DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 15 does not refer back in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 15 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankel (US-20150210442-A1) in view of Vukkisila (US-20180303260-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Frankel discloses a packaging for an article (Fig. 1) comprising: a three-dimensionally shaped packing bottom (4), the packing bottom being adapted to receive an article to be packaged and comprising: a bottom support surface (14), a bottom side wall (16) surrounding the bottom support surface, and a bottom edge (18) arranged at an end of the bottom side wall, the end being distal with respect to the bottom support surface, wherein the bottom edge protrudes outwardly from the bottom side wall (par. 0046), and a packaging cover (2) with inwardly protruding flaps (10a-10d), wherein the packaging cover is arranged on the packaging bottom such that the flaps and an inner side of the packaging cover at least partially encompass the bottom edge, so that the packaging cover is fixed in its relative position with respect to the packaging bottom (Fig. 2a)
Frankel fails to teach a leaf material of a plant.
Vukkisila teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a packing bottom out of a leaf material of plant (par. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the bottom out of plan, in order to adjust costs and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 2 and 5-13, the modified packaging of Frankel teaches wherein at least one of the flaps is formed as a foldable projection formed on the edge of the packaging cover (Frankel, par. 0033), wherein at least one of the flaps is formed as a tongue which is formed by means of an incision in the packaging cover and which is foldable with respect to the packaging cover (Frankel, pars. 0045, 0050), wherein at least one of the flaps is formed with a circular segment shape (Frankel, Figs. 3, 4), wherein the packaging cover is three-dimensionally shaped or flat (Frankel, Fig. 1), wherein the leaf material is a palm leaf material (Vukkisila, par. 0031), wherein the packing bottom is a container from the following group: tray, plate, cup and bowl (Frankel, Fig. 1), wherein the bottom edge comprises rectilinear and/or curved portions (Frankel, Fig. 6), wherein the packaging cover is uncoated (Vukkisila, par. 0006), wherein the packaging cover consists of recycled and/or recyclable material (Vukkisila, par. 0031), wherein the inner side of the packaging cover comes to rest on the bottom edge such that a contact line between the packaging cover and the packaging bottom forms a closed curve (Frankel, Figs. 2a, 2b).
Regarding claim 14, Frankel fails to teach wherein the packaging cover is formed to be at least partially transparent.
Vukkisila teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a transparent cover (par. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the cover to be transparent, so that contents of the packaging could be observed.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankel (US-20150210442-A1) and Vukkisila (US-20180303260-A1) in view of Messerle (US-20200283202-A1).
Frankel fails to teach wherein the projection is partially glued to the inner side of the packaging cover, wherein the projection and/or a further projection each comprise a central portion and lateral portions, wherein the lateral portions are glued to the inner side of the packaging cover and the central portion is free of gluing such that the central portion protrudes further with respect to the inner side of the packaging cover and/or the central portion is glued to the inner side of the packaging cover and the lateral portions are free of gluing such that the lateral portions protrude further with respect to the inner side of the packaging cover.
Messerle teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a packaging with a foldable projection wherein the projection is partially glued to an inner side (par. 0033), wherein the projection and/or a further projection each comprise a central portion and lateral portions, wherein the lateral portions are glued to the inner side and the central portion is free of gluing such that the central portion protrudes further with respect to the inner side and/or the central portion is glued to the inner side and the lateral portions are free of gluing such that the lateral portions protrude further with respect to the inner side (Figs. 12, 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the projections with glue, as taught by Messerle, in order to secure the flaps in specific orientations and since such a modification would be a substitution of known securing projections for a packaging.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733