DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250045952 A1 Popov; Alexander et al. (hereafter Popov), in view of US 20250022099 A1 Song; Yizhi et al. (hereafter Song), and further in view of US 20210056668 A1 Barnes; Connelly et al. (hereafter Barnes).
Regarding claim 1, Popov discloses A system for multi-view image translation (Fig.1), comprising: one or more image encoders that encode a plurality of images into a plurality of feature-encoded images in a feature space (Fig.1, [41]-[43], encoder compresses the representation of the image data 116 that includes an array of elements of features of image data 108 into a latent space), wherein an image and an associated feature-encoded image are associated with one of a plurality of image sources ([34]), and wherein each image source is associated with a different view of a common scene ([57]); an image processor ([30]).
Popov fails to disclose processes the feature-encoded images to generate a plurality of translated images in the feature space, wherein the image processor removes at least one feature of a selected feature-encoded image that is not present in an other of the plurality of feature encoded images when generating the translated images and replaces the removed at least one feature of the selected feature encoded image with at least partially, a second feature in at least one of an other of the plurality of translated images using second feature data from the other of the feature-encoded images; and one or more image decoders that output one or more translated images in an output image format.
However, Song teaches that processes the feature-encoded images to generate a plurality of translated images in the feature space (Fig.8, [160], image generation apparatus 800 generates a translated image in feature/latent space), wherein the image processor (Fig.17) removes at least one feature of a selected feature-encoded image that is not present in an other of the plurality of feature encoded images when generating the translated images (Fig.8, [160], [175], [197], as image generation apparatus 800 generates a translated image (e.g. diffused image), masked feature of a first image that is selected feature-encoded image is removed); and one or more image decoders that output one or more translated images in an output image format ([160]). Barnes teaches replaces the removed at least one feature of the selected feature encoded image with at least partially, a second feature in at least one of an other of the plurality of translated images using second feature data from the other of the feature-encoded images (Figs.4, [11], [39], [107], a neural network based system generates translated /transformed feature-encoded images such as primary image and auxiliary image, in that the feature representing unwanted object in primary image is removed, then is replaced or pasted by region representing feature in auxiliary image.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Popov, Song and Barnes before him/her, to modify the system for multi-view image translation disclosed by Popov to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Song and Barnes, in order to provide a machine learning technique for image generation, as identified by Song, and techniques for effectively replacing a selected region of a given image with a corresponding region of an auxiliary image, as identified by Barnes.
Regarding claim 2, Popov discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the image processor associates positional encoding data of one or more robotic elements with the feature-encoded images, and wherein the at least one feature that is removed by the processor is associated with a robotic element ([24], [28]).
Regarding claim 3, Popov discloses The system of claim 2, wherein the image processor further associates robotic proprioception data of the one or more robotic elements with the feature-encoded images ([27]).
Regarding claim 4, Popov discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the processing includes passing at least the plurality of feature-encoded images through a neural network ([33]).
Regarding claim 5, Popov discloses The system of claim 4, wherein the neural network is a multi-headed self-attention network that performs attention operations on features within a feature-encoded image and between the plurality of feature-encoded images ([43]).
Regarding claim 6, Popov discloses The system of claim 4, wherein the neural network is a cross-image attention network that substantially performs attention operations on features between the plurality of feature-encoded images ([48]).
Regarding claim 8, Popov discloses A method for multi-view image translation, comprising: receiving a first sequence of images of a first view of a scene from a first video source; receiving a second sequence of images of a second view of the scene from a second video source ([57]); encoding the first sequence of images of the first view into a third sequence of images encoded in a feature space (Fig.1, [41]-[43]); encoding the second sequence of images of the second view into a fourth sequence of images encoded in the feature space (Fig.1, [40]-[42]); outputting the fifth sequence of images as the first video source; and outputting the sixth sequence of images as the second video source ([178]).
Popov fails to disclose processing the third sequence of images and the fourth sequence of images using a neural network to generate translated sequences of images in the feature space associated with the first view and the second view, wherein the processing removes a first feature of a feature-encoded image of the third sequence when generating the translated sequences of images and restores, at least partially, a second feature in at least one of the translated sequences of images from the fourth sequence of images; decoding the translated sequences of images into a fifth sequence of images of the first view and a sixth sequence of images of the second view.
However, Song teaches processing the third sequence of images and the fourth sequence of images using a neural network to generate translated sequences of images in the feature space associated with the first view and the second view ([43], [160]); decoding the translated sequences of images into a fifth sequence of images of the first view and a sixth sequence of images of the second view ([87], [165], [175], [178]). Barnes teaches wherein the processing determines a first feature is blocking a view of a second feature of a feature encoded second image ([12]), removes a first feature of a feature-encoded image of the third sequence when generating the translated sequences of images and restores, at least partially, a second feature in at least one of the translated sequences of images from the fourth sequence of images(Figs.4, [11], [39], [107]).
Regarding claims 9, 16, Popov discloses The method of claim 8, wherein the scene includes a robotic element and an object, and wherein the robotic element is encoded as the first feature in the feature space and the object is encoded as the second feature in the feature space (Fig.1, [38]).
Regarding claims 10, 17, Song teaches The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving a plurality of positional encodings of objects in the scene; and combining the positional encodings of the objects with the associated features appearing in the images prior to processing images using the neural network (Fig.5, [42]).
Regarding claims 11, 18, Popov discloses The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving proprioception data associated with the robotic element; and combining the proprioception data with the associated features appearing in the images prior to processing images using the neural network ([38]).
Regarding claim 12, Popov discloses The method of claim 8, wherein the neural network is a multi-headed self-attention network that performs attention operations on features appearing within images and between features appearing in sequences of images associated with the first view and the second view ([38], [59]).
Regarding claim 13, Popov discloses The method of claim 8, wherein the neural network is a cross-image attention network that substantially performs attention operations between features appearing in sequences of images associated with the first view and the second view ([38], [59]).
Regarding claims 14, 20, Popov discloses The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving one or more additional sequences of images of one or more additional views; and encoding the additional sequences of images into the feature space, wherein the processing operation using the neural network to generate translated sequences of images in the feature space includes processing the encoded additional sequences of images associatively with the third sequence of images and the fourth sequence of images (Fig.1, [53]).
Regarding claim 15, see the rejection for claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, Popov discloses The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the neural network is selected from the group consisting of: a multi-headed self-attention network that performs attention operations on features appearing both within images and between sequences of images associated with the first view and the second view, and a cross-image attention network that substantially performs attention operations between features appearing in sequences of images associated with the first view and the second view (Fig.1, [38], [53], [59]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popov, in view of Son and Barnes, and further in view of WO 2023085897 A1 GWAK, Donggyu et al. (hereafter Gwak)
Regarding claim 7, Gwak teaches The system of claim 1, wherein a format of the feature-encoded images is different from at least one of the output image format and the received plurality of images (P.10, para.2nd).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Popov, Song, Barnes and Gwak before him/her, to modify the system for multi-view image translation disclosed by Popov to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Song, Barnes and Gwak, in order to provide a machine learning technique for image generation, as identified by Song, and techniques for effectively replacing a selected region of a given image with a corresponding region of an auxiliary image, as identified by Barnes, and improve encoding/decoding efficiency, as identified by Gwak.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY Y. LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487