DETAILED ACTION
Currently pending claims are 1 – 20.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities (and Examiner respectfully request to correct as follows): “one or more processors” should be replaced with “one or more hardware processors (or a processor devices)” – Examiner notes this is because a computer processor could be a software processor (e.g. a Microsoft WORD processor). Appropriate correction(s) is (are) required. // “A computer processor” may include the “software processor” (e.g. a word processor) //
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,349,873. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, for example, the difference between these two applications such as a set of features from a set of received electronic messages specifying linguistic characteristics of a particular user is well-known in the field in view of Wasserblat et al. (U.S. Patent 8,145,562: Figure 2 / E-205, Col. 13 Line 2 – 5 / Line 26 – 28, Col. 14 Line 18 – 23 / Line 30 – 38 and Col. 5 Line 21 – 31) – accordingly, because the listed claims of U.S. Patent virtually contain(s) every element of the listed claims of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim(s) of the instant application. Claim(s) of the instant application therefore is/are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim(s) and as such is/are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Himler et al. (U.S. Patent 9,774,626), in view of Wasserblat et al. (U.S. Patent 8,145,562).
As per claim 1, 8 & 15, Himler teaches a system comprising:
one or more processors (Himler: FIG. 5); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (Himler: FIG. 5):
receiving an electronic message from a purported sending user that purportedly is an actual user (Himler: see above & Col. 6 Line 66 – Col. 7 Line 14, Col. 10 Line 32 – 35 and Col. 12 Line 59 – 65: analyzing whether a received message is from a trusted (true) sender (i.e. an actual user) or a purported sending user that maliciously and purportedly is the sending user (e.g.) based on the true sender history logs (records)).
Himler teaches using a statistical linguistic analysis to identify linguistic elements (characteristics) of the malicious messages (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 47 – 60).
However, Himler does not disclose expressly characterizing first linguistic characteristics of the purported sending user from the electronic message.
Wasserblat (& Himler) teaches characterizing first linguistic characteristics of the purported sending user from the electronic message (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 47 – 60: using a statistical linguistic analysis to identify linguistic elements (characteristics) of the malicious messages) || (Wasserblat: Figure 2 / E-205, Col. 13 Line 2 – 5 / Line 26 – 28, Col. 14 Line 18 – 23 / Line 30 – 38 and Col. 5 Line 21 – 31: (a) utilizing a text linguistic model for training and analyzing the interactions of textual / linguistic features (i.e. messages exchanged) as input parameters, from a particular sending user extracted from the associated interactions as received, to assess a similarity level and fraud by determining an identity risk score and checking (comparing) whether the fraud risk score exceeding a predetermined threshold, wherein (b) the behavior features are compared against a user profile of a particular sending user (i.e. a given user identity) during the analysis process (Col. 5 / Line 21 – 31)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of using a machine-learned user model describing at least linguistic features of the sending user's electronic messages because Wasserblat’s teaching can alternatively, effectively and securely utilize a text linguistic model for training and analyzing the interactions of textual / linguistic features (i.e. messages exchanged) as input parameters, from the sending users extracted from the associated interactions as received, to assess a similarity level and fraud by determining an identity risk score and checking (comparing) whether the fraud risk score exceeding a predetermined threshold, wherein the behavior features are compared against a user profile of a particular user (i.e. a given user identity) during the analysis process (see above) within the Himler’s system of analyzing, using a cybersecurity protection mechanism, on a received message sent from a user (employee) of an organization (i.e. an enterprise user) (see above).
identifying a model that is trained to identify second linguistic characteristics of the actual user (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 65 – Col. 11 Line 5 / Line 12 – 17, Col. 8 Line 6 – 13 and Col. 12 Line 59 – 65: using linguistic machine learning models enhanced with semantic parsing techniques and other natural language processing techniques which are trained to recognize patterns of linguistic elements indicative of a legitimate messages from a trusted (true) sender (i.e. an actual user) based on the true sender history logs (records)) || (Wasserblat: see above);
determining, using the model, a difference between the first linguistic characteristics and the second linguistic characteristics (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 65 – Col. 11 Line 5 / Line 12 – 17, Col. 8 Line 6 – 13 and Col. 12 Line 59 – 65: determining a difference of the identified patterns of linguistic elements between the first and the second linguistic characteristics of both malicious and legitimate messages based on the true sender history logs (records)) || (Wasserblat: see above);
determining, based at least in part on the difference, that the purported sending user is not the actual user (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 32 – 46 and Col. 12 Line 59 – 65: based on a similarity score of a threshold amount when compared to a trusted message (from a true / trusted user) based on the true sender history log (record)) || (Wasserblat: see above); and
in response to determining that the purported sending user is not the actual user, executing a security action on the electronic message (Himler: see above & Col. 8 Line 58 – 67: (e.g.) deleting the message and reporting to a cybersecurity analyzer server) || (Wasserblat: see above).
As per claim 2, 9 & 16, Himler as modified teaches determining that the difference between the first linguistic characteristics and the second linguistic characteristics exceeds a threshold, wherein executing the security action includes altering the electronic message to include an indication that the electronic message is not from the actual user (Himler: see above & Col. 7 Line 12 – 14 and Col. 6 Line 25 – 32 / Line 58 – 65) || (Wasserblat: see above).
As per claim 3, 10 & 17, Himler as modified teaches generating a security policy signature that represents content of the electronic message (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 32 – 40 & Col. 12 Line 7 – 9: generating and using a probabilistic hashing (or a vector space modeling), as a security policy signature, to compare, at least, a hashed value (i.e. obfuscating (e.g.) of a mimi-part of identity or a specific (communication) domain, and etc. as found in a portion of the text message body as a part of specific prominent features (see above (b)) to determine (as a part of a user identity) whether or not it was originated from a trusted or malicious sender);
generating a security policy for an enterprise with which the actual user is associated (Himler: Col. 12 Line 59 – 65 and Col. 13 Line 23 – 29 / Line 4 – 9, Col. 12 Line 59 – 65 and Col. 8 Line 1 – 13: analyzing the received messages using (factor-specific) feature values as input characteristics incorporated into a machine learning model to identify (classify) a sender of the received message associated with an enterprise environment for the purpose of cybersecurity protection), the security policy being configured to use the security policy signature to identify potentially malicious electronic messages (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 32 – 40 & Col. 12 Line 7 – 9: generating and using a probabilistic hashing (or a vector space modeling), as a security policy signature for identifying potentially malicious messages); and
implementing the security policy on electronic messages communicated with users associated with the enterprise (Himler: see above).
As per claim 4, 11 & 18, Himler as modified teaches determining a score for the electronic message, the score being indicative of a risk of the electronic message to the enterprise (Himler: see above: based on a weighted compositive similarity score and a designated threshold); and
in response to the score exceeding a security threshold, preventing transmission of the electronic message to a receiving user (Himler: see above & Col. 8 Line 58 – 67: the created new security policy can be (e.g.) (a) deleting the received message and reporting to a cybersecurity analyzer server to prevent transmission of the first electronic message to a receiving user if the risk score exceeding the designated threshold and (b) forwarding (i.e. transmitting) the message if the risk score falling below the threshold).
As per claim 6, 13 & 20, Himler as modified teaches wherein the actual user is a member of an enterprise (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 32 – 33 and Col. 8 Line 10 – 13: a trusted sender (i.e. an internal sender or trusted external sender) as a member of an enterprise),
the operations further comprising: determining that the purported sending user is not a member of the enterprise (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 32 – 35: if not sure that the sender is a trusted sender (i.e. an internal sender or trusted external sender) as a member of an enterprise w.r.t. a purported sending user); and in response to determining that the purported sending user is not a member of the enterprise, accessing an obfuscated version of the second linguistic characteristics (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 36 – 46: using and accessing a probabilistic hashing (or a vector space modeling) to compare, at least, a hashed value (i.e. obfuscating (e.g.) of a mimi-part of identity or a specific (communication) domain, and etc. as found in a portion of the text message body to determine (as a part of a user identity) whether or not it was originated from a trusted or malicious sender).
As per claim 7 & 14, Himler as modified teaches obfuscating the second linguistic characteristics by applying a privacy-preserving one-way hash to the second linguistic characteristics to generate a user identity for the purported sending user (Himler: see above & Col. 10 Line 36 – 46: using and accessing a probabilistic hashing (or a vector space modeling) to compare, at least, a hashed value (i.e. obfuscating (e.g.) of a mimi-part of identity or a specific (communication) domain, and etc. as found in a portion of the text message body to determine (as a part of a user identity) whether or not it was originated from a trusted or malicious sender).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 12 & 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
---------------------------------------------------
/Longbit Chai/
Longbit Chai E.E. Ph.D.
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431
No. #2564 – 2025
---------------------------------------------------