DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2015/0331222).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses, an F-theta objective, which has precisely four lenses made of a material with a refractive index of less than 2.0 (Fig. 1), the four lenses being:
a first (L1) with a first focal length, which is configured as a meniscus lens with a positive refractive power (Para. 0009),
a second lens (L2) with a second focal length, which is configured as a biconcave lens with a negative refractive power (Para. 0009),
a third lens (L3) with a third focal length, which configured as a meniscus lens with a positive refractive power (Para. 0009), and
a fourth lens (L4) with a fourth focal length having a positive refractive power (Para. 0009),
wherein the first lens, the second lens, and the third lens are arranged one behind the other in a beam path and form a lens assembly (see Fig. 1), and
wherein the fourth lens is arranged downstream of the lens assembly in the beam path (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses, a ratio of the first focal length fl to a total focal length f of the F-theta objective, a ratio of the second focal length f2 to the total focal length f, a ratio of the third focal length f3 to the total focal length f, and a ratio of the fourth focal length to the total focal length f satisfy following conditions: 0.6 < fl / f< 0.7,-0.30 < f2 / f < -0.35,f3/f< 0.65, and 1.6<f4/f< 1.8 (see “Table 1”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2015/0331222).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses, an F-theta objective, which has precisely four lenses made of a material with a refractive index of less than 2.0 (Fig. 1), the four lenses being:
a first (L1) with a first focal length, which is configured as a meniscus lens with a positive refractive power (Para. 0009),
a second lens (L2) with a second focal length, which is configured as a biconcave lens with a negative refractive power (Para. 0009),
a third lens (L3) with a third focal length, which configured as a meniscus lens with a positive refractive power (Para. 0009), and
a fourth lens (L4) with a fourth focal length having a positive refractive power (Para. 0009),
wherein the first lens, the second lens, and the third lens are arranged one behind the other in a beam path and form a lens assembly (see Fig. 1).
Yang does not explicitly disclose the fourth lens is arranged upstream of the lens assembly in the beam path. However, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts would not have modified the operation of the device and would have been an obvious design choice, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 9 (dependent upon 15), Yang discloses, a ratio of the first focal length fl to a total focal length f of the F-theta objective, a ratio of the second focal length f2 to the total focal length f, a ratio of the third focal length f3 to the total focal length f, and a ratio of the fourth focal length to the total focal length f satisfy following conditions: 0.6<f4/f<0.8, 1.6 < fl / f < 1.8, -0.4 <f2/f< -0.35, and 0.7<f3/f<0.8 (see “Table 1”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-5 and 11-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103. Claims 1, 4-5 and 11-14 are deemed allowable for the reasons set forth on the pages numbered 7 and 9 of the remarks filed 06/24/2026 by the applicant.
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103. Regarding claim 8, in the Examiner’s opinion it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make fl/f= 0.63, f2 / f= -0.32, f3 / f= 0.59, and f4/f= 1.65 in an objective so as to provide an objective with enhanced image quality.
Regarding claim 10e, in the Examiner’s opinion it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make f4/f= 0.70, fl/f= 1.73, f2 / f= -0.37, and f3/f= 0.73 in an objective so as to provide an objective with enhanced image quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishikawa et al. (US 2015/0144812) and Ishikawa et al. (US 2014/0353512) discloses an objective which has precisely four lenses, the four lenses being: a first lens with a first focal length, which is configured as a meniscus lens with a positive refractive power, a second lens with a second focal length, which is configured as a biconcave lens with a negative refractive power, a third lens with a third focal length, which configured as a meniscus lens with a positive refractive power, and a fourth lens with a fourth focal length having a positive refractive power,
wherein the first lens, the second lens, and the third lens are arranged one behind the other in a beam path and form a lens assembly.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 07/22/2026