DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Examiner Comments
Examiner noted typographical error in previous Non-Final dated for and have resubmitted with the correct statues.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 11-20 are directed towards a communication apparatus and has been analyzed for 35 USC 112(b). The claim comprises generates a request by a communication apparatus used to access blockchain. The claim comprises receiving a request from a terminal device. No 35 USC 112(b) deemed necessary since specification states: “FIG. 6 is a block diagram of a communication apparatus 600 according to an embodiment of this disclosure. The apparatus 600 includes a transceiver unit 610 and a processing unit 620. The transceiver unit 610 may implement a corresponding communication function… the apparatus 600 is configured to perform actions performed by the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments.” (Fig. 6 and para 00488-00491).
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are directed towards a terminal device and has been analyzed for 35 USC 112(b). The claim comprises receiving a request from a terminal device. No 35 USC 112(b) deemed necessary since specification states: “…UE is a terminal that communicates with a (R)AN, and may also be referred to as a terminal device…The terminal device may be a device that provides voice/data connectivity for a user, for example, a handheld device or a vehicle-mounted device having a wireless connection function. Currently, some examples of the terminal may be: a mobile phone, a tablet computer (pad), a computer …”(para 00142).
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the communications and remarks filed on 01/21/2026. Claims 2-3, 7, 12-13, and 17 have been canceled. Claims 21-22 have been newly added. Claims 1, 4-5, 6, 8-10, 14-16, and 18-21 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement to applicant’s amendment to specification has been noted. The specification has been reviewed, entered and found obviating to previously raised objection for minor informalities. Objection to the specification is hereby withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 01/21/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments: “Claims 1-6 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as allegedly being anticipated by Chinese Patent Application CN111543073 (hereinafter "Singapore"). Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Singapore in view of Chinese Patent Application CN111314856 (hereinafter "Dong"). Applicant traverses these rejections.
A. Independent claims 1 and 11 are patentable: Singapore fails to disclose "wherein subscription data of the communication apparatus comprises at least one of the following information: information indicating a first transaction set that the communication apparatus has permission to access, information indicating a first block set that the communication apparatus has permission to access, information indicating a first blockchain set that the communication apparatus has permission to access or information indicating an account set that the communication apparatus has permission to access" as recited by independent claim 1 as amended and its dependents (including new dependent claim 21).
This amended claim feature is supported by paras. [0012]-[0015] of the original specification and original dependent claims 2-3, which have now been cancelled.
These claim features give rise to the technical advantage that after the terminal device subscribes to the operator, information about, for example, a transaction and a block that can be accessed may be stored by the operator as subscription data, or information about, for example, a transaction and a block that can be accessed by the terminal device is learned from another device. This improves the accuracy of subsequently determining, by the first network element, whether the terminal device has permission to access some transactions and blocks (see e.g. paragraph [0013] of the original specification of the present application). This advantageously expands the concept of "subscription data" in mobile communication networks to extend its application beyond merely defining network service permissions. It now empowers this concept to define access rights for blockchain data objects. In particular, the invention of claim 1 including these features allows for fine-grained permission control by achieving a leap from "chain-level" to "transaction/account-level" access control for blockchain, significantly enhancing security and privacy. Moreover, it seamlessly extends the mobile network's robust trust model into the blockchain domain, creating a unified trust anchor.
The invention of claim 1 thus provides the technical advantage of improving the application of a blockchain in a communication system in terms of efficiency and security.
Singapore discloses user authentication using a connection information package provided by a blockchain network. However, Singapore fails to disclose the subscription data which comprises information indicating at least one of a transaction set, a block set, a blockchain set, or an account set that a communication apparatus has permission to access.
The Office Action (pg. 5) alleges that "wherein subscription data of the communication apparatus comprises at least one of the following information: information indicating a first transaction set that the communication apparatus has permission to access, information indicating a first block set that the communication apparatus has permission to access, information indicating a first blockchain set that the communication apparatus has permission to access or information indicating an account set that the communication apparatus has permission to access" as recited by independent claim 1 as amended is disclosed by para. [0049] of Singapore.
However, para. [0049] (last sentence) of Singapore merely mentions that "Furthermore, the home network 140 has subscription data 144, which contains subscriber information for all its subscribers, including the information required to authenticate these subscribers." While Singapore thus discloses subscription data 144, there is no specific disclosure that Singapore's subscription data 144 comprises information indicating at least one of a transaction set, a block set, a blockchain set, or an account set that a communication apparatus has permission to access. Singapore also fails to appreciate the above technical advantages (e.g., improved accuracy, efficiency, and security) resulting from these features of claim 1.
Similar comments made above with respect to independent method claim 1 apply to independent apparatus claim 11 and its dependents (including new dependent claim 22).”
Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s argument. Examiner respectfully submits that independent claim 1 which now incorporates dependent claims 2-3 merely presents further clarification on the contents of the generated request to access a first blockchain which is based on the subscription data comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of a transaction, an identifier of a block, or an identifier of an account.
The specification describes two procedures: subscription and primary authentication, respectively depicted in Figs. 2A and 2B, with the subscription procedure [specification, paras 0266-0268]. Additional, blockchain set information may include (or not include) particular ID numbers indicating the terminal device has permission to access (or its absence, indicating it does not have permission to access) a particular blockchain. Other options include the type of data to be accessed [specification, paras 0277-0281].
In analogous prior art, Singapore teaches how connection information packets of a visited UE include subscription data 144 [para 0049] that includes the information required to authenticate the subscribers in the visited network 130 that contains a AAA function (i.e. home authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) function (HAF) and visited AAA function (VAF). Hence, the As such, the subscription data indicates permission to access information inherently. Fig. 2 shows the VAF where each contain a block chain application that interacts with the issued connectivity information packages to a blockchain function [Singapore, paras 0049-0051].
Examiner recommends Applicant further amend claims to present how and what further features beyond identifiers, in particular retrieved by the Ledger Anchor Feature (LAF) to perform the permission and/or policy determination, at steps S203 and S240 in Figs. 1 and 2A [specification paras 00383 and 00519]. These additional features would give indications of efficiency of a fine-grained permission control of transaction/account-level access control for blockchain relative to the a policy control function (PCF) network element [specification paras 0140], a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI), a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) [specification para 0258]; and/or subscription data of the terminal device further includes information indicating an authentication manner corresponding to a blockchain in a blockchain set [specification para 0274 and 0277-0280]. As such, Examiner maintains Singapore for the rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments: “B. Independent claims 6 and 16 are patentable:
The combination of Singapore in view of Dong fails to teach or suggest "sending, by the first network element, a query message to a unified data management network element, wherein the query message is used to query subscription data of the terminal device and/or policy information; and receiving, by the first network element, the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information from the unified data management network element, wherein the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information comprise/comprises information indicating a blockchain set that the terminal device has permission to access" as recited by independent claim 6 as amended and its dependents.
As discussed in para. [0032] of the original specification of the present application, "Based on the foregoing technical solution, the first network element may obtain the subscription data of the terminal device or the network policy information from the unified data management network element, and can determine, based on the obtained information, whether the terminal device has permission to access the first blockchain."
Independent claim 6 has now been amended to incorporate the limitations of now canceled dependent claim 7, which was not rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 over Singapore. The rejection of claim 6 (as amended) under 35 U.S.C. §102 over Singapore should therefore be withdrawn.
The Office Action (pgs. 10-11) admits that Singapore does not disclose the above quoted limitations of dependent claim 7 (now canceled but limitations thereof now incorporated into base independent claim 6).
This admitted deficiency of Singapore is not resolved by Dong. In particular, specifically cited paragraphs [0034] and [0056]-[0057] of Dong generally disclose using blockchain technology (e.g. see "During the use of AKSD, RMU/LCS Client/LMF adopts blockchain technology. Every time AKSD is sent and used, it is recorded using blockchain technology and synchronized with the RMU /LMF/LCS Client blockchain to prevent AKSD data from being tampered with or used illegally" in para. [0034]), Dong does not disclose or suggest the above claim features such as "receiving, by the first network element, the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information from the unified data management network element, wherein the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information comprise/comprises information indicating a blockchain set that the terminal device has permission to access."
Similar comments made above with respect to independent method claim 6 apply to independent apparatus claim 16 and its dependents.
Applicant therefore requests that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 be withdrawn. ”
Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s argument. Examiner respectfully submits that independent claim 1 which now incorporates dependent claims 7 and 16 merely presents further clarification on the contents of a query message with respect to the LV secondary prior art reference, which Applicant appears to term as “Dong.” LV is an invention that supports user location information service on a 5G core network based on blockchain technology. Hence, blockchain sets which are collections of blocks inherently traverse the 5G network. The specification presents how a terminal device obtains policy information from a unified data management network of terminal device; based on that obtained information terminal has permission to access a first blockchain [spec, paras 0012-0013 0032 0092-0093 0327].
The specification describes in Fig. 1 an architecture of a communication system 100 in which a blockchain is integrated with a 6G communication network with network elements not limited to as functional network elements, functional entities, nodes, devices, or the like): user equipment (UE), a (radio) access network ((R)AN) device, a 6G core network (6GC), a data network (DN), and a blockchain (BC); as well as 6G includes: an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element, a session management function (SMF) network element…a ledger anchor function (LAF) network element, and the like. [para 00140].
In analogous prior art, LV describes implicitly how the policy of the user device is communicated from LCS client/LMF via GMLC queries the AMF, then the UDM of the target UE’s home location. After obtaining the current AMF from the UDM, location information request [LV, para 0057]. The permission value is set as part of the AKSD to permission management unit RMU assignment and descrambling code tiered permission based on the privacy policy and LCS client/LMF combined permissions. Hence, the blockchain technology used to calculate the latest recorded value of the AKSD code value of this blockchain node using a Pre-hash() function, Random() function, timestamp and other characteristic value of this operation. The message is then sent to all LCS Client/LMF/RMU blockchain nodes in the blockchain to update the latest usage status of the AKSD code value, preventing the distribution and use of AKSD from being tampered with, illegally revoked, or illegally used, as shown in Figure 3. Therefore, these analogous function appear to teach the policy information indicating a blockchain set that the terminal device as permission to access.
Examiner recommended above in Applicant further amend claims to present how and what further features in particular retrieved by the Ledger Anchor Feature (LAF) to perform the permission and/or policy determination, at steps S203 and S240 in Figs. 1 and 2A [specification paras 00383 and 00519]. These additional features would give indications of efficiency of a fine-grained permission control of transaction/account-level access control for blockchain relative to the a policy control function (PCF) network element [specification paras 0140], a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI), a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) [specification para 0258]; and/or subscription data of the terminal device further includes information indicating an authentication manner corresponding to a blockchain in a blockchain set [specification para 0274]. As such, Examiner maintains LV for the rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments: “New claims 21 and 22 have been added. Claims 21 and 22 are allowable at least for the reasons discussed above with respect to base independent claim 1 and 11, respectively. Claims 21 and 22 each require that "the subscription data of the communication apparatus comprises the information indicating the first blockchain set that the communication apparatus has permission to access", which is not disclosed by the subscription data 144 of Singapore. Claims 21 and 22 are supported by paragraphs [0014]-[0015] of the specification of the present application.”
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s argument. The Examiner respectfully submits that dependent claims 21 and 22 depend on independent claims 1 and 11; as such will still be maintained.
Specification
The use of the term Linux system…Docker run log in para 00301, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-15, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Lenovo Singapore PTE LTD, hereinafter (“Singapore”), Chinese Patent Application CN111543073 A, was submitted in 12/31/2024 IDS; cited from ESPACENET English translation.
Regarding currently amended claims 1 and 11, Singapore teaches a communication method, applied to a communication system comprising at least one blockchain, comprising: and a communication apparatus, applied to a communication system comprising at least one blockchain, the communication apparatus comprising: a one or more processors; a memory coupled to the one or more processors , wherein the memory; stores computer instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the communication apparatus to at least be configured to: [Singapore ¶¶0022 0028 and 0063-0065 Fig. 4 shows authentication device 400 with processor 405, memory 410, input device 415, display 420, transceiver 425, transmitter 430, receiver 435 and network interface 440]
generating, by a Singapore ¶¶0008-0009 and 0066 connection packet created in the blockchain network in response to a sent message to first address of blockchain; where the authentication device 400 operates as a AAA function 215 of a remote unit 105 (i.e. UE 205) receives requests (i.e. includes username and user’s home domain, in the form of an network address identifier (NAI)) from authenticated users ] and
sending, by the Singapore ¶0066 processor 405 identifies a first address on blockchain network 160, which corresponds to a domain, and (e.g., via control transceiver 425) sends a message to the first address on blockchain network 160]
wherein the Singapore ¶0066 requests (i.e. includes username and user’s home domain, in the form of an network address identifier (NAI))]
wherein subscription data of the Singapore ¶0049 subscription data 144 which contains subscriber information for all its subscribers, including the information required to authenticate these subscribers]
information indicating a first transaction set that the communication apparatus has permission to access, information indicating a first block set that the communication apparatus has permission to access, information indicating a first blockchain set that the communication apparatus has permission to access or information indicating an account set that the communication apparatus has permission to access. [Singapore ¶¶0049, 0062 and 0067-0068 first address may point to smart contract 162 stored in a shared ledger 166 of a first node of a blockchain network 160. In response to payment confirmation, a message containing the payment causes blockchain network 160 to insert transaction into the blockchain’s shared ledger 166 generating a connection packet; where a first address and a domain is associated. A copy of the connection packet is sent to authentication server in the domain associated with the first address.]
Regarding currently amended claims 4 and 14, Singapore teaches claim 1 as described above. wherein the method further comprises:
Singapore teaches receiving, by the Singapore ¶0063 authentication device embodies AAA 132 function; where a user in a visited network via an authentication service in the home network uses the connection packet from the blockchain network]
sending, by the Singapore ¶0068 A copy of the connection packet is sent to authentication server in the domain associated with the first address] and
receiving, by the Singapore ¶0072 authentication server receives request message including a reference to a connection packet and a message authentication code (MAC) calculated using a private key associated with device’s public key. ¶0080 when processor 405 retrieves a specific connection information packet indicated by a packet identifier; obtains the public key of the function corresponding to the connection information packet successfully decodes MAC using retrieved public key]
Regarding currently amended claims 5 and 15, Singapore teaches claim 1 as described above. wherein the method further comprises:
Singapore teaches receiving, by the ¶¶0045 and 0109 updated pre-configured tables when a Domain Name System (DNS) response is received; includes: ]
an identifier corresponding to a address of the blockchain corresponding to the ¶¶0091 and 0109 …a Domain Name System (DNS) response is received; includes: the first address on the blockchain network, an entry corresponding to the domain]
the configuring the , or configuring the ¶0093 the pre-configured mapping table can contain a list of supported domains and the blockchain address of the smart contract associated with each domain]
Regarding new claims 21 and 22, Singapore teaches claim 1 as described above.
Singapore teaches wherein the subscription data of the communication apparatus comprises the information indicating the first blockchain set that the communication apparatus has permission to access. [See Singapore ¶0049 subscription data 144 which contains subscriber information for all its subscribers, including the information required to authenticate these subscribers. Examiner interprets that the subscription data implicitly teaches the connection packets bound to the first blockchain indicating it has permission to access]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-10, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo Singapore PTE LTD, hereinafter (“Singapore”), Chinese Patent Application CN111543073 A, was submitted in 12/31/2024 IDS; cited from ESPACENET English translation, in view of LV Chinese Patent Application CN111314856A, cited from ESPACENET English translation, published 06/19/2020.
Regarding currently amended claims 6 and 16, Singapore teaches a communication method, applied to a communication system comprising at least one blockchain, comprising; and a communication apparatus, applied to a communication system comprising at least one blockchain, wherein the communication apparatus processors, wherein the memorystores computer instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the communication apparatus to at least be configured to:
receiving, by a first network element, a Singapore ¶¶0008-0009 and 0066 …receives requests (i.e. includes username and user’s home domain, in the form of an network address identifier (NAI)) from authenticated users] and
determining, by the first network element based on the Singapore ¶0067 the first address may point to smart contract 162, which performs computational functions in response to the message to enforce contract on the single ledger shared among the nodes on the Blockchain Network 160]
While Singapore teaches a query [Singapore ¶0027 programming, software modules…database queries, database structures]; however, Singapore fails to explicitly teach but LV teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, a query message to a unified data management network element, wherein the query message is used to query subscription data of the terminal device and/or policy information; [LV CN111314856A ¶¶0005 and 0057 Gateway Mobile Location Center (GMLC) queries the UDM (Unified Data Management) of the target UE's home location for the AMF number of the current UE. ] and
receiving, by the first network element, the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information from the unified data management network element, wherein [LV CN111314856A ¶¶0057 and 0063 After obtaining the current Mobility Management Function (AMF) number from the UDM, the GMLC initiates a location information request for the target UE to the AMF where the target UE is located.]
the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information comprise/comprises information indicating a blockchain set that the terminal device has permission to access. [LV CN111314856A ¶¶0034 and 0056-0057 During the use of descrambling code (AKSD), Rights Management Unit (RMU)/location information services (LCS) LCSClient/Location Management Function (LMF) adopts blockchain technology; it is recorded using blockchain technology and synchronized with the RMU/LMF/LCS Client blockchain to prevent AKSD data from being tampered with or used illegally..
Examiner further cites to ¶0029 permission management unit blockchain nodes in the blockchain which updates the usage status…]
Singapore teaches all the features of claims 1 and 11 not sending, by the first network element, a query message to a unified data management network element, wherein the query message is used to query subscription data of the terminal device and/or policy information; and receiving, by the first network element, the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information from the unified data management network element, wherein the subscription data of the terminal device and/or the policy information comprise/comprises information indicating a blockchain set that the terminal device has permission to access. LV teaches a hierarchical review and tracking device and method for 5G user location information service that uses a scrambling/descrambling code, authority management and blockchain technology. Because both Singapore and LV teach authorizing and/or authenticating of mobile terminal/client users incorporated into a blockchain network, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the RMU, LCS, LMF and the adopted blockchain technology as taught by LV to improve data from being tampered and illegally used in the same manner set forth in Singapore [LV, Abstract ¶¶0008-0009, 0048, and 0055-0059].
Regarding currently amended claims 8 and 18, the combination of Singapore and LV teach claim 6 as described above. wherein the method further comprises:
Singapore teaches sending, by the first network element, a first authentication message to the terminal device, wherein the first authentication message is used to authenticate the terminal device; [See Singapore ¶0063 authentication device embodies AAA 132 function; where a user in a visited network via an authentication service in the home network uses the connection packet from the blockchain network]
receiving, by the first network element, a second authentication message in response to the first authentication message from the terminal device; [See Singapore ¶0068] and
sending, by the first network element, authentication indication information to the terminal device, wherein the authentication indication information indicates whether the terminal device is successfully authenticated. [See Singapore ¶0072]
Regarding currently amended claims 9 and 19, the combination of Singapore and LV teach claim 6 as described above. wherein the method further comprises:
Singapore teaches sending, by the first network element, a ¶¶0045 and 0109 updated pre-configured tables]
an identifier of a blockchain corresponding to the [See Singapore ¶0066 requests (i.e. includes username and user’s home domain, in the form of an network address identifier (NAI))]
providing the ¶0071 the input data sent in the message to the first blockchain address includes the public key of the authentication device 400.]
Regarding currently amended claims 10 and 20, the combination of Singapore and LV teach claim 6 as described above. wherein the method further comprises:
Singapore teaches sending, by the first network element, a Singapore ¶0066 requests (i.e. includes username and user’s home domain, in the form of an network address identifier (NAI))]
providing the ¶¶0009 and 0121 each connection packet is created in response to a message sent to the first address in the blockchain network]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SAKINAH WHITE-TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2407
/Sakinah White-Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407