DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-14, 21-25 and 30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Leede et al. (US20200306195A1, published 10/1/2020).
De Leede teaches a process for preparing a time controlled, immediate release drug delivery system for oral administration (abstract). This treatment is for the treatment of disorder including Female Sexual Interest/Arousal Disorder (FSIAD) (par. [0001]). De Leede teaches that treatment for FSIAD comprises utilizing a drug delivery system that comprises a core, a first coating, a second coating, and two active ingredients. Regarding the first active ingredient, the ingredient may be a PDE5 inhibitor, selected from the group including sildenafil (par. [0006]) (cf. claim 2). Sildenafil may be present in the core in an amount equivalent to 50 mg per tablet, as evidenced by example 1 (par. [0098]) (cf. claim 3). The invention is designed for “oral administration of a second and first active ingredient” (par. [0025]), wherein the second ingredient of testosterone is preferably released in the sublingual space (par. [0053]) (cf. claim 4). Regarding the core, De Leede teaches that it may be comprised preferably of microcrystalline cellulose, wherein the core also comprises a filler or an inorganic salt, wherein the inorganic salt may be anhydrous dibasic calcium phosphate (par. [0060]) (cf. claim 5). The core further comprises a disintegrant, wherein the preferred disintegrant is selected from sodium starch glycolate, cross-linked sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, or cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone (par. [0072]) (cf. claim 6). Regarding the first coating, De Leede teaches that this first coating comprises a hydrophobic polymer, wherein this most preferred polymer comprises ethylcellulose (par. [0078]) (cf. claim 7). This first coating also comprises a hydrophilic substance (par. [0076]), and is preferably a water-insoluble hydrophilic polymer such as microcrystalline cellulose, wherein the coating comprising pores prior to exposure to an aqueous liquid (par. [0079]) (cf. claim 7). Regarding the second coating, De Leede teaches that the second coating comprises testosterone and at least one film forming polymer, wherein this polymer may be hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (par. [0033]). The coating may also comprise a solubilizer, and one such solubilizer is cyclodextrin (par. [0035]) (cf. claim 8). Testosterone as taught by De Leede is considered the second active ingredient that is part of the second coating. It is present in the device in amounts between 0.1 and 1.5 mg/device (i.e. 0.1 to 1.5 mg for each drug delivery system) (par. [0052]) (cf. claim 9). This device or delivery system as taught by De Leede is preferably a tablet (par. [0062]) (cf. claim 10).
In all, De Leede teaches a tablet for dual drug delivery for treating FSIAD, wherein the delivery system comprises a core, wherein the core comprises microcrystalline cellulose, anhydrous dibasic calcium phosphate, and sildenafil, a first coating, wherein the first coating comprises ethylcellulose and microcrystalline cellulose, a second coating, wherein the second coating comprises testosterone in 0.1-1.5 mg/tablet as a second active ingredient and hydroxypropylmethylcellulose with a cyclodextrin, wherein the peak testosterone level (i.e. second active ingredient) occurs 2-6 hours prior to peak levels of sildenafil (i.e. first active ingredient), indicating release of the first active ingredient occurs 2-6 hours after release of the second active ingredient (par. [0001]) (cf. claim 1).
Although “picking, choosing, and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference... has no place in... a 102, anticipation rejection,” picking and choosing may be entirely proper in an obviousness rejection. In re Arkley, 455 F.2d 586, 587 (CCPA 1972).
The only difference between De Leede and the instant claims is that De Leede does not teach the specific combination of components as claimed in a single embodiment, or with sufficient specificity to be anticipatory. The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the teaching of De Leede, but ‘such ‘picking and choosing within several variable does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Where, as here, De Leede does not provide any explicit motivation to select this specific combination of variables, anticipation cannot be found. However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See MPEP 2141(1). Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within De Leede's disclosure, to arrive at compositions such as that being sought.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to produce a method for treating FSIAD that comprises administering a tablet for dual drug delivery for treating FSIAD, wherein the delivery system comprises a core, wherein the core comprises microcrystalline cellulose, anhydrous dibasic calcium phosphate, and sildenafil, a first coating, wherein the first coating comprises ethylcellulose and microcrystalline cellulose, a second coating, wherein the second coating comprises testosterone in 0.1-1.5 mg/tablet as a second active ingredient and hydroxypropylmethylcellulose with a cyclodextrin.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the reference.
Claims 11-14, 21, 23-25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Leede et al. (US20200306195A1, published 10/1/2020) as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Bloemers et al. (US Pat. No. 10,966,933 B2, published 4/6/2021).
De Leede has been described supra.
However, De Leede does not teach a treatment method wherein peak free testosterone level is 0.3-2% or peak serum free testosterone level is 0.01 to 0.1 ng/mL after administration, wherein this method is further characterized by at least 50% release of the second active ingredient within 5 minutes after administration, wherein the tablet is held under the tongue for at least 30 seconds prior to swallowing, wherein plasma concentration of the second active peaks within 1 hour and/or the plasma concentration of the first active peaks 3-6 hours after administration. Further, De Leede does not teach patient characteristics such as menopausal status, contraceptive use, hormone therapy status, BMI, and/or plasma SHBG level.
These deficiencies are made up for by the teachings of Bloemers.
Bloemers teaches a time controlled, immediate release drug delivery system for oral administration of a first active ingredient and a second active ingredient that is a part of a coating (abstract). Bloemers teaches that this device is in the form of a tablet for sublingual administration of a steroid hormone, said tablet comprising a core of microcrystalline cellulose and a filler such as anhydrous dibasic calcium phosphate, a coating of ethylcellulose and microcrystalline cellulose, and an outer coating of a polymer and/or cyclodextrin that also comprises testosterone (claim 1). Bloemers was used and referred to in De Leede as informing the overall composition of the tablet designed for delivery of sildenafil and testosterone. A preferred active ingredient that may be included in the core of Bloemers is sildenafil (col. 10 line 16). Bloemers teaches various factors for the delivery of this drug system, including methods of measuring factors related to overall health such as BMI and health history related to treatment. One such measurement taken is the peak free testosterone level after administration, which is shown experimentally to be 0.021, 0.032, and 0.043 ng/mL (col. 34 line 18) (cf. claim 11). Bloemers teaches that at least 50% of the second active ingredient is released within 5 minutes after administration (col. 13 line 27) (cf. claim 12). Bloemers continues to teach that the tablet administration is done by holding the tablet in the mouth for between 30 seconds to 2.5 minutes prior to swallowing it, wherein it is preferred to be held under the tongue (col 19 lines 8 and 21) (cf. claim 13). Bloemers teaches that administration of the active ingredient in this way results in a peak testosterone (i.e. second active ingredient) level 15 minutes (i.e. within 1 hour) after administration (col. 30 line 5) (cf. claim 14). When identifying potential patients for this treatment, various statistics were evaluated. Bloemers teaches that one such consideration statistic is whether the patient is using combined oral contraceptives, of which almost 60% were taking some form of hormonal contraceptive including combined oral contraceptive pill (col. 37 line 35). Further, Bloemers teaches that BMI may be measured and that patients evaluated had BMI as low as 18 kg/m2 (i.e. less than 22.5) (col. 31 line 52). Bloemers continues to teach that information is compiled from patients, including menopausal status (as evidenced by acknowledgement of pre-menopausal status in example 6), BMI (as evidenced by data collected in table 8), contraceptive or hormonal treatment status (as evidenced by data collected in table 8), plasma SHBG level (as evidenced by data collected in table 8), and albumin level (as evidenced by data collected in table 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the methodology and measurements as taught by Bloemers with the tablet delivery system as taught by De Leede. As both Bloemers and De Leede evaluate dual drug delivery system comprising the same ingredients, one would be motivated, and have a reasonable expectation of success, in applying the logistical and analytical components as taught by Bloemers with the composition and treatment as taught by De Leede. The resulting invention would be a method of treating FSIAD, wherein the patient is using contraceptives or has a BMI of less than 22.5, wherein the patient is administered the composition of De Leede, which comprises testosterone in 0.1-1.5 mg/tablet, and further comprises sildenafil in 50 mg/tablet (cf. claim 21, 23-25). The method of data collection regarding menopausal status, BMI, contraception/hormonal therapy status, plasma SHBG level, and albumin level as taught by Bloemers can also be applied to the device as taught by De Leede, resulting in collection of all of those data points, followed by evaluating the information, and administering the tablet as taught by De Leede, wherein the tablet comprises sildenafil and testosterone (cf. claim 30).
The method of screening and data collection as taught by Bloemers combined with the composition of De Leede results in the instantly claimed method. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, as evidenced by the references.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Leede (US20200306195A1, published 10/1/2020) and Bloemers (US Pat. No. 10,966,933 B2, published 4/6/2021) as applied to claims 1-14, 21, 23-25, and 30 above, and further in view of Laan et al. (Testosterone Insufficiency in Human Immunodeficiency Virus—Infected Women: A Cross-Sectional Study, Sexual Medicine, 2018 Dec 3;7(1):72-79, published 10/3/2018).
De Leede and Bloemers have been described supra.
However, neither De Leede nor Bloemers teach a plasma albumin level of no greater than 37 g/L.
This deficiency is made up for by Laan.
Laan teaches the relationship between testosterone insufficiency and HIV infection in women related so sexual function, fatigue, health status, and depression (aim). Several data points were collected on participants including total testosterone and SHBG. One specific benchmark for the study was albumin levels, and Laan teaches that the lower boundary for albumin levels in participants is 35 g/L (i.e. no greater than 37 g/L) (methods, study procedures). Laan found that rates of sexual disfunction is a concern for women infected with HIV, and that women with testosterone insufficiency are at greater risk of developing sexual desire complaints (discussion). Laan teaches that testosterone therapy may be beneficial to overcome sexual disfunction in HIV-infected women (conclusion).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Laan to the method as taught by De Leede and Bloemers. As Laan teaches the same benchmarks such as testosterone level, SHBG level, and albumin, and evaluates the effects of testosterone on sexual function in females, one would be motivated to use the benchmark of at least 35 g/L albumin as taught by Laan as a marker for evaluation of a method as taught by De Leede and Bloemers. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the benchmark as established by Laan as Laan also evaluates sexual health in women specifically. The incorporation of the albumin level as taught by Laan into the method as taught by De Leede and Bloemers would result in a method of treating FSIAD in a patient using combined oral contraceptives of having a BMI no greater than 22.5 comprising administering the tablet as taught by De Leede and described supra, wherein the plasma albumin level may be as low as 35 g/L (i.e. not greater than 37 g/L) (cf. claim 22).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, as evidenced by the references.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MATTHEW RYAN BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/DAVID J BLANCHARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1619