DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim must refer back in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 15 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein at least one of the bottom edge portions engages in two of the recesses”. It is unclear if the portion engages the recess the same time or if it Is capable of engaging either recess.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the same corner region" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US-3984027-A) in view of Vukkisila (US-20180303260-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a packaging for an article (Fig. 3) comprising a three-dimensionally shaped packaging bottom (12), the packaging bottom being adapted to receive an article to be packaged and comprising: a bottom support surface (32), a bottom side wall (34) surrounding the bottom support surface, and a bottom edge (36) arranged at an end of the bottom side wall, the end being distal with respect to the bottom support surface, wherein the bottom edge protrudes outwardly from the bottom side wall (Fig. 2), and a packaging cover (10) having recesses (20, 22, 24), wherein the packaging cover is arranged on the packaging bottom such that outwardly projecting bottom edge portions (38, 40, 42) engage in respective ones of the recesses of the packaging cover such that the packaging cover is fixed in its relative position with respect to the packaging bottom (Fig. 3).
Smith fails to teach a leaf material of a plant.
Vukkisila teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a packing bottom out of a leaf material of plant (par. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the bottom out of plant, in order to adjust costs and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 2-6, 8 and 10-11, the modified packaging of Smith teaches wherein the bottom edge on at least one of the bottom edge portions comprises an increased protrusion with respect to adjoining further portions of the bottom edge (Smith, Fig. 3, 6), wherein at least one of the bottom edge portions is formed as a projection integrally formed on the bottom edge (Smith, Fig. 2), wherein the bottom edge in the region of at least one of the bottom edge portions and adjoining further portions of the bottom edge comprises a constant protrusion (Smith, Fig. 2), wherein the packaging cover is arranged on the packaging bottom such that side wall portions of the packaging cover are pressed against corner regions of the bottom edge and thereby curved such that in at least one of the corner regions at least one of the bottom edge portions engages in at least one of the recesses (Smith, Fig. 9), wherein at least one of the bottom edge portions engages in two of the recesses (one is capable depending on orientation), wherein at least one of the recesses is arranged on a lug (Smith, 26) formed on the packaging cover, wherein the packaging cover is three-dimensionally shaped or flat (Smith, Fig. 1), wherein the leaf material is a palm leaf material (Vukkisila, par. 0031), wherein the packaging cover consists of recycled and/or recyclable and/or compostable and/or biodegradable material (Vukkisila, par. 0031).
Regarding claim 7, the modified packaging of Smith fails to teach recesses in corner regions of the bottom edge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the recesses at corners rather than sides, in order to adjust appearance and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, the modified packaging of Smith fails to teach wherein the packaging cover comprises at least four recesses in each of which a bottom edge portion engages.
Vukkisila teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a packaging with at least four connection structures (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the packaging with additional connection structures in order better secure components together.
Regarding claim 14, the modified packaging of Smith fails to teach wherein the packaging cover is formed to be at least partially transparent.
Vukkisila teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a transparent cover (par. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the cover to be transparent, so that contents of the packaging could be observed.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US-3984027-A) and Vukkisila (US-20180303260-A1) in view of Jewell (US-D251657-S).
The modified packaging of Smith fails to teach wherein the bottom edge portions are equidistantly arranged around the bottom edge.
Jewell teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a packaging with equidistantly arranged connection structures (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the packaging with equidistantly arranged edge portions, in order to make the packaging more uniform and since a modification would be the use of a known connection structure arrangement.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733