DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toyama (USP No. 5,864,435).
Regarding claim 1, Toyama discloses an optical imaging lens (see Fig. 1, Col. 3, Line 3), in order from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, comprising: a first lens assembly consisting of (see Fig. 1), in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a first lens (L1) having negative refractive power (Col. 3, Lines 17-18), a second lens (L2) having negative refractive power (Col. 3, Line 19), a third lens (L3) having positive refractive power (Col. 3, Line 19), and a fourth lens (L4) having positive refractive power (Col. 3, Line 20), wherein an image-side surface of the second lens and an object-side surface of the third lens are adhered to form a compound lens (see Fig. 1, Col. 3, Lines 18-20); an aperture (see Fig. 1, Table 1); and a second lens assembly consisting of, in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a fifth lens (L5) having negative refractive power (Table 1), a sixth lens (L6) having positive refractive power (Col. 3, Line 22), and a seventh lens (L7) having negative refractive power (Col. 3, Line 23-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama (USP No. 5,864,435) in view of Yue et al. (CN 114967066 A), hereinafter “Yue”.
Regarding claim 2, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the compound lens formed by adhering the image-side surface of the second lens and the object-side surface of the third lens has negative refractive power. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the compound lens formed by adhering the image-side surface of the second lens (L2) and the object-side surface of the third lens (L3) has negative refractive power (Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the compound lens formed by adhering the image-side surface of the second lens and the object-side surface of the third lens has negative refractive power of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an image-side surface of the fifth lens and an object-side surface of the sixth lens are correspondingly adhered to form a compound lens having positive refractive power. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein an image-side surface of the fifth lens (L5) and an object-side surface of the sixth lens (L6) are correspondingly adhered to form a compound lens having positive refractive power (Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein an image-side surface of the fifth lens and an object-side surface of the sixth lens are correspondingly adhered to form a compound lens having positive refractive power of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Toyama and Yue teach the optical imaging lens set forth above for claim 2, Yue further discloses wherein the second lens (L2) is a biconcave lens; the third lens (L3) is a biconvex lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging lens of Toyama with the teachings of Yue for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Toyama and Yue teach the optical imaging lens set forth above for claim 3, Yue further discloses wherein an object-side surface of the fifth lens (L5) is a convex surface; the image-side surface of the fifth lens (L5) is a concave surface; the sixth lens (L6) is a biconvex lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging lens of Toyama with the teachings of Yue for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an object-side surface of the first lens is a convex surface; an image-side surface of the first lens is a concave surface; the fourth lens is a biconvex lens; an object-side surface of the seventh lens is a convex surface, and an image-side surface of the seventh lens is a concave surface. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein an object-side surface of the first lens is a convex surface; an image-side surface of the first lens is a concave surface; the fourth lens is a biconvex lens; an object-side surface of the seventh lens is a convex surface, and an image-side surface of the seventh lens is a concave surface (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein an object-side surface of the first lens is a convex surface; an image-side surface of the first lens is a concave surface; the fourth lens is a biconvex lens; an object-side surface of the seventh lens is a convex surface, and an image-side surface of the seventh lens is a concave surface of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 24.00< fg2<28.00, wherein fg2 is a focal length of the second lens assembly. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein fg2 is a focal length of the second lens assembly (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein fg2 is a focal length of the second lens assembly of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with 24.00< fg2<28.00 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 10, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: -0.49<F/f1<-0.46, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f1 is a focal length of the first lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f1 is a focal length of the first lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f1 is a focal length of the first lens assembly of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with -0.49<F/f1<-0.46 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 11, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: -1.27<F/f2<-1.23, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f2 is a focal length of the second lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f2 is a focal length of the second lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f2 is a focal length of the second lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with -1.27<F/f2<-1.23 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 12, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.91<F/f3<0.94, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f3 is a focal length of the third lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f3 is a focal length of the third lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f3 is a focal length of the third lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with 0.91<F/f3<0.94 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 13, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.44<F/f4<0.46, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.44<F/f4<0.46, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.44<F/f4<0.46, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: -0.60<F/f5<-0.40, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with -0.60<F/f5<-0.40 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 15, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.84<F/f6<0.88, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f6 is a focal length of the sixth lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f6 is a focal length of the sixth lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f6 is a focal length of the sixth lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with 0.84<F/f6<0.88 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 16, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: -0.04<F/f7<-0.02, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f7 is a focal length of the seventh lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f7 is a focal length of the seventh lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f7 is a focal length of the seventh lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with -0.04<F/f7<-0.02 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 17, Toyama and Yue teach the optical imaging lens set forth above for claim 2, Yue further discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f23 is a focal length of the compound lens formed by adhering the second lens and the third lens (Paragraph 71 – Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging lens of Toyama with the teachings of Yue for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 2. It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with -0.020<F/f23<-0.007 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 18, Toyama and Yue teach the optical imaging lens set forth above for claim 3, Yue further discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.25<F/f56<0.29, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f56 is a focal length of the compound lens formed by adhering the fifth lens and the sixth lens (Paragraph 71 – Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging lens of Toyama with the teachings of Yue for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.40<F/fg1<0.60, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; fg1 is a focal length of the first lens assembly. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; fg1 is a focal length of the first lens assembly (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; fg1 is a focal length of the first lens assembly of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with 0.40<F/fg1<0.60 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 20, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.25<F/fg2<0.27, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; fg2 is a focal length of the second lens assembly. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; fg2 is a focal length of the second lens assembly (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; fg2 is a focal length of the second lens assembly of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with 0.25<F/fg2<0.27 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 21, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 2.40< F/(f1+f2+f3+f4)<3.00, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f1 is a focal length of the first lens; f2 is a focal length of the second lens; f3 is a focal length of the third lens; f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f1 is a focal length of the first lens; f2 is a focal length of the second lens; f3 is a focal length of the third lens; f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; f1 is a focal length of the first lens; f2 is a focal length of the second lens; f3 is a focal length of the third lens; f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with 2.40< F/(f1+f2+f3+f4)<3.00 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Regarding claim 22, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: 0.30< F/R13<0.40, wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; R13 is a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the seventh lens. In the same field of endeavor, Yue discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; R13 is a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the seventh lens (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies: wherein F is a focal length of the optical imaging lens; R13 is a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the seventh lens of Yue for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract). It is found that lenses with structural similarities will have similar properties. A modification of the variables claimed would provide a system having improved optical properties for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama and Yue with 0.30< F/R13<0.40 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging lens with a large aperture and large wide angle in order to obtain good imaging quality (Abstract of Yue).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama (USP No. 5,864,435) in view of Lee et al. (USPG Pub No. 2018/0239117), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 7, Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the first lens are aspheric surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the seventh lens are aspheric surfaces; an object-side surface and the image-side surface of the second lens are spherical surfaces; the object-side surface and an image-side surface of the third lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fourth lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fifth lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the sixth lens are spherical surfaces. In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the first lens are aspheric surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the seventh lens are aspheric surfaces; an object-side surface and the image-side surface of the second lens are spherical surfaces; the object-side surface and an image-side surface of the third lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fourth lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fifth lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the sixth lens are spherical surfaces (Paragraph 58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with wherein an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the first lens are aspheric surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the seventh lens are aspheric surfaces; an object-side surface and the image-side surface of the second lens are spherical surfaces; the object-side surface and an image-side surface of the third lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fourth lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fifth lens are spherical surfaces; an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the sixth lens are spherical surfaces of Lee for the purpose of facilitating aberration correction (Paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 8, Toyama discloses wherein an object-side surface of the seventh lens is convex at a point where the optical axis passes through; an image-side surface of the seventh lens is concave at a point where the optical axis passes through (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 71 – Table 1). Toyama discloses the claimed invention except for the object-side surface of the seventh lens is an aspheric surface and has at least one inflection point; the image-side surface of the seventh lens is an aspheric surface and has at least one inflection point. In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses the object-side surface of the seventh lens is an aspheric surface and has at least one inflection point; the image-side surface of the seventh lens is an aspheric surface and has at least one inflection point (Paragraph 58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens of Toyama with the object-side surface of the seventh lens is an aspheric surface and has at least one inflection point; the image-side surface of the seventh lens is an aspheric surface and has at least one inflection point of Lee for the purpose of facilitating aberration correction (Paragraph 52).
Prior Art Citations
Takato (USP No. 11,150,462) is being cited herein to show an optical imaging lens relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 7/11/2026