from all 6 UEs; ¶[0045], “the use of narrow-band transmission with single-carrier SCMA encoding by multiple user devices or UEs….. SCMA codebooks are used …, a codeword length (L) of 4 is used…..The left side of FIG. 7 provides a factor graph of communications from UEs or layers 1-6.” See, e.g., Fig. 7, a codeword transmission from UE #2 at the time duration “T”.) across the set of multiple time units (See, above. Fig. 7 of Abdoli is an example of the codeword being spread over 4 time units (4T).) over the single carrier frequency (See, Fig. 6, #60; and ¶[0042], “FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of a single-carrier SCMA transmitter 60 …. all data is transmitted over the same narrow bandwidth using the same single-carrier pulse shape”); and
transmitting a second configuration for a second UE to transmit a second multi-dimensional sparse codeword across the set of multiple time units over the single carrier frequency (See the immediately preceding step for the relevant disclosure of Abdoli applicable for this recited step. See, also, the discussion above of double inclusion rejection of this claim 19.).
Regarding claim 20/19, Abdoli discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 19 as discussed above.
Abdoli further discloses that the set of multiple time units comprises a set of multiple symbols (See, e.g., Fig. 5B, #52; ¶[0041], “The resource elements are spread over two time periods (T and 2T) and frequency such that UEs with only one active element in each symbol time, as indicated at 52 in FIG. 5B;”¶[0045], “a symbol transformation of QAM or π/4-QAM;” and ¶[0046], “a symbol transformation of OQAM.”), a set of multiple time slots, a set of multiple subframes, a set of multiple frames, or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdoli in view of Chun et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2010/0172434) (hereinafter "Chun”).
Regarding claim 5/1. Abdoli teaches a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdoli, however, fails to explicitly teach that the set of multiple time units are non-contiguous.
Chun teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., the transmission of a codeword, see, e.g., the title), and teaches that the set of multiple time units are non-contiguous (See, Figs. 1-8, in which various examples of allocating 2 codewords, a 1st codeword (P8) and a 2nd codeword, each corresponding respectively to a UE1 and UE2, and a pilot symbol into a tile consisting of 12 resources (4 subcarriers x 3 OFDM symbols), see, ¶¶[0073][0074]; and ¶[0091], “A time axis represents an OFDM symbol unit. A frequency axis represents a subcarrier unit.” Chun’s many examples include some implementations in which a codeword is mapped to contiguous OFDM symbols and some implementations with mapping to non-contiguous symbols. In particular, the example of Fig. 8 depicts, e.g., 1st codeword being allocated non-contiguous OFDM symbols. See, Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Abdoli to incorporate the above teaching of Chun, i.e., an allocation of non-contiguous OFDM symbols for transmission of a codeword, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious to try and one of two, i.e., contiguous or non-contiguous, design variations of resource allocation/mapping for codeword transmission taught by Abdoli (See, e.g., Chun, Figs. 1-8). See, also MPEP §2141.III(E); and §2143.I(E), Example 6, the discussion of Bayer Schering Pharma A.G. v. Barr Labs., Inc., 575 F.3d 1341, 91 USPQ2d 1569 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Regarding claim 11/7, Abdoli teaches a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 7 as discussed above.
Abdoli, however, fails to explicitly teach that the set of multiple time units allocated to the first UE are non-contiguous.
Chun teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., the transmission of a codeword, see, e.g., the title), and teaches that the set of multiple time units allocated to the first UE are non-contiguous (See, Figs. 1-8, in which various examples of allocating 2 codewords, a 1st codeword (P8) and a 2nd codeword, each corresponding respectively to a UE1 and UE2, and a pilot symbol into a tile consisting of 12 resources (4 subcarriers x 3 OFDM symbols), see, ¶¶[0073][0074]; and ¶[0091], “A time axis represents an OFDM symbol unit. A frequency axis represents a subcarrier unit.” Chun’s many examples include some implementations in which a codeword is mapped to contiguous OFDM symbols and some implementations with mapping to non-contiguous symbols. In particular, the example of Fig. 8 depicts, e.g., 1st codeword being allocated non-contiguous OFDM symbols. See, Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Abdoli to incorporate the above teaching of Chun, i.e., an allocation of non-contiguous OFDM symbols for transmission of a codeword, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious to try and one of two, i.e., contiguous or non-contiguous, design variations of resource allocation/mapping for codeword transmission taught by Abdoli (See, e.g., Chun, Figs. 1-8). See, also MPEP §2141.III(E); and §2143.I(E), Example 6, the discussion of Bayer Schering Pharma A.G. v. Barr Labs., Inc., 575 F.3d 1341, 91 USPQ2d 1569 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdoli in view of Jia et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2019/0140779) (hereinafter "Jia”).
Regarding claim 6/1, Abdoli teaches a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdoli, while recognizing the importance of spatial element, see, ¶[0030], “applicable to any resource element in addition to OFDM subcarriers, such as time, frequency, spatial elements (i.e. antenna dimension)”), fails to explicitly teach that the configuration indicates a first antenna of multiple antennas the UE is to use to transmit the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword.
Jia teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., a single carrier SCNA (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “Sparse-code multiple access (SCMA);”Fig. 7A, “single carrier mapper 704;” and ¶[0124], A narrow bandwidth single carrier waveform may be appropriate for use in coverage limited cases due to power concentration in a narrow bandwidth.”), and teaches that the configuration (See, ¶[0114], “b. Indication transmitted from the network to the UE for transmissions from the UE to the network, for use by the UE in making the transmissions;” ¶[0123], “the network indications (explicit or implicit) described above which are provided to the UE can be conveyed semi-statically using radio resource control (RRC), higher layer signaling or based on dynamic signaling (e.g. downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling) or MAC CE (control element) or any combination thereof”.) indicates a first antenna of multiple antennas the UE is to use to transmit the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, ¶[0042], “the set of possible transmission resources is determined by code domain resource length; a plurality of spatial resources; a plurality of antenna beams; a plurality of antenna ports;” Fig. 7B; and ¶[0125], “One or the other of the active two carriers 712,716 is selected dependent on an input bit. At the instant depicted, the fourth carrier 716 is selected, and the second carrier 712 is not selected. The modulated symbol is transmitted using the fourth carrier;” and ¶[0126], “different spatial resources are selected dependent on the second subset of input bits. Examples below include antenna beams and antenna ports, but more generally, any spatial domain resource elements can be used as the transmission resources”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Abdoli to incorporate the above teaching of Jia, i.e., a network provision of information to a UE for beam selection for data transmission, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as a necessary part of data transmission, i.e., the codeword transmission taught by Abdoli (See, e.g., Abdoli, ¶[0030]). See, also MPEP §2141.III(A); and §2143.I(A), Example 2, the discussion of Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Regarding claim 12/7, Abdoli teaches a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 7 as discussed above.
Abdoli, while recognizing the importance of spatial element, see, ¶[0030], “applicable to any resource element in addition to OFDM subcarriers, such as time, frequency, spatial elements (i.e. antenna dimension)”), fails to explicitly teach that the first configuration indicates a first antenna of multiple antennas the first UE is to use to transmit the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword, and wherein the second configuration indicates a second antenna of multiple antennas the second UE is to use to transmit the second multi-dimensional sparse codeword
Jia teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., a single carrier SCNA (See, e.g., ¶[0003], “Sparse-code multiple access (SCMA);”Fig. 7A, “single carrier mapper 704;” and ¶[0124], A narrow bandwidth single carrier waveform may be appropriate for use in coverage limited cases due to power concentration in a narrow bandwidth.”), and teaches that the first configuration (See, ¶[0114], “b. Indication transmitted from the network to the UE for transmissions from the UE to the network, for use by the UE in making the transmissions;” ¶[0123], “the network indications (explicit or implicit) described above which are provided to the UE can be conveyed semi-statically using radio resource control (RRC), higher layer signaling or based on dynamic signaling (e.g. downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling) or MAC CE (control element) or any combination thereof”. Each of the 6 UEs shown in Fig. 2 receives the indication/information for the network, i.e., from the base station.) indicates a first antenna of multiple antennas (See, ¶[0042], “the set of possible transmission resources is determined by code domain resource length; a plurality of spatial resources; a plurality of antenna beams; a plurality of antenna ports;” Fig. 7B; and ¶[0125], “One or the other of the active two carriers 712,716 is selected dependent on an input bit. At the instant depicted, the fourth carrier 716 is selected, and the second carrier 712 is not selected. The modulated symbol is transmitted using the fourth carrier;” and ¶[0126], “different spatial resources are selected dependent on the second subset of input bits. Examples below include antenna beams and antenna ports, but more generally, any spatial domain resource elements can be used as the transmission resources”.) the first UE (Fig. 2, e.g., “UE1”) is to use to transmit the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, Fig. 2, “SCMA Codeword 1,” indicated as “multi-dimensional”.), and wherein the second configuration (See, ¶[0114], “b. Indication transmitted from the network to the UE for transmissions from the UE to the network, for use by the UE in making the transmissions”. Each of the 6 UEs shown in Fig. 2 receives the indication/information for the network, i.e., from the base station.) indicates a second antenna of multiple antennas (See, above. Fig. 7A; and ¶[0125], selection of one antenna from 4 antennas.) the second UE (Fig. 2, e.g., “UE2”) is to use to transmit the second multi-dimensional sparse codeword (See, Fig. 2, “SCMA Codeword 2,” indicated as “multi-dimensional”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Abdoli to incorporate the above teaching of Jia, i.e., a network provision of information to a UE for beam selection for data transmission, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as a necessary part of data transmission, i.e., the codeword transmission taught by Abdoli (See, e.g., Abdoli, ¶[0030]). See, also MPEP §2141.III(A); and §2143.I(A), Example 2, the discussion of Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdoli in view of Bakulin et al. US 20180212809 (US Published Patent Application No. US 2018/0212809) (hereinafter "Bakulin”).
Regarding claim 13/7, Abdoli teaches a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 7 as discussed above.
Abdoli, however, fails to explicitly teach that the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to:
associate, using a detector and a frequency domain equalizer (FDE), the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword with the first UE; and
associate, using the detector and the FDE, the second multi-dimensional sparse codeword with the second UE.
Bakulin teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., sparse code multiple access (SCMA) (See, e.g., ¶[0004]), and teaches that the at least one processor (See, Fig. 13B, #1350; and ¶[0115], “FIG. 13B illustrates an example base station 1370”) is further configured to cause the base station to:
Associate (See, Fig. 10, “U1”), using a detector (Fig. 10, #1030, “SCMA detector”) and a frequency domain equalizer (FDE) (Fig. 10, #1025, “FDE;” and , the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword with the first UE (¶[0093], “Output of the FEC decoders are data bits from respective users and are processed by the receiving device.”) , the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword with the first UE (See, Fig. 10, “U1”); and
Associate (See, Fig. 10, “U2”), using the detector (Fig. 10, #1030, “SCMA detector”) and the FDE (Fig. 10, #1025, “FDE;” and , the first multi-dimensional sparse codeword with the first UE (¶[0093], “Output of the FEC decoders are data bits from respective users and are processed by the receiving device.”), the second multi-dimensional sparse codeword with the second UE (See, Fig. 10, “U2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Abdoli to incorporate the above teaching of Bakulin, i.e., the use of a SCMA detector and a FDE in detecting and decoding a multiplexed signal with data from multiple UEs, in order to compensate for different locations of the transmitting UE in relation to the receiver entity, e.g., a base station (See, e.g., Bakulin, ¶[0083]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdoli in view of Bakulin in further view of Choi et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2022/0060295) (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 14/13, Abdoli in view of Bakulin teach a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Abdoli in view of Bakulin further teaches that the detector comprises a factor graph-based detector (See, e.g., Abdoli, [0029], “The sparsity of the codewords enables the use of techniques such as message passing algorithm (MPA) and reduces receiver complexity;” Fig. 4; and ¶[0039], “The left side of FIG. 4 illustrates the multicarrier signal and a factor graph for UEs 1-6.” See, also, Bakulin, ¶[0093], SCMA detectors, such as SCMA detector #1 1030, that are configured to decode the SCMA codewords using an appropriate decoding algorithm, such as MPA”.).
Abdoli in view of Bakulin, however, fails to explicitly teach that the factor graph-based detectors comprise a common factor graph based multi-UE detector and a parallel UE-specific factor graph-based detector.
Choi teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., SCMA (see, e.g., the title), and teaches that the detector (See, Fig. 3, “SCMA detector 300;” ¶[0061] “the SCMA detector 300 may use the message passing algorithm (MPA);” utilizing factor graph-based detection, see, Figs. 4 and 5; and ¶[0070] “As shown in FIG. 4, a plurality of variable nodes 411, 412, 413, 414, 415, 416 and a plurality of function nodes 401, 402, 403, 404 are implemented in the SCMA detector.”) comprises a common factor graph based multi-UE detector (See, ¶[0076] “Conventional detection apparatuses perform a process including passing and updating the first message of the conditional channel probability (CCP) by passing the first message in parallel from the plurality of function nodes 401, 402, 403, 404 to the plurality of variable nodes 411, 412, 413, 414, 415, 416 and then again passing and updating the message by passing the message in parallel from the plurality of variable nodes 411, 412, 413, 414, 415, 416 to the plurality of function nodes 401, 402, 403, 404.”) and a parallel UE-specific factor graph-based detector (See, ¶[0057], “Specifically, the SCMA detector 300 selects a single variable node from among a plurality of variable nodes for a given iteration;” and ¶[0098] “In comparison, the existing detection method proceeds to the next iteration after updating message nodes for all users. In the present sequential multiuser detection method, message nodes are subdivided for each user, and in each process step, a message node is updated for just one user.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Abdoli and Bakulin to incorporate the above teaching of Choi, i.e., UE specific factor graph based detection of multi-UE sparse codeword detection, in order to improve the bit error rate (BER) performance (See, e.g., Choi, ¶[0097]).
Regarding claim 15/13, Abdoli in view of Bakulin teach a base station comprising all elements recited in claim 13 as discussed above.
Abdoli in view of Bakulin further teaches the detector comprises a detection algorithm (See, Abdoli, ¶[0029], “The sparsity of the codewords enables the use of techniques such as message passing algorithm (MPA) and reduces receiver complexity;” and Bakulin, ¶[0093], SCMA detectors, such as SCMA detector #1 1030, that are configured to decode the SCMA codewords using an appropriate decoding algorithm, such as MPA”.).
Abdoli in view of Bakulin, however, fails to explicitly teach that the detection algorithm, i.e., the Message Passing Algorithm (MPA), is an iterative algorithm.
Choi teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., SCMA (see, e.g., the title), and teaches that the Message Passing Algorithm (MPA) is an iterative algorithm (See, Choi, ¶[0027], “The sparse codeword takes a low complexity algorithm such as the iterative message passing algorithm (MPA) to be used for the receiver to detect the receiver's codeword from the combined codeword that the receiver has received.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Abdoli and Bakulin to incorporate the above teaching of Choi, i.e., the technical fact that the Message Passing Algorithm (MPA) is an iterative algorithm, as such teaching would have been recognized by a person having an ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) as a technical factual nature of the MPA. See, e.g., MPEP §2144.I.
Conclusion
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 July 20, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 See Lenovo (Beijing) Ltd’s IPR Information Statement and IPR Licensing Declaration and IPR
Information Statement Annex, ISLD-202604-012, pp 1 & 5 (listing the Application as “US202418826017” and “US20260067877 A1”), Retrieved from the Internet<URL: https://ipr.etsi.org/IPRDetails.aspx?IPRD_ID=10223&IPRD_TYPE_ID=2&MODE=2&sessionkey=407999> (Year: 2026). A copy of the ISLD-202604-012 is being provided herewith.