Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-9 are examined below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because regardless of search method, invention of different limitations will require different search strategies, and times to consider the relevancy of collective references would increase proportionally as well. In addition, applicant is relying on methods of connection between mount, rail, module, and torque tube for patentability in group II that are not limitations of group I.
Applicant is reminded that upon allowance, any claim containing all the limitations of an allowable claim will be rejoined. But, if rejoinder is desired, the instant application will be subject to a double patent with other patents by the same assignee, FTC Solar, LLC, that do not qualify for prior art due to time, nor for a double patent rejection due to the restriction requirement currently in place (see patent Mouniandy et al. US 11,984,842).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creasy et al. (US 2022/0271706) in view of Almy et al. (US 2017/0294870).
Regarding claim 1, Creasy discloses a mounting assembly for securing a solar panel assembly (see abstract) the mounting assembly comprising: a saddle (seating portion 320) including a first sidewall, a second sidewall, (two lateral walls 324) and a base wall (base surface 322) extending between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (shown in fig. 3A), the first sidewall and the second sidewall defining a gap sized to receive the support rail (module rail 120, shown in fig. 1) (see para [0051] and [0060]);
a clip assembly (clamp body), the clip assembly including a clip (312/314/316) and a fastener (340) (see para [0050]-[0059]); and
a locking device (530) connected to the clip assembly (connected to clip assembly via saddle portion, i.e., seated body 520/320, see fig. 5A) and shaped to engage the first sidewall and the second sidewall (shown in fig. 5A),
the fastener being shaped to receive the clip under tension and clamp the support rail to the rotatable tube (shown in fig. 1C, see para [0059]).
The limitation that the clip assembly is sized to extend around a rotatable tube is intended use and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is able to perform the intended use. Creasy discloses the intended use as shown in fig. 1C.
The limitation that the locking device is able to be inserted into a slot in a photovoltaic module support rail to connect the clip assembly to the support rail is intended use and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is able to perform the intended use. Creasy discloses the intended use (see para [0063]-[0064]).
Creasy does not disclose the fastener of the clip assembly is a cam plate.
Almy is analogous art to Creasy as Almy discloses a mounting assembly for securing a solar cell module (see abstract). Almy discloses a clip assembly including a clip (PV module bracket 100) and a cam plate (i.e. toggle clamp 502) (shown in fig. 5C, see para [0059], wherein the cam plate tightens around the torque tube 500).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known device (i.e., the cam plate/toggle clamp disclosed by Almy) for antother known device (i.e., the fastener disclosed by Creasy), wherein the result is predictable (i.e. the clip/clamp tightened to create a clamping force, i.e. tighten around torque tube).
The statements in the preamble that the photovoltaic module is mounted “to a rotatable tube of a solar tracker, the solar panel assembly including a support rail on a back side of the solar panel assembly, the support rail defining a slot” is determined to be intended use within the preamble and is given no patentable weight and is not examined. See MPEP § 2112.02.
Regarding claim 2, modified Creasy discloses a mounting assembly of claim 1, wherein the locking device (530) includes a stop (U-shaped body) and a distal tip (tips of clip) (see para [0063]-[0064]) the stop contacting the first sidewall (shown in Creasy figs. 5D or 5E).
The limitation that the distal tip is sized to be inserted through a slot (in the photovoltaic rail) is intended use and is given weight to the extent the prior art is able to perform the intended use. Creasy discloses the intended use (see Creasy para [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Creasy discloses a mounting assembly of claim 1, wherein the locking device (530) includes a body shaped to extend around the first sidewall, the base wall, and the second sidewall (see Creasy figs. 5A-5e, para [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Creasy discloses a mounting assembly of claim 3, wherein the locking device includes a hook portion (tip portion of 530 that penetrates sidewall) extending obliquely relative to the first sidewall (see Creasy figs. 5A-5D, para [0063]-[0064]).
The limitation that the hook portion is sized to extend into the slot is intended use and is given weight to the extent the prior art is able to perform the intended use. Creasy discloses the intended use (see Creasy para [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Creasy discloses the mounting assembly of claim 3, wherein the clip is attached to the body of the locking device (i.e., the clip is attached to the body of the locking device via the saddle (i.e., seated body) (see Creasy fig. 5A, para [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Creasy discloses a mounting assembly of claim 1, wherein the first sidewall defines an additional slot therein, and wherein the locking device is insertable through the additional slot in the saddle (shown in Creasy figs. 5A-5E, see para [0063]-[0064]).
The limitation that the locking device portion which is insertable in the first sidewall is also insertable into the slot in the support rail to connect the saddle to the support rail is intended use and is given weight to the extent the prior art is able to perform the intended use. Creasy discloses the intended use (see Creasy para [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Creasy discloses a mounting assembly of claim 1, wherein the clip is attached to the saddle (shown in Creasy figs. 3 and 5, see para [0050]-[0059].
Regarding claim 8, modified Creasy discloses a mounting assembly of claim 1, wherein the cam plate includes an exterior surface defining a notch therein, the notch shaped to receive the clip under tension (shown in Almy figs. 5A and 5C, see para [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Creasy disclose a mounting assembly of claim 1, but does not disclose in the embodiment cited (i.e., cited figs. 3 and 5) wherein the saddle includes a pair of projections extending outwards of the base wall, the pair of projections spaced to engage the rotatable tube and defining a recess sized to receive at least a portion of the rotatable tube.
In an alternate embodiment, Creasy discloses a pair of projections extending outwards of the base wall (see Creasy figs. 14A-14B, see para [0044] and [0083]-[0085], see mark-up of fig. below), wherein the projections are spaced on each side to engage with clip and define a recess (shown in figs. 14A-14B).
The court has held it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements (i.e. from two embodiments of Creasy) according to known methods (as disclosed by Creasy), wherein the result is predictable.
The limitation that the recess formed by the space of the projections and the size of the formed recess are spaced and sized to engage and receive at least a portion of the rotatable tube is intended use. Creasy discloses the intended use (see figs. 14A and 14B, para [0083]-[0085]).
Conclusion
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721