DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment /Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/10/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-15 remain pending. Claims 21-25 are new and now also pending.
Claims 16-20 have been cancelled.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figures 1-4, 8) in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-15 are pending and drawn to the elected invention and therefore, examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, and 11-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 1, line 1 recites “comprising a rotation base” would be better recited as with a colon after “comprising” and “a rotation base” beginning on a following line.
-Claim 4 recites “an odd number of the at least two station units of the station assembly are provided, and one of the at least two station units right in the middle is fixedly connected to the rotation base.” However this claim limitation would be better recited as “the at least two station units of the station assembly comprising at least a middle station unit and a side station unit on each side of the middle station unit, and the middle station unit is fixedly connected to the rotation base.”
-Claim 11, line 7, “the rotation plane” should instead be “a rotation plane” and line 8, “the horizontal direction” should instead be “a horizontal direction”.
-Claims 12-15 each start with “Packaging machinery” but should instead begin with “A packaging machinery”.
-Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Vollenkemper (US PGPUB 2015/0266601-cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Vollenkemper discloses a conveying mechanism (handling device 50; Figures 1, 3-4) for packaging machinery (1), comprising:
a rotation base (rotating device 52),
a station assembly (bag gripping arms 8, 9 form a station assembly), and
an expansion-retraction driving mechanism (pivot cylinders 64, axes 36; note further drive mechanisms 53-56 also move the arms 8, 9 between different positions that change the radius of gyration as shown in Figures 7-10; Para. 0076, 0077, 0090),
wherein a rotation driving mechanism (motor 78, belt 79) is configured to drive the rotation base (52) to rotate intermittently (see Figures 3-12; see Para. 0093-0095 describing some of the positions; note Para. 0035 outlines continuous motion is preferred but clearly outlined intermittent movement is capable of being carried out), and the station assembly (8, 9) is connected to the rotation base (52; Para. 0075);
the station assembly (8, 9) comprises at least two station units (8, 9) for arranging a packaging container (2), and the expansion-retraction driving mechanism (36, 64, and 53-56 ) is configured to drive the at least two station units (8, 9) to move, to make the station assembly (8, 9) switch between an expanded posture (Figures 4 and 9 depict examples of expanded postures) and a retracted posture (Figures 3 and 7 depict examples of retracted postures; see Para. 0076, 0077, 0090-0092); and
a radius of gyration of the station assembly (8, 9) in the retracted posture (Figures 3 and 7) is smaller than a radius of gyration of the station assembly (8, 9) in the expanded posture (Figures 4 and 9; note with respect to Figures 3 and 4, see “Annotated View of Figures 3 and 4” below as the pivoting from the position of Figure 3 to the position of Figure 4 will readily move the center of mass of the arm outward and therefore the radius of gyration of the arms will readily increase as the center of mass is below the pivot point; similarly, the movement between Figures 7 and 9 will move the radius of gyration further outward from the axis of rotation 51 of the base 52 as the arms thereof will move outward).
Note: with respect to the claimed “station assembly” and the “at least two station units”, the manner in which such structures are claimed allows for a broadest reasonable interpretation in light the specification to include the interpretation that each holding unit (10, 11/each side of gripper arm) anticipates the claimed “at least two station units” and that each arm (8, 9) can be interpreted as the claimed station assembly.
Annotated View of Figures 3 and 4
Regarding Claim 2, Vollenkemper, refer to the “Note” of Claim 1 wherein the disclosed “holding units 10 and 11” are viewed as the “station units” and each arm (8, 9) is viewed as a “station assembly. In this interpretation Vollenkemper discloses when the station assembly (8, 9) is in the expanded posture (Figures 4 and 9), the at least two station units (10, 11) of the station assembly (8, 9) are linearly arranged along a tangential direction of a circumferential direction of rotation of the rotation base (52) and when the station assembly (8, 9) is in the retracted posture (Figures 3 and 7), the at least two station units (10, 11) of the station assembly (8, 9) are arranged along the circumferential direction of the rotation of the rotation base (52; note the “Annotated View of Figures 7 and 9” below and note that in the retracted position, the station units 10, 11 will readily be arranged along a circumferential direction (their path of rotation) that is associated with the rotation of the base as the station units 10,11 will rotated about axis 51 of base 52; further it is noted that without further linearly arranged along a tangential direction only requires a portion of the unit to be in linear arrangement thereof).
Annotated Views of Figures 7 and 9
Regarding Claim 7, Vollenkemper, refer to the “Note” of Claim 1 wherein the disclosed “holding units 10 and 11” are viewed as the “station units” and each arm (8, 9) is viewed as a “station assembly. Given this interpretation Vollenkemper discloses at least two station assemblies (8, 9) are evenly provided along a circumferential direction of rotation of the rotation base (52) and are spaced apart (as shown).
Regarding Claim 8, Vollenkemper discloses the at least two station units (8, 9) are provided with a retaining mechanism (holding, gripping units 10, 11 including suction device 12 and clamping jaws 16) for retaining the packaging container (2; Para. 0089).
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Vollenkemper discloses packaging machinery (apparatus 100) each of preset workstations (feeding station at interface of 14, filling station at interface of spout 4 of filling devices 3; see Figure 1) on a conveying path of the conveying mechanism (50) for the packaging machinery is provided with an operating mechanism (apparatus 100) configured to perform a different packaging process (loading and filling; Para. 0093).
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Castellari (US PGPUB 2019/0055041).
Regarding Claim 1, Castellari discloses a conveying mechanism (rotary element 2; Figure 19) for packaging machinery (boxing machine 1), comprising:
a rotation base (base of 2; see Figure 6 for reference),
a station assembly (multiple projections 5 comprising seats S1; Para. 0038), and
an expansion-retraction driving mechanism (arm 41 and associated drive within 2; Figure 20; Paras. 0200-0201),
wherein a rotation driving mechanism (drive unit; Para. 0040) is configured to drive the rotation base (of 2) to rotate intermittently (note in order to perform as claimed at different stations PA1-PA3, the base must be driven in intermittent manner), and the station assembly (5, S1) is connected to the rotation base (2; Para. 0041-0042);
the station assembly comprises at least two station units (5, S1) for arranging a packaging container (box blank SB), and the expansion-retraction driving mechanism (41 and mechanism within 2) is configured to drive the at least two station units (5, S1) to move, to make the station assembly (5, S1) switch between an expanded posture and a retracted posture (see Figure 20; Paras. 0200-0203); and
a radius of gyration of the station assembly (5, S1) in the retracted posture is smaller than a radius of gyration of the station assembly in the expanded posture (as clearly shown below; Para. 0202-0203).
Annotated View of Figure 20
Regarding Claim 2, Castellari discloses when the station assembly is in the expanded posture (shown above), the at least two station units of the station assembly are linearly arranged along a tangential direction of a circumferential direction of rotation of the rotation base (of 2); and when the station assembly (shown above) is in the retracted posture, the at least two station units (5, S1) of the station assembly are arranged along the circumferential direction of the rotation of the rotation base (2 as shown the projections/seats 5, S1 are clearly arranged along a circumferential direction radiating from base of 2 and further “expanded station assembly” shown above comprises units that exist on a line that is readily tangential to a rotation direction of the base (i.e. a vertical line extending through the seats S1).
Regarding Claim 7, Castellari discloses at least two station assemblies are evenly provided along a circumferential direction of rotation of the rotation base (2) and are spaced apart (as shown the projections 5 and seats S1 thereof are clearly evenly spaced as claimed).
Regarding Claim 8, Castellari discloses the at least two station units are provided with a retaining mechanism (seat S1) for retaining the packaging container (Para. 0041).
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Castellari discloses packaging machinery each of preset workstations (ST1, ST2, ST3) on a conveying path of the conveying mechanism (2) for the packaging machinery is provided with an operating mechanism (magazine 4, rotary element 3 and mould 14; Figure 24) configured to perform a different packaging process (feeding, transfer and folding/forming).
Claims 1, 8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Daoust (US PGPUB 2004/0011005).
Regarding Claim 1, Daoust discloses a conveying mechanism (turret system 14; Figure 1) for packaging machinery (10), comprising:
a rotation base (turret 38),
a station assembly (formed by clamps 40), and
an expansion-retraction driving mechanism (52; Para. 0041),
wherein a rotation driving mechanism (motor; Para. 0038) is configured to drive the rotation base (38) to rotate intermittently (Para. 0038), and the station assembly (40) is connected to the rotation base (38; Para. 0038);
the station assembly comprises at least two station units (clamps 40) for arranging a packaging container (36; note the units are clearly capable of handling less flexible containers as well such as box blanks), and the expansion-retraction driving mechanism (52) is configured to drive the at least two station units (40) to move, to make the station assembly (40, 40) switch between an expanded posture (Figure 3) and a retracted posture (see Figure 2; Para. 0041); and
a radius of gyration of the station assembly (40, 40) in the retracted posture (Figure 2) is smaller than a radius of gyration of the station assembly in the expanded posture (as clearly shown in Figures 2-3).
Regarding Claim 8, Daoust discloses the at least two station units are provided with a retaining mechanism (log receptacle 46) for retaining the packaging container (Para. 0039).
Regarding Claim 11, Daoust discloses the rotation plane of the rotation base (turret 38) is along the vertical direction (Para. 0115-“the turret 38 can rotate about an axis placed in virtually any orientation (vertical, horizontal, or diagonally with respect to either such orientation)”), the at least two station units (40) are configured to receive the packaging container (formed by wrapper 36) along the horizontal direction (radially/perpendicular to axis 42), and the packaging container on the at least two station units (40) is configured to receive the material (L) filled along the horizontal direction (Para. 0038).
Regarding Claim 12, Daoust discloses packaging machinery each of preset workstations (loading station at compression station 22, sealing station 62 and discharge station) on a conveying path of the conveying mechanism (38) for the packaging machinery is provided with an operating mechanism (pusher 32, sealing system 54, discharge system 66) configured to perform a different packaging process (loading, sealing, discharging).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollenkemper (US PGPUB 2015/0266601-cited in IDS), in view of Li (CN 215362059 U; see attached PDF for English translation and paragraph numbering referenced below).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Vollenkemper discloses several features of the claimed invention including retaining mechanisms (10, 11) but does not readily disclose the retaining mechanism is an elastic bag holding mechanism, the elastic bag holding mechanism comprises a bag holder that elastically is in an expanded state, and the bag holder is configured to extend into a bag-type packaging container to elastically retain the bag-type packaging container in an opened state and further comprising a releasing push mechanism configured to drive the bag holder to switch to a retracted state, wherein the releasing push mechanism is provided at a preset workstation on a rotation path of the station assembly.
Attention is brought to Li which includes another conveying mechanism (Figure 1) comprising station units (filling units; Para. 0053) mounted on a base (131) wherein the base (131) is rotatable between a bagging/feeding station (138) and a filling station (137; Para. 0053) and the station units (filling units) comprise retaining mechanisms (132-136) wherein the retaining mechanism (132-136) is an elastic bag holding mechanism (133, 134 are elastically movable via 135 which comprises a spring member 1353; Para. 0049-0050), the elastic bag holding mechanism (132-136) comprises a bag holder (132-134) that elastically is in an expanded state (via 1353), and the bag holder (132-134) is configured to extend into a bag-type packaging container to elastically retain the bag-type packaging container (bag) in an opened state (see Para. 0064; “member 133 and the second support member 134 to move closer to each other. The bag fitting cylinder 178 continues to drive the bag opening mechanism to move towards the corresponding filling unit until the packaging bag is fitted outside the filling unit.”) and further comprising a releasing push mechanism (at 1355; Figure 2) configured to drive the bag holder (132-134) to switch to a retracted state (reset by 1353), wherein the releasing push mechanism (1355) is provided at a preset workstation (when cylinder 1355 is actuated) on a rotation path of the station assembly (of filling units; see Para. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized such elastic bag holding mechanisms and release push mechanisms as taught by Li in the mechanism of Vollenkemper as such a modification will readily allow the bag opening to be readily maintained throughout filling as well as allow for further guidance of the materials be loaded into the bags.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 14-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, none of the prior art references two station units of the same station assembly being connected in sequence and adjacent station units being hingedly connected such that the expansion-retraction driving mechanism is configured to drive the two adjacent station units to deflect with respect to each other, to make the station assembly switch between the expanded posture and the retracted posture.
This specific relationship of the station units is not disclosed or rendered obvious by any of the prior art cited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See “Notice of References Cited”.
Specifically note the following references
-Tachibana (US PGPUB 2015/0251778) and Tsutsumi (US PGPUB 2013/0036716) both disclose a robotic article handling device wherein the robot comprises multiple arms and corresponding end effectors. It is noted that the manner in which Claim 1 defines “station assembly” and “station units”, the robot mechanism of each reference can be reasonably viewed as reading on the claimed invention, although not relied upon above.
-Gressler (US PGPUB 2024/0417123) discloses a conveying mechanism with a station assembly comprising two station units.
-Nakamoto (US PGPUB 2018/0162576), Furlotti (US PGPUB 2007/0209907) disclose conveying mechanisms comprising bag grippers that are moveable radially with respect to the conveying bases.
-Campagnoli (US PGPUB 2017/0361967) discloses conveying mechanism comprising station assemblies (defined by pickup heads 7; Figures 2, 3, 5-6) which are moveable radially relative to a rotation base (5; Figure 3).
/JOSHUA G KOTIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 1/8/2026