DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “suction inlet is formed in the housing at a position that is higher than the return opening,” of claim 8, and the “at least one of the suction inlet or discharge outlet is located at a higher position than the return opening in the vertical direction,” of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that the suction inlet and the return opening as shown in at least Figure 2 are shown arranged at a common vertical height such that they are interepted as being shown at the same height and the return opening is not shown at a vertical height which is lower than that of the suction inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10 – 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2000240596, “Yamaji.”
Regarding Claim 1: Yamaji discloses a refrigerant compressor (100, 100a, 100c, 100d) (Figures 1 – 7, 8, and 9) for a refrigerant circulation system (At least [0001] – [0006]; It is noted that a refrigerant circulation system is being interpreted not positively recited by the claim as the limitation is only recited within the preamble), the refrigerant compressor comprising: a rotating body (13, 41, 15a, 75a) including a shaft (13), and a protruding part (41) protruding from the shaft in a radial direction (As shown in at least Figure 1; The protruding part (i.e. thrust bearing) is shown extending in the radial direction with respect to the shaft) and configured to rotate together with the shaft (At least [0031]); at least one non-contact bearing (35, 37, 95, 97) rotatably supporting the rotating body (At least [0009], “Provided with the respective gas bearing forming portions (35, 95) and predetermined clearances (C1, C2) so as to form the gas bearings (37, 97) between the gas bearing forming portions (35, 95)”); a housing (1) having an inner space accommodating the protruding part (As shown in at least Figure 1); a suction inlet opening (As shown in at least Figure 1; The opening formed in the housing at each of 141, and 142, equivalent to the suction inlet 12a of the instant application) into the inner space and configured to supply a refrigerant to the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0009]); a refrigerant passage (130, 131, 132) fluidly coupled with the suction inlet and an evaporator (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0045], “The low-pressure refrigerant that has been divided and drawn from the suction pipe (130) into the first and second suction pipes (131) and (132) passes through each spray passage (50a) and is sprayed to the rotating shaft (13).” The refrigerant is disclosed as comprising a low-pressure refrigerant such as a refrigerant supplied from an evaporator of a refrigeration circulation system which is not required by the claim); a discharge outlet (Formed by the opening in the housing corresponding to discharge pipe 137) configured to discharge the refrigerant from the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0039]); and a return passage (130, 131, 132) (It is noted that the refrigerant passage and the return passage are interpreted as being formed from the same structure in the same manner as described in at least [0051] of the instant application) fluidly coupling the inner space and the evaporator via a return opening (As shown in at least Figure 1; The opening formed in the housing at each of 141, and 142, equivalent to the return opening of the instant application as discussed in at least [0051] which comprises the same structure as the suction port) provided in the inner space, wherein the return opening is positioned lower than the protruding part in a vertical direction of the refrigerant compressor (As shown in at least Figure 1; The return opening is shown arranged lower in a vertical direction, with the horizontal direction established by the rotation axis of the shaft, with the location being lower than that of the protruding part).
Regarding Claim 2: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1; Yamaji further discloses wherein the return passage and the refrigerant passage form a continuous passage that extends from the evaporator to the suction inlet in a flow direction of the refrigerant in gas form (The passage of the elements connected to the compressor, such as those shown in at least Figure 1, are shown forming a continuous passage in a flow direction of the refrigerant in a gas form follows, wherein the passage is capable of being connected to an evaporator as discussed with respect to claim 1. It is noted that the full refrigerant passage is not interepted as being recited, or required, by the claims as the recited refrigeration circulation system is not interpreted as part of the claim as discussed with respect to claim 1).
Regarding Claim 4: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1; Yamaji further discloses wherein the return passage extends downward through the housing in the vertical direction from the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; The return passage is shown extending downwards in the vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 10: Yamaji discloses a refrigerant compressor (100, 100a, 100c, 100d) (Figures 1 – 7, 8, and 9) comprising: a rotating body (13, 41, 15a, 75a) including a shaft (13) and a protruding part (41, 15a, 75a) configured to rotate together with the shaft (At least [0031]), wherein the protruding part extends from the shaft in a radial direction (As shown in at least Figure 1); at least one non-contact bearing (35, 37, 95, 97) configured to rotatably support the rotating body (At least [0009], “Provided with the respective gas bearing forming portions (35, 95) and predetermined clearances (C1, C2) so as to form the gas bearings (37, 97) between the gas bearing forming portions (35, 95)”); and a housing (1) having an inner space configured to accommodate the rotating body (As shown in at least Figure 1), wherein the housing forms a suction inlet (As shown in at least Figure 1; The opening formed in the housing at each of 141, and 142, equivalent to the suction inlet 12a of the instant application) configured to supply refrigerant to the inner space from an evaporator (As shown in at least Figure 1; At least [0009] and [0045], “The low-pressure refrigerant that has been divided and drawn from the suction pipe (130) into the first and second suction pipes (131) and (132) passes through each spray passage (50a) and is sprayed to the rotating shaft (13).” The refrigerant is disclosed as comprising a low-pressure refrigerant such as a refrigerant supplied from an evaporator of a refrigeration circulation system which is not required by the claim, it is noted the claim is directed towards a refrigerant compressor and not a refrigeration system), a discharge outlet (Formed by the opening in the housing corresponding to discharge pipe 137) configured to discharge a refrigerant from the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0039]) and a return opening (130, 131, 132) (It is noted that the refrigerant passage and the return passage are interpreted as being formed from the same structure in the same manner as described in at least [0051] of the instant application) configured to direct liquefied refrigerant from the inner space to the evaporator (As shown in at least Figure 1; The opening formed in the housing at each of 141, and 142, equivalent to the return opening of the instant application as discussed in at least [0051] which comprises the same structure as the suction port), and wherein the return opening is positioned lower than the protruding part of the rotating body in a vertical direction of the refrigerant compressor (As shown in at least Figure 1; The return opening is shown arranged lower in a vertical direction, with the horizontal direction established by the rotation axis of the shaft, with the location being lower than that of the protruding part).
Regarding Claim 11: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 10; Yamaji further discloses wherein the shaft of the rotating body extends substantially in a horizontal direction of the refrigerant compressor (As shown in at least Figure 1; The shaft is shown extending in the horizontal direction, interpreted as the direction along the axis of rotation of the rotating body), wherein the protruding part corresponds to a radial projection having an outermost edge in the radial direction that forms a lowest position of the rotating body in the vertical direction (As shown in at least Figure 1; Each of the turbine elements 15a and 75a are shown arranged at axial extents of the rotating body and are shown extending at a point furthest from the axis of rotation such that they are interpreted as forming a lowest point, in the vertical direction, of the rotating body), and wherein the return opening is positioned lower than the lowest position of the rotating body in the vertical direction (As shown in at least Figure 1; The return opening is shown arranged further from the axis of rotation than the rotating body, in the vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 12: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 10; Yamaji further discloses wherein the protruding part forms an impeller (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0021]).
Regarding Claim 13: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 12; Yamaji further discloses wherein the rotating body further includes a thrust collar (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0031]), and wherein the return opening is located lower than both the thrust collar and the impeller (As shown in at least Figure 1; The return opening is shown arranged further from the axis of rotation than the rotating body, inclusive of both the impellers and the thrust collar, in the vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 14: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 13; Yamaji further discloses wherein the thrust collar is located at a first end portion of the shaft of the rotating body (As shown in at least Figure 1; The right side of the rotating body is interpreted as forming a first end portion, or region, it is noted that the limitation is not directed towards an arrangement reading over a location corresponding to an axial end or limit, rather it is directed towards a more broadly recited portion which is interpreted as being inclusive of the thrust collar), wherein the impeller is located at a second end portion of the shaft opposite the first end portion (As shown in at least Figure 1; The impeller 75a is shown arranged at an opposing end portion of the shaft from that of the thrust collar, when interpreting the end portion in the same manner as that of the first end portion), and wherein the return opening is located in a region of the inner space of the housing, that is formed adjacent to the first end portion of the shaft (As shown in at least Figure 1; The region of the inner space of the housing which comprises the return opening is shown arranged adjacent the first end portion).
Regarding Claim 15: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 10; Yamaji further discloses wherein the inner space has an inlet region (As shown in at least Figure 1; Corresponding to the region of the inner space which is communicating with the suction inlet as discussed in at least the aforesaid rejection of claim 10) that includes the suction inlet that is fluidly coupled with the evaporator (As shown in at least Figure 1 and as further discussed in at least the aforesaid rejection of claim 1), and an outlet region (As shown in at least Figure 1; Interpreted as the region of the inner space which is communicating with the discharge outlet as discussed in at least the aforesaid rejection of claim 10) located opposite the inlet region in an axial direction of the shaft of the rotating body (As shown in at least Figure 1; The outlet region is shown arranged axially opposite the location of the inlet region), and wherein the return opening is formed in the inlet region of the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1 with reference to the return opening as discussed in at least the aforesaid rejection of at least claim 10).
Regarding Claim 16: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 10; Yamaji further discloses comprising a refrigerant passage (130, 131, 132) extending from the evaporator to the suction inlet in a flow direction of the refrigerant in gas form, wherein the suction inlet forms the return opening, to return the liquified refrigerant to the evaporator via the refrigerant passage (The passage of the elements connected to the compressor, such as those shown in at least Figure 1, are shown forming a continuous passage in a flow direction of the refrigerant in a gas form follows, wherein the passage is capable of being connected to an evaporator as discussed with respect to claim 1. It is noted that the full refrigerant passage is not interepted as being recited, or required, by the claims as the recited refrigeration circulation system is not interpreted as part of the claim as discussed with respect to claim 10).
Regarding Claim 17: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 10; Yamaji further discloses wherein the discharge outlet is fluidly coupled with the outlet region via a discharge port that is positioned lower than the protruding part of the rotating body in the vertical direction, to further direct the liquified refrigerant out from the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; The discharge outlet is connected through the housing through a penetration interpreted as forming a discharge port, such passage shown as being arranged positioned lower than the protruding part in the vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 20: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 10; Yamaji further discloses comprising a return passage that extends downward from the return opening toward the evaporator (As shown in at least Figure 1; The discharge opening 137 is shown arranged extending downwards in the vertical direction from the housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0231006, “Sun,” in view of JP2000240596, “Yamaji,” as evidenced by US 3,789,249, “Purman.”
Regarding Claim 1: Sun discloses a refrigerant compressor (10) (Figures 1 – 8) for a refrigerant circulation system (At least [0032] and Figure 1; It is noted that a refrigerant circulation system is being interpreted not positively recited by the claim as the limitation is only recited within the preamble), the refrigerant compressor comprising: a rotating body (19, 27) including a shaft (19), and a protruding part (27 and thrust bearing 15) protruding from the shaft in a radial direction (As shown in at least Figure 2) and configured to rotate together with the shaft (At least Figure 2); at least one non-contact bearing (14a, 14b, 15) rotatably supporting the rotating body (At least [0038], “radial bearings 14a, 14b and thrust bearing 15 are magnetic or gas bearings”); a housing (18, 17, 11a) having an inner space accommodating the protruding part (As shown in at least Figure 2); a suction inlet opening (40) into the inner space and configured to supply a refrigerant to the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 2; [0039]); a refrigerant passage (As shown in at least Figure 1; The fluid passage is interepted as the fluid conduit connected between the suction inlet at 40 and the evaporator) fluidly coupled with the suction inlet and an evaporator (As shown in at least Figure 1; The refrigeration circulation system, shown in Figure 1, is interpreted as not being required by the claim); a discharge outlet (42) configured to discharge the refrigerant from the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 2; [0044]); and a return passage (40) (It is noted that the refrigerant passage and the return passage are interpreted as being formed from the same structure in the same manner as described in at least [0051] of the instant application, the suction inlet opening is capable of acting as a return passage) fluidly coupling the inner space and the evaporator via a return opening (As shown in at least Figure 2; The opening formed in the housing at 40, equivalent to the return opening of the instant application as discussed in at least [0051] which comprises the same structure as the suction port) provided in the inner space; however, Sun fails to explicitly disclose wherein the return opening is positioned lower than the protruding part in a vertical direction of the refrigerant compressor (As shown in at least Figure 1; The return opening is shown arranged lower in a vertical direction, with the horizontal direction established by the rotation axis of the shaft, with the location being lower than that of the protruding part).
Yamaji teaches a refrigerant compressor (100, 100a, 100c, 100d) (Figures 1 – 7, 8, and 9) for a refrigerant circulation system (At least [0001] – [0006]), comprising a suction inlet opening (As shown in at least Figure 1; The opening formed in the housing at each of 141, and 142, equivalent to the suction inlet 12a of the instant application), a housing (1) having an inner space accommodating the protruding part (As shown in at least Figure 1); a suction inlet opening (As shown in at least Figure 1; The opening formed in the housing at each of 141, and 142, equivalent to the suction inlet 12a of the instant application) into the inner space and configured to supply a refrigerant to the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0009]); a refrigerant passage (130, 131, 132) fluidly coupled with the suction inlet and an evaporator (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0045], “The low-pressure refrigerant that has been divided and drawn from the suction pipe (130) into the first and second suction pipes (131) and (132) passes through each spray passage (50a) and is sprayed to the rotating shaft (13).” The refrigerant is disclosed as comprising a low-pressure refrigerant such as a refrigerant supplied from an evaporator of a refrigeration circulation system which is not required by the claim); a discharge outlet (Formed by the opening in the housing corresponding to discharge pipe 137) configured to discharge the refrigerant from the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; [0039]); and a return passage (130, 131, 132) (It is noted that the refrigerant passage and the return passage are interpreted as being formed from the same structure in the same manner as described in at least [0051] of the instant application) fluidly coupling the inner space and the evaporator via a return opening (As shown in at least Figure 1; The opening formed in the housing at each of 141, and 142, equivalent to the return opening of the instant application as discussed in at least [0051] which comprises the same structure as the suction port) provided in the inner space, wherein the return opening is positioned lower than the protruding part in a vertical direction of the refrigerant compressor (As shown in at least Figure 1; The return opening is shown arranged lower in a vertical direction, with the horizontal direction established by the rotation axis of the shaft, with the location being lower than that of the protruding part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have relocated the suction inlet opening/return opening of Sun to a position positioned lower than the protruding part in a vertical direction, as taught by Yamaji, as such a location is a well know location for a suction inlet/return opening of a vapor cycle motor-compressor as taught by Yamaji and with the predicted results that such a location will allow for the suction inlet/return opening to act as a drain passage for accumulated liquid refrigerant as evidenced by Purman (Cl. 4, ln. 34, “Coolant remaining in liquid form is allowed to drain through pipes 57 and 58 and returns to evaporator 10 through pipe 14”).
Regarding Claim 3: Sun, in view of Yamaji, as evidenced by Purman, teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1; once combined, Sun further discloses wherein the at least one non-contact bearing includes a pair of bearings (14a, 14b) including a first bearing (14a) and a second bearing (14b) disposed along an axial direction of the shaft (As shown in at least Figure 2), and supporting the shaft in the radial direction (As shown in at least Figure 2), wherein the inner space includes a first inner region (Interpreted as the region of the inner space to the right of the first bearing 14a in the axial direction), a second inner region (The second inner region interpreted as the region within the housing, generally housing the stator 13, and located axially between the pair of bearings), and a third inner region (Interpreted as the region of the inner space to the left of the second bearing 14b in the axial direction) fluidly coupled with each other in the axial direction, wherein the second inner region is positioned between the pair of bearings in the axial direction (As shown in at least Figure 2), wherein the first bearing is positioned between the first inner region and the second inner region, in the axial direction (As shown in at least Figure 2), wherein the second bearing is positioned between the second inner region and the third inner region, in the axial direction (As shown in at least Figure 2), wherein the suction inlet is fluidly coupled with the third inner region (As shown in at least Figure 2), and wherein the discharge outlet is fluidly coupled with the first inner region (As shown in at least Figure 1; The discharge outlet 42 is shown to the right of the first bearing 14a such that it is within the first inner region).
Regarding Claim 5: Sun, in view of Yamaji, as evidenced by Purman, teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1; once combined, Sun fails to explicitly disclose wherein the discharge outlet is fluidly coupled with the first inner region via a discharge port that extends downward through the housing in the vertical direction, from the inner space at a position different from a position of the return opening. Sun discloses the discharge outlet fluidly coupled to the first inner region, as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 1; however, Sun discloses the discharge opening extending upwards through the housing in the vertical direction, from the inner space at a position different from a position of the return opening.
Yamaji teaches an arrangement further comprising a discharge outlet (137) wherein the discharge outlet extends downward through the housing in the vertical direction, from the inner space at a position different from a position of the return opening (As shown in at least Figure 1; The discharge opening 137 is shown arranged extending downwards in the vertical direction from the housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement of the discharge outlet of Sun to have extended downward through the housing in the vertical direction as such an arrangement is would work equally well as the discharge outlet and as such an arrangement is a well-known arrangement of compressor discharge outlets, as taught by Yamaji.
Regarding Claim 7: Sun, in view of Yamaji, as evidenced by Purman, teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1; once combined, Sun further discloses wherein the discharge outlet is fluidly coupled with the first inner region via a discharge port that extends upward through the housing in the vertical direction from the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 2; The discharge 42 is shown arranged with a discharge port which extends upwards through the housing in the vertical direction and which is connected to the first inner region as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of at least claim 3).
Regarding Claim 9: Sun, in view of Yamaji, as evidenced by Purman, teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1; once combined Sun, in view of Yamaji, as evidenced by Purman, makes obvious the arrangement wherein the return opening is formed in the housing at a lowest position of the inner space, and wherein the return passage extends downward from the return opening toward the evaporator (Once modified, the suction inlet/return opening is relocated from the top side of the housing element 18 to the bottom side of the housing element 18 such that the relocated opening would be located at a lower position of the inner space as shown in at least Figure 2).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0231006, “Sun,” in view of JP2000240596, “Yamaji,” and US 3,789,249, “Purman.”
Regarding Claim 6: Sun, in view of Yamaji, as evidenced by Purman, teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 5; once combined, Sun fails to explicitly disclose wherein an inner wall surface of the housing includes an inclined part sloping downward toward the return opening between the discharge port and the return opening.
Purman teaches an arrangement comprising return opening (75), in the form of a drain passage, from within the compressor housing (Figure 1), and further teaches wherein an inner wall surface of the housing includes an inclined part sloping downward toward the return opening (As shown in at least Figure 1; Each of the bearing and brackets 40, 42, are shown arranged with a sloped portion shown as inclined relative to the vertical direction, which are angled to direct the drain passage towards the drain 75 extending from the housing) between the discharge port and the return opening (At least the inclined surface of the bearing and bracket 42 is shown arranged between the discharge port and the return opening of Purman).
It would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art to have inclined the surface of the housing of Sun such that the surface would slope towards the return opening, as taught by Purman, with the predicted results that such an inclined arrangement will act to help in transport of drained media in a manner well known in the art of gravity drains and as further taught by the arrangement of Purman.
Once combined, Sun, in view of Purman, makes obvious wherein the inclined part is extending between the discharge port and the return opening.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2000240596, “Yamaji,” in view of US 3,789,249, “Purman.”
Regarding Claim 18: Yamaji discloses the refrigerant compressor according to claim 10; however, Yamaji fails to explicitly disclose wherein the housing includes an inner wall surface that forms the inner space, and wherein a lower portion of the inner wall surface slopes downwardly toward the return opening, in an axial direction of the shaft of the rotating body.
Purman teaches an arrangement comprising return opening (75), in the form of a drain passage, from within the compressor housing (Figure 1), and further teaches wherein the housing includes an inner wall surface that forms the inner space (As shown in at least Figure 1; Each of the bearing and brackets 40, 42, are shown arranged with a sloped portion shown as inclined relative to the vertical direction, which are angled to direct the drain passage towards the drain 75 extending from the housing and wherein a lower portion of the inner wall surface slopes downwardly toward the return opening, in an axial direction of the shaft of the rotating body (As shown in at least Figure 1; The sloped surfaces are shown arranged such that they provide a sloped direction of travel along the axial direction which lead gravitationally towards the return opening).
It would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art to have inclined the surface of the housing of Yamaji such that the surface would slope towards the return opening, as taught by Purman, with the predicted results that such an inclined arrangement will act to help in transport of drained media in a manner well known in the art of gravity drains and as further taught by the arrangement of Purman.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) under 37 CFR 1.83(a), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the suction inlet is formed in the housing at a position that is higher than the return opening,” and claim 18 recites the limitation “wherein at least one of the suction inlet or discharge outlet is located at a higher position than the return opening in the vertical direction.” Yamaji discloses the suction inlet and the return opening comprising the same element such that Yamaji fails to disclose the two openings arranged at differing heights.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3,150,277 – Motor-compressor having a liquid drain return
US 2003/0075996 – Motor arrangement having a sloped cooling drain
/BENJAMIN DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746 2026.03.06
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746 3/18/2026