DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the supplemental optical device" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the supplemental optical device" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the supplemental optical device" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the supplemental optical device" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2015/0204491 A1) in view of Blalock (US 8,430,533 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan et al. teaches a lighting system comprising:
a lighting device (figures 14 and 15) comprising one or more attachment elements (289; figure 15; paragraph [0062]) on a lens (76) of the lighting device, the attachment elements each comprising a sleeve (292) extending from a surface of the lens (76),
wherein at least one of the one or more sleeves (292; figure 15) receive a portion of a fastener (289) therein, wherein the fastener couples the lens of the lighting device to a printed circuit board (70; figure 15) or heat sink of the lighting device and the screw (289) includes a head (see figure 15), the one or more sleeves (292) each having a sleeve diameter smaller than a head diameter of the head of the screw (289; see figure 15); and
an optical device comprising a body having one or more apertures (288) located therein configured to detachably couple the body to the lens (76) of the lighting device subsequent to at least a portion of the screw being inserted into the sleeve (292), wherein each of the one or more apertures (291) of the body (202) includes a flexible flange having a flange (71, Fig. 4) diameter smaller than the head diameter of the head of the screw (see 80 in at least figure 14 where openings on a left and right side of 80 are fit over screws 278); but Yuan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the optical device is detachably coupled to the lens of the lighting device by at least the flange of one or more apertures being snap fit over the head of the screw without removing the fastener from the sleeve.
Blalock et al. teaches an optical device (interpreted as protective cover 210) that is detachably coupled to the lens (see at least Fig. 2, LED holder 105) of the lighting device by at least the flange of one or more apertures being snap fit over the head of the screw without removing the fastener from the sleeve (see at least column 7, lines 49-67 “the protective cover 210 can be configured and shaped to aid in the centering of additional (primary or secondary) optical elements. This can be achieved by adding additional flanges that extend upward in a straight, angular, or curvilinear manner from the board cover 305 in a manner that is complementary to the shape of the additional optical element or elements. By designing the protective cover with a complementing geometry to that of an upper optic, it will assist in ensuring the proper placement of that optic with respect to the LED package, thereby providing for the desired light output from the luminaire 100. In other example embodiments of the invention, the protective cover 210 covers the LEDs for protection during shipping/installation and is removable by various means such as Snap-fit connection to the base plate 205, screw-thread connection to the base plate 205, or other removable connection means. Additionally, in Some example embodiments of the invention, the protective cover 210 prohibits handlers or installers of the LED Holder from damaging the LED package”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical device of Yuan et al. to explicitly teach a flange of one or more apertures being snap fit over the head of the screw without removing the fastener from the sleeve as taught by Blalock et al. as an alternative way of securing the optical device to the lighting system (see column 7, lines 49-67 of Blalock et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the optical device is a shield, a secondary lens (76 is secondary lens), a beauty ring, or a visor.
Regarding claim 8, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the body (202) comprises one or more optical elements (50 and 76) located thereon.
Regarding claim 9, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the lighting device includes a plurality of light emitting diodes (67; see figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 9, wherein the body comprises one or more optical elements (78) located thereon configured to interact with one or more of the plurality of the light emitting diodes (67).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the supplemental optical device (76) is formed from polycarbon (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the supplemental optical device (76) is attachable after the screw is loosened but not removed from the sleeve (292).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein at least a portion of the optical device 78 is located proximate to at least one perimeter of the lens (76) of the lighting device (see figure 15).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the body comprises one or more optical elements (78) located thereon configured to interact with the lens (76) of the lighting device.
Regarding claim 15, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the lens (76) of the lighting device includes a plurality of lenses (78; see figure 15).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the lens (76) of the lighting device includes a plurality of optical features (78; see figure 15).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan et al. teaches a lighting system comprising:
a lighting device (figures 14 and 15) comprising one or more attachment elements (289; figure 15; paragraph [0062]) on a lens (76) of the lighting device, the attachment elements each comprising a sleeve (292) extending from a surface of the lens (76),
wherein at least one of the one or more sleeves (292; figure 15) receive a portion of a fastener (289) therein, wherein the fastener couples the lens of the lighting device to a printed circuit board (70; figure 15) or heat sink of the lighting device and the fastener (289) includes a head (see figure 15), the one or more sleeves (292) each having a sleeve diameter smaller than a head diameter of the head of the fastener (289; see figure 15); and
an optical device comprising a body having one or more apertures (288) located therein configured to detachably couple the body to the lens (76) of the lighting device subsequent to at least a portion of the fastener being inserted into the sleeve (292(, wherein each of the one or more apertures (291) of the body (202) includes a flexible flange having a flange (287) diameter smaller than the head diameter of the head of the fastener (286); but does not explicitly teach wherein the optical device is detachably coupled to the lens of the lighting device by at least the flange of one or more apertures being snap fit over the head of the fastener without removing the fastener from the sleeve.
Blalock et al. teaches an optical device (interpreted as protective cover 210) that is detachably coupled to the lens (LED holder 105) of the lighting device by at least the flange of one or more apertures being snap fit over the head of the screw without removing the fastener from the sleeve (see column 7, lines 49-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical device of Yuan et al. to explicitly teach a flange of one or more apertures being snap fit over the head of the screw without removing the fastener from the sleeve as taught by Blalock et al. as an alternative way of securing the optical device to the lighting system (see column 7, lines 49-67 of Blalock et al.).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 17, wherein the optical device is a shield, a secondary lens (76 is a secondary lens; figure 15), a beauty ring, or a visor.
Regarding claim 19, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 17, wherein the supplemental optical device is formed from polycarbon (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 17, wherein the supplemental optical device (50; figure 12) is attachable after the fastener (278; figure 14) is loosened but not removed from the sleeve (292)
.
Regarding claim 21, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 17, wherein at least a portion of the optical device (80) is located proximate to at least one perimeter of the lens (76) of the lighting device (see figure 14).
Regarding claim 22, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 17, wherein the optical device includes one or more optical elements (58 and 78) located thereon configured to interact with the lens (76) of the lighting device.
Regarding claim 23, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 17, wherein the lens (76) of the lighting device includes a plurality of lenses (78; see paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 24, Yuan et al. teaches the lighting system of claim 17, wherein the lens (76) of the lighting device includes a plurality of optical elements (lenses 78 are optical elements).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875