DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18826081 has claims 1-20 are pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Myung et al. (WO 2024/035018 A1; hereinafter Myung).
Regarding claim 1, Myung discloses a method for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving information related to: a synchronization signal block (SSB) with an adaptation of periodicity or availability, an on-demand SSB, or an on-demand system information block (SIB); (WO 2024035018 A1-Page 21, MIB contains information/parameters related to SIB1 reception and is transmitted over the SSB's PBCH; Page 28, The BS can transmit a specific SSB and notify that it is operating on-demand SIB1 through specific information in the SSB or ssb-SubcarrierOffset k .sub.SSB in the MIB , and transmit SIB1 based on the UE's request. At this time, there may be no configuration for the CRESET#0/Type0-PDCCH CSS set in the corresponding SSB.) receiving, on a cell, (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB; (Page 36, The UE may transmit a SIB1 request based on the fact that the SIB1 is an on-demand SI (S1303).) and determining synchronization or system information on the cell.(Page 36, Based on the SIB1 request, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) related to the SIB1 is monitored, and based on detecting the PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (physical downlink) carrying the SIB1 is monitored. shared channel (PDSCH) can be received (S1304))
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Myung discloses transmitting a wake-up signal (WUS); (Page 33, the bs sends a DCI in response to the receiving the WUS) and receiving a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) providing the on-demand SIB in response to transmission of the WUS by monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) providing the DCI format, (page 29, if UL WUS is transmitted to the BS, it can be notified that SIB1 can be transmitted in an on-demand manner; Page 20, After camping on a cell, the UE can monitor the PDCCH on the cell and receive PDSCH according to downlink control information (DCI) carried by the PDCCH to obtain more specific system information) wherein a monitoring window for monitoring the PDCCH is determined based on a transmission time of the WUS. (Page 27, when the UE transmits a specific signal (e.g., wake up signal (WUS)) to access the corresponding carrier, SSB, SIB1, etc. can be transmitted to enable access; Page 33, The BS sends a response to the received UL WUS and increases transmission opportunities at a specific time or during a specific time period when transmission of a specific signal/channel will begin through a pre-arranged or group-common (GC) DCI; Page 24, A set of PDCCH candidates may be monitored in one or more CORESETs on an active DL BWP on each activated serving cell for which PDCCH monitoring is configured, where monitoring includes receiving each PDCCH candidate and decoding it according to the monitored DCI formats)
Regarding claim 8, Myung discloses A user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver configured to: (Page 37, The UE has at least one transceiver) receive information related to: a synchronization signal block (SSB) with an adaptation of periodicity or availability, an on-demand SSB, or an on-demand system information block (SIB); (WO 2024035018 A1-Page 21, MIB contains information/parameters related to SIB1 reception and is transmitted over the SSB's PBCH; Page 28, The BS can transmit a specific SSB and notify that it is operating on-demand SIB1 through specific information in the SSB or ssb-SubcarrierOffset k .sub.SSB in the MIB , and transmit SIB1 based on the UE's request. At this time, there may be no configuration for the CRESET#0/Type0-PDCCH CSS set in the corresponding SSB.) and receive, on a cell, (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB; (WO 2024035018 A1-Page 21, MIB contains information/parameters related to SIB1 reception and is transmitted over the SSB's PBCH; Page 28, The BS can transmit a specific SSB and notify that it is operating on-demand SIB1 through specific information in the SSB or ssb-SubcarrierOffset k .sub.SSB in the MIB , and transmit SIB1 based on the UE's request. At this time, there may be no configuration for the CRESET#0/Type0-PDCCH CSS set in the corresponding SSB.) and a processor operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to determine synchronization or system information on the cell. (Page 36, Based on the SIB1 request, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) related to the SIB1 is monitored, and based on detecting the PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (physical downlink) carrying the SIB1 is monitored. shared channel (PDSCH) can be received (S1304); Page 37, transceiver with a processor)
Regarding claim 15, Myung discloses a base station (BS), comprising: a processor; and a transceiver operably coupled with the processor, the transceiver configured to: (Page 37-38, transceiver; at least one processor) transmit information related to: a synchronization signal block (SSB) with an adaptation of periodicity or availability; an on-demand SSB, or an on-demand system information block (SIB); (WO 2024035018 A1-Page 21, MIB contains information/parameters related to SIB1 reception and is transmitted over the SSB's PBCH; Page 28, The BS can transmit a specific SSB and notify that it is operating on-demand SIB1 through specific information in the SSB or ssb-SubcarrierOffset k .sub.SSB in the MIB , and transmit SIB1 based on the UE's request. At this time, there may be no configuration for the CRESET#0/Type0-PDCCH CSS set in the corresponding SSB.) and transmit (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB. (WO 2024035018 A1-Page 21, MIB contains information/parameters related to SIB1 reception and is transmitted over the SSB's PBCH; Page 28, The BS can transmit a specific SSB and notify that it is operating on-demand SIB1 through specific information in the SSB or ssb-SubcarrierOffset k .sub.SSB in the MIB , and transmit SIB1 based on the UE's request. At this time, there may be no configuration for the CRESET#0/Type0-PDCCH CSS set in the corresponding SSB.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myung in view of Maleki et al. (Pub. No. US 2026/0173203 A1; hereinafter Maleki).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Myung fails to disclose receiving (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB comprises: receiving the SSB with a first periodicity in a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) active period, and receiving the SSB with a second periodicity in a cell DTX non-active period.
Maleki discloses receiving (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB comprises: receiving the SSB with a first periodicity in a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) active period, and receiving the SSB with a second periodicity in a cell DTX non-active period. (20260173203-See 0056, the UE may monitor different instances of SSB for its measurement when the gNB is during inactive versus when the gNB is in active.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify receiving the on-demand sib1 per request to include monitoring the SSB in both the active and inactive. The motivation to combine is to allow a reduced-power receiver in the gNB to operate (e.g., parts of the radio or baseband in deeper sleep) during the inactive time and wake up the required parts of the main transceiver during the active time.
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myung in view of Zhou et al. ( Pub. No. US 20250081103 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Myung fails to disclose receiving (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB comprises: receiving the SSB with a periodicity in a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) active period, and receiving no SSB in a cell DTX non-active period.
Zhou discloses receiving (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB comprises: receiving the SSB with a periodicity in a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) active period, (20250081103-see 0389, The DTX on duration may be a multiple of the periodicity of the SSBs) and receiving no SSB in a cell DTX non-active period. (See 0395, Based on the DTX duration being a multiple of periodicity of the SSBs, the base station may stay in the cell-off state for the DTX duration by skipping transmitting the SSBs with one or more transmission periods.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify receiving the on-demand sib1 per request to include SSBs are transmitted in a periodicity manner while the DTX on state. The motivation to combine is the alignment of the DTX configuration and SSB transmissions may enable the base station to reduce power consumption for the DTX (periodic cell on/off) operation (See 0370).
Claim(s) 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myung in view of Alfarhan et al. (WO 2024173406 A1; hereinafter Alfarhan ).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Myung fails to disclose receiving information related to transmission of a wake-up signal (WUS), wherein: the information related to transmission of the WUS includes at least a time and frequency resource for transmission of the WUS, and the WUS is based on physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles; and transmitting the WUS based on the information related to transmission of the WUS, wherein receiving (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB comprises receiving the on-demand SSB or the on-demand SIB.
Alfarhan disclose receiving information related to transmission of a wake-up signal (WUS), wherein: the information related to transmission of the WUS includes at least a time and frequency resource for transmission of the WUS, (WO 2024173406 A1-See 0129, the Cell WUS resources may be received by the WTRU as group-common resources (e.g., RACH preambles/sequences) and/or dedicated WTRU-specific resources (e.g., PUCCH resource)) and the WUS is based on physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles; (See 0129, the Cell WUS resources may be received by the WTRU as group-common resources (e.g., RACH preambles/sequences) and/or dedicated WTRU-specific resources (e.g., PUCCH resource) and transmitting the WUS based on the information related to transmission of the WUS, wherein receiving (i) the SSB with the adaptation of periodicity or availability, (ii) the on-demand SSB, or (iii) the on-demand SIB comprises receiving the on-demand SSB or the on-demand SIB. (See 0142, The WTRU may transmit an UL indication (e.g., Cell WUS). In examples, the WTRU may transmit an UL indication to the network using a resource associated with the selected DTX SSB and/or beam when triggered by certain events/conditions. Such UL indication may include one or more of the following configurations and/or resources: Cell WUS indication, SR and/or RACH preambles, for example)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify receiving the on-demand sib1 per request to include indicating the resources for WUS transmission. The motivation to combine is enhancements enabling the network to minimize its power consumption from transmission and/or reception. Such minimization may be beneficial for reducing operational costs and/or environmental sustainability (See 0067).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Myung fails to disclose receiving, via a downlink control information (DCI) format, an activation of the on-demand SSB or the on-demand SIB.
Cheng discloses receiving, via a downlink control information (DCI) format, an activation of the on-demand SSB or the on-demand SIB. (20250112715-See 0053, he network node may indicate the on-demand SSB transmission by a downlink control information (DCI); Multiple configuration parameter sets for semi-persistent and aperiodic on-demand SSB transmission may be configured in the RRC signaling. One of them may be activated by the DCI.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify receiving the on-demand sib per request to include receiving a DCI for activating the on-demand SSB. The motivation to combine is the benefits of on-demand SSB are related to enhanced network resource efficiency by focusing on targeted SSB transmissions and thus minimizing unused SSB resources from beam sweeping across all beam directions (See 0039).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myung in view of Cheng et al. ( Pub. No. US 2026/0032652 A1; hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Myung fails to disclose receiving information related to transmission of a wake-up signal (WUS) including one or more triggering conditions for transmitting the WUS, wherein the one or more triggering conditions are based on: a packet arrival of a certain traffic type, a certain logical channel, or a certain logical channel group, a volume of buffered traffic, or a latency requirement of traffic; and transmitting the WUS when at least one of the one or more triggering conditions is met.
Cheng discloses receiving information related to transmission of a wake-up signal (WUS) including one or more triggering conditions for transmitting the WUS, wherein the one or more triggering conditions are based on: a packet arrival of a certain traffic type, a certain logical channel, or a certain logical channel group, a volume of buffered traffic, or a latency requirement of traffic; and transmitting the WUS when at least one of the one or more triggering conditions is met. (20260032652-See 0180, the one or more trigger conditions for transmission of the UL WUS may include a minimum logical channel (LCH) priority threshold for an associated CG-PUSCH resource as one of the one or more trigger conditions. The LCH priority threshold may be a per UE threshold or a per base station sleep mode threshold)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify receiving the on-demand sib per request to include receiving the triggering for the WUS which includes the LCH priority threshold. The motivation to combine is efficient operation dynamically and/or semi-statically and finer granularity adaptation of transmissions and/or receptions in one or more network energy saving (See 0141).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng (Pub. No. US 2025/0112715 A1)-See 0053, the network node may indicate the on-demand SSB transmission by a downlink control information (DCI). The UE may receive a DCI format for semi-persistent and aperiodic on-demand SSB transmission. Multiple configuration parameter sets for semi-persistent and aperiodic on-demand SSB transmission may be configured in the RRC signaling. One of them may be activated by the DCI. Assuming that the number of configuration parameter sets is larger than the number of codepoints in the DCI. In that case, the MAC CE may activate some of the configuration parameter sets configured in the RRC signaling.
Wu et al. (Pub. No. US 2025/0203649 A1)-See 0167, Non-active time of DTX of the base station, the UE determines the available PRACH transmission occasions based on a fourth period, where the fourth period (the size of the fourth period) is greater than a period for which the UE determining the available PRACH transmission occasions during the Active time of DTX of the base station, that is, the UE determines available PRACH transmission occasions based on relatively sparse period, that is, the transmission of the PRACH in the Non-active time of DTX is sparser than that in the Active time of DTX.
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472